We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“antics at sunrise royal mikadi” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Makadi Bay
southampton England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“antics at sunrise royal mikadi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

Wife and i and 2 friends just arrived back yesterday from this resort having been there a week and wishing to hell we'd "pulled a sickie" and had 2 weeks.This was our first venture into Egypt but our friends had done in excess of a dozen trips to the other side " shammy shake" but they thought this was marginally better and we have agreed to return again to this resort.We noticed that there was a large contingent of Russians with a dabble of other european nationalities thrown in, not sure whether this is a seasonal feature or a basis of the yearly clientele. The rooms were clean, tidy, and managed well , the beer fridge has no beer but is stocked with coke ,fanta ,sprite and water.Power supplies are a bit finicky to use especially if you are tryiong to fit an adaptor in as the switch is too close to the entry port you have to "jiggle" the adaptor to get power,not a major issue just a point to mention in case you think it isn't working.Having been to Cuba earlier in the year with Thomas Cook (Melia Las Dunas on cayo santa maria) we did notice that there were no pool boys doing the drink runs but it kept us fit getting our own (again no big issue) unless you're idle.Staff were very helpful when necessary. We took advantage of the RED FLAG system which worked very well for us, if the person trying to flog you something had not seen the flag they stopped trying as soon as it was pointed out.We took a nominal amount of local currency as the lobby has free no charge or commission use ATM which gave us almost a whole pound better exchange rate, these worked on at least 6 currencies just feed in your own currency and convert.Food was of good all round quality and the a la carte restaurants were usable every day unlike some resorts where you are limited to so many visits per week .Entertainment crew were hard at it all day with various activities and evening entertainment.Reasonably good selection of water activities available.Selection of excursions was good and we can recommend the Sand buggy sunset trip the Mahmya island trip (the extra £20) gives you an awesome coral reef snorkelling oppurtunity otherwise its only shallow beach snorkelling (check google images for pics of this reef) and you'll see why its worth the extra. Day trip to Luxor was an eye opener to say the least Karnak temple just blew us away, and valley of the kings was great to but you have to pay extra if you want to go into King TUTS tomb.Any further info required dont hesitate to message me privately i'll be more than happy to help if i can.Air con can be a bit on the noisy side but alcohol can subdue this if necessary( hehe)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank windy1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment.
We are glad that you spent your vacation very nice and our hotel left only good memories.
We do hope to welcome you again in SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort in the nearest future!

With best regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,096
    1,044
    414
    131
    88
See reviews for
2,695
1,779
96
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,117)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

i stayed at this hotel 5 days from 23\10 to 28\10 i found this hotel is in fantastic, the staff was very friendly,the service was perfect,, the animation team was wonderfull.Nice swimmingpools and amazing beach,they have a lot of sunbed around them so you wouldn't have to got up early or rush to got one.The room was nice,it was clean and spacious .the manager was nice and complementary guy he invited us to one of special restaurant in resort when we complained from our tv room and he order to maintain it Immediately. the 7 alacrat restaurant was really marvelous you will confuse to choose between them,i fall in love with japanese one.The shows and animation activities are the best we ever had.We certainly want to go back again because everything is just perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dreamerrony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment.
We are glad that you spent your vacation very nice and our hotel left only good memories.
We do hope to welcome you again in SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort in the nearest future!

With best regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

At first glance this place looks idillic and the multiple swimming pools the private beach etc... Are all nice but this was my first all inclusive experience. The ala carte restaurants we're good but food was incredibly restrictive for a small child who is fussy so chips and pasta was all he had.

I like the place and could cope with it for a week but not much longer.

If I had no children and wanted to sit by the pool and chill it was ideal.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavrosDarlek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment. Opinion of each our guest is important for us as gives us opportunity to develop and improve ourselves.
All your comments have been transferred to the concerned departments to improve service in the hotel.
We wish you can come to us one more time and to see changes which happened to the better side.
We will be always happy to greet you and your family in our resort!

With best regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

The hotel is in one word fantastic, the service is perfect, the staff so very friendly, the animation team is wonderfull, it is situated near a beautiful beach, only a 15 min walk from the shops of Makadi Souk and La Loca Discoteca and only 30 minutes by taxi from the city of Hurghada (shops, sightseeing and going out). The à la carte restaurants are top, wonderfull food and also the buffet is just fine. Nice swimmingpools and very nice coral and fish in front of the hotel next to this (keep it that way please, respect the corals and fish!) We certainly want to go back because everything is just perfect there. The shows and animation activities are the best we ever had!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Angel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your reviews.

We are glad that you spent your vacation very nice and our hotel left only good memories.

As well your good words about our staff have been transferred to the concerned Heads of Department.

We will be always happy to greet you and your family in our resort!

With best regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

After reading numerous 'excellent' reviews on TA, we had very high hopes of this hotel but sadly, it did not live up to our expectations. The picture of the hotel does not give you an idea of how massive the resort is, the size of a small town! The grounds are kept in a pristine condition and there are always people cutting the grass, trimming hedges etc. The room was nice; it was clean and spacious although the shower door was coming loose and the light in the bathroom did not work but to be fair, as soon as we mentioned this, it was put right immediately. The beach is just outside the hotel and has loads of sunbeds but many were in a sorry state, being either broken or having ripped cushions. The sunbeds around the pools were better although the rattan windbreaks were coming apart and looked scruffy and worn, but there were always plenty available and we never had to get up early to claim one. The pools were lovely and clean and kept in a good condition.During the day we got LOADS!! of people hassling us to buy various spa days, trips or photoshoots which became very annoying. We were told to display a red flag which meant 'do not disturb' but this did not seem to work and they just seemed to ignore it and hassle us anyway! The swim up bars were picturesque and there are many bars dotted around the resort but unfortunately there is only one bar in the corner of the reception area that provides branded alcohol, the others serve local spirits that are at best, unpalatable and at worst, undrinkable. When we questioned this, we were told that soon there would be no branded drinks at all, so bear this in mind if you like a vodka and orange on holiday like we do! Because of this, we tended to stick to wine which was drinkable but the white and rose was served warm so make sure you mention that you want it cold. The breakfast buffet was ok but several times we had to clear our own table as it had not been cleared from the previous diners and there never seemed to be any cups and saucers left next to the coffee machine so we had to get these ourselves. There is a fair spread of breakfast and lunch choices and the dinner buffet looked ok although we never ate there ourselves, preferring to reserve a table at the a la carte restaurants. We found the Asian food to be the best but all the others, with the exception of the Mediterranean, were very good too. The bedouin restaurant was very authentic and it was interesting having a meal in a tent, sitting on cushions on the floor! The waiters were lovely in most of the restaurants with great service and kept our glasses constantly topped up. The entertainment is very holiday camp style and if you like this then you won't be disappointed. It looks fun for the kids and I could imagine them having a great time but it wasn't for us.
Overall, I would rate this hotel as good but Thomas Cook's rating of a 5* is very misleading. I don't know if this is a 5* by Egyptian standards but the hotels I have been to before in other countries have been a lot better. It is a good hotel but beware its limitations!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mimblesEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment. Opinion of each our guest is important for us as gives us opportunity to develop and improve ourselves.
All your comments have been transferred to the concerned departments to improve service in the hotel.
We wish you can come to us one more time and to see changes which happened to the better side.
We will be always happy to greet you and your family in our resort!

With best regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

After several visits to this hotel over the past couple of years this is definately our 2nd home.. The sun is always shining.. You can not go wrong with this hotel - all the staff are friendly, the hotel grounds are always clean and look fantastic, you have got 7 a la carte restaurants to choose from so you can go to a different one every night, you have also got the 2 buffet restaurants, pool bars (serving snacks) bottled water is available here so make sure you drink this and not the water from the tap (you could end up with stomach problems if you do), on the sandy beach, 24 hours all inclusive, 5 swimming pools - one of these is the VIP pool which you can use if you are repeat guests and is in peaceful surroundings, I don't think I need to continue with anymore as you must now be getting a picture of what it is like.. If not have a look in a brochure or the hotels website..
I do believe some of the standard rooms have been refurbished in some of the blocks and these are all modern with flat screen tvs etc..
Everytime we have been to this hotel our cleaner has always made amazing towel displays for us it must take time for them when they are cleaning every room in the block but they are always happy, smiling and willing to speak to you when you walk past them..
You can't go to this hotel and not have any pictures taken with the United Brothers. Fantastic people.. The grounds are stunning and the pictures they take are amazing..
Special mentions - Mostafa Ali in the main restaurant he can not do enough for you always goes out of his way to help you with anything, such good customer service..
Any problems at the hotel go to see Mohamed at Guest Services he will be happy to help you..
When you see all the bad reviews you need to take some of them with a pinch of salt, I'm sure most of the time they have been to a different hotel..
This hotel is one of the best in Makadi Bay and we will be going back next year..

Room Tip: A refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank h0lidayqueen28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment.
We are glad that you spent your vacation very nice and our hotel left only good memories.
We do hope to welcome you again in SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort in the nearest future!

With best regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

excellent hotel, excellent staff , excellent food, We enjoyed the sea very much, if you a snorkling lover you can access the next beach hotel of fort arabisque, our children also enjoyed the family pool and slides.
it is one of the best hotels in makadi, we will back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank egyptian_Eng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment.
We are glad that you spent your vacation very nice and our hotel left only good memories.
We do hope to welcome you again in SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort in the nearest future!

With best regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
1.1 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 29 in Makadi Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
8.4 mi away
SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
0.6 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#5 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
8.2 mi away
Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort

Property: SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Address: Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 623, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#9 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 698
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Select Royal Makadi is located in the heart of Makadi bay. The hotel is built on relaxing landscape, with spectacular avers and fine sand beach for enjoyable vacation. Distance form Hurghada international Airport 30 minutes, from Hurghada downtown 35 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotel.de, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Royal Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay
Sunrise Makadi Bay
Sunrise Royal Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing