We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

Stayed here for a week in January and it is a lovely place. It is a huge resort, our room was about 10 minutes away from the lobby and you can spend a good half hour walking around the whole place to find all the pools and restaurants. The room itself was really good, a mini fridge which had free bottles of pepsi, 7up and fanta inside and is topped up once a week and the room in general was very clean and nicely decorated and the room cleaners were great.

There are 7 or 8 restaurants that you can book into every night and each one has it's own style of food such as Mexican, Asian, Italian etc. The food in these restaurants was really good and we preferred to eat at them every night instead of going to the main restaurant.

The animation team were great too, they were friendly and hosted great shows and other entertainment in the night time (Kastella, Mido and Marley did a good job at keeping everyone entertained). The DJ (Soudany) and bar staff in the disco were friendly and good fun, we ended up in the there everynight till it closed at 3am.

One of the best things about the hotel is that the all inclusive drinks are available till 6am every night and only stop from 6am - 10am each morning. All the waiters and staff in general were excellent, the waiter in the cocktail/lobby bar (Mostafa habeby) was a cool dude and he always made sure to top up our drinks every night!

There is a private beach 10 minutes from the lobby and it was beautiful. There are 8 pools but only 1 was heated (as it was January). Overall we had a lovely holiday and it is a great hotel and we look forward to returning to Sunrise Royal Makadi one day :)

Thanks to all the staff for making our holiday one to remember!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeoandLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,933 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,240
    1,053
    419
    133
    88
See reviews for
2,783
1,816
102
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,122)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the Sunrise Royal Makadi Resort on 5th Feb 2013. Our first visit to Egypt. Although this may not be a true 5* hotel. We couldn't fault it.
The rooms were clean and well presented(we were in the recently refurbished 38 Block) the staff were FANTASTIC, they respected the guest and nothing was to much trouble, no matter what you asked of them.
The Hotel is spread over a large area with fantastic gardens and 5 pools, one with slides fantastic if you have kids and lots of beds. The hotel takes great pride in it's appearance, and you will see the staff continually cleaning around the resort. We even witnessed them cleaning the lamp posts at one point. There are 7 restaurants ranging from a steak house, Asian, Mediterranean, Italian. the main buffet restaurant served a good variety of exceptionally good food which rivaled the other restaurants. The hotel has it's own private section of beech with plenty of beds all with parasols. The hotel even provides complimentary beech towels which can be exchanged throughout the day for fresh ones. All in all a fantastic hotel, We would defiantly recommend this one.

Room Tip: We stayed in block 38 which is outside reception and very close to the breakfast room. it also has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brengai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

this hotel was amazing me and my husband stayed here on our frist holiday together staff were fantasic and could not do enough for us the tom hanks look alike on the bar was the best . the food in all restuarants were always good with plenty of choice the lady who made pancakes in the morning were the best i've ever had hope to go back next year with our best friends we stayed in january 2008 sorry for late reveiw

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east sussex
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

Sad to be home after a wonderful holiday again at the SRM.
We emailed the hotel in advance to request a taxi transfer , we were worried us our plane arrived one hour late, but they were still waiting there for us.
As a returning guest we had tea and coffee in our room,wine and fresh fruit. Stayed in block 14 which was perfect as central to everything.
I really cannot fault this hotel, staff our friendly and helpful, you do not have to tip to get good service, most of the staff just like to make conversation.
Food in the al a cartes we used were excellent, Khalid in the asian restaurant always remembers us when we return to the resort, always works so hard and never moans when under pressure.
Our favourite hideaway is the adult only pool, thanks to EL Gendy for bringing our drinks to us,.
Thanks to all the staff that made our holiday just as special as last year.
Would recommend this hotel as there is something for everybody, ignore the negative reviews.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank caroline1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Egypt
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

Sunrise royal Makadi bay resort & spa was one of the best resorts I have been to, it offers great service, food and quality rooms. The staff is very helpful and friendly especially the animation team. Animation members such as Mamado, Boca, Marley and Olga have been such a helpful part of the animation team. The resort also offers a various amount of fun activities for the guest's pleasure and joy. At night the animation team perform amusing shows of different categories such as folklore and comedy. The resort has a great spa which includes gym, sauna, jacuzzi etc. It also has 3 wonderful swimming pools+ a nice beach. I recommend sunrise royal Makadi resort & spa to anybody that is going to visit hurghada.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fady_Shalash1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

What can I say that is negative about this hotel?. Very difficult at the moment as I love everything about it, including the food, the atmosphere and the value for money. If you want a great holiday then please try this hotel.
This was our 6th visit to this hotel and we will be hopefully going back in June.
We would like to thank all the staff for their hard work, especially Mr Hassem Lotfy who arranged the taxi transfer from the airport (next time I will pay the driver not the hotel as 20 euros and two dollars does seem a rather large tip) ha ha
One idea I did have was charging for beer via room service. Any body else think this is a good idea then please tell the hotel.

Room Tip: Please take toilet roll to the airport as they will try and charge you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank meeksy1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 weeks in November with my sister and friend. We had a fantastic time and the weather was hot too. The animation team was amazing they were so friendly always got us involved in the various activities such as hip hop, shuffle board and belly dancing.

Want to say a special Thank-you to the animation team especially Kastella who really made our holiday he is such a nice person always made an effort to talk to us and get us involved in the activities. Still miss you

Overall a fantastic 2 weeks already planning our 5th and 6th visit :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dancinggirl86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
1.1 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 29 in Makadi Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
8.4 mi away
SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort
0.4 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
0.6 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
8.2 mi away
Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort

Property: SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Address: Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 623, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#9 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 698
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Select Royal Makadi is located in the heart of Makadi bay. The hotel is built on relaxing landscape, with spectacular avers and fine sand beach for enjoyable vacation. Distance form Hurghada international Airport 30 minutes, from Hurghada downtown 35 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Royal Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay
Sunrise Makadi Bay
Sunrise Royal Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing