We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Reviewed 11 August 2011

it was great to be back for our our third visit, staff were all as lovely as ever, it was great that a lot of them remembered us , there are three new al la carte restaurants , and they were revamping the gym.Hopefully they will give the whole place a little going over as i have to say it was looking a little tired in places

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JAYWICK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,726 - 4,732 of 7,569 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2011

Perfect holiday.
The hotel is huge but with so many pools and bars we never had trouble findin a sun bed.
The staff are amazin and cant do enough for you, respect them and you will get it back 10 fold.
Lots to eat and we never went hungry ( even with a fussy 11 year old)
We werent ill at all. The sea has perfect snorklin and the fish are right on the shore.
We hit the jackpot with this hotel and we are savin all ready for next year.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank emsiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

What a fantastic holiday, just come back after 1 week of sheer bliss with my son daughter in law and grandson and would not be afraid to go there on my own. The hotel is superb the staff can not do enough for you, the different restaraunts you can eat in every night are excellent ,Accomodation is spot on facilities are excellent and there is always something to do if you get bored you can take part in such as aqua aerobics ,pool volleyball, water polo etc etc the list is endless would go back tomorrow if i could the most relaxing holiday ever.
the only downside is meal times if you go early it can be a bit of a bun fight but pizzas, chips pasta etc are served all afternoon by the pool
This was one holiday resort i would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sweepy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

HURGHADA AIRPORT - Forced into buying Visas and then stuck in a queue for an hour with 500 Russians to see one of the 3 passport control officers. Nightmare. Happily, this was the worst bit of the holiday.
THE HOTEL - Massive, so big you could fit every Wigan Athletic fan in the world within its walls! (Both of 'em). It's about the size of 3 normal sized All Inclusive hotels and looks like it's getting bigger. Plenty of sunbeds, plenty of pools and plenty of room on the beach. 6 Al La Carte restaurants and 2 buffet restaurants. Very clean, both in the lobby and the gardens.
WEATHER - This was fantastic, didn't see one cloud, and about 40 degrees every day, but the low humidity and sea breeze made to feel like a British summer's day, but despite it not feeling too hot the sun will still rip your flesh off if you stay in it too long.
SWIMMING POOLS - 3 main pools all with swim up bars. Our room was near the small family pool which had limited sunbed space, (so prepare to be up at 6am to get a decent spot!) but was nice and quiet with a good atmosphere. It got a bit murky one day but was put right within 24hrs. The large family pool is very big and has slides for aduts and kids, but not too large and no queues. This pool also has a small food station serving pizzas & chips, then a daily changing grill of beefburgers, chickenburgers and hot dogs. You've gotta meet the pizza chef, he looked just like Ronaldo! The largest pool is split into different sections including a quiter pool for swimmers and a more vigourous freeform pool for volleyball etc.
SNORKELLING - There's little to see in the hotel's designated swimmimg area, except a Moray Eel that lives to the far right about 25ft down. But you can walk to the left to Fort Arabesque where the water is clearer and the fish are everywhere, even no snorkellers can enjoy them.
ROOMS - We had a family room which was very spacious and had most things you could want, except a decent british TV channel (Why's it always BBC World!) we watched Polish VIVA most nights while getting ready, it's like listening to Capital FM but with a few strange Polish boybands thrown in! The decor was a little old fashioned but the bed was huge.
FOOD - This is the best bit. We were worried before we came here due to reports about the food. But with Thomas Cook you get Ultra All Inclusive which allows you to book the A La Carte restaurants as often as you want. This is not available to many of the other guests so it's not that hard to book, just turn up around 10am and you'll queue for about 5-10mins. The alterntive is to go in one of the buffets. Ugh! The Arounf the World is too small and the main buffet is too busy, pushing and shoving, cold food, unhygenic. Go A La Carte and get warm food cooked to order in a much more relaxed atmosphere and less chance of getting the Pharoah's Curse! The wine is poor but the beer is ok, and because you're Ultra All-Inclusive you can have Smirnoff Vodka and Gordon's Gin from the lobby bar. There ar 6 restaurants now, Mediterranean, Asian, Italian, Steakhouse, Mexican and Bedouin, serving everything from Pigeon to Gregg's pasties. My tips would be: Fillet Steak in the Italian and Steakhouse; Pigeon in the Mediterranean; Shish Kebeb and Gregg's Pastie in the Bedouin; Duck in the Asian; and chips in the Mexican!
OVERALL - An excellent holiday, great value for money and a hotel I would go back to. I've never said that before. When you can get a tan, snorkel in the best waters in the world and eat fillet steak every night, then it's got to be top of my shopping list for next year.

Room Tip: Email the hotel before travelling about any concerns and they will treat you like a VIP.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank M1LLSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Wicked, staff all amazing apart from El gendy but thats an exeption.

food, well theres plenty of restraunts to choose from!
asian is the best by the way.
and the bedouin is annoying because the cousions are hard to sit on.
went for 1 week and came back with an amazing tan, met lots of people from different countries ecspecially REBECCA KIRK!<3<3
but there is something to do for everyone of any age.
also the sea is amazing it is like blackpool illuminations!

i went on a boat trip, TOO DIE FOR!

overall out of ten it breaks the scales!


if your looking for an amazing holiday COME HERE!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lewisisamazing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We travelled on this holiday in a group of nine, 6 adults and 3 children. Before we booked this holiday, we never looked it up on trip advisor. Although I think we would of went still anyway even with the negative reviews. We knew it wouldnt be a five star hotel but expected a good four star.

We got to our hotel about 11pm after a manic time at the airport, we were ushered into the reception which is very nice, and cool. After 10 minutes we where alocated rooms in block 14 which is a very short walk away from reception and was a perfect location for us as it was pretty central. The rooms are dated but are emaculate. The air con wasnt working when we first arrived but was repaired in an hour.

WELCOME MEETING
This was very informative, he talked about things to do and see, and things to avoid. Although I did get a bit concerned when he told us to haggle for a good price in the hotel pharmacy. This was the first thing that made me think thst this is more like a 3 star than a 5 star.

MEALS
I would strongly advise against eating in the main buffet restuarant for breakfast and dinner although lunch is ok about 2 o'clock, its abit quieter then. We had breakfast in the around the world restuarant each morning, Tamir the chef is great and is really helpful. We ate in the a la carte resturants every night except our last two evenings. Our favourite was the bendoiun. It is spotless and the service is great. We also enjoyed the Italian, Mexican, and Asian. We sat in the Mediteranian for 20 minutes until there was some spare menus for the three of us, Me, Fiance and our son. Then the food was a real let down. And as for the steakhouse, you have two choices for your main course, chicken Kiev with a thick piece of ham in the middle or a small piece of steak with mash and gravy. The pther four a la cartes where superb though. The russians are not that bad, nothing to what I was expecting, they just lack a bit of manners but nothing like some of the reviews on here.

FACILITIES

Some people on here have said that although the rooms are not five star, the facilities are. So I went to this hotel with that in mind. The slides for the kids in the pool near block 10 is fantastic. Although be careful what you stand on in the pool, am not joking, put a pair of goggles on and take a look and it is obvious that this pool is not cleaned often. In fact all of the pools are like this except for the small adults only pool which is clean. I like to use the the gym on holiday, usually early in the morning. Unfortunatly for me the gym is outdoors, although it is in shade, it is just to hot to do any kind of training. A water machine in the gym would also help. And a running machine. Am not being picky but this is what you would expect in a 3 star hotel gym so why not a five star. We never had a problem getting any beds, no matter what time of day we went to any of the pools. The beach is a little overcrowded, but just go to the hotel next door, Fort Arabesque its called, their beach is much better and the snorkling at this hotel is amazing. Just another thing to mention, this is the first hotel I have been to abroad that has salespeople coming around the pool and not just the beach, Get a red flag from the towel man, if you dont want to be pestered all day.

ENTERTAINMENT
The hotel had a kids club, although we never used this so cannot comment. The daily activity programme is full of things to do, although it is more russian based. The animation team is good, espescially Becky and Patrick, who could not do enough for you. Our four year old son loved them. The main shows on in the evening are good when the proffesional dancers are on, but not so good when its the animation team. Nothing against the animation team because they are brilliant, just the shows they do are not the best. And the heat in the outdoor theatre is unreal, I heard a man passed out with the heat one night. We sat outside the Pergola bar most evenings and the service was fantastic thanks to Mahmood our waiter.

EXCURSIONS
We done horse riding in the dessert which is fantastic, me and my fiance have owned horses in the past and usually do not horse ride on holiday due to the condition of the animals, but it is obvious that these are looked after and treated well, if you want they will even take you to the stables which is on the hotel grounds to have a look at some new foals. We also went quad biking in the dessert which was also great fun, although do take water with you. We did the Shop and Rock in Hurguada then ate at the Little Buddaha resturant. You are ushered into a big shop that gives you 10% off because your with Thomas Cook. After this your free to roam the strip of shops that sell exactly the same thing. It reminded me of Turkey. Although you can get everything in Hurguada for half the price you pay at the hotel shops. We stocked up on chocolate, crisps and presents from the little souveneir shops. The food at the Little Buddah was Good.

ILLNESS
During our stay, all six adults at some stage of the trip got sick, ie, upset stomache to vomiting. Went to the pharmacy, couldnt be bothered to haggle, and paid 90 egyptian which is £8 odd, for two sets of tablets. These worked within a few hours. Also take immoduim to stop diaherra. No idea what caused it as we carried hand sanitizers around with us all day, the resturants had these in from the second week of our stay. People have said the ice cream, but all the children in our group were fine. Food hygene isnt bad but wouldnt call it good either.

DOCTOR
We did have to visit the hotel doctor during our stay as my son banged his chin on the side of the pool and had to get three stitches. He was seen to straight away and the procedure lasted no more than 15 minutes. He was given anti-biotics and anti inflammitory medicine. The total cost was £160, which is extorionate to say the least, we have visited doctors in other countries before and never paid so much, an Egyptian member of staff at the hotel said if we would have recieved treatment in Hurguada it would of cost less than half that amount. We have got travel insurance but we had to pay before we left. The doctor was good, just expensive, so make sure you have travel insurance.

OVERALL
Although we did enjoy ourselves, the hotel would need to improve before we though about going back, from small things like filling the room fridge with fizzy drinks every day instead of once a week, this is the first hotel I have stayed in during an all inclusive holiday where this doesnt happen. Also tea and coffee making facilities in the room would be nice. The Hotel grounds are kept immaculate as are the rooms. Just better cleaning of the pools would be nice. Most of the staff are great just the odd miserable one or two. Anyway, overall a good holiday, just needed a bit of tweeking to make it a fantastic holiday. Thomas cook made it slighly worse by having no in-flight entertainment. Dont think we will holiday with Thomas Cook again. We went the Thomson travel agent the other day to book our next holiday and we was discussing our holiday, summed it up in one sentence,she said you knock a star rating off for a hotel in Egypt, which I knew anyway, but she also said knock another star rating off for a Thomas cook hotel, and that summed it up. This hotel is a good three star.

Room Tip: Email hotel 2 weeks before travelling
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ryan_Kay86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Just returned from an excellent holiday provided by the hotel.Stayed for the last 2 weeks in July and no concerns at all.
Just to point out firstly,I really don't know why some people travel abroad as I feel by reading some comments that they are never satisfied and just want to moan.As the Aussies would pun the phrase 'Whinging Poms'.
As Egypt is the cheapest destination this hotel beats anywhere for value for money,service is fantastic and food is superb for a foreign country.
Just remember there are 6 A La Carte's to choose from for the whole of your stay,normally anywhere else you only get to use 1 for the whole of your stay.
The Asian,Bebounin and Mexican are the best for quality of food and service,just remember relax you are on holiday and be polite to the waiters.It might take 2 hours to have your 4 courses but where else are you going?Also to the fussy eaters out there,stop eating pie and chips everyday and you might enjoy some of the food here.
Don't even bother using the Main Buffet just use the smaller Around the World as it is, as everyone else says a lot quieter.Not as much choice,true,but why do you want to fill your plates with all sorts as you probably don't do it back home.
As soon as you arrive book and visit the A La Cartes as many time as you can your holiday will be more enhanced.
As for the tummy bug issue,drink plenty,don't stay in the sun all day,use hand sanitiser before you eat and don't over indulge and you will be fine.You will not get food poisoning,its how each individual body acts with the combination of foreign food and double the temperature.Your body is your temple so treat it sensibly.
The 34--- to 37--- blocks are next to the smaller family pool and a lot quieter which is why we used this pool.El Gendy got tipped early on and gave us such a welcome smile and hello everyday at the pool,where else would you get someone who would just make sure that you and your kids are well hydrated with fluid at your sunbeds.Such a pleasant person who had to put up with the rude eastern europeans.
Yes, for this pool you had to up early to get your sunbeds but its not the Germans to blame its us Brits.I started getting at the beginning of our stay at 8am and then each day I would have to get up half an earlier to a point where I was setting my alarm for 5am and still I wasn't the first,but used to see the same people each day in virtually the same beds.Altough Simon,I did beat you towards the end of the hols!!!
Other smaller points.
Don't bother taking Egyptian pounds with you,change stirling at the cash machine and get a better rate.
As soon as you arrive be patient waiting for your cases to be delivered to your door,minor point but when you have been travelling for so long you just want ot unpack and get out.
Yes the pools do get a little murky but a word to reception and next day they are spotless again.People mention about bottle wrappers being at the bottom of the pool,put them in the bin first and they wont be blown in by the wind.
Lastly when you arrive at the Airport doors after you get off the bus look left and the booths are there to get your cheaper visa,yes you might think the rep holding Thomas Cook boards are there to show you the way but only for the more expensive visa.We had a 10 and 4 year old with us and just pushed past the man who told us to line up in front of him.We saved more than £10 by just ignoring his pushy ways.
The only downside to our holiday came on the flight back where in front of us there was a family who just couldn't be bothered to control their children and were left to terrorise the aisle.Thankfully they were not at our hotel.
Enjoy your stay if you are choosing this hotel,we have already booked for summer 2012.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank kirkycfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
0.6 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#3 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,490 reviews
1.1 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi
Steigenberger Makadi
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,003 reviews
11 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#31 of 222 in Hurghada
2,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 mi away
SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
0.6 mi away
Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort
Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort
#2 of 30 in Makadi Bay
2,345 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
#1 of 222 in Hurghada
1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort

Address: Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 623, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#5 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#10 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range: £50 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 698
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Select Royal Makadi is located in the heart of Makadi bay. The hotel is built on relaxing landscape, with spectacular avers and fine sand beach for enjoyable vacation. Distance form Hurghada international Airport 30 minutes, from Hurghada downtown 35 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Royal Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay
Sunrise Makadi Bay
Sunrise Royal Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing