We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Holiday - Missing it already!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Holiday - Missing it already!”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We have just returned from 10 days at the Royal Makadi and had a wonderful time. All in all food, rooms, housekeeping and general public areas were very good - cleanliness was generally the order of the day and to me the hotel did "what it said on the tin". My only negative comments would have to be two aspects,
1, The beach could do with a further beach bar and additional toilet facilities - possibly one at each end and,
2, Whilst I have respect for the "egyptian culture" I really do think the traders are missing a huge trick by not having fixed prices in their shops. My wife and I would have been delighted to have spent more time (and money!) browsing in the shops after dinner each evening but the 'hassle factor' simply puts you off doing this. In terms of buying in the shops - you either love a haggle or detest it and unfortunately we fell into the second camp.

One word of caution though watch the ramps - my wife did take a tumble by slipping on the surface (clearly no slip resistance tests in place!) - I have to say though one of the hotel management team who witnessed the incident was extremely apologetic and we regularly got asked how things were throughout and fortunately no injuries were sustained..

Anyway back onto more positive feedback,
The Animation Team were absolutely brilliant - from the holidays we have had we have honestly have never met such an enthusiastic bunch of guys and girls, they were were just simply first class..Whilst too many to mention individually special thanks have to go to both Kareem (nincinpoop) and one of the other guys who took Yoga classes.. You could tell these guys were very keen to develop their english language skills and quite frankly they used the english language far better than ourselves! They were such friendly jolly people that really went out of their way to ensure all guests were completely satisfied with everything..

The hotel is admitadly in a remote area so if you wish to take a ride somewhere dont hesitate to talk to Pete the "taxi man" in the lobby -very helpful he was too with nothing too much trouble.
I would say that when we first arrived we were a bit unsure of some of the bar team but then we got friendly with a chap called Sameh in the Pergola bar - a smashing chap with a warm heart that the management team should be proud of..

All in all Sunrise a great holiday was had, thankyou.... a real credit to Egypt!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deege71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Deege71,

Thank you very much for your valued and constructive comment on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate very much that you share your impressions of your holidays at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort.

As we are working constantly on improving our services to meet and exceed our guests' expectations.

We hope to welcome you soon to SUNRISE Royal Makadi Resort again!

Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,913 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,132
    1,118
    439
    134
    90
See reviews for
3,438
2,002
110
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,159)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

It's been the 6th time for us in this fabulous hotel. We have some previous experience with 4-5* hotels in Sharm and Hurghada,but since we found Sunrise Royal Makadi no other choice for us. We are always treated in very personalized way and we feel to be at home.
The hotel itself,beach,swimming pools,restaurants totally fit with our ideal holidays,so why to change? And there is one more added value and that's the staff,everybody is very kind and helpful. Special thanks goes to the whole ANIMATION TEAM which does a great job with energy and heart !!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandraR85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Mrs. SandraR85,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

The warm welcome feeling starts when you step off the coach when they say "welcome home" and that is their aim to make you feel at home and i can say they have done that with me this is the 2nd time i have been in 4 months and i love the place the food is great the rooms are comfortable and if you are an early riser then the choice of sunbeds is fab too !! (if not like us then we took what was available but again it was great )
OK ! there are some nationalities there that are rude but to be fair thats not the hotels fault they do as much as possible to help the situation and make you feel at home.The entertainment team are amazing they do such a fab job but i must say a massive thanks to Kareem who i miss alot he is now like part of our family ,the shows at night are entertaining and they do have a 2 week program on the go so its always something new ,we stayed in block 16 this was perfect for the beach , pools ,restaurants and the shopping i love this place with all my heart i have deffo found my new home we have been home less than a week and we have booked again so we will see you soon Sunrise xx

Room Tip: block 16 top position and a family then you need block 10 for the family pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahfowler10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Mrs. sarahfowler10,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Having lived and experienced true 5 star hospitality in Asia for many years (the AI concept fortunately doesn't exist there), the reviews (well, a lot of the good ones are from 1st timers at tripadvisor) already prepared us somewhat for what was to come. Egypt is a budget destination, for true 5 star you have to go to other countries.

The night before leaving, we discovered that our son's passport was only valid for another 4 months (egypt requires 6 months valididy). Well, the person at tuifly checkin didn't bother to check those dates, nor did the guy at egypt immigration - just chopping passports at high speed.

Bring a lot of coins for tips. It already starts at the airport with the guy giving you the luggage cart. If they offered luggage carrying services, I would happily pay.

Be aware, you'll be just a number in those huge resorts that accomodate thousands of guests each, being milked for money or tips. Thus, welcome at hotel is not truly welcoming. Make sure you study the "do not do" list. Goold luck also in trying to read the tiny resort map the provide. Considering rooms, food and service, you look at a 3 star hotel. With these high number of guests, it is just not possible to achieve a higher quality in food or service. Waiters for example work one month, 14 hours shifts daily and then get 10 days off. Not surprising that they are often grumpy. At dinner (where they expect tips at specialty restaurants), the same waiters are suddenly friendly.

Food: One huge buffet for breakfast and lunch: thus, very busy and atmosphere is canteen like - not what you want during a holiday. food choices limited and very repetitive, quality and taste average at best. although waiters are around, don't expect to be serviced, just fight for yourself. Anyway, be considerate and polite and tables may be cleared and cutlery provided. For breakfast you will get Nescafe coffee only and sugary fruit drinks. The made to order stations are efficient, but don't expect a smile..specialty restaurants: food a touch better, but still a far cry from going to a normal restaurant. most people are in and out within 30 minutes. few outdoor sitting options. forget about some nice restaurant on the beach under palm trees and sticking your feet in the sand. the only good food was at teppanyaki place (within asia restaurant), extra charge 25 euro per person for large prawns, seabass and tenderloin. the cook will overcook ervything and drown it in sauces, so tell him how you want food prepared. Considering that our son had several times diarrhea and nearly 40° fever for two days, I would not go to Egypt with small children again.

The main point about a hotel is sleeping quality. Beds are not comfortable and a far cry from international chains signature bed's quality like "heavenly bed", "sweet sleeper bed", "my bed", etc..Hotel is older, we knew that as we primarily chose it due to the layout of the family rooms - that is, large and with a separate bedroom for the kids. Problem is that kids room (twin beds) is at entrance door. The first night my wife woke up - luckily - as our 3 year old was sneaking out the room at 2 in the morning. Imagine she hadn't heard the door closing. He could easily have drowned in the pool. Sink broke the first night and lights did not work in one room, was fixed a day later. a lot of small damages in room that were sloppily repaired; bathroom door couldn't be closed anymore, terrace door was hard to open, fridge door didn't close anymore, shower gel not automatically replenished. after tipping cleaners a TV programme was handed over. you have to ask for tea/coffee making stuff. rooms are very noisy, so forget about sleeping after 7.-

After having reserved your sun loungers at the pool (no cushions - compared to beach chairs), be prepared for the hotel sales people (massage, trips). A normal facet of life on a public beach in thailand, this "milking" behaviour within of a resort is new to us. I am talking true hard sell - practically not walking away before they have a signature. There are small red flags available that signal "leave me alone". Massages offered are very expensive at 70-80 euro for 45 minutes. My wife had several massages and they were good. We did the snorkeling trips and glass bottom boat, I recommend it.

Internet is for free in lobby and can be bought at 30 euro/6 days for other areas. quite slow though.

not many things to do for kids. Staff will chase you out of pools and sea at sunset (around 16:30). with whistles!!!
Beach is encircled by piers with lots of boats. not particulary nice. water quality is good though.

They have a clinic with three doctors. We had a couple issues, price for doc is ok at 30-60 euro. but pharmacy is a big rip-off (in most countries the one place where you will be treated fairly. in China for example most medicines go for 1-10 euro). ear drops: 27 euro. antibiotics: 40 euro.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RolandShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Mr. RolandShanghai,

Thank you for valuing your stay at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort.

We are always appreciating constructive criticism as we see a chance in it to improve our services in order to meet and exceed the expectations of our precious guests.

As we are working constantly on improving our services to meet and exceed our guests' expectations, we will try to put more attention for the points mentioned by You.


The SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Team is wishing you and your family all the best back at home and hopes to welcome you again at our resort!


Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2013

From the first greating of welcome home you feel special.this is our 3rd time here and will be returning again as soon as possible.all the staff including the gardeners acknowledge you and greet you good morning .the animation team were all great and went out their way to ask if there was anything they could do to help make your holiday more special and the choice of restaurant s were well worth going to you could go every night by booking to a different place.it was nice to see old friends and make many more new ones .looking forward to returning we cannot stress how special this hotel is just like going home .

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Mrs .Elisabeth A,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We have just returned from a week in the October half term and had a great time. All staff and very friendly and very helpful, the entertainment team and kids club are brilliant and the kids had a wonderful, asking to go to kids club and the activities they put on.

Our room was a two bedroom room and very big with loads of room, when we arrived our safe would not reset, but someone was with us to fix it within ten minutes of the call to reception.

The pools are great and always able to find sunbeds no matter what time, the beach sunbeds however did get reserved early, which was never a problem, as the sun goes down much earlier in Egypt so we were always up to enjoy the sun. Snorkeling is good we used the reef at the hotel next door and as long as you do not take anything with you to leave on the beach they were happy for you to go into their side.

We had to use the main buffet on our first night as we had not booked into an ala carte, and we are pleased that was the only time, food is good, but the restaurant is very big and can often be difficult to find a seat, being with Thomas cook we could use all the other restaurants which were all very nice. At breakfast time part of Thomas cook we could eat this in the Mexican which was much smaller and till had lots of choice, then lunch in the around the world restaurant or the snack bars. There are plenty of places to eat and drink which was great.

Evening entertainment was very good, starting with the children's disco which mine loved as the two entertainment team were very good with the children, followed by a show. Everyone made such an effort and they were always really enjoyable for adults and the children.

We had a lovely holiday and would def go back.

Our girls had a brilliant time with the help of so many staff esp Coco, Marley, DJ and all the others x

Room Tip: We were block 36 which was great overlooking the pool x
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GloucesterSunlover21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear GloucesterSunlover21,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

From the moment you hear the first 'welcome home' you know you are in somewhere special. The customer service from everyone who works at this hotel is fantastic, everywhere we went, whether that was the Pool, Bar or Restaurants, everyone asked if we where having a good holiday and if anything was wrong.

On our first morning we met Mahmoud (Tom) who was looking after the main pool - what a briliant guy, always making sure we were OK, fresh towels laid out on our beds everyday and then came round with cold face cloths in the afternoon.

It takes a lot to prise us off our sunbeds, but once you start talking with the animation team you just want to get involved and we are glad we did as they made our holiday exceptional, special praise to John, Natalie, Kareem,(who nicknamed our group the Legends) Gazal, Marley, Coco, Boca, Morriso and Chico from Syria.

The General Manager of the Hotel should feel very proud of all his staff, and we look forward to being 'welcomed home' again next year.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soulie65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Soulie65,

The SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Team would like to thank you for your valued and appreciated comments.

We hope to welcome you once again in the nearest future at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi and wish you all the best!


Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
1.1 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
869 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
0.6 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#3 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
2.4 mi away
Baron Palace Sahl Hasheesh
11.5 mi away
SUNRISE Garden Beach Resort -Select-
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort

Property: SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Address: Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 623, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 698
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Select Royal Makadi is located in the heart of Makadi bay. The hotel is built on relaxing landscape, with spectacular avers and fine sand beach for enjoyable vacation. Distance form Hurghada international Airport 30 minutes, from Hurghada downtown 35 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Royal Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay
Sunrise Makadi Bay
Sunrise Royal Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing