We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel, friendly attentive staff and a fantastic animation team”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tia Heights Makadi Bay
Ranked #25 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Bolton England
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel, friendly attentive staff and a fantastic animation team”
Reviewed 12 March 2011

There have been a lot of bad reviews about this hotel, but we found it to be a wonderful place. From the moment we arrived until we were leaving we were made welcome and attended to by all the staff.The suites are very comfortable and clean. The food was good and although some people complained about lack of variety there was always a good choice and they were always trying to improve. The beach is probably the best in the area and plenty of beds. Finally the animation team, Alfa, Adam,Olga and all the others are fantastic. They work very hard in entertaining everyone. The evening entertainment is very good and we never stopped laughing all the time we were watching. I have every intention of returning to Tia Heights, and fully recommend this wonderful hotel

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fl0rencehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    696
    417
    229
    159
    247
See reviews for
729
464
31
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2011

We went for 1 week's sunshine break at the end of February and enjoyed it immensely. I read the reviews right up to the week before we departed and no one mentioned the most important factor about the hotel.......there's hardly anyone there!! Although the Brits are still going, most of the other Europeans have been prevented from going to Egypt by their own governments. This includes Russia which, from what I've read earlier, is a really positive thing for us Brits, because I believe they don't normally queue whereas we must be the world's best queuers. Consequently, when we arrived, the hotel which held up to 3100 guests actually had 45 guests or thereabouts when we arrived!!!
There were some positive and some negative effects caused by the lack of numbers. Because there were so few guests there, the staff were extremely attentive and friendly. Obviously it was easier than normal for them to remember you and your likes and dislikes and you really couldn't ask for better service. However, most of the restaurants were closed because, quite understandably, it didn't pay them to open them all. This meant that some of your options were restricted. Also, we believe from someone who had been there at the same time last year that the standard of the food available was not as good as it would normally have been and overall you would have to say it wasn't fantastic, but it was adequate. It certainly improved once Mr Michael Booker, the General Manager, returned about half way through the week. On the plus side, you didn't have to wait too long at the "egg station" for your fried eggs or omelettes!
The swimming pools were fantastic looking but too cold to use. The sea however was really quite warm (20degC they reckon) and very clean. Shark nets were present across the whole of Makadi Bay but I wasn't sure if it was to keep sharks out or whether it was simply to make us all feel safe even if there is no threat.
The beach boys couldn't have been better. They do everything for you and straight away too. Obviously, a small tip here and there goes a long way (we tipped in £'s, US$'s and Egyption £'s..... they didn't mind which). There was a coolish wind blowing across the beach at all times but they have rafia wind breaks for everyone and they work perfectly. In fact, even at that time of year, we occasionally had to stand up and cool off in the breeze because it's just so hot behind the wind breaks.
Take some warmer clothes for the evening (I took long sleeved shirts and cardigans) because the nights can be a little cool.
The hotel itself is beautifully built and decorated. Very impressive architecture and the rooms are excellent too. Sony flatscreen T.V.'s and the like. While the hoards aren't visiting, don't bother to upgrade your room because there was only one section of the main building open anyway (Dune rooms and Lagoon rooms all closed down).
DON'T BUY the huba buba pipes (for smoking). They'll stop you taking them through customs. Oh and haggle for everything and start at about one third of their 1st asking price and work up to maybe half.
Thanks to the animation team. They worked really hard with a very small audience. Adam is a total nutcase but in a nice way. Alfa is the gaffer and works extremely hard.
Finally, a BIG thank you to all of the staff and especially Mr Booker who was extremely attentive and was keen to help with any problem you raised with him.
We loved it; hope you do too!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan_Steve35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2011

We stayed for a week during the recent unrest and so the hotel was practically empty. As such, the service was excellent as the staff:client ratio was very high, but we got the impression that the staff would be as helpful and friendly even if the hotel were full. Further, the general manager of the hotel group - Mike - took great care to greet us and made a point of making our stay as comfortable as possible. We had no choice of restaurant due to the small number of clients, but this was not a problem. The food was excellent - well cooked and comprised a reasonable variety considering how few clients there were. The staff also cooked and served a special meal for Valentine's Day which more than made up for not being able to choose a restaurant on-site. The room was fine in that we slept well and the water was suitably warm. Yes it's a large hotel so some people might have a long walk to the beach/pool, but this should be patently obvious from the information on the hotel website. The beach/pool/hotel areas were clean and tidy as far as we could see. Perhaps a little cold to swim outdoors in February, but the indoor pool was very nice. The hotel gym was surprisingly well-equipped with weights equipment and there was a reasonable choice of cardio machines, compared to many hotel gyms that we have seen. The member of staff who was tending the gym - Mahmoud - was especially friendly and helpful.

Overall, the holiday was amazingly good value considering how little we paid for it. We can't comment on the Russians or how the hotel is when full, but our experience was very positive. Although it may not be truly 5-star as Europeans would perceive it, it fulfilled all of our expectations and more, and there was nothing lacking. If you want such a 5-star experience, then pay at least triple the amount and head to the Oberoi.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cauteleux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiaheightsmanager, General Manager at Tia Heights Makadi Bay, responded to this review, 20 February 2011
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your beautiful comments, i passed your comments to the staff and the management of the hotel, they were very happy to hear that their efforts are well rewarded with beautiful words.

We try our best to satisfy all our guests and to make their stay as happy as possible
I am sure there are few who have different comments, that for sure it will help us to be better

Again please accept all our gratitude for being our guests and we will be happy to welcome you again sometimes

please do not hesitate to contact us if you wish anything

Best regards
from Tia heights team
Tony Tourcomanis
General Manager
Tia heights makadi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2011

We stayed here for a week in January. we have stayed in many hotels in Eygts and have to say this is one of the best, food was excellent and varied considering the amount being catered for. All the staff we met were so amazingly helpfuland could not do enough to make our holiday memorable. I do wonder if so of the people who wrote negative remarks would have actually been happy anywhere, yes, we did at times have a bit of a smelly bathroom, but this is Eygpt and the plumbing is not the same as England! We were aware of ocassional birds in the restaurant but certainly not to the degree mentioned. The chinese and Italian resturants were well worth a visit, the food was great and also sometimes as the main resturant was a bit noisy due to the amount of people, it was nice to go somewhere quieter. The bar staff were fantastic, considering how many people stay here they remembered our names and drinks of choice. Yes, there were a lot of Russians, but Hurguda is known to be the place they go so not unexpected. There is only one thing I have to say we were not happy about, we noticed on more than one ocassion a member of staff walking over the bridges between swimming pools coughing and spitting into the pool and path at the side!!! not the most pleasant or hygenic thing!! apart from this we have no negative comments, only positive and would recommend thsi hotel to others.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chathamcatlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiaheightsmanager, General Manager at Tia Heights Makadi Bay, responded to this review, 20 February 2011
dear beloved guests,

I would like in the name of the staff and the management of the hotel to thank you for your nice comments and your words,

the staff of the hotel has recieved a copy of your comments and they were very happy and thank you for it

we are all learning in this hotel from our mistakes, and i am sure we cannot be all so perfect, i am always improve in my life and my work especially when we have constructive criticism, because when we hear what people have to say we learn something new.

We hope we can serve you very soon in our hotel

Please accept our warmest regards
and hope to see you again soon in our hotel

Best regards
tia heights staff and management team

Tony Tourcomanis
General Manager
Tia heights hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Makadi Bay hotels

Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2011

Having read the negative reports of this hotel the week before we left i was apprehensive that we would have made a mistake coming here. How wrong could I be, the hotel is excellent and I would definitely return again. Nice clean room, only gripe would be that we had to ask each time we wanted extra bottled water but as soon as we did ask it was delivered promptly. The reef that you can snorkel to off the beach is amazing, certainly wouldn't waste money on an organised excurison when this is on the doorstep. Despite the problems they were having with lack of guests due to the problems in Egypt they did there best to maintain the standard of service, not easy when they were having to layoff staff and they're geared to catering for a large number rather than a handful.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizb36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiaheightsmanager, General Manager at Tia Heights Makadi Bay, responded to this review, 20 February 2011
Dear beloved guests,

I would like to thank you personally and the staff also for your nice and beautiful comments.

Yes we are use to cater for about 2600 guest on a daily basis from breakfast lunch and dinner
but with this crisis things changed.

1st it helped us revise our movement and all the service given to the guests
2nd the quality and the quantity were revised
3rd i am convinced that many of the comments on the net had a major thing to say, I was not happy with my vacation, or i was happy with my vacation

We always ask our guest to inform us at any time if there is something we can correct before they live the hotel so we can solve it .

Constructive criticism is very well accepted and welcomed at any time.

also warm thank you for your care about the staff, but it was our president decision not to lay off anyone or deduct salaries we just gave vacations in advance to people, as he said these people work hard when we need them now they need us we will not let them down.

again i am happy that we succeeded in making your vacation enjoyable and hope to see you and serve you again soon

Best regards,
Tony Tourcomanis
general Manager
Tia heights hotels makadi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

My husband & I along with 2 friends have just returned from Egypt 1 week Nile Cruise and 2nd week at Tia Hieghts,we were a little uneasy after reading some of the reviews.So we were most surprised when we arrived,what a lovely hotel with a most impressive staircase in the lobby.We had a dune room which was comfortable and a lot of space,then we got upgraded to the main building which was just lovely walked out from our room to the pool.within an hour of arriving and exploring we were greeted by Mike the general manager who was very helpful and made our holiday a success, thanks Mike. The hotel was clean and very comfortable,the food was was great with lots of choices.Yes there were a lot of eastern europeans there ,so what, live and let live they have to enjoy there break the same as you?We were there during the unrest in the country did it bother or effect us NO,yes the deliverys had been affected and things cut back but I'm sure saved on wasted food which happens a lot in all inclusive hotels even during this time was the food comprimised NO it was just as good.My advise yes read reviews but be open minded, what pleases one will not always please others.Mike and Tony thank you on behalf of all of us we had a ball,will you thank all the staff and chefs for looking after us.Best wishes Linda (southport)

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2011

I have stayed in all inclusive hotels a few times and this is the first hotel that I have actually been excited to see what food they were gonna serve instead of dreading it. The service was really friendly. The beach was incredible. If your into snokling or diving then this is a perfect resort for you to stay in. The rooms we're really well equiped, and the bed's we're really comfortable.
If you want a relaxed, hassle free week away, then this is defenatly the place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cateball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makadi Bay hotels
1.5 mi away
Harmony Makadi Bay Hotel & Resort
0.3 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
0.9 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
2.3 mi away
Al Nabila Grand Bay Makadi
Al Nabila Grand Bay Makadi
#23 of 30 in Makadi Bay
897 reviews
1.9 mi away
Serenity Fun City
Serenity Fun City
#11 of 30 in Makadi Bay
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tia Heights Makadi Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tia Heights Makadi Bay

Property: Tia Heights Makadi Bay
Address: Safaga Road | Red Sea, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 84515, Egypt (Formerly Le Meridien Makadi Bay)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Makadi Bay
#15 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#24 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Tia Heights Makadi Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 1468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Egypt's spectacular Red Sea coast, TIA Height's large resort is ideally situated on a stretch of sandy beach in Makadi Bay. The hotel faces the magical waters of Egypt's Red Sea, nestled between desert dunes and breathtaking mountain ranges. The bay provides a superb location for scuba-diving and snorkeling. Built over 250,000 square metres (in a total surrounding area of one million square metres of land), this five star resort boasts an international standard Aqua Park, a 6,400 square metre swimming pool that is considered the largest pool in the Middle East. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tia Heights Makadi Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tia Heights Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay
Hurghada Le Meridien
Meridien Makadi Bay
Le Meridien Makadi Bay Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing