We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday”
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We had a family holiday at the end of October / beginning of November.

The all inclusive is good but we found the a la carte dinng a useful option.

Proximity to The Red Sea for diving and snorkelling is great for trips but not very good close to the hotel beach.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cpmdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,723
    1,096
    432
    133
    89
See reviews for
3,118
1,937
107
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,145)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We have just came back from Sunrise Roylal Makadi bay hotel in November this was our third time at sunrise and can still say it was amazing. we had met so many friends there and each and every visit is wonderful. The staff cannot do enough for you. you will not find a better choice of restaurants anywhere in the red sea. there is 7 or 8 one nearly for every culture. As always a very big thank you to Ulla from quality management who never forgets us. As do all the staff as always. i cannot recommend this hotel enough for quality, cleanliness, value for money, also choice of food.you wont regret it, book now.

Room Tip: try block 15 or 16
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mckinn0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level Contributor
90 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We have just had a brilliant holiday at this wonderful hotel, whilst it is a large hotel we have been at larger ones that weren't as well laid out. We were very impressed from the moment we arrived, and were soon taken to our lovely room in block 12, with our luggage soon following. We ate in the main restaurant our first night and had no problems at all, from then on we enjoyed visiting all the a-la carte restaurants. It was very windy for our 2 week stay and quite chilly in the evenings so we didn't manage the steak house as it is outside.
We managed to get a sheltered spot by the pool our first day, where we were well looked after by Morsy. We spent several days on the beach as we found it to be more sheltered from the wind, and interesting watching the boats, windsurfers etc.
We tended to have breakfast at the around the world restaurant which we had almost to ourselves, but prefered lunch at the main restaurant as we could sit outside. We found the around the world too hot at lunchtime, there is aircon but it wasn't always on.
We thought all of the food was excellent and can't understand how anyone could not find anything they liked to eat.
Our room was upstairs and well cleaned and looked after throughout our stay, we had a large double bed. The shower didn't have much power but there was always hot water. Lovely clean towels and sheets were provided every day.
The grounds are well kept up, the only thing that we found was that some of the outside tiles were broken and needed to be replaced.
We used the lobby bar in the evenings as it was too cold to sit outside, more chairs are probably needed inside or some other sheltered area.
The entertainment team worked hard and there were things on all day. I went to yoga a few times and was often the the only one! We went to a professional dance show and also a snake show which were both excellent, but generally the cool evenings didn't make us want to go out to the arena. Athough we didn't do much the team were always around for a chat and telling us what was going on.
We weren't troubled by people selling much, maybe we were too old!
I would say this is probably a good 4 star hotel, the staff and the new dining options definately make it! We would love to go back next year.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LinjEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Recently returned from 2 weeks in the Sunrise, nights were cold and days deceivingly hot. Staff at the Sunrise really appreciate return visitors and made our holiday feel just that little bit more special. The Sunrise now has seven al carte restaurants, we visited all of them and also treat ourselves to a lobster dinner for approximately £20 for two persons, a must if you are a lobster fan. Our favourite restaurants were the Asian, Italian and the Steakhouse which had improved dramatically since our first visit, downside is it was cold sat outside. The new Greek seafood restaurant was a little disappointing although a seafood restaurant it has no meat/vegatarian dishes on it which would be awkward for group who are dining with people who don't like fish. The hotel is undergoing some asethetic renovation and is dramatically benefiiting from it. For children the hotel and staff are fantastic, however I think all the restaurants need to cater for children more, two weeks of chicken nuggets, fries, spaghetti, and pizza can make children difficult to please (a tin of baked beans would go along way). We are returning in August 2012 and are already counting down the days, one tip is if you want anything do not be afraid to ask, if you have a complaint tell the staff and they will bend over backwards to assist. Special thanks to Ayman (Dalila restaurant), El Sayed (Italian), Mohamed (Pergola bar), Nazmy (family pool 2) and our room cleaner Alaa he was fabulous, and kept our room beautiful. Also the guys that work in the photo boot (united brothers) are fabulous and took some fantastic family photos for us.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gibbisontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
258 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

This was our 3rd visit to this resort.I must say it was just as good as our previous visits,all the better for the additional ala carte restaurants,this made the choices better,we managed to get in them all apart from the asian,unfortunately.by booking in the late afternoon save queing in the victoria pub, albeit there was only 2 of us.checking in no problem,we were in block 30,which was on the perimeter,of the blocks,not a bad spot at all,quiet for most of the time.3 minutes to the beach,slightly longer to reception.but all in all not bad.the staff are the main reasons for returning,must say that certain areas require attention URGENTLY.to keep up with the up and coming resorts in the area.reception is 1 area,also the rooms need looking at,although still comfortable,just the general decor needs looking at,most areas kept spotless by the tireless efforts of staff.the GYM.what a disaster.apparently I was told this was going back above the spa this week,sooner rather than later,in its present state it canot be classed as a GYM!!still enjoyed our stay would definately go back.WIFI was available but the signal was very patchy in areas,in our room it went up and down.cost us 270 LE for 6 days.pay for 3 get 3 free

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank todareistodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Ist time to this hotel, came recommended. Like may of the other reviews its certainly not a 5* I would say 3 or 4. Couldn't fault the waiters or the entertainment staff, special mention to Patrick! great guy always had time to talk to people and entertain the kids even if it was for only 5mins. The days were hot until about 3.30pm then the winds get up and its time to come off the beach or out of the pool, nowhere to sit that is sheltered from the cold wind, bit of a let down.
We had a few issues with our room and the cleanliness was terrible, when we arrived on our 1st day, our beds hadn't been changed from the previous people!! really disgusting, but housekeeping did come up at 11pm and change the beds (rightly so). There was a party of 8 of us, but they only gave us 7 beds, this was rectified the next day! Would definitely say the rooms were shabby and not up to a good standard.
This was definitely a hotel for the Russians, they mainly ate in the main food hall which was great as the Al a Carte restaurants were keep free for more respectful people (enough said).
The food was fantastic, I'm a fussy eater and so are the kids but there was always something for all of us, the selection was amazing. The Pool side bar had a great cook while you wait pizza ovens, also other hot choices of food and ice-cream for the kids.

There was a definite odour of stagnant water when the gardeners were spraying the grass (recycled from the hotel waste I would say)! not pleasant.

Hotel reception staff not overly friendly and Thomas cook rep always pointed me in their direction when there were problems to deal with!!
Reception area in dire need of a make over, this was the only indoor place to go of an evening as it was to cold to sit outdoors at this time of year (wish I had taken coats for all of us for the evenings).

Don't be fooled by the glossary for the trips out, Shop & Rock was a total rip off (not to be recommended).
The Spa (well where do I start) very dirty, package sold falsely, but was slightly rectified by the Reception of the hotel. Felt like I was being wrestled rather than massaged. Had my face mask washed off in the staff toilets (not relaxing or pleasant experience at all).

Overall we had a nice holiday, but I think its what you make it!!

Room Tip: Make sure if there are more than 5 of you in a family, you need to state exactly how many beds and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becca10100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

At the start of September my friend and I visited this hotel and really enjoyed our trip. The staff and management couldn't do enough for you. One of the best overall hotels I've stayed at.

This hotel made us feel really welcome and we especially enjoyed eating in the various restaurants our favourite was the Asian where Mohamed Ali looked after us. We also enjoyed the steak house where in the daytime you could have lovely freshly cooked pizza - Mohamed and Said looked after us. Our room was regularly cleaned by Antonuis Room 12101 which was right near to the reception area and family pool. Twin room lounge joined thereon hallway dressing room area and bath and shower, w.c.

I also dined in the egpytian restaurant which I enjoyed. With the camel (Pepsi) outside, this was looked after well, its teeth cleaned daily and it was recovering from an operation but really cared for.

The lobby bar served about 5 branded spirits to Thomas Cook guests so this was nice as some of the other drinks weren't so nice the brandy didn't taste like brandy. You could drink whenever you wanted but not the same could be said for the food, we were unable to get a snack before flying home. Never mind was not the end of the world.

The room was very nice and Antouuis left me a rose which was nice and several towel sculptures. The room had a small fridge with water and soft drinks etc this was refilled when we needed it. We'd asked before for a kettle and this was provided for us. When we arrived we had a phone call to see if we had everything we needed - nice touch.

The grounds were vey nice and a pleasant walk with a waterfall in one part of the garden along with modern scupultures etc. The beach was okay but not as good as the beach next door and the snorkelling just next door was brilliant, waist high the fish you could see was amazing i went snorkelling loads of times.

We went on the snorkelling trip with Thomas Cook, but were the only english people on it but we thoroughly enjoyed this, we had 3 stops, two at sea and the last one at paradise island there was over 50+ boat moored up here, hell if you ask me. I preferred the other two stops and they serve a lunch and soft drinks. We also were fortunate enough to see dolphins. The guide on this trip did a brilliant briefing best i have seen.

I would like to return to the hotel soon and would recommend it. The tipping at this hotel is by placing money in boxes so you don't feel pushed into tipping all the time, very good idea.

I would rate this hotel above the other 3 hotels I have stayed in Sharm/Taba Heights this being my 12th visit to egpyt!!

Room Tip: Egypt is expensive for toiletries and a lot of other items so take your own with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dreamacer2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
1.1 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
832 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
0.8 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort
0.6 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,205 reviews
8.5 mi away
SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort

Property: SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Address: Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 623, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#8 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 698
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Select Royal Makadi is located in the heart of Makadi bay. The hotel is built on relaxing landscape, with spectacular avers and fine sand beach for enjoyable vacation. Distance form Hurghada international Airport 30 minutes, from Hurghada downtown 35 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Royal Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay
Sunrise Makadi Bay
Sunrise Royal Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing