We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We have been to Egypt 8 times now, and this is the best hotel we have ever stayed in, we loved it so much that we had to go back just 5 months later. The staff are the best, nothing was too much trouble, even cake on my birthday at 2am in the morning, thanks to Salah Mahdi the night manager .The food is great best we have had in the hotels out there. The 7 a`la carte restaurants are fantastic, and you book yourself in to which ever you want to vist, your not limited to just one vist. All in all such a great holiday, and I'm not such an easy person to please. We had such a good time, we are taking our friends out there this time, Thanks to all the staff who made our stay so fantastic, especially Abd El Rahman Attallah the assistant Front Office Manager for whom nothing was too much trouble. See you all again soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in the new block by the fountain just behind the Mexican restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,020 - 4,026 of 7,211 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2012

I visited Hurgada 4th but now in 11/2012 I found the best place to relax in quality resort with excellent service, power-full animation (the best is Mr.Meda). This is the No-1 place to relax near pool with ambient music by Mr.Momo that he gave me CD to remember my holiday.

Marko from Slovenia

Room Tip: Select room near main reception and near pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Marko-Br57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comment. It was a pleasure for us to welcome you in SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort ! We would be happy to greet you again in our resort in nearest future! All our team is ready to arrange for you nice and memorable holidays!
With best regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Sorry for the late review but was at Sunrise Royal Makadi Resort yet again in September.

Loved the trip especially to the ala carte restaurants, some very good meals, I'll certainly be returning if the standard keeps up to the 110% score this year, the staff are so so friendly and welcoming and work extremely hard from the guy looking after your rooms, to the chefs, kitchen staff, waiters, etc etc

Also the guests who stay there make it also loads of UK guests returning year after year we stay in touch on FB for the latest news

One well satisfied customer.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank dreamacer2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comment. We are pleased to know that you spent memorable time in SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort . You and your family is always welcome in our hotel and we are ready to provide for you best service and to arrange for you best vacation.
With best regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We enjoyed a two week holiday at the hotel. Rooms are nice and big, massive beds which are lovely. Shower was a little bit pathetic but manageable.

Pools are nice, was never too busy, and always easy to get a sunbed. Shame the staff from the spa hassle you even by the pool, but they are polite and are happy to take no for an answer.

Beach was lovely (if a little cramped) sea was amazing, perfectly clear and lots of fish.

A la carte resturants were generaly nice - with the exception of mexican which was not very nice! Favorites were Asian, Italian and Arabian. Buffet Restuarts at lunch and dinner were serving very odd food! Though the pasta station was nice at lunchtime.

Breafast buffet had lots of choice, but again a slightly odd selection as you usualy expect abroad. The pancakes were nice though! Recommend that you go to the mexican resuturant for breakfast as it is quiter.

We got the shuttle bus to the Old Town Hurgada. That was an experience, and not really one I would repeat! A lot of hassle there, more than ive ever experienced, lots of shops, but not many tourists so they are all ready to pounce on you!

The marina at the old town was very pretty, lined with bars and resturants. Another day we got a taxi from the hotel (you have to use their taxi and it cost £10) to the new town hurgada. Much nicer there for shopping, and lots of hotels, but we couldnt find a way onto the beach as all the hotels back onto it. We flagged a taxi down to go back to the hotel and paid £5.50, so the hotel totaly rip you off for Taxis as they know you have no choice!

Went on the Thomas Cook 1 day Trip to Luxor. Was told it takes 3 hours each way. It is not. It is 5 and a half hours. We would never have booked if we knew it was 11 hours travel in one day! And everyone on the coach had been told 3 hours! No-one was impressed! Seems they know no-one would book if they knew how long it really was!

Did the island trip to mahmaya, that was a very nice relaxing day out.

Overall it is a very nice hotel (absolutey massive) with lovely grounds and gardens, generaly nice food (if not repatitve - the snack bars serve practicaly the same food ever day), and does make an enjoyable holiday.

WIth the price we paid it was very good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NicolaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comment. . All your comments have been transferred to the concerned departments to improve service in the hotel.
We wish you can come to us one more time and to see changes which happened to the better side.
We will be always happy to greet you and your family in our resort!

With best regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Wife and i and 2 friends just arrived back yesterday from this resort having been there a week and wishing to hell we'd "pulled a sickie" and had 2 weeks.This was our first venture into Egypt but our friends had done in excess of a dozen trips to the other side " shammy shake" but they thought this was marginally better and we have agreed to return again to this resort.We noticed that there was a large contingent of Russians with a dabble of other european nationalities thrown in, not sure whether this is a seasonal feature or a basis of the yearly clientele. The rooms were clean, tidy, and managed well , the beer fridge has no beer but is stocked with coke ,fanta ,sprite and water.Power supplies are a bit finicky to use especially if you are tryiong to fit an adaptor in as the switch is too close to the entry port you have to "jiggle" the adaptor to get power,not a major issue just a point to mention in case you think it isn't working.Having been to Cuba earlier in the year with Thomas Cook (Melia Las Dunas on cayo santa maria) we did notice that there were no pool boys doing the drink runs but it kept us fit getting our own (again no big issue) unless you're idle.Staff were very helpful when necessary. We took advantage of the RED FLAG system which worked very well for us, if the person trying to flog you something had not seen the flag they stopped trying as soon as it was pointed out.We took a nominal amount of local currency as the lobby has free no charge or commission use ATM which gave us almost a whole pound better exchange rate, these worked on at least 6 currencies just feed in your own currency and convert.Food was of good all round quality and the a la carte restaurants were usable every day unlike some resorts where you are limited to so many visits per week .Entertainment crew were hard at it all day with various activities and evening entertainment.Reasonably good selection of water activities available.Selection of excursions was good and we can recommend the Sand buggy sunset trip the Mahmya island trip (the extra £20) gives you an awesome coral reef snorkelling oppurtunity otherwise its only shallow beach snorkelling (check google images for pics of this reef) and you'll see why its worth the extra. Day trip to Luxor was an eye opener to say the least Karnak temple just blew us away, and valley of the kings was great to but you have to pay extra if you want to go into King TUTS tomb.Any further info required dont hesitate to message me privately i'll be more than happy to help if i can.Air con can be a bit on the noisy side but alcohol can subdue this if necessary( hehe)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank windy1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment.
We are glad that you spent your vacation very nice and our hotel left only good memories.
We do hope to welcome you again in SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort in the nearest future!

With best regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

i stayed at this hotel 5 days from 23\10 to 28\10 i found this hotel is in fantastic, the staff was very friendly,the service was perfect,, the animation team was wonderfull.Nice swimmingpools and amazing beach,they have a lot of sunbed around them so you wouldn't have to got up early or rush to got one.The room was nice,it was clean and spacious .the manager was nice and complementary guy he invited us to one of special restaurant in resort when we complained from our tv room and he order to maintain it Immediately. the 7 alacrat restaurant was really marvelous you will confuse to choose between them,i fall in love with japanese one.The shows and animation activities are the best we ever had.We certainly want to go back again because everything is just perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dreamerrony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment.
We are glad that you spent your vacation very nice and our hotel left only good memories.
We do hope to welcome you again in SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort in the nearest future!

With best regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

At first glance this place looks idillic and the multiple swimming pools the private beach etc... Are all nice but this was my first all inclusive experience. The ala carte restaurants we're good but food was incredibly restrictive for a small child who is fussy so chips and pasta was all he had.

I like the place and could cope with it for a week but not much longer.

If I had no children and wanted to sit by the pool and chill it was ideal.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DavrosDarlek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment. Opinion of each our guest is important for us as gives us opportunity to develop and improve ourselves.
All your comments have been transferred to the concerned departments to improve service in the hotel.
We wish you can come to us one more time and to see changes which happened to the better side.
We will be always happy to greet you and your family in our resort!

With best regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
0.6 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#5 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,354 reviews
1.1 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
932 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#42 of 222 in Hurghada
2,381 reviews
8.5 mi away
SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
2.4 mi away
Baron Palace Sahl Hasheesh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort

Address: Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 623, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range: £59 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 698
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Select Royal Makadi is located in the heart of Makadi bay. The hotel is built on relaxing landscape, with spectacular avers and fine sand beach for enjoyable vacation. Distance form Hurghada international Airport 30 minutes, from Hurghada downtown 35 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Southall Travel, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Royal Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay
Sunrise Makadi Bay
Sunrise Royal Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing