We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst holiday I have ever had!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tia Heights Makadi Bay
Ranked #25 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Leicestershire
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“worst holiday I have ever had!!!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

we had booked this holiday just for a week of rest in the sun, and looking online it looked beautiful with loads of pools and beautiful beaches. don't get me wrong the beaches were beautiful and so was the snorkelling!
We had paid to upgrade to a lagoon view room as we thought this would be lovely over looking the whole resort and lagoon and it wasnt that much to upgrade. In fact there was no lagoon ... but a building site in front of us...nothing spectacular about that view. The air-con in our room had a black mould like residue all around it with cracks starting to appear. They also advertised free WIFI ... this is not true as we had to pay and it was so poor quality that we only managed to use about 20 minutes of it. The hotel advertised that they had 6 other restaurants however four of them were closed and again they did not want their own currency but American dollars instead.

The food was inedible and cold in the buffet style restaurants, the meats did not look like they were cooked at all. There was also people that had no respect and would push in the queues with no spacial awareness of others around them. We had also witnessed people picking up food with their fingers .... smelling it and then putting it back ... how unhygienic!! there was also a lack of utensils for the food at the buffet. As a result of only eating two meals both me and my husband were then confined to our not so lagoon view room for the rest of the week because of sickness and diarrhoea.
We found that there was only us and another couple that were English and even the hotel rep said to us that we should be staying in the hotel next door as this hotel was full of Russians and the one next door was for the English.
We found the staff to be very rude...especially the reception staff who would not speak to me as I am a woman and I found myself to be ignored if there was men around waiting to be served even if they had arrived after me.

We found both the hotel and people to be very unsanitary! we saw people throw up in dockers bar (again they were not English) and just get up and walk away from it and leave it there without telling anyone. The toilets were just as disgusting with no soap to wash hands, no toilet rolls.

As a result of this holiday I ended up coming back with some sort of bacterial infection that has not only spread from my stomach but all through my guts... into my blood and into my lungs causing me to get pneumonia ... which now means weeks off work as they wont let me back until im not infectious and my lungs have cleared.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cait2695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    700
    416
    231
    162
    257
See reviews for
740
467
31
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed here with the family on a last minute getaway advertised online, totally unplanned. The deal was very good and included an all-inclusive pacakage so there was no issues with being fleeced when you got there which was good.

The place is predominantly Russian clientele, with a few Europeans. In this sort of environemnt you have to go with the flow! Most of them were normal decent people, but a few at emal times were really hard to bear as it seemd there was no consideration when it came to lining up for food or drinks when tthe serving stations became busy and they would think nothing of barging into the front to help themselves. The hotal staff really need to grip this as it did become quite annoying after a few days. I'm not sure if thats the custom where some of them live butas I said, most of the normal decent crowd seemed to observe common decency!

The beach was pretty good with the team there cleanig the sand each morning. The seas is lovely and warm and slowly graduates so the kids can enhjoy the water without being knocked over by waves!

the room were clean, large but a bit basic. No complaints as it wasn't a top priced place. The sunbed issue with the guests needs to eb sorted out though as again the common courtesy rules were not obsevred on this count with peopel paying the pool lads to reserve sunbeds for them at the crack of dawn and then not using them all day!! Managemetn - sort this out please and adopt a 2 hour rule or the towels get removed (and sort out the pool chaps - they're taking bribes for this service which makes it worse).

Didn't have any tummy trouble here, but apparently the hotel next door had some serious issues!!

Otehrwise, good value hoiday!

Room Tip: Try and get a room nearer to the beach as the far rooms are a bit of a walk in the hot Egyptian sun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CityGuy1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hesham D, General Manager at Tia Heights Makadi Bay, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Guest

I am really disappointed to your contradicting comments. You have complemented the cleanliness of the rooms, you have mentioned that food was good and you never had any problem with food knowing that neighbor hotel did have issues, you have complimented the beach and most of the services we offer in the hotel yet you have complained about Russians and did not give us fair ratings according to your positive comments. I assure you that we do have lots of regular British guests who come four of five times a year and we do also have fair share of our German Guests who really do not have any issues with different guests' nationalities. I do understand your comments and I wish you can change them back to more positive to suit your good comments. Thanks and have lovely day!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egypt
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I just came back from a vacation in Tia Heights , We were happy to have such a lovely vacation in Makadi Bay ,the Hotel is wonderful, Aqua park is fantastic especially if you have kids, Food is okay , nice pool , beautiful sand beach & reef, No need to make snorkeling outside the hotel you can see corals and colored fished so u can make snorkeling and take photos. Rooms are too small, but overall the Hotel is really amazing, and we have all what we need. I highly recommend the hotel especially for family trips

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mirahabashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hesham D, General Manager at Tia Heights Makadi Bay, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments we all do appreciate your support and objective openion.
we wish to see you again in our hotel.

have a wounderful day!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
egypt
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

i went there more then 5 times,in every time i go there i enjoy to the max,the staff are so friendly it has a great aqua park the rooms are very good and clean the service are very good too every thing is wonderful except the food it isn't very good, the animation team is very active .activities everywhere

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veco n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hesham D, General Manager at Tia Heights Makadi Bay, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Guest


Thank you for your complements about our resort. It is home away from home to you since you have visited us more than five times. We do appreciate your business and your comments and we would like to see you often. On behalf of the management team thanks again and has a wonderful day!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Cool water park... We had sooooooo much fun... U should go even if u r staying in a different hotel... Lots of fun slides... And the pool for the kids was amazing... U must be warned the water is terribly cold though for the kids, but there is also a heated pool that they can enjoy

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hesham D, General Manager at Tia Heights Makadi Bay, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Greeting sir

Thank you for your comments and feedback . we are very proud of our resort and services especially the aqua park as you mentioned. our hotel is a perfect place for singles and families since we have a vast variety of room types and location to meet and exceed all kind of expectations. once again thank you .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed about 5 weeks ago, we had a garden room 4006 which was a bit disappointing the room was big but poorly furnished ,the shower was weird, the taps for the shower were situated in the middle of the bath so you had the width of a bath along with a nylon shower curtain which kept sticking to you when you showered, it was a problem but you got used to it. The patio area was big and private with the sun in the morning, if you like a cup of coffee early in the morning which I do take your own kettle, the room boy was brilliant the room was kept very clean he was friendly and courteous and even gave me a gift when we left The food was typical of Egyptian hotels but you could always find something to eat. The hotel is huge with a pool to match but the water was too cold to appreciate the pool when we went. We did find the lack of information a problem ie;- rules regarding aqua park, (which is brill especially for children or big kids) we wanted to have room service one night but could not find a room service menu or number we could ring in the room. The plus side the staff were very friendly especially Shahat in the Dockers Bar who keeps you well supplied with drinks and Ali at the beach bar (unfortunatly Ali left for vacation after a few days, it was never the same after)We saw a couple of shows in the two weeks we stayed and they were good.The only other gripe was the disco if it wasn't techno music forget it, it's not just the younger people that like to have a dance. Think he needs a bit more variety. Also check out the Grill restaurant in the town they do fabulous steaks and very reasonable it's about 10 min stroll on the beach path. Yes I would stay in this hotel again but with a different room grade.

Room Tip: Garden room not very good can,t comment on other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hesham D, General Manager at Tia Heights Makadi Bay, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback. Although there are some concerns from your side but I am glad you did have lots of positive comments about the hotel. You have mentioned that the furniture in the room was little dated and if you have seen the previous comments, you will see that we are working diligently to renew all furniture needed however as you are aware the time is very tough as overall situation of business is affected but we are very optimistic it will come back stronger than ever and we will do all necessary renovation needed. I am very pleased to hear that you liked the cleanliness of our rooms; our Housekeeping team does tremendous job. I also would like to direct your attention that all rules for the "Aqua Park" are posted in many languages as soon as you enter the Aqua Park; well next time you visit us you shall see them. Also I am happy to hear that you were satisfied with food and beverage and specially the bartenders and the service over all. Once again thanks for your comments and I assure you we will work on the points you have addressed. Regards>
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Best Aqua Park I ever went to.
Food is okay.
Very big clean pool.
Activities everywhere.
Beautiful beach.
Too big.
Very good service.
and good weather,too.
Place is good.
I recommend you to go there it was awesome with shows every night!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eldeheby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hesham D, General Manager at Tia Heights Makadi Bay, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your positive comments we do appreciate your business and your support and our commitment to you is to provide you always with great food and excellent service. hope to see you soon with the family!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
1.5 mi away
Harmony Makadi Bay Hotel & Resort
0.3 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
0.9 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
2.3 mi away
Al Nabila Grand Bay Makadi
Al Nabila Grand Bay Makadi
#22 of 30 in Makadi Bay
913 reviews
24.0 mi away
Hawaii Riviera Aqua Park Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tia Heights Makadi Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tia Heights Makadi Bay

Property: Tia Heights Makadi Bay
Address: Safaga Road | Red Sea, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 84515, Egypt (Formerly Le Meridien Makadi Bay)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Makadi Bay
#15 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#24 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Tia Heights Makadi Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 1468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Egypt's spectacular Red Sea coast, TIA Height's large resort is ideally situated on a stretch of sandy beach in Makadi Bay. The hotel faces the magical waters of Egypt's Red Sea, nestled between desert dunes and breathtaking mountain ranges. The bay provides a superb location for scuba-diving and snorkeling. Built over 250,000 square metres (in a total surrounding area of one million square metres of land), this five star resort boasts an international standard Aqua Park, a 6,400 square metre swimming pool that is considered the largest pool in the Middle East. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Otel, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tia Heights Makadi Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tia Heights Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay
Hurghada Le Meridien
Meridien Makadi Bay
Le Meridien Makadi Bay Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing