We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This was our honeymoon and it was brilliant!

Best hotel I have ever stayed in and most relaxing holiday iv had.

The surroundings are beautiful in the resort and the private beach is wonderful.

Didnt like the city of Hurghada, as we had a day trip here but it was something to see, reminded me of how Bombay would look and was really unclean and we got hassled alot, it was quite scary really.

The resort and hotel complex however were the cleanest iv ever seen and the people didnt hassle you, the people who worked on the beach and spa came upto us a few times but you are given a red flag to put onto your sunbed which stopped them approaching you, they really wernt that bad though as they worked on the complex and the things they were offering where guenuine like spa treatments and scuba diving.

The food was amazing and the rooms were lovely and big.

EVERYTHING was all inclusive and the A La Carte resturants were sooo nice!

Has a onsite night club/disco to party at night as well as a pool with slides.

Massive complex and lovely staff apart from one grumpy bar man at the main bar!

Mina at the pool bar and Marley and John the animation team were really lovely people especially.

I would recommend Mamaya (could be spelt wrong its pronounced macmaya), the unspoilt island offered by the Thomas Cook rep at the welcome meeting as a boat trip, well worth the money!!!

Overall a great holiday and didnt have to spend a penny apart from we booked onto the trip and give £1 in english to the bell boy and cleaner a few times and occasionally the waiters (loved english money but never expected it).

When getting on/off the coach at the airport dont let anyone put your bag onto the coach as they will put thier hand out for money...These are airport workers and nothing to do with the hotel.

it is £13 in english into the country-dont let them fob you off, although there are some dodgy people in Egypt dont let this put you off as the hotel is very proffessional and the staff would neber ask for money and the managers are very strict.

I never thought i would say this but i am now an Egypt convert and would go back in a heart beat...but only to this hotel :)

Room Tip: Near reception as is massive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Mrs. EmmaWemma,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,912 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,131
    1,118
    439
    134
    90
See reviews for
3,437
2,002
110
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,159)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I like this hotel very much..When we travel to Egypt, we always choose Sun rise royal makadi... The staff is very very friendly)). The animation team is super cool, esp. Silvia - a very nice girl) There's a lot of various exotic food.. what else.. I liked cocktails and wine. For those who want to try real Italian pizza - Italian restaurant is just what you need))) The Red Sea, the hotel, the atmosphere are amazing!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank galyna n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Mrs. galyna n,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coventry
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Wow - what can I say this is the best hotel I have ever stayed at, beautiful resort and most amazing friendly staff stayed from 1st November to 8th

Stayed in block 38 with my husband and baby, family apartment was big with plenty of storage when you walk through door you have 2 sofas which can be turned into beds then family bathroom, in the main bedroom you had a huge double bed which was very comfy and had another bathroom with toilette and shower, both rooms have TVs. Rooms were cleaned every day with lovely towel decorations left

There are that many swimming pools no where is over crowded which meant you didn't have to get up in the middle of the night to get sun beds, you also have the beach at your doorstep which is beautiful

We only used main restaurant once as we used to use the Mexican for breakfast as loved eating breakfast on the terrace, we used the Italian, Mexican, Asian and steak house al a carte restaurants couldn't fault anything food was lovely and again staff very friendly.

Animation team were fantastic couldn't do enough for you and loved my son who always made him smile, shows in the evening were brilliant.

We were invited for VIP cocktails and dinner event which was superb, if you get this offer take it up the meal was a great experience.

I could not say 1 fault about this resort and will definitely be returning, there are 2 many names to mention but my favourite people were Mr Lotfy, john, Boca and Marley from the animation team.

This is the hotel I have stayed at where the hotel manager goes out of his way to speak to you.

Keep up the good work :-)

Room Tip: Block 38 for family room with 2 bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carlic123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear carlic123,

The SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Team would like to thank you for your valued and appreciated comments.

We hope to welcome you once again in the nearest future at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi and wish you all the best!


Kindly be sure that the hotel and Hurghada is safe. Be sure that we will do our best in order to make them enjoying unforgettable holiday in our resort.


Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We (13 of us mostly Scuba Divers) spent a very enjoyable week at the Royal Sunrise. The rooms were very comfortable and clean and the staff with out exception are very friendly and helpful. It is all inclusive (which I don't like) but as far as it goes it was done very well. The Scuba Diving was fantastic, we chose Idive but there are other providers nearby. As far as the troubles in the major population centres are concerned we saw no evidence of it, do not let this put you off. Upside if there is one the hotel was quite quiet..

Room Tip: If you want to be close to the facilities try getting a room with a lower pre-fix, but not a huge is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meeester_Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Mr. Meeester_Bill,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

What can I say about sunrise royal except 10/10 and believe me I'm the most fussy person going! All staff are very well presented and they make you feel that your the only ones on holiday.. They give 110% to each and every holiday maker. All the 'top' people, Ehab (it manager), Regala ( manager ) Food Director to name a few are on hand 24/7, they are consistent in asking if we are 100% happy with everything. We were so lucky to have Mater our personal cleaner, each day when we returned to our room he would make out of towels incredible animals and characters, one was of a man fully dressed chilling on the bed with the remote control facing the t.v. The best was when we opened our door there was a monkey suspended from the ceiling with Holly's base ball cap on, boy he's talented. We spent most of the time around the pool with the two slides near the T Bones restaurant. For lunch there was a selection of 'made to order' pizzas, chips beef/chicken burgers, salads, fruit, cakes, ice creams etc..... Just across the road is a small heated pool also with a swim up bar. All the restaurants have very high standards including the service. The lobby serve an incredible selection of cocktails, my fav was six on the beach! We went for breakfast in the Mexican restaurant, the chef on hand makes any combination of eggs you ask for. So much choice of 'breakfasts' available with a selection of cakes too! Asian and Italian restaurants were our favourite. Of an evening we sat next to a pool and around the 'bars' near the restaurants. Each evening we went to see a show, where the fabulously talented animation team performed excellent sketches and dancing. One evening we saw a snake show, my daughter has a photo with a Python! Now to the main attraction...The Animation Team:
Coco: a beautiful caring funny young lady. Karem: a funny energetic 'wind up merchant'! young man. Gazal: a caring sweet young lad. Meda: he was hilarious, he took Holly's jumper one evening and ran like the wind with it, so holly took he's hat. Then Coco came to Holly's rescue, they both ran after Meda to try and reclaim Holly's jumper, it was so funny. John 'the dancer' and he's sweet wife Natalie. Marley:talented dancer who loved to dance with the holiday makers, my daughter holly was quite shy but Marley whisked her on the dance floor and gave her confidence.bocca: creme de la creme of comics, talented robotic dancer, he has such enthusiasm he radiates the 'feel good factor'. The 'Boss': has remarkable talent, leads the animation team to a T. Full marks to all the other team members, they are all a credit to sunrise royal.
We did not want to come home after spending 14 fantastic nights there, especially coming back to the typical 'English' weather! For us it was a luxurious holiday, we would love to go back one day (money permitting).
Helpful Tip: Do not go with Thomas Cook they are just money grabbing poor service second rate company. We paid to choose our seats as I'm disabled. Unbelievably once on board we were cramped in run of the mill seats. After speaking with the air hostess she confirmed our seats had not been booked! Thomas Cook rep at sunrise royal confirmed too that our seats we paid for were not booked on the return flight. He then said he had booked seats for us with extra leg room. What a joke the seats he had booked were worst than the flight out there. Squashed like cattle, it was disgraceful, I have a fear of flying, I had a panic attack, and I was restricted with any form of leg movement. The air hostess called Aggie found me a spare seat with extra leg room near two people (ironically these were the seats we had booked!) I was away from my little one she was upset to see me distressed. Thankfully she had her daddy.
Tips for sunrise hotel: Breakfast in the Mexican restaurant . Don't leave your food unattended as the birds will peck at it. This same rule applies when eating near the heated pool next to the bar on the complex where the restaurants are. Also be careful when sitting in the Mexican restaurant and near the pool as birds pooh on the chairs. The shop keepers were nightmares, they were very nice until we could not agree on a price that's when they would become quite dismissive of you. Finally do not by any means be put off by the trouble in Egypt. This hotel is in it's own well protected compound. It's 100% safe. I am a worrier by nature and I was really worried about travelling, I would fly out tomorrow with not a second thought. Go and enjoy your holiday you lucky people!

Room Tip: We were in block 11 near to the hotel(2 minute walk.)very quiet, in comparison to other blocks this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lorenita2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Mrs. lorenita2002,

The SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Team would like to thank you for your valued and appreciated comments.

We hope to welcome you once again in the nearest future at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi and wish you all the best!


Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We had such an amazing time. All the a la carte restaurants were magnificent. The waitering staff were top notch with speedy but not rushy service, the barmen the same. Our room was located in Block 10 by the family pool, a good distance from the main area, the room was spacious and always kept clean by the maids. The grounds were well maintained and kept tidy. The evening entertainment was always first class and made us laugh on many nights. The animation team really do make the holiday. They would always come round speaking to you, making sure everything was good and seeing to any complaints you may have had. A special thank you to Kareem, Gazal, Marley, John, Momo, Boca, Silvia and Natalie, they are a credit to the team. They're like a big family, have a good vibe with each other and clearly enjoy their job. We miss you all! Would definitely come again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel_Max_Chloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Rachel_Max_Chloe,

The SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Team would like to thank you for your valued and appreciated comments.

We hope to welcome you once again in the nearest future at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi and wish you all the best!


Kindly be sure that the hotel and Hurghada is safe. Be sure that we will do our best in order to make them enjoying unforgettable holiday in our resort.


Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We have just return from sun rise and we had a fab time and didn't want to come home. The hotel is excellent and clean and everyone makes u feel like ur at home very warm welcome from all. The pools r great and the restaurants and nice. The animation team are amazing and very helpful and friendly. There shows are fantastic and we really enjoyed there Halloween show on our last night it was fab. We miss everyone including Silvia, Coco, Natalie, John, Kareem, Momo, Boca, Anya, Moresia, Zidan, Ghazel, Lena, Osama and not forgetting Marley they were great with my family. There were also waiters and chefs that we made friends with which we miss too. We will be returning next year.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Funfunfunfamilyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Funfunfunfamilyx,

The SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Team would like to thank you for your valued and appreciated comments.

We hope to welcome you once again in the nearest future at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi and wish you all the best!


Kindly be sure that the hotel and Hurghada is safe. Be sure that we will do our best in order to make them enjoying unforgettable holiday in our resort.


Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
1.1 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
869 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
0.6 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#3 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
2.4 mi away
Baron Palace Sahl Hasheesh
11.5 mi away
SUNRISE Garden Beach Resort -Select-
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort

Property: SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Address: Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 623, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 698
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Select Royal Makadi is located in the heart of Makadi bay. The hotel is built on relaxing landscape, with spectacular avers and fine sand beach for enjoyable vacation. Distance form Hurghada international Airport 30 minutes, from Hurghada downtown 35 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Royal Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay
Sunrise Makadi Bay
Sunrise Royal Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing