We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking forward to returning and will recommend to others!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We returned from Sunrise Royal Makadi last Friday 22nd February 2013 after spending 2 weeks there. We travelled with Thomas Cook and found the flights fine. We pre-booked our seats (only £7.50 per seat) to ensure that we could chose where we wanted to sit. The legroom is a bit limited, but my husband (who is 6ft 2) had an aisle seat and could stick his leg out in the aisle and he didn't have any complaints. The flight is about 5 hours and it flew by. We would happily fly with Thomas Cook again.

On arrival we went to one of the kiosks on the left hand side in the airport arrivals hall and purchased our visas (I think they were £11 each). We also changed up some cash at a decent rate of exchange (about 10.50 LE to £1). We then went out to meet our Thomas Cook rep Khaled who showed us to our coach and we were on our way! It took around 40 minutes to get to the hotel.

We were allocated a lovely room in Block18. We were very happy with this. The room was lovely and comfortable with a huge comfy bed. We were also impressed that there was several TV channels showing movies in English as well as the news. We found our room a bit bright in the morning (we woke up at 06.00 due to the daylight pouring in). However on looking properly we found black-out curtains on all windows, which we used from then on.

We attended the Thomas Cook welcome meeting the following day which was held by Khaled. He is one of the best reps we have ever had. The meeting was VERY informative and we picked up lots of useful hints and tips. Khaled was a real star from start to finish and helped us a lot throughout our stay. We booked the Quad Bike safari with him which we found very reasonable (about £27 each) and well worth every penny. We loved it and would DEFINITELY do it again. A full 2 hours out on a quad in the desert. It was brilliant!! Highly recommended!! A couple of tips if you decide to do this excursion:
1. You get totally covered in sand and dust so wear something that you don't mind getting dirty. Don't wear anything white!
2. It is cold in the desert, especially early in the morning so wear a jumper.
3. Girls - Wear a good bra as it can be a bit bumpy!!
4. Take a scarf with you (a long wide one) as you need it to shield your mouth. This is important and if you don't take one you will have to buy one at the Quad Bike station for about £4.00.

This was the only excursion we did, as the rest of the holiday we were more than happy to remain in the complex. There was so much to do. We spent most of our days on the beach and did a lot of snorkelling at the hotel next door (Fort Arabesque). You can just wander from your sunbed through to this hotel's beach and the snorkelling is FANTASTIC!! I recommend you take snorkels and masks with you as the hotel shop will try to charge you £25 for them otherwise!! We bought one while we were there and bartered him down to £9, but it took some doing!

We found the beach very relaxing and we didn't really get any hassle from the spa people and excursion sellers. They do have a system where you can get a red flag from the towel hut, and display it on your wind-break to ward off the sellers. However we found we didn't need it as they didn't really bother us after our first couple of days.

If you get bored of sunbathing and snorkelling, there is loads of daytime activities that you can join in. The entertainment team were great and really friendly. They make a big effort to get people involved and are all absolutely lovely. There is one entertainer called Marley, who was brilliant and took a real interest in all the guests. His English was perfect and we had some real good fun with him during our stay. Particularly playing pool in the Victoria Pub at night!

The pool areas at the hotel are stunning. Loads of comfortable sunbeds and plenty of space to spread them out. Some of the pools are heated too, which is a bonus during the winter months.

We ate in the a la carte restaurants for 13 nights out of 14. Our favourites being the Asian and Mexican. However they were all good. We believe that the Greek a la carte is closing soon and being replaced with an Indian a la carte! Can't wait to go back and try it!! I would think it will be our new favourite.

During the day we would sometimes eat lunch in the hotel buffet, however it closes as 14.30 (prompt). We sometimes found this a bit too early for us. However it is not a problem as there are snacks served round the pool all day, as well as fresh pizzas! There is always plenty of choice and we really enjoyed all the food we had during our stay.

We came into contact with lots of the hotel staff and I have to say that we found them all to be really friendly. They all try so hard to please! We wanted to tip everyone we met! A special mention goes to Bassan who was the bar man in the Victoria Pub. He was a absolutley great! Always had a smile on his face!

The hotel manager (Said Atiek) is a wonderful man! He genuinely cares about the guests and wants everyone to have a great time. He is very open to receiving any comments or suggestions about the hotel and ways that they can improve what they do. You will often see him walking around the hotel grounds speaking to guests to get feedback.

All in all we had a fabulous holiday and we will definitely be returning and recommending it to friends and family. After having 3 previous holidays in Sharm El Sheik, I don't think we will go back there as we much preferred Hurghada. Look forward to returning soon!

Room Tip: Request blocks 14 to 18 to be close to all the a la carte restaurants and reception.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank bird999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,100)
There are newer reviews for SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,834 - 3,840 of 7,102 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2013

It is our third time in egypt and this hotel has it all. The staff are all friendly and helpful, the rooms are spacious and have everything you could possibly want. The cleaners always left towel animals and fresh flowers in your room and the animation team were the best i have ever experienced. They were always coming over for a chat even if you didn't join in but they never bothered you and if you get a red flag at the pool nobody else bothers you either. The pools and sea where pretty cold this time of year but their were some heated ones. The buffet restaurant has a good choice and the other restaurants where good especially the Aisian, T-Bone and Italian all in all i would not hesitate to return and hope the management appreciate how good their staff are because it makes the holiday so much better when you are made to feel so welcome. However Thomas cook need to sort it out because i have never experienced such chaos at the airport and the flights are so tight that you couldn't squeeze anything else onboard if you tried.

Room Tip: blocks from i think 12 to about 25 are in quite a central location we were in block 24 and my sister...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank j2ules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2013

Dear Mrs. J2ules,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions about SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and you can be sure, that all your comments will be concerned by all the management!

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Wwe first went to Sun rise royal Makadi in the July and returned again the following March taking parents, this place is great for families, lots to do, great anamation team and nice resturaunt!
beach is great but pool is huge too.
bottled water around the pool (help yourself)
drinks will make what ever you like for you with premium brands if you ask.
Pizza resturaunt is great, dont feed the burds they will never leave you alone ;)

Room Tip: The back of the resort is quieter than the front!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We have just returned from a two week stay at the sunrise royal, The place is spotlessly clean, staff was very friendly, A big thankyou to Marley, Bob, Kastello, kano,John, Mido from the animation team, they was very friendly and helpful, My sonand Husband loved attending the activities, especially the archery with Marley who was a good tutor.We also enjoyed the shows at night, There are 7 restaurants which we tried them all and enjoyed them. Our favourite was the Asian.
Rooms are also cleaned dailyand was very clean. The Resort had a wide range of facilities, Had a exellent Beach which was nice and quiet.I had emailed the hotel before we went and asked for a quiet room and they replied back with my request.A big thank you to all the staff at the sunrise.
We will be returning next year.

Room Tip: Block 10 was nice and quiet
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lindsey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Sunrise Royal is a massive complex but you still get the personel touch with the staff, they work very hard to make your holiday great. We stayed in a 2 bedroomed family room in block 10 these are being upgraded at the moment, but it did not interfere with our holiday at all. We had a couple of small issues in the room, as in the bulb on the balcony had gone and the shower head was broken - these issues were dealt with immediatly. We always used the Mexican for breakfast as it was a lot more relaxed and our waiter Mohammad was fantastic. We used the Steak House, the Asian, the Mexican and the Arabian, my personal favourite was the Asian and Steak House but all were good. We dont normally use the same hotel twice but we will definately be booking Sunrise Royal next year.

Room Tip: If your not happy with your room tell the reception staff.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bettyboo076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We have just returned from a great two week break at S R M , anyone looking for a first class beach resort hotel should look no further than the SUNRISE ROYAL MAKADI RESORT in MAKADI BAY in HURGHADA , The whole place is spotlessly clean and the staff do everything to help and make your stay the more enjoyable.We came for a rest after i had just undergone a bad operation so was not able to join in with a lot of the activities and this was respected with no hassle whatsoever , and so if you wanted to be left alone or join in then it was your choice. our room was lovely and we stayed in block 11 which is close to everything . We really enjoyed the 7 a la carte restaurants and visited each one at least once during our stay , all were excellent and we did have a favourite which was the ASIAN and we went no fewer than three times, all these a la cartes are easily bookable via a screen located in the reception.evening entertainment was good and was put together most evenings by an energetic animation team and we loved our daily banter with them and although we cannot remember everyones name ,special thanks to KASTELLA and especially JOHN (in your dreams ! Steve ) and ( hand on my heart Cheryl) , you know what we mean John ha ha !.also thank you to SALIK who looked after us in the lobby bar.We would definately return without hesitation. Thank you again to everyone at the S R M , from STEVE and CHERYL.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank harry04Nottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

I thought my stay at the Sunrise royal makadi bay resort was so good as all the staff were really friendly and i thought that they were really nice and easy to approach. I thought that the resort had a wide range of facilities and all the facilities were clean and tidy and I also thought that the room attendant was good as well as he kept the room tidy and cleaned it well. therefore we left him some sweets to say thank you for doing a good job. I would also recommend the boat trips as they are good and they are a good thing to do if you want to relax. We never normally go for all inclusive as we often to go to france or jersey to stay in a holiday camp but this time we thought we would stay in a resort where there were lots of facilities. the types of facilities i would recommend include the tennis courts and also the beach as the beach is a great place if you want to go snorkelling or diving as you will see alot!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jasmine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
1.1 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
898 reviews
0.6 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#3 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,323 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Jaz Aquamarine
Jaz Aquamarine
#31 of 222 in Hurghada
6,284 reviews
8.5 mi away
SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
2.4 mi away
Baron Palace Sahl Hasheesh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort

Address: Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 623, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range: £74 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 698
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Select Royal Makadi is located in the heart of Makadi bay. The hotel is built on relaxing landscape, with spectacular avers and fine sand beach for enjoyable vacation. Distance form Hurghada international Airport 30 minutes, from Hurghada downtown 35 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Royal Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay
Sunrise Makadi Bay
Sunrise Royal Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing