We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
TripAdvisor has grounds to investigate that individuals or entities associated with or having an interest in this property may have attempted to interfere with traveller reviews and/or the Popularity Index for this property. Please take this into consideration when researching your travel plans. We make our best efforts to identify suspicious content and are always working to improve the processes we use to assess traveller reviews.

“brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Reviewed 2 March 2013

It is our third time in egypt and this hotel has it all. The staff are all friendly and helpful, the rooms are spacious and have everything you could possibly want. The cleaners always left towel animals and fresh flowers in your room and the animation team were the best i have ever experienced. They were always coming over for a chat even if you didn't join in but they never bothered you and if you get a red flag at the pool nobody else bothers you either. The pools and sea where pretty cold this time of year but their were some heated ones. The buffet restaurant has a good choice and the other restaurants where good especially the Aisian, T-Bone and Italian all in all i would not hesitate to return and hope the management appreciate how good their staff are because it makes the holiday so much better when you are made to feel so welcome. However Thomas cook need to sort it out because i have never experienced such chaos at the airport and the flights are so tight that you couldn't squeeze anything else onboard if you tried.

Room Tip: blocks from i think 12 to about 25 are in quite a central location we were in block 24 and my sister...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank j2ules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2013

Dear Mrs. J2ules,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions about SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and you can be sure, that all your comments will be concerned by all the management!

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,967 - 3,973 of 7,385 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2013

Wwe first went to Sun rise royal Makadi in the July and returned again the following March taking parents, this place is great for families, lots to do, great anamation team and nice resturaunt!
beach is great but pool is huge too.
bottled water around the pool (help yourself)
drinks will make what ever you like for you with premium brands if you ask.
Pizza resturaunt is great, dont feed the burds they will never leave you alone ;)

Room Tip: The back of the resort is quieter than the front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We have just returned from a two week stay at the sunrise royal, The place is spotlessly clean, staff was very friendly, A big thankyou to Marley, Bob, Kastello, kano,John, Mido from the animation team, they was very friendly and helpful, My sonand Husband loved attending the activities, especially the archery with Marley who was a good tutor.We also enjoyed the shows at night, There are 7 restaurants which we tried them all and enjoyed them. Our favourite was the Asian.
Rooms are also cleaned dailyand was very clean. The Resort had a wide range of facilities, Had a exellent Beach which was nice and quiet.I had emailed the hotel before we went and asked for a quiet room and they replied back with my request.A big thank you to all the staff at the sunrise.
We will be returning next year.

Room Tip: Block 10 was nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lindsey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Sunrise Royal is a massive complex but you still get the personel touch with the staff, they work very hard to make your holiday great. We stayed in a 2 bedroomed family room in block 10 these are being upgraded at the moment, but it did not interfere with our holiday at all. We had a couple of small issues in the room, as in the bulb on the balcony had gone and the shower head was broken - these issues were dealt with immediatly. We always used the Mexican for breakfast as it was a lot more relaxed and our waiter Mohammad was fantastic. We used the Steak House, the Asian, the Mexican and the Arabian, my personal favourite was the Asian and Steak House but all were good. We dont normally use the same hotel twice but we will definately be booking Sunrise Royal next year.

Room Tip: If your not happy with your room tell the reception staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bettyboo076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We have just returned from a great two week break at S R M , anyone looking for a first class beach resort hotel should look no further than the SUNRISE ROYAL MAKADI RESORT in MAKADI BAY in HURGHADA , The whole place is spotlessly clean and the staff do everything to help and make your stay the more enjoyable.We came for a rest after i had just undergone a bad operation so was not able to join in with a lot of the activities and this was respected with no hassle whatsoever , and so if you wanted to be left alone or join in then it was your choice. our room was lovely and we stayed in block 11 which is close to everything . We really enjoyed the 7 a la carte restaurants and visited each one at least once during our stay , all were excellent and we did have a favourite which was the ASIAN and we went no fewer than three times, all these a la cartes are easily bookable via a screen located in the reception.evening entertainment was good and was put together most evenings by an energetic animation team and we loved our daily banter with them and although we cannot remember everyones name ,special thanks to KASTELLA and especially JOHN (in your dreams ! Steve ) and ( hand on my heart Cheryl) , you know what we mean John ha ha !.also thank you to SALIK who looked after us in the lobby bar.We would definately return without hesitation. Thank you again to everyone at the S R M , from STEVE and CHERYL.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank harry04Nottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

I thought my stay at the Sunrise royal makadi bay resort was so good as all the staff were really friendly and i thought that they were really nice and easy to approach. I thought that the resort had a wide range of facilities and all the facilities were clean and tidy and I also thought that the room attendant was good as well as he kept the room tidy and cleaned it well. therefore we left him some sweets to say thank you for doing a good job. I would also recommend the boat trips as they are good and they are a good thing to do if you want to relax. We never normally go for all inclusive as we often to go to france or jersey to stay in a holiday camp but this time we thought we would stay in a resort where there were lots of facilities. the types of facilities i would recommend include the tennis courts and also the beach as the beach is a great place if you want to go snorkelling or diving as you will see alot!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jasmine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013 via mobile

After a 3 hour delay on Thomas cook. Then the checking in is a drag we were taken to our room in block 29 after over an hour later. We were very disappointed with the room. It had twin beds, it was very small and looked nothing like what we'd seen on their web site. So we asked to be moved straight away which took an other 45mins but was offered a double room in 10 block which was lovely. Had a few problems with the room key had to swop it 5 times. But the holiday over all was very nice + relaxing. There are 7 different al a carte restaurants , we ate at the Steak House twice, the Italian twice the Mexican and the Round the World. We walked out of the Round the World after the first course after waiting for nearly an hour and the starter was not very nice. Wish we would have gone to the Asian as every one said how nice it was. There's plenty of choice all day but the main restaurant is like a cattle market, no one seems to que. The lads from the entertainment team are great. Very friendly , lots to do in the day always making you feel welcome, so thanks to Castella, John, Osman and all the others for doing a fantastic job. They deserve a pay rise. Great place to go for a bit of winter sun, and relaxation. Will be going back next Feb, worth every penny. Linda + Roy

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lindaheywood62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
1.1 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
952 reviews
0.6 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,393 reviews
11.0 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#40 of 222 in Hurghada
2,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
0.6 mi away
Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort
Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort
#2 of 30 in Makadi Bay
2,235 reviews
2.4 mi away
Baron Palace Sahl Hasheesh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort

Address: Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 623, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#8 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#14 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range: £54 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 698
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Select Royal Makadi is located in the heart of Makadi bay. The hotel is built on relaxing landscape, with spectacular avers and fine sand beach for enjoyable vacation. Distance form Hurghada international Airport 30 minutes, from Hurghada downtown 35 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Royal Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay
Sunrise Makadi Bay
Sunrise Royal Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing