We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Holiday !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Holiday !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

My Husband & I actually went to this Hotel March 2011 , but kept forgetting to write a Review!!
Wonderful Hotel, Beautifully Landscaped [ a Joy to my husband who is a Professional Landscaper ! ] , Lovely Pools, hotel is situated within a wonderful Bay, to which we had great Walks along it, Brilliant clear waters, great for Snorkelling. Excellent Food, especially the A La Carte Restaurants, where you could actually get Dressed up in the evening ! The staff were very friendly, the evenings were low key, which suited us as we went for a quiet relaxing holiday. Evenings were chilly and windy in March. Visited the little Spa, ok, had a nice time in the Steam Room, a Body Wrap & Outside Jacuzzi,but no Health Questions asked beforehand.The Salon was also closed the whole week too. It is cheaper to get Souvenirs ,gifts etc at the Airport, where they have a huge array of Great Shops, [ after Security ] ! We bought from the hotel without knowing this !!!
Rooms look alittle "Tired" inside, but we were hardly in it !.
But apart from this it was a Great Holiday. They were building more A la carte restaurants as we were leaving.
Hope to return, as only a short transfer from the airport.

Room Tip: Get a Deluxe one, close to the beach, overlooking the Sea, with Private Sunbathing Area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,086 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,369
    1,073
    422
    133
    89
See reviews for
2,893
1,847
103
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,132)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

Just returned from a relaxing week at SRM 17 - 24 January. It is a large hotel with different blocks of rooms set among beautifully kept gardens. On arrival we sat in reception (slightly faded grandeur) with a drink, and the staff organised our room keys. Our room was spotless and quite comfortable, we didn't notice any noise from other residents. The TV had some English channels, the mini bar is stocked with water daily, but soft drinks are only replaced weekly (there were 2 of us and 4 bottles of fizzy drink), this was not a problem for us, but if you had small children and spent more time in the room it may be. The shower worked well and there was always hot water, there was a hairdryer and a magnifying shaving mirror in the bathroom. The week we were there was bright and sunny, but the wind was quite chilly, however, the air-con blew hot or cold which was great. The room was always made up and kept clean - the towel art was excellent, not only did we get swans and peacocks, but we got a full size body in my husbands clothes which gave us a fright when we got back to the room! The food was fine, typical all inclusive, salads, pasta bar, different main courses from around the world and a huge array of puddings. I am a really fussy eater, but I always found something I liked. We ate in the small Dahlia restaurant for breakfast and lunch as it was a lot quieter and more relaxed. (If you want to eat in the a la carte restaurants, check your all inclusive package. There are 2 levels which is not made clear when you book - we didn't spot it and there were about 4 other couples who complained about this to Thomas Cook when we were there). The staff and service are great, the entertainment was ok, we have seen a lot worse! One tip, if you are travelling this time of year, take a coat or hoody as it is chilly in the morning and at night. It is also cold in the sea/pool, although we still went snorkling - this was limited off the beach, not as good as Sharm El Sheik, but you can do trips to see more if you want to. The beach was clean and we always got a sunbed. The pool area and the gardens were also clean and tidy. All in all, we had a great time and would happily go back there

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bonkz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

Went for christmas and New Year Fantastic!!!! Didn't think i would like a big hotel but it was so well set out that you never felt to crowned . Seven restaurant to pick from so choice was aplenty. You do need a jumper or jacket for the evening. We didn't stay up for the Entertainment as our children were pretty dead on there feet by 8.30pm after along day on the beach. Take adaptors for your portable DVD players to connect to the telly. This was great for us to watch movies when the kids went to bed. The Gala Dinner for Christmas eve and new year was impressive, you won't be disappointed. Only other thing is if you like your wine (as we do)then buy some in duty-free and champagne for new year! I put in my suit case as they were asking about 300pound for a 25 pound bottle champagne. Wine provided was ok but not as good as the new world wines we usually drink (worth the effort for gala meals!) We also took a bottle of spirits for night cap in bed as well!This is great value for your money.If you want the Wow factor then go to the Caribbean,if you want a good family hotel then it will not disappoint. We are currently in the process of booking again for next year, so it can't be bad can it!

Room Tip: Family rooms are great as it has a completely separate area for the children (like another room, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
115 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

Went to the Sunrise Royal for a week in late January, weather was good, sunny about 21-24oC a slight cold wind sometimes, but temperatures dropped raidly when the sun set, so cold at nights . We chose this hotel as it had great reviews and overall it was good and the staff were excellent, most attentive. We flew cattle class on Thomas cook, leg room was worst I had ever experienced. On arriving in Hurghada the airport was a bit hostile with abrupt unfriendly airport staff. After a short transfer of around 30 minutes we arrived at the Sunrise and were warmly greeted, checked in and our bags taken to our room. Our room in block 31 was great, clean, Queen sized bed, A/C, TV, fridge, safe deposit, another bedroom with twin beds, good size bathroom and shower. Couple of things did let it down, such as badly fitting wardrobe doors, dirty net curtain, and leaking shower cubicle which in turn was rotting the skirting. There was a hair dryer but no iron, but a quick call to reception and one was in the room within minutes. Gardens were beautiful and immaculate.
There are 2 levels of all inclusive, normal (which we had as we took a late booking at half the brochure price), and Ultra which also entitles you to use the 7 a la carte restaurants and also gives you 5 branded spirits. We opted to pay for the a la carte meals as we wanted them at 120 Egyptian pounds per person per meal. Asian and Italian were great and mexican and Grill were OK however grill is outside so wrap up warm if you go winter months.
The main buffet restaurant was OK, a bit busy, but your on holiday so whats the rush. Food was always fine, well presented, hygene was excellent, but may not be to everyones taste and could be a bit boring, but saying that we always found something to enjoy.
Biggest let down were the swimming pools, which would be great in the summer, but are freezing in the winter. They do say 2 are heated, however this barely takes the chill off them, and you dont see many braving them in January. Beach was OK, nothing special, sandy with a few rocks. Plenty of free comfortable sun loungers on the beach and around the pools, with bars for a welcome drink. Once again staff were excellent, ordered 2 cokes the first day and next day he brought 2 cokes over and towels were laid out as soon as he saw us coming.
Did not bother much with the entertainment which I understand was a bit lame, but thats just our opinion, some enjoyed it.
To sum up, the hotel was good but not 5 star compared with for example the 4 star last year in Cuba. Numerous people did mention it was one of the best they had stayed in Egypt. Best point was the excellent staff, so reward them for their service. We used US dollars rather than £ coins as they can exchange these, however the hotel only encourages tipping in the communal tip boxes. Bad point was the freezing pools. Would I go again, probably not as there are plenty more places to go. Would I recommend it, yes but dont expect true 5 star.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SandDCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

Just got back from this hotel last night after spending a week there. Well...what can i say? The hotel exceeded our expectations by a mile! A little bit nervous before we come after reading a few reviews but this hotel is amazing. The rooms are fantastic, lots of space, huge bed and georgeous views of the pools from the balcony! Very clean also and the maid was really nice. The pools were so beautiful, big and clean and since the hotel was quiet in january we had most of the pools to ourselves! We went for my birthday and the hotel staff really made it very special, from singing to me, leaving fruit and wine in my room, giving me a birthday cake and filling our double bed with an amazing towel arrangement of swans, love hearts and petals! In terms of the food, everything was so nice. Was never ill once. The a la carte restaurants were unbelievable, steak, asian, italian and mexican were our favs! I recommend you go to mexican if u really like mexican food! Overall, would love to go back and we are hoping to next year. Just one more thing...i recommend you go 'ultra all inclusive' as that includes all the al la cartes and brand name alcohol and they cant be missed!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Deb2401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

We spent 11 relaxing days at the Sunrise Royal Makadi Hotel. We have stayed in Egypt 3 times now and have to say that this is the best hotel by far for amenities and services. The rooms where spacious and exceptionally clean as were all the communal areas.

The staff where exceptionally friendly and Mido from the entertainment (Animation) went out of his way to make you feel at home and comfortable.

We booked with Thomas Cook and did find the rep less helpful than we would expect and did have a few issues with the booking of trips, but of course this was nothing to do with the hotel itself.

We have previously stayed in Sharm where you can leave the grounds of the hotel and visit the local shops, but in Makadi Bay there is nothing outside the handful of hotels. So if you’re looking for the local Bazaars and pubs then I’d recommend Hurghadar itself. (Although you can pay a few euros to get the shuttle bus there.) The hotel does have it’s own shops and club/bar which are open every night. But these can not be heard from your accommodation and unless you’re looking for the club you’d not realise it was there.

All in all we loved our stay and if we are able too, would jump at the chance to stay in this facility again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DazCoates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

Have just spent christmas and new year ot the SMB hotel. Had a problem with our first room which was sorted and the 3 of us being put into another room with 15 minutes. How on earthsomebody can say that the hotel rooms were noisey - the hotel was only half full and not a sound could be heard. Superb choice of a la carte restaraunts though the steak house did get a little chilly and a coat/jumper was needed. Some pools were cool but you had the option of using the heated ones. The gala evenings were fantastic, plenty of food, music and on new years eve, goody bags with party stuff inside. Rooms were spotless and when our daughter was sick in during the night, the night porter arrived within 10 minutes with new bedding. What a guy! All staff that we encountered were very friendly and chatty. Would love to go back again.

Room Tip: Either pay the upgrade for the suites on the front or request block 10 which we found to have rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Dippyduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
1.1 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 29 in Makadi Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
8.4 mi away
SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
0.6 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
8.2 mi away
Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort

Property: SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Address: Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 623, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#9 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 698
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Select Royal Makadi is located in the heart of Makadi bay. The hotel is built on relaxing landscape, with spectacular avers and fine sand beach for enjoyable vacation. Distance form Hurghada international Airport 30 minutes, from Hurghada downtown 35 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Royal Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay
Sunrise Makadi Bay
Sunrise Royal Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing