We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cant wait to come back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Makadi Bay
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cant wait to come back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

We had such an amazing time. All the a la carte restaurants were magnificent. The waitering staff were top notch with speedy but not rushy service, the barmen the same. Our room was located in Block 10 by the family pool, a good distance from the main area, the room was spacious and always kept clean by the maids. The grounds were well maintained and kept tidy. The evening entertainment was always first class and made us laugh on many nights. The animation team really do make the holiday. They would always come round speaking to you, making sure everything was good and seeing to any complaints you may have had. A special thank you to Kareem, Gazal, Marley, John, Momo, Boca, Silvia and Natalie, they are a credit to the team. They're like a big family, have a good vibe with each other and clearly enjoy their job. We miss you all! Would definitely come again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel_Max_Chloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Rachel_Max_Chloe,

The SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Team would like to thank you for your valued and appreciated comments.

We hope to welcome you once again in the nearest future at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi and wish you all the best!


Kindly be sure that the hotel and Hurghada is safe. Be sure that we will do our best in order to make them enjoying unforgettable holiday in our resort.


Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,097 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,379
    1,073
    423
    133
    89
See reviews for
2,899
1,849
103
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,132)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

We have just return from sun rise and we had a fab time and didn't want to come home. The hotel is excellent and clean and everyone makes u feel like ur at home very warm welcome from all. The pools r great and the restaurants and nice. The animation team are amazing and very helpful and friendly. There shows are fantastic and we really enjoyed there Halloween show on our last night it was fab. We miss everyone including Silvia, Coco, Natalie, John, Kareem, Momo, Boca, Anya, Moresia, Zidan, Ghazel, Lena, Osama and not forgetting Marley they were great with my family. There were also waiters and chefs that we made friends with which we miss too. We will be returning next year.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Funfunfunfamilyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Funfunfunfamilyx,

The SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Team would like to thank you for your valued and appreciated comments.

We hope to welcome you once again in the nearest future at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi and wish you all the best!


Kindly be sure that the hotel and Hurghada is safe. Be sure that we will do our best in order to make them enjoying unforgettable holiday in our resort.


Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
146 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

This was our first trip to Egypt, our first All Inclusive and the first use of Thomas Cook.
We were a family with 2 children (4 & 7 yrs).
I'll separate the different aspects:
Hotel-We had a family room and were very pleasantly surprised at the size. It was very bight and airy with two very good sized bedrooms, a very generous hallway between. The balcony was accessible from both bedrooms.
Maintenance wise no real surprises, the phone in the bathroom fell off the wall, the shower door didnt fit, the towel rail was hanging out of the wall etc etc. However it was large, clean, and as I say better than expected.
The buffet hall was, as others have said, manic. The staff work very hard to accommodate diners quickly but you could queue. It would be useful to be advised of quieter times etc beforehand.
We ate in multiple a la cartes (which clearly is an optimistic title). The menu is small but the operation of having two sittings (6.30 and 8.15pm) is very slick. Although we found the food variable the feeling of 'being out to dinner' was much more relaxing than the buffet environment. Different favourites to some, so will leave as personal preference-try them for yourself.
The All Inclusive aspect was fabulous (as I said previously our first experience). We didnt queue for long (as my husband pointed out you dont have to pay so its quicker) and on the whole you were always served in glasses (restaurants/lobby bar) or half pint sized (for beers etc) plastic glasses at the pool/outside area.

The pools state they are unheated, but some were switched on mid week (last week). Our daughters didnt mind either way.
We started off at Family pool 2 but found it a little too deep for our children (we couldnt relax) and also large 'camps' of holiday makers took over areas of the pool and didnt respect others in the way they could (would stand next to your bed and shout to their friends etc....personnal space guys!!). So we moved to Family pool 1. Lovely sloping incline, very shallow, perfect for children! We stayed here for the majority of our time and never had a problem getting a sunbed at any time of the day.
The beach looked claustrophobic at best but we would wander down later in the day to go snorkelling and could generally get a bed to sit on.

Entertainment wise great activities for the littlies (disco each night) and the Animation team organised a show/party etc. The best (for us) was the beach party-fab to be dancing barefoot in the sand with out children. A mention here to Moresio & Natalie who did the rounds each day and told us what was going on, helped with any advice etc-brilliant!

Thomas Cook-found the rep insincere, elusive and of no use whatsoever. We found much more useful information from the Animation team on site. The check in and check out was no less chaotic even with him around-why did he not inform us which coach we were on when putting the departure time slip though our door the day before? Instead you had masses of people, luggage, buses, taxis and one person telling you which was your bus-just silly!
Kids club...mmmmm....poor, very very poor. 2 hours at a Halloween party (paid extra) and no drinks routinely offered to the children? Thomas Cook-spend the money to get at least one experienced carer. We would pay extra for this.The young girls were mediocre at best with one having the reuptation from the children as 'the girl that shouts at the children all the time'!!!

The plane felt like a cattle truck outbound, tiny bit better inbound (newer design).

One mention for the airport-currently take US$ for the visa (15/person) else you will get ripped off (ours cost 70€ for 4 people!!).
DO NOT USE the duty free shop once past security (when departing). Again I did not have US$ and so the guys there basically ripped me off. 53$ changed to 67$, to £44-he tore the receipt so I could not see but when I asked him what it was for it got unpleasant. Its not the value but rather the principle they are clearly ripping you off (and its an Official duty free shop?!). I expect they take it out of the till and pocket the difference.

Lots to write but would we go back to the hotel, absolutely, Egypt definitely (felt completely safe), Thomas Cook? Unlikely.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheClanster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear TheClanster,

Thank you very much for your valued and constructive comment on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate very much that you share your impressions of your holidays at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort.

As we are working constantly on improving our services to meet and exceed our guests' expectations.

We hope to welcome you soon to SUNRISE Royal Makadi Resort again!

Sunny regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

my wife and I came back from this great Hotel about a week ago after 11 days after about 20 minutes we arrived at the Hotel and we were greeted with welcome home, a glass of apple juice and some cool wet face cloths the booking in was very quick, and we were soon escorted to our room,. the room was on block 38 and very close to the lobby and in fact as we were to find out, close to everything, the room itself was ample, with a super king size extremely comfortable bed.
we were quite hungry and decided to go for a meal at the buffet, it was quite crowded, there wasn't a great choice of hot food, there was plenty of salad and dips and bread and pitta and soups, and cakes and some but not a big choice of fruit, but the main thing was we found food that we liked and it was good quality and well cooked and nicely spiced.
unfortunately the pools were to cold to go in, so we went into the sea which was lovely, the last 2 days that we were there 2 of the pools were heated, so we managed to go in instead of doing the aerobics in the pool. it was mostly done in the sea but it was realy good. there was such a lot going on Archery, aerobics, water polo, shuffle board, darts stretching, yoga, Arab language lesson, Bingo and much more. there was always a sunbed to be had, except for the last couple of days when it became quite difficult, the beach party was a laugh, most of the evening entertainment was very good, The Animation team were fantastic, they made the Holiday special. thanks to Gazal, Kareem, Natalie, John, Lena, Marley, Boca, Morrisio Momo and all the rest of the team, Tthank's guys, love you all. the Restaurants were all excellent. the Asian, Italian Arabic, Mediteranian, steak House, and Fish, Oh yes I nearly forgot to mention Karo the Waiter who served us drinks with a smile. overall we had a wonderful holiday and wish that we had stayed for 14 days, it was over to quick, we would definitely recommend the Hotel to anyone and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ron s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear paulamo,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Its like going home everyone so friendly.Rooms are a little dated but kept spotless by the cleaners, bathroom large with everything you need.You just have to ask for tea and coffee and they bring bring you everything up.Fairly quiet when we were there so the hotel made up by filling the rooms with Egyptians, they were lovely friendly people and mixed in and had fun.

All the staff are amazing and nothing is to much trouble a special thanks to Ahmed and Anwar at the Pergola bar who looked after us so well, a credit to Sunrise.

Animation team amazing and kept us entertained all day, special thanks to Momo, John, Bob and Natalie and all the team they all work so hard.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear paulamo,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Just returned from a weeks stay at the sunrise hotel and very sad to be back in cold UK after being in 35 degree heat all week! As soon as we arrived at hotel I felt relaxed, check in was easy no problems, rooms excellent very clean, clean fresh towels every day, also fridge filled with bottled water.

The grounds of the hotels very clean and well kept!

Meals excellent you have to book early to get in at the Italian, Asian but was half term when we went.

The animation staff really do make your holiday!!! They are always happy, big smiles! They all speak excellent English and if you have a big or small problem they fix it! They put in shows every night we watched the Halloween show big thumbs up guys!!! They all work really really hard to make sure you have a fantastic holiday! Special mention to Gazel and Kareem you guys are fab big big thumbs up you boys work soooo hard! Gazel also did a performance just him and his guitar one night was excellent!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurengeorgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Laurengeorgin,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Just come back after a wonderful week in sunrise royal. First time in Egypt and definitely not the last. Every staff member is helpful, polite and will do a whatever they can to help. After a slight issue with the size of our bedroom, we were moved to two large beach side deluxe family suites. They insured that we did not have any complaints and catered to our needs immediately. On another note the animation team were the highlight of the holiday. This bunch of energetic, talented and friendly people who will do their best to make your holiday full of entertainment and credit to those guys for their hard work. The variety of food was great and the resort looks and definitely feels 5*. I can not wait to return!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arminder H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Arminder H,

Thank you very much that you have taken some of your precious time to post this charming review.
It is really a pleasure to read it and we are very proud to receive your respected compliments.

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team is looking forward to welcoming you again and hopes to meet your expectations again.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for any requests. We are happy to assist you!

Sunny regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
1.1 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 29 in Makadi Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
8.4 mi away
SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
0.6 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
8.2 mi away
Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort

Property: SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Address: Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 623, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#5 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#10 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 698
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Select Royal Makadi is located in the heart of Makadi bay. The hotel is built on relaxing landscape, with spectacular avers and fine sand beach for enjoyable vacation. Distance form Hurghada international Airport 30 minutes, from Hurghada downtown 35 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Royal Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay
Sunrise Makadi Bay
Sunrise Royal Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing