We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“With attention to detail it would be fine.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tia Heights Makadi Bay
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I was a bit scared by some of the reports but really, whilst it is not a fantastic hotel it was fine.

Check in was fine and quick, bit if a hair raiser to the room with 5 of us in a TUK TUK. Not overly bothered but I should imagine it would scare the crap out of some!

Superior room was massive and generally OK. Quite tired in some areas, lots of cracked floor tiles, shower curtain stained, mould round the bath and on tiles, wall fan in bathroom hanging out. Really a lot of it is attention to detail and poor workmanship when repairs are done. Over-painting on to window and door surrounds, banister painting has put paint on walls or wall paint on banister, sealant round bath and mirrors poorly applied or on top of old sealant, toiled pan had been replaced but cement/grout was u mentioned the issues with the room to reception and was offered another room which had been recently refurbished. It was smaller and a bit near the disco however it had also got some glaring errors which should be picked up on daily inspection and I also noted some poor workmanship in the makeover.

Grounds on the whole well kept though evidence of poor maintenance again in some areas.

Pool seemed very clean.

Restaurant. Again looking tired and tatty in some areas. Food on the buffet was plentiful and as buffets go pretty good with some nice varieties.

The pay to go to restaurants were poor. Especially the fish one. The starter on the set menu was not as described by a long chalk and the seafood soup was with crabsticks which are really Crab Flavour Sticks and generally have nothing to do with crabs. How any self respecting restaurant can use them I do not know. The Italian was not too bad. These three restaurants were the only ones open apart from another buffet restaurant which was restricted to certain tour operators, mainly European, if you get my drift.

The bar service was good, indeed the staff generally were good, one waitress Saffa deserves special note she was excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,829)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

410 - 416 of 1,829 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2013

We came to this hotel about three years ago and absolutely loved it - if you have never been to Egypt and your expecting their 5 star hotels to be like ours then you may be a little disappointed.
The food is varied and plentiful and Noah always has a smile and time to chat as you walk in, with a little section of the normal nuggets and chips etc for the kids, Mahmood absolutely love the English and will go and cook you something special if there's nothing you like in the buffet.
Waggie in the lobby has always got time and will help with absolutely anything you wish.
Monsoor the shisha guy is "lovely jubbly" and always happy to help, and Ragab the pool and towel guy can't do enough, bringing the towels for you and flowers too.

We was lucky enough to meet up with the new Vice President of the complex Karim (who's mother and father own it) Karim went out of his way to make us feel welcome and was happy to come and sit down and have a chat and make sure we was happy with everything, he has only been in charge a few months but is making some big changes and seems to be taking a lot of notice of any niggles his guests have, I think he is initiating returbs throughout.

The animation team are great too and they put there all in to the shows and performances and the activities throughout the day and Ama in the pool bar in the afternoon is a very nice guy.

Unfortunately for the English there are a lot of Russians here but to be honest that never really bothered us and we've made some good English friends that we have met here on our last two visits ( I think it depends on whether YOU are willing to talk to anyone and I am ).

WE LOVE IT HERE and we're going back in February with the kids

Room Tip: The lagoon rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayRee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The food wasn't good & the rooms were very small. Also you have only two coupons @ the aqua park for meals while my reservation was on all inclusive bases so you have to leave the aqua park to have your launch then come back to the aqua park.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eng-Ahmed-Reda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We visited Tia Heights during the October half-term hols and were treated like royalty!

All the staff were very friendly, but a special thank you must go to Noha in the Aladdin Restaurant who always greeted us with a smile and looked after us and our vegetarian needs perfectly. All the chefs went out of their way to make something different for us if the regular dishes didn't suit us.

Everyday we had lunch at La Caravan which was next to the pools. A good variety of food including soup, rice, pasta, chips and salad bar. A couple of days the chef, Ashraf Farouk, made us a dhal and veg curry to eat with the bread and rice. It was lovely. Drinks were plentiful and my girls especially liked the mango juice.

The lounge bar and seating was huge. Amr made lovely non alcoholic cocktails for my dauhgter and was very entertaining.

Tia has a lovely swimming pool which is meant to be the largest in Egypt. It looks lovely, but was really cold! My girls spent most of the time in the heated kids pool or in the sea (which was warmer). The pool attendant Ragbad was lovely and everyday brought fresh flowers to put on the table by our sunbeds. A lovely touch. There is also a heated indoor pool which we used to go in the mornings to get a few lengths in.

The beach is wonderful. The sand is so soft and fine with very few rocks and pebbles. The sea was very clear. If you walk along the jetty you can see lots of different fish in the sea without having to get in the water.

The water park has lots of different slides. We used to go everyday for a couple of hours in the afternoon. We met the manager Ahmed Adel who was also very friendly.

The only down side would be that the hotel was predominately occupied by Russians and there were only a handful of British guests. They keep to themselves and do not even smile! When it comes to food, they pile their plates up and leave nothing for others and then they waste a lot. Luckily we met a couple of British families who were very friendly and made friends with our daughters.

The animation team has lots going on and something for everyone. Another thank you to Joker who was very friendly and even though he had only been there a week when we were there, he was very active and knew everything. There could have been more evening entertainment, but this could have been because the hotel was only half full.

We stayed in a Dune room which was opposite the main entrance, so very convenient for the main hotel and aqua park. The room was huge. It had a large double bed and 2 singles and there was still lots of floor space. It was cleaned everyday and had nice little touches of the towels being shaped into a swan or a crocodile. The bathroom needed updating and the water could have been warmer. It was very comfortable.

We had a lovely time at Tia Heights Hotel and Aqua Park and would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: We were told that Dune rooms are larger than those in main hotel. Room 4001 very close to main entra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rup27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

pooooor service worest food ever yuk discusting the only good thing is aqua park is perfect but people goes in pool with their full clothes and service is bad rooms are so small when i complained the bad food nothing change no varieties at all and the quality is bad and pastry is bad i hated that place much but beach is good

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We just returned from 2 weeks half term holiday at Tia Heights. It is a fantastic hotel and the staff really are wonderful. The food was excellent in the buffet and in the italian and fish restaurants (the rest were closed for refurb). The staff could not do enough for you and were cleaning all the time. Our hotel room was large and had a wonderful view of the beach and sea (we stayed in a Lagoon room). The furniture was tired and needs refurbishing but it was kept spotlessly clean and they changed the bedding completely and the towel each day. The pools were idilic and so was the beach. Our daughter loved the aquapark and we were lucky to have such a wonderful facility alongside the pools and beach. We highly recommend this hotel and will be booking to go back. My husband had kidney stones whilst we were away and the hotel doctor was marvellous. All in all could find no faults and will miss the beautiful view and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Lagoon rooms are large and have a great view but are in need of a refurb but were clean and comforta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahB1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I can not understand the negatives about this resort ,we had a great time ,friendly staff good food very clean and a water park, the only thing we found negative was the rooms ,they were a bit dated and could do with a refurb

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flynny69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makadi Bay hotels
1.5 mi away
Harmony Makadi Bay Hotel & Resort
0.3 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
0.4 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay
2 mi away
Serenity Makadi Beach
Serenity Makadi Beach
#11 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,357 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jaz Makadi Oasis Resort and Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tia Heights Makadi Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tia Heights Makadi Bay

Address: Safaga Road, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 84515, Egypt (Formerly Le Meridien Makadi Bay)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Makadi Bay
#15 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#23 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range: £28 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tia Heights Makadi Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 1468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Egypt's spectacular Red Sea coast, TIA Height's large resort is ideally situated on a stretch of sandy beach in Makadi Bay. The hotel faces the magical waters of Egypt's Red Sea, nestled between desert dunes and breathtaking mountain ranges. The bay provides a superb location for scuba-diving and snorkeling. Built over 250,000 square metres (in a total surrounding area of one million square metres of land), this five star resort boasts an international standard Aqua Park, a 6,400 square metre swimming pool that is considered the largest pool in the Middle East. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tia Heights Makadi Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tia Heights Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay
Hurghada Le Meridien
Meridien Makadi Bay
Le Meridien Makadi Bay Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing