We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday!”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Just come back from the Royal Makadi and had an absolutely brilliant time. The resort is really lovely but what makes it great is the staff, just brilliant! A big thank you to Ahmed, Mohamed, Ibrahim, Said, (the staff at the Perola bar) Midooo, Timo and all the rest, too many to mention but all excellent. We stayed all inclusive ultra with Thomas Cook and thought this was an absolute bargain for a winter break. Great weather, great food, excellent beach and pools, good trips (worth doing Luxor).
Maybe the rooms aren't 5 star but we hadn't paid a 5 star price so no surprises there!
One of the best holidays we've had recently.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Madison28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,723
    1,096
    432
    133
    89
See reviews for
3,118
1,937
107
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,145)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

I spent 11-18 February here with my wife and 7 old daughter. Booked with Thomas Cook last year.

Right, first things first - I'm sick and tired of all the whingers and whiners with their petty complaints about this hotel. Yes, Thomas Cook have overrated it in terms of stars (it's three star, nothing more) but for the price charged it works out as excellent value. The rooms are large (we were in Block 10) and the shower was hot and powerful. Yes, there was a bit of dust under the beds but all it took was a quick word with the cleaner to get it sorted.

Yes, the path behind the loungers before you get to beach was being repaired while we were there but the work was so low key that we hardly noticed it. 5 ton trucks? Didn't see any? Health and safety? The bits being worked on were clearly cordoned off with tape so anyone hurt while taking a short cut over the works area has only themselves to blame.

The weather while we were there was fantastic. Most days ranged from 22-25 degrees with a couple of days hitting 27! Even when some cirrus clouds came over it was still warm even to feel absolutely comfortable. The sea temperature was fine and the water was crystal clear. We didn't spend any time in the swimming pools because the sea was so pleasant. I only snorkelled because I had to look after my little one but we saw some amazing tropical fish in the shallow waters. The constant stream of salesmen while we were sunbathing did get annoying but this soon stopped once we picked up a red flag from the towel centre.

The food at Sunrise was good with a wide choice of fresh meats, fish, salads, pasta and fruit. Yes, there were lots of Russians at the main restaurant and I had come prepared to challenge them if I saw any rudeness but there was no bad behavior whatsoever. Queues for food were orderly and people did not take any 'greedy' portions. There appear (in previous reviews) to have been complaints about the levels of the all inclusive deal. I had the ultra /VIP level which ment we had access to all the a la carte restaurants. Most of the couples who didn't have this access had bought last minute deals which meant their holiday was ridiculously cheap in the first place. We tried the Greek, Arabian, Steak and Mediterranean restaurants. All were good but I particularly liked the Arabian and Steak. However, beware, the Steak restaurant is outside and we had a very windy meal although there were heaters over the tables. The service throughout was amazing. Maybe they're paid to smile but I found the Egyptian people and staff very warm and friendly on all occasions. They were extremely attentive and if there ever was a minor problem then they endeavoured to put things right immediately. The availability of snacks (pizzas, burgers, chips, salad, ice cream) was very welcome too.

The entertainment in the evenings was brilliant. There were family friendly shows put on in the theatre daily at 2100. There was an amazing Russian dance troupe which gave us a real Strictly Come Dancing show; there was an 'ok' slapstick comedy show which, of course, the kids loved; there was a snake charming show and finally we saw an acrobatic show. Really good stuff!

We did did two excursions which were booked through the Thomas Cook rep, Mohammed - the desert Bedouin trip and a day in Luxor. The desert trip was great fun! We hired a 4 seat buggy so the whole family could go in one vehicle. Separate trips on quad bikes were also available. For Luxor, we hired our own vehicle, driver and guide which cut down the journey time there and back. If you have any interest in ancient Egyptian culture or simply want to be amazed by 4,000 year old structures then Luxor is unmissable.

All in all, my family and I had a wonderful, memorable holiday - many of the staff got to know me by name and always had a smile for my daughter. Upon leaving the leaving the hotel, the management team all came out to see us off and wave goodbye. Obviously, if you're a whinger that expects 'Savoy' style for a 'Travel Lodge' price then you won't be happy with the sunrise Royal. Should Thomas Cook market the Sunrise Royal as a 5 star? No. But would I go back? Yes, definitely.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank nickstyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Just got back from a fantastic week, we found the hotel staff very helpful and polite. We found the food to be of a good quality. we ate in the al a cart restaurants most nights, the Asian restaurant was amazing. The rest of the time we ate in the smaller Around the World restaurant less busy. My wife and I have stayed in numerous hotels on an all inclusive basis, and found this hotel to be possibly the best. would we go back, dam right we would, already been in to Thomas Cook for a quote for September.
Lots of activities if you want, also an area where only adults are allowed.
Although we had no children they seemed to be well catered for, lots of activities etc.

Duty free at the airport on the way back is a lot cheaper than any where else, even gifts are cheaper than in the resort.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed at Sunrise Makadi Resort in January, we arrived and were directed to our rooms which were on the outskirts of the resort and of average quality (not 5 star) we had 3 adults to 1 bedroom (the 3rd bed was similar to a child's camp bed) We had paid full price for 3 adults and thought we deserved a room that represented the price that we had paid. We went to reception to complain and were met with Mr Mahmoud Yassien Elsherif, who was extremely friendly, attentive and apologetic; he upgraded our room to pool side, ensured that the 3rd bed was of a similar quality to the other two and upgraded us from ultra all inclusive to VIP which included access to the VIP pool area and instantly improved the holiday experience of us three ladies.

Many Thanks, for your customer service and friendliness.

The main restaurant was a buffet service and had chefs cooking fresh pasta, steaks and eggs etc. The food was of a good quality and had lots of variety, although probably not suitable for those wanting British food all the time. We enjoyed every meal in the main restaurant, we dined in a selection of the themed cuisine restaurants although found the food identical to that within the buffet restaurant, although well presented and waiter service, it was of no higher quality.

The beaches were well maintained and not overcrowded, there was quite a lot of touting on the beach within the first few days, although we quickly noticed that you can get a red flag from the towel kiosk which notifies them that you do not wish to be disturbed.... Lifesaver.

Recommend this area of Egypt :)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

stayed 17th-27th feb 2012 and we thought we got a good deal booking with thomas crook but
found out when we arrived that because it was a flexitrip we were on the lowest type of all incl
which did NOT include al a carte resturants even thou we were told they were included.
1st impressions were not good,asked to be moved from 1st room 2nd not much better -3star tops!.we were told by t crooks just before we went that they were doing minor building works
to the footpaths and there would be no disruption and they were going to be using handtools
only - wrong!,they were using an old 10ton loading shovel - noise dust etc, i work on a building site and it was home from home except health and safety would have had a field day!
we noticed several people wearing nice new casts on their arms and legs.the insurance firms are going to be busy!.
we stayed in room 21208 on thurs evening we had no hot water for 2hrs,friday eve we had hot water but was like mud ! called reception and plumber was sent out all he did was run water for 10mins and it did come through clearer. sat eve guess what, water was like mud again after 3 calls and visit to reception ,2 and half hours later 2 plumbers turned up ran water for 10mins and said sorry but this is a problem with most of the hotel.
overall there wasnt a bad selection of food in the main resturant,- good job as we couldent eat in the al a carte unless we paid! just what is it it with the polite russians and their mountains of stawberries?
yes most of the waiters were quite good but as it was getting busier i dont know if there
would be enough room to find a table at height of season as it is quite a large hotel and it was nowhere near full when we were there.
not the worst hotel/holiday we have had, but definetly not the best.

Room Tip: yes book a room in another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for valuing your stay at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort in February2012.

We are always appreciating constructive comments. Our Team is working constantly on improving our facilities and services in order to meet our guests' expectations.
Your comments have been noted and forwarded to our department heads.

The SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Team will be glad to have the pleasure to welcoming you once again at our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ramsgate
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

stayed 14/28th feb

we got what we expected
the rooms were ok bedding/towels clean'ish
floors full of fluff/dust around and under table/chairs/beds


FOOD
we ate in the main resturant twice and its not only the europeans queue jumping
and filling their plates some brits where doing just the same

the A'LA CARTE'S
where ok asian/italian&beduion where are top 3
T-BONE steak house should be re-named CHICKEN WISHBONE goin by the size of my steak

we had brekkie/lunch in the AROUND THE WORLD was more stress free but on the 2nd wk
the menu was nearly the same everyday

POOLS
gave them a miss due to the winds it was much warmer/less windy at the beach
but get up early to get a front row lounger as they've all gone by 7-30

ENTERTAINMENT
didn't bother seeing any shows

all in all was worth what we payed
beware of the works goin on 5 ton JCB's are not HAND TOOLS

DRINKS
in the evening dont let the waiters get them you will wait ages and it wont be the
spirit brand that you asked for

i would not like to stay there when its full the hotel would not cope with 5000 guests
the hotel has its head just above water at the mo and its only half full

would i go back yes but the 1st 2wks in march as it will be warmer and a bit lighter in the evenings

VISA'S
when you enter the building turn left and you will see a kiosk they do visa's for £10-00

FISHIN
i used a local's gear and fished of the jetty [all though its banned] but nobody said nowt caught quite a few mullet up to 2kg on bread of the suface he has a very limited amount of tackle and could do with some line hooks floats etc etc
i was goin to post him some but he said it would never get to him so please help him out
he is the guy that takes photo's of people on the boats/skies/rubber inflatables im sure he will
be very gratefull

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobmarleyRamsgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to post a review on TripAdvisor .
Your comments have been noted by the Management Team.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

As the title says if i had paid the brochure price for this hotel i would have cried. It is not a five star hotel, more like a 3 star. It is very dated and and looks shabby in some areas. The main buffet restaurant is awful, troughs full of not very appetising food for the pigs. We always had breakfast and lunch in the around the world restaurant, however it is limited. The international alcoholic brands were ok, however the beer is horrible like it has been watered down. I dont know how they can say that this is 24 hour all inclusive as it is not.

We stayed for 2 weeks and the first week the hotel was very quiet the second was a lot busier and this reflected in the food and drink quality. The hotel had 2500 guests in the second week and i was informed that in the height of the season this doubles! I would not like to be staying then as the hotel would not be able to cope.

The pools were ok, but cold, the floors throughout the complex are very slippery! The beach seems to be man made and they could do with a few less sun shades for people that would like to sunbathe. The water was constantly full of dead jelly fish being washed up onto the shore.

Building work is taking place around the resort and we was informed by TC that it was with handtools. This is not the case, there are heavy plant vehicles, jcb carrying scoops of cement that was slopping everywhere. The main path between the beach and the resort was being replaced and the jcb digger was driving up and reversing down at some speed. I had to constantly watch me son in case he ran onto the path! This would have been a serious breach of health and safety here. Then they put cement hardener on the concrete which was blown all over people lying on the beach. They left gaps to put decorate brick work in between but they didnt cordon the paths off. We watched one women walking with a plate of food who actually fell into the gap really hurting herself. No one come rushing over to help her despite hotel staff being close by, one eventually came over picked up her food and placed it back on her plate and gave her the food back!!

Around the family pool works were being carried out and repainting of wood work. This made it impossible to sit round the pool as the smell of paint and paint thinners was unbearable, we was getting high off the fumes. This was also happening ion the around the world restaurant as the main boss was having a party in a few days time and they had to have everything spotless, which reflected on the service to the guests.

Our room was adequate, but was quite dirty. The plug hole in the shower was disgusting, there was a thick layer of dust under the beds and around the skirting boards. I do not think the bathroom floor was ever moped in the time we was there as a bit of shower gel had fallen on the floor and remained there for the duration. My bathroom stunk of sewage and when the toliet was flushed even more so. the handle on the bathroom door was broken and i got locked in the bathroom for 40 mins despite 2 calls to reception no one came to help, my mum managed to open the door in the end. the shower was also rubbish, dribbling out water and that was when we was lucky that there was hot water.

The mini bar is supposed to be restocked every week but we had to remind them in the second week to fill it up, you only get four fizzy drinks and 2 waters. There is no tea and coffee facilities in the bedrooms and really could do with an iron and board too.

Most of the staff are polite and friendly its mainly staff that work in the offices are rude, one incident we had one member of staff shouting at us!

The A la cart restaurants were fine, some better than others. The reps on the beach are annoying! even the red flag does not deter them.

The hotel has stupid rules for example, kids are only allowed to make sun castles at the waters edge not by the parents sunbeds, I also asked for them to fill a little water bottle up with coke to take to my room, they said i would need to buy a bottle of coke from them, so i ordered 2 large cokes and poured them into my bottle, this caused out rage from one of the waiters! Its not like i was asking for a bottle of vodka!

Also, they recycle the sewage water by spraying this on the grass and plants, this is not very pleasant, my little boy is quite sensitive to smell and this made him sick.

To get a sun bed in the front row of the beach you will have to be at the beach at 7am. It is quite windy but the beach is always warmer.

The best shop we found to buy gifts and items from was the beach shop by the volley ball net.

Positives about this hotel:
1. the weather
2. Most of the a la carts

We wouldn't stay here again, but then i don't think we would return to Egypt again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emgems2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
1.1 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
832 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
0.8 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort
0.6 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,205 reviews
8.5 mi away
SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort

Property: SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Address: Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 623, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#8 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 698
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Select Royal Makadi is located in the heart of Makadi bay. The hotel is built on relaxing landscape, with spectacular avers and fine sand beach for enjoyable vacation. Distance form Hurghada international Airport 30 minutes, from Hurghada downtown 35 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Royal Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay
Sunrise Makadi Bay
Sunrise Royal Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing