We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay at this hotel!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Reviewed 1 May 2011

The only good thing about this holiday was we lost a lot of weight and gained a tan!!! We both became violently ill on the second day,and remained that way for the remaining 2 wks,the pharmacy was a total Rip off,£20 for 3 days of tablets!!!! The food hygeine was shocking,with Flies and dirty hands everywhere.There is no way this is a 5 star hotel!!! Prob a 2 star ať best.Food was rubbish,same things everyday,definately geared to germans/russians.my only advice is if you have booked this hotel,cancel it quick!!!! I cried with relief when i got on the plane home!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elvislola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,584)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,849 - 4,855 of 7,584 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2011

Me and my friend came to this hotel 19th april for 10nights just to get away and oh my god i absolutley loved it. We loved it soo much we cried when we had to come home.

The staff were amazing really friendly and we got taught some Egyptian words. Rooms were very clean and big, Air conditioning was great in the evenings as it was sooo warm.
Food was great lots of choice in the restaurant and around the pool bar. All- Inclusive was good we just helped ourselves to bottled water out of a fridge which was really handy.

The hotel is for all guests there is a quiet pool for adults only and large pool for all family and then a large pool which for the easter holiday wasnt that busy.

****THE ONE THING THAT MADE OUR HOLIDAY COMPLETE WAS THE SOME OF ANIMATION TEAM, THEY MADE MY HOLIDAY, WE HAVE MADE SOME TRULY GREAT FRIENDS WITH KASTELLA, MANDO, HAGY AND ARM. WOW WE LOVE THEM. I just wanted to thank them so much for taking us into Hurghada to little Bhudda and having such a laugh with us on this whole holiday. We will miss them soo much. They work soo hard all day long and still mangage to have a smile on there face*****

Hopefully we will return someday to see all of them again.
This review really goes to them thanks guys

Kirstie x

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kirstieinengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

I stayed here with my husband on an "ultra all inclusive basis " for one week. Although there doesn't seem to be any difference between this and general all inclusive. Our room was close to the amenities ,and had a lovely balcony ,which we couldn't enjoy,as there were no tea/coffee making facilities and you couldn't take drinks back to your room. Our room also smelt very strongly of insecticide and we were told it had recently been sprayed for ants. The pillows on the bed were very stained and we did ask for them to be changed.The bed linen and towels were very old and worn .We felt that the hotel was very geared towards eastern Europeans and Russians in the type of food served and activities provided . We did find the staff we encountered polite especially the lobby bar staff and those working on the beach. We really didn't like the attitude of those in the so called shopping mall who did try to be pushy. The beach was ok although the snorkelling was poor and the coral appeared to be dead.
The hotel was just picking up when we went and we would not have wanted to be there when it was full.It was a bit like Butlins in the sunshine.Before we went we planned to visit the harbour at Hurghada and get out a bit,but we became ill on the second day ,and were advised by an English rep to purchase antanil from the on-site pharmacy,as our remedies don't work with Egyptian stomach upsets.He was right but even the pharmacist tried to rip us off !
The booking system for the al a carte is ridiculous ,who wants to queue for hours everyday to book a table for a restaurant that serves tiny portions and luke warm food .The alternative buffet restaurants are awful ,the main one is chaotic and the round the world is full of birds and smokers.
We are well aware that Egypt has had its troubles but if they want to attract tourists back they need to up there game.There are some very hard working staff at this hotel who we appreciate work hard for not much money ,but the management need to up their game .We would not return here even if it was free ,and hated there "welcome home " slogan they kept repeating when we arrived it was forced and false ,I would have preferred it if the staff behind reception understood when I tried to tell them the ladies toilets in the lobby bar smelt like a urinal and did something about it ,or the linen on the bed was crisp and clean,the pool was warm and the food hadn't made us ill !IWe will give them one plus point,they do have nice beach towels !

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ebo27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

If you read some reports on this hotel yo may be tricked into thinking this is a great hotel ,think again this is a 2 Star at best and the staff will only done anything or be pleasant if you tip before getting service and in many cases they look at the money given and say "not enough more" bit rich when you just given a £5 tip to lift a bag 3 feet. The place is not clean , food is ment to change daily but we had the same menu every day in buffett , burger and chips or a fried fish. To use the al carte you have to be in the Vic pub for 9am and wait to book. Every day a massive line awaits you and if you are lucky you get a table at 9.30pm or 6.30pm or tip £50 to have a 7.30 or 8.30 table.

I read in one review that this is as good as the Las Vegas Bellagio ,what a joke the guy have never being there if he is comparing ,this is more like Bazil Faulty run a crap Butlins camp. DO NOT GO HERE

Room Tip: Book somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gtspeed15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

Travelled with my Wife the first week of April. The hotel itself was excellent, the room was always clean and the bed was huge. Only issues were needing to ask for replacement soap and a lack of English TV channels, not a big issue.

The restaurants were all extremely good. The buffet always had a reasonable selection so you could always find something to eat. The Mediteranian restaurant was our favourite, really enjoyed the North African plates there. The pizzas from the Pegoda Bar at lunch time were excellent.

The evening entertainment was a little bit quiet but then we were there to relax so not a big issue.

For those people complaining about staff. We found them generally extremely good, with a couple of exceptions. I would say please take in to account the situation in the country at the time. We heard that many of the hotel staff were on strile when we arrived as due to the political situation and the fact that tourist numbers were down staff were being told they had to work more hours for less money. There were always staff on hand and most were extremely friendly.

The snorkeling at Fort Arabesque was fantastic...!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank harmannick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

Overall all I did have a lovely holiday, I tend try and make the most of things and having waited so long for this holiday I really wanted to concentrate on the postives while we were there.

For the first few days of our holiday the main buffet was fine but as it hit peak season (Easter) it became a disorganised free for all, almost like a school canteen. We were not given the same table everynight so our group of 12 had to search for a big enough table everynight before even sitting down for dinner. There was no queing system for food so people would almost push and shove to see what was in the hot plates. And there would be one bowl of cheese for the pasta and when that had gone that was it !! The staff did seem very overworked and I agree with other posts that at times they almosted seemed annoyed to serve you. I am always polite to staff but did not get the same back unfortunately and that is what let it down for me.

The round the world buffet is a lot quieter but doesn't have as much selection of food. Our party used this resturant for nearly all our breakfast/lunch/dinner sittings. The only negative comment about this resturatant is it is smoking but I only saw 1 or 2 people smoking the whole time I was in there.

Just to add I loved the food and there was something different every day, the Italian and Meditarrian where lovely we visited these both twice during our stay and had no trouble booking.

The hotel facilities are great and very cheap compared to London prices, the was a great choice of swimming pools and the beach was clean. The resort as a whole was very clean, but there was the odd bits that could do with modernising.

I really enjoyed the excursions and also found these good value for money (you have to barter a bit ).

So overall the resort is clean, good facilities, good location (30mins from Hurgharda), nice beach, lovely food.

The main thing that lets it down is the service, I'll give you some examples. At some meal times we had to search around for a spoon or cup, food was removed from tables before we had even finished. You are not allowed to get a drink in the lobby and take it through to the dinning hall, which is fair enough but the staff police this quite rudely almost accusing you of daring to take your coffee through to the dinning hall. You have to pay extra for room service, it would have been handy to be able to have drinks in our rooms as our party had 4 yound children. Waiters/bar staff often seemed very busy and almost annoyed that we asked them something, we waited over 30 mins to be served for a drink one evening. On one occasion I had to ask about 4 members of staff for some milk for my child, I was snapped at that they were getting at and then heard the member of staff mocking me to his colleague 'I want milk, I want milk' - this is not what I would call 5* service !

But if you are going to this hotel out of peak season you will probably be fine !

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank becs234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2011

Fantastic hotel would reccomend it to anyone, having read a few bad reviews i was not sure what to expect but IGNORE all bad reviews this hotel was fab. Restaurants are amazing with loads of choice , entertainment was quiet but enough to keep all entertained especially familys..What made our holiday was Mohammad in the VIP pool area ,he works so hard to ensure everywhere was spotless at all times and made you feel very welcome. He always welcomed you with a Good Morning and nothing was ever to much trouble for him. I was dissapointed to see a few guests being rude to him when he genly asked them if they were entitled guests [repeat guests] that allowed you into the vip area He obviously takes great pride in his job as all the staff do but Mohammad i feel made our holiday extra special . Can't wait to return .

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank del123uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
0.6 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,498 reviews
11 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#31 of 222 in Hurghada
2,656 reviews
1.1 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi
Steigenberger Makadi
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 mi away
SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
0.6 mi away
Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort
Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort
#2 of 30 in Makadi Bay
2,353 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
#1 of 222 in Hurghada
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort

Address: Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 623, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#5 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#10 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range: £50 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 698
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Select Royal Makadi is located in the heart of Makadi bay. The hotel is built on relaxing landscape, with spectacular avers and fine sand beach for enjoyable vacation. Distance form Hurghada international Airport 30 minutes, from Hurghada downtown 35 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Royal Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay
Sunrise Makadi Bay
Sunrise Royal Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing