We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th time stay would defiantly return !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Great hotel this was our 4th visit and would defiantly return hotel very clean and gardens well maintained. Animation team especially Marley & coco they were fab. Would recommend as a great hotel food fab and all restraint too a high standard Roy n cath

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lkgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Dear Lkgh,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,200 - 3,206 of 7,245 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2013

As always from the friendly welcome to the farewell we were spoilt and cherished by all the staff at this wonderful resort. From the gardeners, cleaners, bar and restaurant staff to the animation team and management they all make you feel welcome and they really can't do enough to make your stay just perfect for you. The resort itself is clean, well tended and offers everything you could need. Clean swimming pools, beach and great snorkelling. A variety of buffet and a la carte restaurants and bars, gym and spa, tennis, football and a packed assortment of animation activities. However if your thing is to relax by the pool all day you are left in peace to do this as well. I can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laineee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Dear laineee,

Thank you very much that you have taken some of your precious time to post this charming review.
It is really a pleasure to read it and we are very proud to receive your respected compliments.

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team is looking forward to welcoming you again and hopes to meet your expectations again.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for any requests. We are happy to assist you!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Thank you to the Sunrise royal makadi team for making our holiday so special, yet again the hotel exceeded our expectations, each and every member of staff from all departments really went out of there way to make our holiday special, I would like to mention them all by name but with in excess of 700 staff members it is possible that I may forget one or two so this message of thanks from Yvonne,Ann and I goes to each and every one of you.

I have posted this message with the best picture I can find of the hotels amazing Animation team (stolen from Natalie Suffield) It is not 100% accurate but it is very very close to the current team as it must be so difficult to get them all in the same place at the same time for a group photo.

These guys will make your holiday they work tirelessly to ensure all guests are entertained day and night so our very special thanks go to.
Osama, Coco, Silvia, Angelika, Lena, Dascha, Kareem, Momo, Meeda,Meezo, Cojo, Lola, Soudany, Zidan, Marley and last but not least John Oss & Natalie

We are already counting the days until our return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank radleydiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Dear radleydiamond,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Hi Coco. Linda Walker Here.

What a lovely time we had at the Sun Rise. Every one very friendly and very kind. The meals at the International restaurants were very good. Our room was kept very clean by our "BOY". Every where you went in the hotel was lovely clean. This was our third time to the Sun Rise and we will be returning. We miss the friendly smiles of the Animation Team. The team work very hard but do not put pressure on you to join in. We also enjoyed the SHOWTIMES by the team. We miss Marley, Kaream, COCO, Natalie, John, Momo and Anya. But all the Team are excellent.

All I can say is well done to every one who works at this hotel.

See you all soon I hope.

Room Tip: Our room was in block 10. We were right at the end of it so quite as no one went past us. I also enj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LONTA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Dear LONTA2013,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Craig & Marion from Manchester,We had such a good time at the Sunrise royal makadi,everyone was very helpful the staff,animation team,shopkeepers,even down to the guy whom cooked my omelettes in the morning,the room was clean and tidy everyday.the pools were clean and the animation team were absolute cracking people and very very helpful.the beach clean and sea nice and warm we WILL book this resort again this is the second time this year here and plan to go again early 2014 xxxxx

Room Tip: Ask for the quiet rooms along the outskirts they are very good and if you ask for south facing you g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Dear Mr. Craig C,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Recently returned from an amazing family holiday (husband, wife, two kids aged 10 & 14) 

Love, love, love this hotel.

This was our second visit to the Sunrise Royal Makadi. We first visited two years ago and afterwards we all agreed it was the best holiday we had ever had. 

We decided to return again this year and from the second we stepped off the coach it genuinely felt like we had come "home".

I cannot praise the staff at the Sunrise enough. I had emailed the hotel direct with a request before we arrived which they were more than happy to accommodate. The waiters and bar staff were always friendly and courteous as well as immaculately turned out. It always amazed me how they could remember what drinks you'd ordered the day before having only served you once!

We ate in the Italian (twice), Asian, Mexican, T Bones and the Bedouin and found them all to be of a very high standard with plenty of choice. I especially enjoyed the Asian, such amazing flavours and the Bedouin, I would highly recommend the shish kebab!!! We were also pleasantly surprised at the quality of the steaks (I'm always a bit dubious about eating steak abroad) but they were incredibly tender and cooked to perfection. 
At breakfast we ate in the Mexican which was great with plenty of choice.
Lunch we would usually have in the Mediterranean mainly to give us a break from the sun and also to enjoy an ice cold beer served in a glass. 
The Pergola bar serves snacks at lunch time too in the form of burgers, fries and some particularly tasty fresh pizzas.

The beach is beautiful with crystal clear waters perfect for swimming and snorkelling. You need to be up early if you want to get a bed though. Having said that there are plenty more sunbeds located around the many pools so you'll never be short of somewhere to soak up the sun.
The big pool with the slides is freezing, I swear they most put ice cubes in there, however it kind of adds to the fun, makes it more of an extreme sport.....
The smaller family pool is heated and we never had a problem getting a bed here.
Some reviewers have commented on people coming round trying to sell massages or boat trips. I can honestly say we never found this a problem. I found a polite no thank you accompanied by a smile was enough to illicit the response "no problem, enjoy your day". 

We had very little experience of the animation team due to the fact that come 8:30pm after a hard day lounging in the sun we were all about ready for bed!
However they did seem to have a varied timetable of daytime activities and evening shows which some evenings we had really wanted to go to but by 9:00pm we would usually be back in our room zzzzzzzzzzz
They were a very friendly bunch, always ready with a smile. They made there presence known but not in an intrusive way and to be honest they were always a pleasure to talk to particularly Marley who could not fail to make anyone smile :-) 

There were lots of excursions running, we had worried that there might not be because of the troubles but we visited the jungle aqua park twice and never once felt worried or uncomfortable the whole time we were in this beautiful country. 

Also need to say a special thanks to Saad our room cleaner, we came back on our last full day to find a huge crocodile made out of towels surround by fresh petals - Shukran x 

What are you waiting for? Go book!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Dear Mrs. Stephanie F,

The SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Team would like to thank you for your valued and appreciated comments.

We hope to welcome you once again in the nearest future at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi and wish you all the best!


Sunny regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Went the last week in October with our Grandson he had a fantastic time.The whole place is very clean and tidy.The hotel was busy but no trouble getting a sun bed.Two little gripes the pool by the slides wasn't heated and was freezing,and dinner was a bit of a frenzy maybe the hotel could have an earlier dinner for Children our Grandson found it a bit intimidating even though we were with him he was pushed by adults rushing to get their food.That said the staff were brilliant and put on a superb Halloween evening.Even with the gripes we would go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chrissiemissie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Dear Chrissiemissie,

Thank you very much for your valued and constructive comment on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate very much that you share your impressions of your holidays at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort.

As we are working constantly on improving our services to meet and exceed our guests' expectations.

We hope to welcome you soon to SUNRISE Royal Makadi Resort again!

Best regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
0.6 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#5 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,358 reviews
1.1 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
931 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#41 of 222 in Hurghada
2,395 reviews
8.5 mi away
SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
2.4 mi away
Baron Palace Sahl Hasheesh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort

Address: Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 623, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range: £59 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 698
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Select Royal Makadi is located in the heart of Makadi bay. The hotel is built on relaxing landscape, with spectacular avers and fine sand beach for enjoyable vacation. Distance form Hurghada international Airport 30 minutes, from Hurghada downtown 35 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Southall Travel, HotelsClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Royal Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay
Sunrise Makadi Bay
Sunrise Royal Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing