We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Holiday - Amazing Animation Team”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Holiday - Amazing Animation Team”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

This was my third time at the Sunrise Royal Makadi and once again I had great holiday. This is a fantastic hotel where you are made to feel welcome and nothing is too much trouble from the minute you arrive to the moment you leave. It offers everything you could want for your holiday and more. All the Animation team were fantastic and could not do enough to make our stay the best it could possibly be they always had time to say hello and make sure everything was ok but a special mention and thank you must go to Kareem. The variety of restaurants and food is great with all tastes catered for and the service was excellent. The rooms are very clean comfortable and spacious and the gardens are well maintained. The hotel has its own beach which is beautiful and the coral reef is great for snorkelling to see the amazing sea life. There is a wide choice of pools and activities to choose from so there is something for everyone. Top marks for the Animation team and all staff at the Sunrise Royal Makadi.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl_963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Mrs. Cheryl_963,

The SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Team would like to thank you for your valued and appreciated comments.

We hope to welcome you once again in the nearest future at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi and wish you all the best!


Kindly be sure that the hotel and Hurghada is safe. Be sure that we will do our best in order to make them enjoying unforgettable holiday in our resort.


Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,391
    1,074
    424
    133
    89
See reviews for
2,905
1,854
103
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,133)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

not a bad place to stay if they keep the Egyptian tourists away the staff are very friendly the food isn't to bad if you like eating the same thing everyday the problems we had was the Egyptian tourist they let in to the complexs they were very rude push you out of the way spit at you coz the don't care about anyone but them selfs

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Dear Dave,

Thank you for valuing your stay at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort.

We are always appreciating constructive criticism as we see a chance in it to improve our services in order to meet and exceed the expectations of our precious guests.

But we met as well good and bad English guests in our hotel and would like to inform that we serve every guest and expect all the guest in SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi.

Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Me and my boyfriend spent an enjoyable week at sunrise royal makadi bay and had a fab time! The staff work extremely hard are all very helpful and friendly especially the animation team. Thank you kareem for making me feel welcome, such a friendly rememberable guy! ( I hope this makes you sing lol) thanks for my birthday cake. The selection of restaurants and cocktails was great and the beach party was the best entertainment of the week!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaCHilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Mrs. AnnaCHilton,

The SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Team would like to thank you for your valued and appreciated comments.

We hope to welcome you once again in the nearest future at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi and wish you all the best!


Kindly be sure that the hotel and Hurghada is safe. Be sure that we will do our best in order to make them enjoying unforgettable holiday in our resort.


Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Assiut, Asyut, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

I stayed in the hotel with my friends and we really enjoyed the few days we spent. Every night's show was very enjoyable and the animation team was friendly and so active.
Food was great, and the service quality was excellent.
I really hope I could come again :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mira D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Mrs. Mira D,

The SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Team would like to thank you for your valued and appreciated comments.

We hope to welcome you once again in the nearest future at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi and wish you all the best!


Kindly be sure that the hotel and Hurghada is safe. Be sure that we will do our best in order to make them enjoying unforgettable holiday in our resort.


Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Returned last week from an 11 night stay with my partner and Son.I'll try and keep this brief and to the point.

Pros :
Good Weather, Nice beach. Staff were very efficient and friendly. Animation team were incredibly friendly, polite and really made an effort with everyone they met. The rooms were cleaned to a good standard on a daily basis. The grounds were tidy and well maintained.

Cons :
This isn't a 5 star resort (but for the price I wasn't expecting it to be). If you've stayed in a REAL 5 star Hotel or resort you'll appreciate what I mean.
The food, though plentiful, is generally of a poor quality. The main hall was hit and miss, the a-la-carte restaurants are poor imitations of their supposed themes. Had I been offered this food at a restaurant here I would have walked out. There is an argument that they cannot source the ingredients locally but this is a fallacy; I've stayed on tiny islands in the Maldives where everything had to be imported and they managed to produce world cuisine of an enviable level.

Kids club - nonexistent. You may be under occupied but this shouldn't prevent you rounding up the children that are there and providing the entertainment service promised when booking - quite the opposite.

Any resort, regardless of star level or location should be mortified to have children urinating and defecating in the swimming pools. Aside from closing the pool we saw no one take any action or take any proactive steps to prevent this happening again.

In summary :
A decent 2/3* level hotel run by staff that are, in the main, trying their best to provide a good holiday. The food lets it down and if they are striving to deliver a true 5 star service they need to ensure this is transparent across all areas of the hotel...seeing children openly urinating into the pool without redress is a prime example of this.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 2 December 2014
Dear our valued guest,
Thank you for valuing your stay at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort.
We are always appreciating constructive criticism as we see a chance in it to improve our services in order to meet and exceed the expectations of our precious guests; your valued comments have forwarded to concern Departments.

We apologize that we were not able to meet your expectations and your comments have been forwarded to the concerned Department Heads.
The SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Team is wishing you and your family all the best back at home and hopes to welcome you again at our resort!

Best regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

since we come we found the paradice , every thing is great ,
the rooms > it was nice , big and clean we really like it
the resturants and food > no comment , the food wasdelicious and fiesh any time

we like setting arround all the pools cuz every one has different style , also the beach and the snorkling there was really amazing we saw another world there .

the animation team > they are the great and the best , no sleep , smiling all the day , very nice work hard to make every on happy , we like the shows , the comedy and the dance show the are amazing ( thanks for marly and kareem the water polo man ) .

we surprised by Ghazal when he played OUD , that there is some one in this age playing this instrument , really this is hard and need many years to be very good , he is young and i think he can play any kind of music , he stay with us and play ( jazz bluss ,salsa , oriantal and funk ) really amazing go on ghazal you are the best , and also we enjoy the archery with him , he is a very good teacher , thanks ghazal for every thing .
finaly we will come again every holiday we love sunrise

Room Tip: corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monica88435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Mrs. monica88435,

The SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Team would like to thank you for your valued and appreciated comments.

We hope to welcome you once again in the nearest future at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi and wish you all the best!


Kindly be sure that the hotel and Hurghada is safe. Be sure that we will do our best in order to make them enjoying unforgettable holiday in our resort.


Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cairo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

We have just returned from a lovely holiday at the Sunrise Royal Makadi, what a fantastic resort.I can honestly say I have never stayed in a hotel where the staff are so totally focused on customer satisfaction and ensuring your holiday is a wonderful experience from the moment you arrive to the moment you leave ,

THE FOOD

We found the food in all restaurants first class with an incredible choice of fresh fruit and vegetables .
the main restaurant is buffet style and has something for everyone, I went there every morning for breakfast and I enjoyed everything I had all was well presented and very fresh or cooked in front of you.
the a la carte restaurants, the Asian, Mexican and Bedouin being our favourites, but the choice and quality of food in all was excellent.

the entertainment
the entertainment available was fantastic! The animation team is a real credit to the resort! They were so friendly and were always talking to you during the day and at night,a lot of activities to do with them special tanks to all of them
finally i would say i will be back for sure

Room Tip: the family pool rooms really great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kamel n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Mr. kamel n,

The SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Team would like to thank you for your valued and appreciated comments.

We hope to welcome you once again in the nearest future at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi and wish you all the best!


Kindly be sure that the hotel and Hurghada is safe. Be sure that we will do our best in order to make them enjoying unforgettable holiday in our resort.


Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
1.1 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 29 in Makadi Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
8.4 mi away
SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
0.6 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
8.2 mi away
Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort

Property: SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Address: Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 623, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#5 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#10 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 698
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Select Royal Makadi is located in the heart of Makadi bay. The hotel is built on relaxing landscape, with spectacular avers and fine sand beach for enjoyable vacation. Distance form Hurghada international Airport 30 minutes, from Hurghada downtown 35 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Royal Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay
Sunrise Makadi Bay
Sunrise Royal Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing