We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“brilliant Hotel brilliant customer service brilliant animation team”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“brilliant Hotel brilliant customer service brilliant animation team”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

my wife and I came back from this great Hotel about a week ago after 11 days after about 20 minutes we arrived at the Hotel and we were greeted with welcome home, a glass of apple juice and some cool wet face cloths the booking in was very quick, and we were soon escorted to our room,. the room was on block 38 and very close to the lobby and in fact as we were to find out, close to everything, the room itself was ample, with a super king size extremely comfortable bed.
we were quite hungry and decided to go for a meal at the buffet, it was quite crowded, there wasn't a great choice of hot food, there was plenty of salad and dips and bread and pitta and soups, and cakes and some but not a big choice of fruit, but the main thing was we found food that we liked and it was good quality and well cooked and nicely spiced.
unfortunately the pools were to cold to go in, so we went into the sea which was lovely, the last 2 days that we were there 2 of the pools were heated, so we managed to go in instead of doing the aerobics in the pool. it was mostly done in the sea but it was realy good. there was such a lot going on Archery, aerobics, water polo, shuffle board, darts stretching, yoga, Arab language lesson, Bingo and much more. there was always a sunbed to be had, except for the last couple of days when it became quite difficult, the beach party was a laugh, most of the evening entertainment was very good, The Animation team were fantastic, they made the Holiday special. thanks to Gazal, Kareem, Natalie, John, Lena, Marley, Boca, Morrisio Momo and all the rest of the team, Tthank's guys, love you all. the Restaurants were all excellent. the Asian, Italian Arabic, Mediteranian, steak House, and Fish, Oh yes I nearly forgot to mention Karo the Waiter who served us drinks with a smile. overall we had a wonderful holiday and wish that we had stayed for 14 days, it was over to quick, we would definitely recommend the Hotel to anyone and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ron s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear paulamo,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,565
    1,086
    428
    133
    89
See reviews for
3,011
1,903
105
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,141)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
norfolk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Its like going home everyone so friendly.Rooms are a little dated but kept spotless by the cleaners, bathroom large with everything you need.You just have to ask for tea and coffee and they bring bring you everything up.Fairly quiet when we were there so the hotel made up by filling the rooms with Egyptians, they were lovely friendly people and mixed in and had fun.

All the staff are amazing and nothing is to much trouble a special thanks to Ahmed and Anwar at the Pergola bar who looked after us so well, a credit to Sunrise.

Animation team amazing and kept us entertained all day, special thanks to Momo, John, Bob and Natalie and all the team they all work so hard.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear paulamo,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
1 review
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Just returned from a weeks stay at the sunrise hotel and very sad to be back in cold UK after being in 35 degree heat all week! As soon as we arrived at hotel I felt relaxed, check in was easy no problems, rooms excellent very clean, clean fresh towels every day, also fridge filled with bottled water.

The grounds of the hotels very clean and well kept!

Meals excellent you have to book early to get in at the Italian, Asian but was half term when we went.

The animation staff really do make your holiday!!! They are always happy, big smiles! They all speak excellent English and if you have a big or small problem they fix it! They put in shows every night we watched the Halloween show big thumbs up guys!!! They all work really really hard to make sure you have a fantastic holiday! Special mention to Gazel and Kareem you guys are fab big big thumbs up you boys work soooo hard! Gazel also did a performance just him and his guitar one night was excellent!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurengeorgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Laurengeorgin,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Just come back after a wonderful week in sunrise royal. First time in Egypt and definitely not the last. Every staff member is helpful, polite and will do a whatever they can to help. After a slight issue with the size of our bedroom, we were moved to two large beach side deluxe family suites. They insured that we did not have any complaints and catered to our needs immediately. On another note the animation team were the highlight of the holiday. This bunch of energetic, talented and friendly people who will do their best to make your holiday full of entertainment and credit to those guys for their hard work. The variety of food was great and the resort looks and definitely feels 5*. I can not wait to return!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arminder H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Arminder H,

Thank you very much that you have taken some of your precious time to post this charming review.
It is really a pleasure to read it and we are very proud to receive your respected compliments.

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team is looking forward to welcoming you again and hopes to meet your expectations again.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for any requests. We are happy to assist you!

Sunny regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Just returned from 10 days at this resort and must admit we were not expecting it to be so large and full as others in the area are half empty.
Rooms comfortable and our cleaner did a great job for us. Room was nothing like that shown in Thomas Cook brochure.
Meals were a but disappointing as always cold. Breakfast in Mexican was good and never too crowded. We did the round of the restaurants and found the Mexican best and Asian worst.
Very disappointed that the pools were so cold and we never managed to have a swim in them. The pool with the swim up bar which we were looking forward to using was never warm and did not therefore use that. They did two days before we came home heat two of the pools but these were immediately crowded so never had a chance. Would like to have spent more itme on the beach but there was never a spare sunbed and people seemed to go down before 6.a.m. with their towells.and they were left there all day.

However, the best thing about this resort and its one redeeming feature is the hard working animation team. You can try Archery, water polo, Arabic lessons and also yoga and the sundown relaxion is great. We tried all the above and thoroughly enjoyed them. Also the halloween night the team put on was wonderful and I have seen much worse on the west end stage. These people deserve 5 star themselves for their hard work and dedication and without them this hotel would not have the same appeal. Some of the bar staff were wonderful and friendly but others not so. The main restaurant was like a mad house the first night we went in and I had very hot soup spilt down my back and still have the burn markes 2 weeks later. We avoided this afterwards. Much of the outside area needs a lot of attenting and is showing signs of its age.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skallywag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Skallywag

We would like to thank you for choosing SUNRISE Royal Makadi Resort for your holidays in Egypt and we hope that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

Thank you for taking your precious time and giving us your comments. In fact as our valuable guest your opinion is very important for us as it helps us to improve our standards and quality.

We would like to apologize, if in your case you were disappointed and we will rectify the short false.

Thank you again for your time, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in SUNRISE Royal Makadi Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Just arrived back after an amazing holiday at this hotel i would gladly call home!!! Although this hotel is large there are plenty of things to do on offer and plenty of beds to go round. However each and every guest in this hotel are special and are very well looked after!!!! The animation team are amazing and work extremely hard i would like to thank them all for making our holiday special.
As for the rest of the staff they were extremely friendly and helpful i couldn't ask for better service throughout. A big special mention to Karo bartender who looked after us extremely well at the bar near the amphitheatre.
Hotel is extremely clean and the food is very good.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone and i will definitely return hope to see you all soon!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobby16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear bobby16,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Nice reception area, a lovely lobby bar which i enjoy of an evening but felt the staff didn't appreciate the presence of the children inthere which stopped me from relaxing.

Buffet restaurant we named as bush tucker trial.you had no idea what would be undeneath the serving tray...it was by no means an organised affair more of a cattle market, Russians pushing and queue jumping cooking stations scattered about. It was a large eating area but a children's section was made or hide away in a corner will leave you to decide, with kids height buffet and themed tables.

Shop keepers were too much, hasseling and not taking no for an answer.

Rooms were of an acceptable standard, matching robe and slipper (cheap n cheerful) comfy beds.Huge bathroom, tiny balcony.

Liked the beach its roped off with net apparently its got nice fish In So kids and not advanced swimmers can experience the sea life. Has the coldest beer on the beach bar which is great as evey place I've been to its luke warm. Also ice water you help yourself to by the bottle.

Sadly the main slide pool wasn't open due to it being unheated which was the while reason we booked here so was huge disappointment for the kids.

Evening entertainment was really bad but it had a disco in the hotel which was good.

When i booked this this a 5* hotel in the Thomas Cook Style brochure for being highly rated by previous customers so As this was my main holiday of the year and I was really looking forward to it when I got there it was a huge disappointment as I interpreted it a luxury which it isn't, its just a nice sunshine break. I later found it was no longer in the style brochure as it hadn't kept its high ratings. I'd return minus the kids if it was a cheap deal as there just wasn't much for the kids to do apart from a park and kids club which wasn't in use as mine and another family were only kids there. Its also quite a big hotel so you need to walk to get to places

Room Tip: If travelling with children email hotel before hand asking for room by park/kids club as its a more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KLEE00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear KLEE00 ,

Thank you for valuing your stay at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort.

We are always appreciating constructive criticism as we see a chance in it to improve our services in order to meet and exceed the expectations of our precious guests.

We would like to inform you that any received complain according to sellers in our resort is directly solving by our Security Manager in order to make our guests feel comfortable.
According to Your comments about Main Pool: none of our pools were closed in last two months and also we would like to draw Your attention to the fact that pools in our hotel are heated with the begin of the winter season (which means from the First of November) and this information is available in each of hotel brochures or info sheets.


The SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Team is wishing you and your family all the best back at home and hopes to welcome you again at our resort!


Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
1.1 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
8.4 mi away
SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
0.6 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#3 of 30 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
11.5 mi away
Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort

Property: SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Address: Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 623, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#8 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 698
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Select Royal Makadi is located in the heart of Makadi bay. The hotel is built on relaxing landscape, with spectacular avers and fine sand beach for enjoyable vacation. Distance form Hurghada international Airport 30 minutes, from Hurghada downtown 35 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Royal Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay
Sunrise Makadi Bay
Sunrise Royal Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing