We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Aqua Resort -Select-
Nearby Hotels
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$249
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$258
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$261
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$249
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (8,039)
Filter reviews
8,039 results
Traveller rating
6,113
1,225
467
140
94
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6,113
1,225
467
140
94
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily poolpergola bart bonewelcome homea la carte restaurantsanimation teammain restaurantvictoria pubvip poolred flagthomas cookthe mexican restaurantgreat holidaymain poolroom in blockfamily roomour favourite
Filter
Updating list...
5,055 - 5,060 of 8,039 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Returned on friday from SRMB and feel sorry to be back.Lovely staff, lovely food,lovely shows and our room was just great, we did upgrade but boy was it worth it.That said there was a couple of things that didnt go down well.Im sure if everybody was honest on this site, there is a country whos people spoil it for some.If you have been who will know who it is !!!!
A big thanks to Thomas Cook staff there, Mark the rep who deals with everything we threw at him efficiently, Jodie and Stacey the kids club reps who entertained our daughter for 2 weeks.So Team Sparkle take a bow!.
If you have any worries about going to this hotel, dont, unless you have a phobia to ignorant, rude, selfish guests.

Room Tip: Block 35 is ideal for families, 2 bedrooms and huge.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank nickiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Ok here we go.

Travelled from Manchester 4 - 14 October 2011 with Thomas Cook flight times 5 hour 10 mins. Flight was frankly awful really cramped with absolutely no entertainment In flight food had to be pre booked and was slops at best.

You can pre book extra leg room with Thomas Cook for £30 each each way !!!!! TC also want £6 each to guarantee sitting together.

Visas - when you get off plane you are taken to a hall you are all processed for the visa about £13 each pay in £,$, Euros or Egyptian pounds.

Takes about 30 mins to hotel, met by Rep given drinks and brief etc.

Rooms basic, but big and clean they put us in a twin but moved us straight away, we only had one minor problem with lights and it was sorted straight away. Rooms are secure with safe.

Pools.....fantastic about 4 main pools of varying depths all very clean. There is a large one (shallow) for kids alone and some good deep ones for adult sports etc. Loads and loads of sunbeds.

Beach...clean with loads of sunbeds and shade - snorkeling no problem although go to Hotel next door as they have more coral hence more fish.

Red Flags - Sales Reps are patrolling constantly - salon - diving - island trip - etc etc you will be given two plastic cards on booking in these are your towel cards. Go to the nearest Towel Station and swap for clean towels ask for a red flag at the same time - display flag and you are generally left alone.

Sales Reps - always polite and smiling - they all have ways to get you to talk to them, a simple no thankyou is enough to deter in the main.

Food - There are 7 ala Carte Resteraunts in the resort for different types of food. You book them by going to the Victoria Pub at 0930hrs. We tried nearly all - you can book one per day they were never full. The food can be very good in the ala Cartes it can also be quite poor.

Buffet - the main buffet is in the main building loads of food however not as nicely presented as the resteraunts. It can get manic in there at 1900hrs, for lunch try "Around the World" same food and a lot quieter. The standard of food is not brillient, you should not expect ala carte european standards. You should also be aware the buffets are dominated by Russian / east European dishes.

The Salads are from the nile region we stayed away due to the water quality.

Water- There is bottled water everywhere only use this.

Alcohol - Once you get over the fact it's free you will realise that the quality for the main is awful, the beer (lager) is ok but spirits are not UK standard. I really do mean the Vodka and Whiskey are bad they could fuel your car. Red Wine was ok as was the Rose.

Kids - Activities seemed to be dominated by Russians, they have tall chairs at ala Cartes and kiddy seating area in main buffet.

There were complaints about cots in rooms with side being too low, this was resolved quickly. There is a large playpark but no kids clubs etc.

Entertainment - Every night, you will quickly meet all the reps they dress in pink and are fantastic, dancing, singing, exercise etc. really nice people who do all they can to help you.

Tipping - They love your tips, we took £100 worth of US $ and just gave out a couple when they deserved it, some of the waiters were excellent some not... we gave the room cleaner a few each day and had lovely designs - flowers etc as payback. They will try and change pound coins for your notes we did not do this.

Trips out - we went to Mhamir Island with TC which was excellent, Luxor was good but its a 17 hour day on a bus....

Illness - most people we met suffered an upset tummy at some stage ( I did) however there is a pharmacy on the beachfront with the knowledge to sort you out for about a £10 the Dr visits twice a day as well if required.

Hurghada - Dump.

Haggling - Some shops in the resort frankly take the mick - they are more expensive than Luxor and Cairo if you do buy haggle hard. My tip here is to walk away they will give in. The chappy selling wooden items by Reception is the only rude Egyptian we met he wanted £75 for a Papyrus when they were roughly £15 elsewhere before haggling.

Eastern Europeans - You need to understand that 80% of guests are Russian or from somewhere similar. You will note they are very different in many ways - they do not like to speak, they do not like to queue they are agressive and demand certain sunbeds (witnessed this on the beach).

Diving - There is a PADI centre on site.....i'm BSAC but have to say these guys are very good and very cheap.

We enjoyed our stay and met some great people, for us the hotel is too big and food not really good enough that said it has many positives. we won't be going back again(Egypt) however it is a very nice hotel and the Egyptions really friendly so can understand why people do.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stuart p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Just returned from the Sunrise after a two week holiday. Hotel and staff were excellent. Food was good though we did prefer the on site restaurants as they were quieter, the Asian restaurant was wonderful as were the staff. We would like to say a special thankyou to Mostafa Hussany in the Pergola bar where we spent most of our evenings, he couldn`t have been more helpful and kind. Would like to go back but the russians put us off a bit, there are too many of them and they are such rude people.
Our room was very spacious and clean which was on the ground floor right by the pool, the flowers scattered on the beds were a nice touch.
Would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Just returned from a one week stay at the Sunrise Royal in Makadi Bay. The staff were great and just couldn't do enough for you. The main buffet restaurant is great with a good selection of food. There are also seven speciality restaurants offering a huge selection of food from around the world. All of them great, especially the Asian and they are all included in the price. The rooms are large and clean as is the rest of the hotel. There are several huge (cold!) swimming pools and never any problems getting a sun bed. All in all a very nice place for a relaxing friendly holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Stayed 4 October for one week with Thomas Cook, all inclusive, 2 adults.

FLIGHT - Thomas Cook from London Gatwick Boeing 757
Nothing to do with the hotel, but as we booked as part of package will just say if you are over 5 foot 10 then either make sure you get an exit seat or this will be an awful flight due to severe lack of legroom!

TRANSFER - coach and rep
Time from airport 20 minutes, enough time to fill in hotel guest card for arrival as not much in the way of scenery to look at. Thomas Cook rep was rather bored and not inspiring.

ARRIVAL
Greet and meet was short and sweet which was good. Nice cool drink while rooms sorted out. Allocated and shown to rooms within 10 minutes and luggage arrived shortly afterwards.

ROOM
We requested a twin, got three single bed room which was welcome as we had plenty of room to spread out. Ample wardrobe/drawer space, TV and aircon, balcony good size but iron chairs not comfortable for long stay. Wetroom style bathroom was good. Room clean and cleaned every day.

We overlooked the family pool in building 10 and had a sea view as well with morning sunshine.

All the rooms are in three storey buildings dotted around the large complex which gives it a nice feel and does not make it feel cramped or imposing.

FACILITIES
Pools- We stayed around the family pool which at this time of year was very quiet. The family pool is chest deep for most adults and is wide enough for a decent swim. The water slides are only on from 10am-12noon and 3pm-5pm so not noisy. Has a pool bar and great drink service to your sun lounger. We tipped Mahmoud at the bar for the day and never went without water or beer all day! Great service!
There are two other pools, one that looked like a more kiddy pool and another near the main reception/restaurant area that was quite busy everyday. The beach is ok, but not our thing so cannot comment. It did look very crowded when we walked passed once or twice.

FOOD -
Breakfast - main restaurant only - good selection, but don't expect full English, this is Egypt!
Lunch - main restaurant - good selection, nothing spectacular.
Lunch - family pool bar (T-Bones) - good burger and chips or fresh made pizza.
Dinner - main restaurant - good selection, nothing spectacular. Seen a few comments here about rude people and pushing in, but we had no problem, just go with the flow, you're on holiday!
Dinner - 7 ala carte restaurants - fantastic! Need to book in the English Pub from 10am for that night and/or the next evening, but queues not long at all. Most time waited was 10 minutes. The food in all ala carte restaurants was good and what you would expect for Egypt. It was nice not to have the buffet experience every meal time. Only negative comment is that there is no break in between courses due to set sitting times, but you can ask to slow down if you want.
Drinks - only drank local beer and water which was fine and did the job!
Ate mostly everything (not literally!!) and did not suffer from any illness at all.

MONEY
If you are going to stay on the resort would recommend US$ as you can easily use them elsewhere if you have anything left and are happily accepted for tips. GB£1 coins are accepted but as the Egyptians cannot exchange coins then they are pretty useless for them. Please do tip as you will get good service. We found that a $1 here and there meant you never had to wait for a drink refill.

RESORT
The Sunrise Makadi Bay is a large resort but we felt that is what gave it its charm. Nothing is too far away from most facilities, 5 minute walk at the most. Grounds are green and lush and well looked after.

OVERALL
Would definitely recommend this hotel. We found it quiet, relaxing, peaceful and just the thing to chill out.

Room Tip: Request for a quiet sunny balcony was not dissappointed.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank George35WestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews