We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Reviewed 9 February 2014

A spotless hotel first of all, great place for kids also lots of things for kids to do, a safe hotel, good safe walks from the hotel around the bay in both directions passing hotels that some don’t bother if you look around. Food was good in the main restaurant but far too crowded if you didn’t get in early enough so we ate in an evening al a carte which was much more relaxed and the food was excellent. Entertainment what we saw was ok. Local beer was fine and cocktails surprising good.
Rooms were fine with safe and aircon hairdryer but hotel stingy on the shower gel.
Two Heated swimming pools and a very nice beach too. Towels are provided daily. All in all a very nice relaxing week in the sun. Big con when you arrive at Hurgarda airport visa desks men trying to herd you to the Thomas Cook desk where you will pay 3$ more per person for the same visa, dont be conned by them go to the desks to the left and save some money.

Room Tip: don’t get a room with an adjoining door between rooms, shall we say you can hear talking quite easil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnnydontdoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Guest,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,071 - 3,077 of 7,210 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2014

This was our forth stay at the Sunrise Royal Makadi, and will not be our last. The hotel is huge! The standard of food is excellent, with a huge variety of choice.Rooms are big and clean and cleaned everyday. The animation team are fantastic especially Natalie, Angelika, Kareem and Marley with John in toe. They were very helpful and with the demise of the English rep they all do a outstanding job. Saying that the Thomas Cook rep Mohamed and Essam where more than helpful. Staff so friendly and helpful. But withstanding all of this I must complain about the food in two restaurants and how the management handled the situation.
The second to last night we where in the Italian and the food was below standard (of the pervious years). When customer services came round to our table they asked if all was ok and we said that the soup was cold. We had it changed but was the same. the customer service told the Chef who came out and we told him. After taking our room numbers (2 couples) he said he would sort it out. The next thing Chef Mohamed (head Chef) came to the table and was told the same, with which he said could we go to the the T bones restaurant the next night, we said yes and he was on the phone to someone. he took our room number and we said we would be there the next night. We went to the T bones which we had a great meal a few nights before. As we arrived we said our room number, but room number not there. After some talk in Egyptian between two waiters, they put us to a table. We were served very quickly for drink and our order taken. Yes you guest it, the soup was cold with this we got up not finishing our starter. This spoilt our Holiday the management can not see that when you put soup in cold plates and have large ones that it will go cold quickly. But it seemed to fall on deaf ears. I do hope they read this and action on it. We will be back next year but I do hope it will not be our last, as we have found some great friends in the staff on on the pool side.

Room Tip: Email the hotel is really good but block 14, 15, 16 , 17 are sea views and over look the great pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeorgeTweedie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Dear Mr. George,

We would like to thank you for choosing SUNRISE Royal Makadi Resort for your holidays in Egypt and we hope that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

Thank you for taking your precious time and giving us your comments. In fact as our valuable guest your opinion is very important for us as it helps us to improve our standards and quality.

All our food is frequently controlled on Standard Control Procedures and we are conducting trainings to make sure that the foods meet our guests’ expectations.

We would like to apologize, if in your case you were disappointed and we will rectify the short false.

Thank you again for your time, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in SUNRISE Royal Makadi Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

loved my stay there the room was spacious ,food was good and the animation team was spectacular specially angelika,Odessa and Marley. the food was good but dessert wasn't.A great choice for family not so much for solo

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Afandy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Dear Mr. Afandy,

Thank you very much for your valued and constructive comment on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate very much that you share your impressions of your holidays at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort.

As we are working constantly on improving our services to meet and exceed our guests' expectations,

We hope to welcome you soon to SUNRISE Royal Makadi Resort again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

sun rise royal makadi resort is our second home we will always go to it we love everything in it . the service is amazing . the activities are wonderful programs all day long we didnt have even one chance to be bored . the staff and the animation team were friendly and very funny we really love them all . it is the best place to have fun and of course we will go to it soon .

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NadaEsraa a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, Public Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Dear Ms. Nada & Esraa

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

This was our second stay at the Sunrise Royal Makadi, and probably will not be our last. The territory of hotel is huge! The standard of food is excellent, with a huge variety of choice.Rooms are big and clean, Every day clining.
The animation team are fantastic and friendly, especially Kareem and Angelika!!!They were very helpfull and they care so much about turists. Staff so friendly and helpful. Hotel has fantastic beach with lovely sand.
It was our one of the best holiday we have ever had.We recomend this hotel in 100%.

Room Tip: rooms with view on sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grzegorz m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Dear Mr. grzegorz,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

It was really safe and secure to be there . The food was perfect and clean many varieties . programs all the day . My friends and I really enjoyed the time there, the staff were friendly , there is a show every night

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nada K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Dear Mrs. Nada,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

After looking for a proper place in Sharm-el-Sheik, Hurgada and Taba, we have finally found it in Makadi Bay, at Sunrise Royal Hotel.
We were looking for: 1/a good sandy beach, 2/calm sea for swimming, 3/a decent hotel. All these are to be found at Sunrise and we visited it 8 times in 7 years. One year we came for one week, then went for a week sailing on the Nile and finally returned for another week. Something to be advised if you go for a sail on the Nile in the hot season.
Sunrise Royal is praised enough by many other visitors and we need not reapeting it. Visiting a hotel for 8 times speaks for itself.
Just a few tips:
-Best beach we have seen in Egypt;
- Paved promenade (ca. 3 km) over hotels' gardens and along the beach, where you can walk, run or cycle without being harased by vendors;
- Very high standard of hygiene; we never had any gastric troubles - rather untypical for Egypt;
- Food is at slightly higher level than in other hotels (5*) we visited. The main restaurant is noisy and crowded but menu is satisfactory. For uncrowded breakfest/lunch you may go to the beach restaurant, where the choise is smaller. Still smaller is in the pool open-air restaurant, where the atmosphere is quite loose. Thematic restaurants are in no way better than the main one and you wait for your food (served) much longer. Best is the Asian one.
- Staff is polite and efficient. If something breaks down or goes wrong it is cared about very fast. In case it does not (rather unlikely) you may always ask the help of Mr. Hashim Lofty, Front Office Manager. He is able to solve any problem at once and he speaks so many languages that you will surely be addressing in your own. I suspect that if a Chinese tourist arrives Mr.Lofty will greet him in purest Mandarin.
Anyway we intend returning thare for the 9th time.

Room Tip: I cannot comment on family rooms. Best double rooms are in bld. 15 and 16, close to the pool, restau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank niebro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Dear Guest,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
0.6 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#5 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,350 reviews
1.1 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
929 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#42 of 222 in Hurghada
2,370 reviews
8.5 mi away
SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
2.4 mi away
Baron Palace Sahl Hasheesh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort

Address: Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 623, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range: £60 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 698
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Select Royal Makadi is located in the heart of Makadi bay. The hotel is built on relaxing landscape, with spectacular avers and fine sand beach for enjoyable vacation. Distance form Hurghada international Airport 30 minutes, from Hurghada downtown 35 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, HotelsClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Royal Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay
Sunrise Makadi Bay
Sunrise Royal Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing