We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Just back from an amazing week’s holiday at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort.

I could write a short novel about how much we enjoyed it here…..here are some of the highlights

Ala Carte Restaurants – 7 in total and if you’re all inclusive there are no limits on how many times you can visit each one. Booking a table is easy using the touch screen monitors next to reception and you can book tables 3 days in advance. We tried out 6 of the restaurants….Mexican, Italian, Arabian, Asian, Mediterranean and T-Bones, unfortunately we didn’t have time to try the Greek one. Our favourites would have to be the Mexican where the sea bass fajitas were to die for, Arabia for its al fresco dining and the Asian restaurant where every course was utterly delicious. Your glass will never go empty either as the waiters are always very keen to keep it topped up.

Animation Team – Nothing was too much for them, I’ve never met such a friendly, energetic and helpful team who seemed to go above and beyond their duties to ensure that each and every guest was happy not only with the entertainment but with their rooms, restaurants and holiday as a whole.
Daytime Activities – No chance to get bored whatsoever for those people who don’t relish the thought of basking all day in the sunshine, activities run from early morning right throughout the day and included yoga, water aerobics, belly dancing, bowls, darts, body workouts, volley ball, Zumba to name but a few.

Pools – We tended to stay around the pool in front of building 35 / 36 as we found it quieter and less crowded than the main pool, the swim up pool bar was also easier to get to than the one in the main pool. The staff around the pool here were so friendly and happy, like all the staff in this resort nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them. This hotel also has a “normal” swimming pool, next to the main pool in which you can swim lengths if you’re feeling energetic!

Rooms – We stayed in block 33 and had one double and one twin room. Both rooms were spotlessly clean; there was a huge amount of storage space, lots of hot water at any time of the day and a nice powerful shower. The fridge was stocked with bottles of soft drinks and water on arrival and the water replenished daily when the rooms were cleaned. Black out curtains in the room made for a good night sleep, along with the aircon. Balcony was small but cosy and secluded from the rooms either side. This block is in an excellent location for the Mexican restaurant which serves breakfast every day; we always went here as the main restaurant tended to be a bit like a cattle market! It’s also only a 2 minute walk from the pool (at block 35/36), a 3-4 minute walk from reception and probably a 7 minute walk from the beach.

Alcohol – Unlike a lot of all-inclusive resorts, the cocktails here actually taste nice as does the wine :-)


Now for the low points, the things that in my opinion let this hotel down slightly...

Wifi – Only free in one area of the main pool bar and even here it was temperamental, snail paced speed at best and sometimes non-existent.

Main Restaurant – Far too big a space, was like a cattle market most of the time which people pushing and shoving to get to the food counters, we only ate here once on a lunchtime and that was enough to put us off. I’d recommend using the Mexican restaurant for breakfast, the pool bar or around the world for lunch and then one of the a la carte restaurants in the evening

Beach – Far too crowded, the sunbeds are literally on top of each other. The water is nice in that you don’t need to wear shoes in as its all sand, no stones or coral unlike other resorts I’ve been too, the downside to this is there didn’t seem to be any little fish swimming around.

Towel Stealing – BEWARE!!!! We left out towels on our loungers at the beach at 11am to go for a walk, came back half an hour later and one of them was missing. When we reported this to the towel attendant, we were told we would have to wait until the end of the day for him to do a towel stocktake, if he had one towel too many we could have it back!!! So in a heat of 37 degrees my dad was expected to sit all day on a boiling hot sunbed without a towel. Being unhappy with this response I got the attendant to call his manager and explained to him that the towel had been stolen, thankfully he then told the attendant to give us another towel. We were very wary after this, taking our towels with us when we went for a walk or for lunch rather than leaving them on the sunbeds.

Not wanting to end on a bad note, here are some little bits of info that I would have liked to have known before I got to the resort for peace of mind

1. Keeping your room on day of departure – The cost for this was £27
2. Currency – They accept most currencies at the hotel but seem to advertise most charges in USD or Euros
3. Towels – You are given a towel card which you can exchange for a pool towel. This card does not have to be handed in until you leave the hotel, so even if you check out of your room at 12 noon on the day of departure you can keep your towel for the day and then hand the card in when you leave
4. Hairdryers – In bathrooms and very powerful and seemed to be better than my one at home
5. Safety Deposit Boxes – In room and free of charge

We will definitely be returning to this hotel, and can highly recommend it

Room Tip: We stayed in block 33. This block is in an excellent location for the Mexican restaurant which serve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lazylion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear our valued guest,


The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,920 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,226
    1,053
    419
    133
    89
See reviews for
2,775
1,814
102
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,122)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Hi all, I need to give some of you our true and honest opinion.

1. No way is this hotel a 5 star 3 to 3.5 at best; see the enclosed photos for proof.
2. Hotel staff top class could not do enough for you.
3. Entertainment team the best ever, Marley and co where brilliant.
4. Food in the main restaurant was a shambles it was like being at a stampede people just pushing and shoving.
5. I came down with not just a tummy bug, I was being sick with constant running to the toilet for 3.5 days. Evan after medication
6. Do not take any Egyptian money with you or Euro’s, take English and change in the Tee Shirt shop run by Michael and change there you will get better rate of exchange 12 Egyptian pounds to ten pounds, and an excellent person.
7. Again on the accommodation do not ask to go into block 38, we was in 38208, it must have been one of the worst rooms in the hotel, as you will see from the photos enclosed.
8. If anybody requites any further information then please do not hesitate to contact me.

Also these people do not offer any form of compensation to you what so ever

Room Tip: Do go into block 38
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank derbyted611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear our valued guest,
Thank you for valuing your stay at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort.
We are always appreciating constructive criticism as we see a chance in it to improve our services in order to meet and exceed the expectations of our precious guests.

We would like to inform you that, there is daily management guest contact 3 time per day and during the dinner time at the a la carte restaurants as well with the executive chef and the Guest Service Center Team with Multi Languages in order to handle any negative comments and, concerning your complain about stomach cramps and diarrhea in the resort, we received 98 % score in the high green category and was no comments about the food health & safety. We would like to draw your attention to the fact that we run a Quality system in the SUNRISE Resorts & Cruises Company implemented in all our properties supervised by the top management of each property and our Quality Department as well as monthly controlled by Cristal Middle East. The SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort is achieving Cristal’s scores in the risk category 3, which is the highest possible category and manages the SUNRISE Resorts & Cruises on the FTO standards. The potable water is weekly and monthly controlled by the international company System Technique to proof that our potable water are at all times on the world’s international quality standards.
The gastroenteritis caused by the parasitic infection (ENTAMEBA HISTOLOTICA) IN POINTS:
1- It is very weak organism,, can be easily destroyed by heating , freezing, adding chlorine ,or using any simple disinfection measures
2- It is very common in the Egyptian community…( so it doesn't consider as a cause of food poisoning )
3-first time infection with that organism causes diarrhea, stomach colic and mild fever and sometimes vomiting
4-mode of transition of the …. Entrance of the organism to the body through the mouth ….so can be easy transmitted by contaminated dust, flies, and contaminated food which not heated or freezed or not covered
5- Important note: this infection affect fast foreigner. Because the total different weather hygiene between Egypt and other European countries…(as the dust contamination )
And not cause troubles for adults with good immunity, and easily affect children and old people.
Thank you for taking your precious time and giving us your comments. In fact as our valuable guest your opinion is very important for us as it helps us to improve our standards and quality.

We apologize that we were not able to meet your expectations and your comments have been forwarded to the concerned Department Heads.

The SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Team is wishing you and your family all the best back at home and hopes to welcome you again at our resort!


Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Hotel is perfect. Only too much Russians. Perfect restaurants and beach with very nice coral for snorkling. Rooms are very nice and mostly quiet. I recommend to give some tip to passport when you check in and ask the personell for nice room :-) we gave 10,-usd per person. We get very nice room in 10:00 am. Normal check in time is 2pm.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear our valued guest,


The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Stayed for one week at the end of April. Could find only one fault, the unsmiling guy who served the burger/hotdogs/chips at the Pergola Bar! Otherwise, all the staff are extremely friendly, courteous and go out of their way to help. Special thanks to Osama, the Thomas Cook guy, who went the extra mile by managing to book us a table at the Asian when we were told it was full and also, having reported a faulty balcony light to him, it was repaired within the hour. The choice of food is outstanding although we agree with some reviews that say it is very spread out. You must just wander round for five minutes before you pile up your plate! Would recommend both the Italian and Asian restaurants, which were the only ones we tried during the week. The entertainment team, as well as being entertainers, are also guest relations and come round every day to make sure you are enjoying yourself and to ask if you have any problems. The Russian visitors are arrogant and rude to the staff and to other people, but we knew to expect that and just ignored them. The beach got very crowded in the mornings but seemed to be empty in the afternoons. There are lots of loungers and wooden parasols both by the pool and on the beach so there was no problem finding a shady spot.
On a final note, if you have a problem with the electricity in your room, then go to reception and ask for two room cards!!
We will definitely be returning to this hotel, and can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear our valued guest,


The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

What can I say - Sunrise Royal Makadi is the BEST and I want to stay there forever!

The hotel is massive with lots of friendly staff & you will never get bored.

The animation team is the best with lots of shows & activities. They do their own dance show which is better than any dance show I've seen. Also they do a great party at the Arabian restaurant with foam, music and fire eating which was amazing. Natalie, John, Silvia, mezo, Marley, Lena, momo, Kareem, Jamaica, Boca, coco, Ahmed, Mohamed and the rest, you are all stars. Also DJ Zidan and DJ Kimo Kmal you are amazing music makers :) and of course Osama the big boss is a superstar you are a TOP TEAM like a family :)

Ryan and Rhiannon from TC kids club are also lovely and very friendly and do a good job!

Also all staff at the hotel are really friendly and look after you especially Mohamed, Ahmed and Romany at the pergola bar, el gendy at family pool 2 bar, Islam from tbones and mostafa and Osama the tc reps :) miss you all and hope to see you soon!

Dont worry about the work on the family pool it is so quiet you wouldn't know it is happening and I can't wait to go back and see the aqua park and try the slides! I can't wait to go back home!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Tilly30051987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear our valued guest,


The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Just got back from the Sunrise Royal, we all really enjoyed our holiday.Hotel very good lot Pools food so-so but maybe because I'm used to eating European ,beach 10 meters away, lots of activities for children. In the evening mini disco and evening shows. Obviously Animation team was amazing

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sebastian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear our valued guest,


The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Cannot fault. Management team excellent, food great, resort superb. General and hotel and guest manager really friendly as are all of the staff. Nothing is too much trouble. On site animations team really good and hard working and wait to see you all soon :) :) :)

Room Tip: all the are great very clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear our valued guest,


The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
1.1 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 29 in Makadi Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
8.4 mi away
SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort
0.4 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
0.6 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
8.2 mi away
Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort

Property: SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Address: Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 623, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#9 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 698
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Select Royal Makadi is located in the heart of Makadi bay. The hotel is built on relaxing landscape, with spectacular avers and fine sand beach for enjoyable vacation. Distance form Hurghada international Airport 30 minutes, from Hurghada downtown 35 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Royal Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay
Sunrise Makadi Bay
Sunrise Royal Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing