We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$130
US$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort(Makadi Bay)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Jaz Makadina(Makadi Bay)
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$40
US$39
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$275
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Iberotel Makadi Beach(Makadi Bay)
US$364
US$352
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$233
US$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Steigenberger Makadi(Makadi Bay)
US$137
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prima Life Makadi(Makadi Bay)
US$116
US$108
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (7,908)
Filter reviews
7,908 results
Traveller rating
6,000
1,212
464
139
93
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6,000
1,212
464
139
93
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily poolpergola bart bonewelcome homea la carte restaurantsanimation teammain restaurantvictoria pubvip poolred flagthomas cookthe mexican restaurantgreat holidaymain poolroom in blockfamily roomour favourite
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4,611 - 4,616 of 7,908 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We have just returned from a one week stay following a Nile Cruise in Luxor. After a busy week visiting temples, tombs and many memorable sights of Egypt, we were eagerly looking forward to a weeks rest and relaxation at the Sunrise Royal Makadi Resort. I have to say, we were not disappointed.
We had two adjoining rooms on the ground floor in block 24 round the corner from the family pool and a short walk from most of the central facilities . They were an excellent size with large comfortable beds and lovely bathrooms with a sit down shower which even managed to impress our 22 year old son. After an initial panic re the air conditioning in the room, we got to grips with the settings and quickly realised that we would be able to cope with the extremely hot temperatures outside knowing that we could always cooldown whenever we needed to in our rooms.
The hotel blocks and gardens are a credit to the hard working staff. Although we rarely saw our cleaners, the rooms were always thoroughly cleaned and beds made up while we were out at breakfast. Lovely fluffy, extra large towels were replaced on demand and toiletries provided and restocked daily. In addition, the provision of pool towels meant we never needed to worry about drying towels after our many visits to the pool and beach.
The food available throughout our holiday was excellent. We ate breakfast in the Mexican restaurant - following advice from other trip advisor reviewers and booked a different a la carte resaurant for each evening meal. This was a lovely touch having the chance to sample different menus in lovely themed restaurants. Our favourite was the Mediterranean but we had good meals each evening and when our younger son realised that the Carpaccio dish wasn't for him, the waiter quickly replaced with a more suitable dish. During the day, by the pool, there were burgers, chips and freshly made pizzas available. Consequently, we had little need to use the buffet restaurant. Drinks were plentiful including sealed bottles of water, endless topups of cold beer at the pool bar and beers and cocktails in GLASSES of all shapes and sizes supplied for our after dinner sessions ( thanks to the wonderful waiters who looked after us so well - espicially the Louis Spence lookalike). On our final day as we were leaving early we were given lunchpacks and plenty of water for our return journey across the desert to Luxor.
Only two negative issues I feel I must comment on.
First the dreadful smell from the water used on the gardens - I understand the principal of using recycled water for such extensive gardens but it did "PONG"!!
Second - take care if you go snorkelling at the adjoining hotel "Fort Arabesque". Dont take anything with you as the KIND?? Security Staff at this hotel have a habit of removing your bags if they spot a towel from a different hotel on one of their sunbeds. It was only thanks to another family that we discovered what had happened and fortunately got our belongings returned. Perhaps this rule could be made clearer in the hotel documentation to avoid misunderstanding
All staff worked tirelessly to make our holiday an excellent experience. We definitely hope to return to this resort again and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone visiting Hurgada

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GlendaWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2014

Dear our valued customer,
The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for your precious time that you have spent to post your opinion about our Hotel.

We would like to thank you for this outstanding comment on trip advisor. The best reward for Hoteliers is satisfied and pleased guests. But for our Hotel the greatest reward is a guest who feels with us like home.

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

just returned from a 2 week stay and it was amazing, massive place with lots to do, all the restaurants were really good, we ate in all apart from the fish one, the rooms and beds were very comfortable and cleaned every day, the staff work really hard and try to please everybody, the pools were great, we was in block 38 and used to pool with the slides, we always got 9 sunbeds with no problem every day, even when we arrived at 10.30 - 11 am there was never a problem getting them, bar staff and waiters at pool side were really friendly, the main buffet was busy but had just about every food you could think of, the soups were really tasty, we had a great time here, ignore the bad reviews its a stunning hotel

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lka3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

The holiday here was one of the best we've ever had. Nothing was too much trouble - from bags being taken to our room after check-in, to cold drinks as soon as we stepped through the door on arrival whilst we were waiting to do the inevitable paperwork.

The surroundings were delightful - we didn't get one of the poshest rooms, overlooking the beach, but we weren't all the way at the back of the resort, where the Russians were. Oh - the Russians! Never have I met more rude and arrogant holidaymakers - they seem to think they own the place and think nothing of barging to the front of a queue (like at Reception) and demanding to be served. Fortunately, the multi-lingual staff there very quickly told them to wait their turn!

One of the reasons we picked Hurgarda was thar it was possible to go on trips and Do History - something that's not as easy to do from Sharm. However, be prepared for VERY early starts - our day trip by air to Cairo started at something like 0400! This was well worth the price - you get to see all the antiquities in the Egyptian Museum, plus the Pyramids and Sphinx (and a papyrus factory...........)

Similarly, the 2 day trip to Luxor was well worth doing over the day trip - you get to see more, including the Son et Luminaire at Karnak - hang on tight for the carriage ride there!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Stunning hotel! Such a huge resort with a lot of buildings. Looks really impressive. They are really taking care about guests. We were lucky to meet asst front office manager mr Abdelrahman Attallah. He was really helpful,always interested in how we are going there.Having any problems we could always ask him for help-that's very nice. WE had a really nice room in the building no.15 close to the beach,pool and restaurants. The room was really spacious with a big bathroom. In the bathroom there was a hairdryer and some cosmetics to use. We never had any problems to find sunbeds,there are plenty of them. The food was really tasty, and a great variety - always something to choose from. Animation team was great as well. They really work hard to make every guest satisfied and happy. Bex, Natalie and Bob - absolutely great.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 517Magdalenka517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Just returned from the Sunrise Royal makadi last week – could easily have stayed a lot longer - even in the 50degree heat! Hotel, food etc. excellent – but the people we met and a number of the workers in the hotel made our holiday extra special – it was mega hot even on an evening the sun went down but it didn't really cool down much! remember to take high factor creams, i recommend if you burn going to the perfume shop and getting aloe Vera to put on under your sun cream – me and my son always burn and we didn’t have any bother using this – a small bottle started at £30 but i got it eventually for a tenner!!! Lasted us the 2 weeks though...
Firstly -The hotel – as said in previous reviews – ENSURE you book the a-la-cartes there are 7 to choose from, Mexican, Italian, Asian, t-bones steak house, Greek, Mediterranean and Bedouin all of which can be booked via the screens in reception 3 days in advance we tried them all and didn’t have any bother getting into any of them, they are all lovely but T-Bones and the Bedouin were our favourites, the food is amazing in them all – STAY AWAY from the buffet restaurants – the Russians are ignorant arrogant and very very rude!!! They aren’t allowed in the a-la cartes unless they pay so they tend to avoid them, in the buffets they try and push in, lean over you and generally just try and make their presence known!! The bars – the lobby bar was our favourite, Ashraf – well what can I say about ashraf what a LOVELY man he certainly made our holiday special he looked after us every night and certainly didn’t let our glasses stay empty for long – he always has a smile for you even after a mighty long shift, Hashem and sahal on the front desk are more than helpful with any problems you may encounter, not that you should have any, we emailed prior to leaving England and they allocated us a fantastic room overlooking the Egyptian sunset which was just what we wanted, the room was HUGE and very well organised.. -the pool bar was the place to be for us during the day – Mohammad and the bar men were FAB - we started out just as a family but by the end of the 2 weeks were talking to others which ended up in us all congregating at the bar for a 1 or 2 before the evening started – the bar staff were always smiling and happy to join in the banter between us – to be honest all the staff asked where you were from and think they were MORE than happy to find out you were English and not one of the arrogant Russians!! We had photos done by the photographer on site – Timo – he’s amazing and the photos are totally gorgeous i would certainly recommend you getting them done as a holiday souvenir! Be prepared to haggle in the shops in the hotel – its good banter with most of them - kimo in the shoe/clothes shop is lovely and we got some excellent stuff from him... We didn’t really venture to the beach other than to snorkel which you have to do – turn left from the hotel and head to the next hotel along, the reefs there are amazing... you don’t need to go out very far to see tons of fish and if you are lucky turtles!! The marine life is spectacular - My son passed his padi diving qualification with Sameh from PDL which is part of the hotel – excellent diving school that more than looked after him... and really good prices too.. Thank you Sameh - The shops along the road (souk makadi) are worth a look but again prepare to haggle – the items we wanted we got for less than half what the guy initially wanted... We did the 2 day luxor trip with Thomas cook - which you MUST do – luxor is amazing and value for money on this trip was unreal – we had 2 full days in Luxor with entrance to temples, valley of the kings, horse and carriage ride through the streets, boat trip up the Nile and an overnight stay on a 5 star boat on the Nile was all included for £100 each!!! Unbelievable value, we also did the sunset sand buggies which is a fun trip across the desert then watching the sunset over the mountains – really nice... Hurghada is well worth a look, ask the Thomas cook rep Mohammed to organise you a taxi which you will pay for return then tell him what time you want picking up and they come back for you – get dropped off at the Hard rock for your meal if you want to eat = food really good, prices excellent and certainly the same standard as any other Hard rock we have been in - then go to Cleopatra’s at the top of the strip – fixed price shop with all your souvenirs -, t-shirts named items too, jewellery etc... its nice to have a shop without haggling once and a while and the prices are dirt cheap.... We met some wonderful people who indeed made our holiday extra special the hotel is lovely and i wouldn’t hesitate to go back
One other thing to mention – The photographer who did our amazing pics – Timo - put our photos on a disc for me which unfortunately became damaged in my case i emailed the hotel to tell them and Timo the photographer has emailed me back personally to tell me he will email the photos to us - well you cant ask for more than that can you – all they want to know is that you are happy with the service they provide.. in all honestly the hotel could make money from a number of different areas, pool tables – free – safes in rooms – free – late check out – free so no unexpected “extra charges”
Thank you to john for all the advice we really appreciated it ...... and it all came in handy, i can understand why people would go back – if i could go back tomorrow with the same people we met this time would be there! To sum it up – if you have booked this hotel remember where you are going – its Egypt you aren't going to get Caribbean type service but they go all out to ensure that you are happy, look for ashraf and tell him Lynn Michael and Gareth say hi and we miss him, Have a sunbed near to the swim up bar to escape the heat during the day and on an evening book the a la carte then head to the lobby bar – ensure you see the real Egypt by visiting Luxor (we have also done Cairo and i don't think it was a patch on Luxor) and you will have a fab holiday - Enjoy :)

Room Tip: Email hotel block 15 excellent sunset views
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Gazzasunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews