We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Makadi Bay
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is the second time we've been back to Sunrise and it is absolutely lovely. The pools are great with plenty of sunbeds available, however the beach is a different matter and you do need to be prepared to get up early if you want dront row! Got to say the animation team are the best i've seen and a big shout goes out to Marley and Turbo who are absolutely great at what they do!!
Will return again soon!! Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank devfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear our valued guest,


The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,929 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,236
    1,053
    419
    133
    88
See reviews for
2,782
1,814
102
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,122)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

After reading previous reviews we were a bit disappointed that they did not live up to expectation .
Reception team good- up graded our room
Hotel and grounds clean
Staff (poolside bar) expected to be tipped at beginning of stay in order to get good service otherwise not very pleasant .
Food very very basic too much choice and not organised as you seemed to spend time just walking around looking for things!
Overall ok but we won't be going back

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear our valued guest,

Thank you very much for your valued and constructive comment on trip advisor

We appreciate very much that you share your impressions of your holidays at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort.

As we are working constantly on improving our services to meet and exceed our guests' expectations,

We hope to welcome you soon to SUNRISE Royal Makadi Resort again!

Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cairo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We took my mum and dad on their first All Inclusive Holiday and first visit to Egypt, this was our first time to Hurghada tho not Egypt,
This hotel is beautiful,, grounds and gardens kept immaculate every day the staff were trimming and cutting and pruning.. Rooms spacious and clean, Our wonderful attendant Mohamad (rooms 14204/14207) left us fabulous daily towel art.. I have to say I had the best sleep ever on holiday as our bed was soooo comfy... Fresh bottled water left every day and the bottles of pop in your mini fridge are free but not replaced unless you stay for 2 weeks..
Food was plentiful and varied, We ate breakfast every day in the Mexican bar 1 morning when we braved the main restaurant which was just a mad house lol We had Lunch at The Pergola Bar pizzas were fab, and in the evenings we used the 7 A la Carte restaurant's which were amazing, the only one we didn't eat in was the Greek as I'm not a seafood lover...
Pool areas were always clean when we passed on our way to the beach which was fantastic, we always managed to get 5 beds and 2 brollies with out being up at 4am to get the front row lol... We never had any problem with the guys and girls who were selling trips etc once you said no thanks they left you alone.
Reception area and lobby bar was great this is where we spent the evenings,, Sadly the spirits ar a bit harsh and there are no premium brands but the cocktails were really very drinkable and plenty of choice the beer and wine was fine ( just me that the fussy one about my spirits ) .. While we were there the hotel was at max capacity though you would never know it as there was no feeling of being crowed or squashed in as everyone had plenty of space..
BUT the BEST thing about this Hotel is their Animation team... I have been on holiday where you never saw the animation staff or you wished you never saw them.. But these guys were a class act... big shout out for kareem , Mezo , I still have my laziest person on the beach medal thank you :), !! and the rest of the team.. Every day they came and asked how things were and Coco made sure you went in her Happy Book! They are the PR for the hotel and will bend over backwards to resolve any problem ( not that we had any).. The evening show that the tam put on are very good and they all take great pride in their work and love feed back....
My mum and dad are now converts to the AI ideal and my mum was so impressed she is talking about retuning and that in itself is high praise.. We would also return with no qualms...
The only thing that maybe lets this hotel down is the internet... there is free wifi at the pergola bar but is very hit and miss if you get a connection and if you do it is very slow,, even the paid for hi speed connections is dubious we bought 2 1 hour cards and in reality only got about 1 hour of proper connection.. I have to say that not being connected to the outside world for 2 weeks was quite refreshing thought my 16 yr old wasn't so happy at being cut loose lol

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kamel n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear our valued guest,


The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Just had 2 lovely weeks at the Sunrise Royal Makadi ! couldn't wish for better Animation staff especially MoMo, Silvie, Karim & Marley all so friendly and couldn't do enough for you. All the staff were brilliant. We ate in the a la carte restaurants every night the food quality was excellent. Our favourite was the Italian. Everywhere was clean and constantly being cleaned. We will hopefully be back later in the year.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynneb40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear our valued guest,


The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Thomas Cook rep rubbish. The A la carte restaurants and staff excellent very friendly with great food and service. The main restaurant was rubbish and more like a cattle market, glad we only ate once and tried a second time but left after 15mins. The animation team is about the best I have seen anywhere and always gave a brilliant show and were great during the day when they came to pool areas etc. All the staff at this complex were great except for the reception and guest relation staff who need to be more aware of all guests(not just a select few). The rooms were adequate but need a bit of work on them, beds and bedding ok but the pillows and towels the worst I have come across in Egypt. This complex is ideal for families with children, the quiet pool so named in the brochure and also in the hotel map/information you receive on arrival has now been renamed the V.I.P. area for people who have visited 4 plus times. Not one person challenged pool area staff when told to vacate this area. Will not return to this complex but have already booked next trip to Egypt because the Egyptian people are the most friendly and helpful I have come across.

Room Tip: Email the Sun Rise 2 weeks before you travel and ask for a room in 14 to 17 blocks(if you are over 6...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronnie654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear our valued guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing SUNRISE Royal Makadi Resort for your holidays in Egypt and we hope that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

Thank you for taking your precious time and giving us your comments. In fact as our valuable guest your opinion is very important for us as it helps us to improve our standards and quality.
We would like to apologize, if in your case you were disappointed and we will rectify the short false.

Thank you again for your time, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in SUNRISE Royal Makadi Resort.

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleford
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Yet again another visit in April 2014 to this resort - our "second home" and one we love so much that we keep on returning again and again - usually twice a year.

For us it's always a pleasure to see the hotel and staff again and for staff to remember us and see their happy smiling faces when we return.

Staff at this hotel remember repeat guests and greet everyone with "welcome home" or "welcome back" as they wish Sunrise Royal Makadi to feel like "home from home".

A big thank from us you goes to all the management and staff, of this resort. Nothing was too much trouble for any of them, and it was pleasure to relax and enjoy our holiday once more in the beautiful surroundings.

We have booked again to return in September 2014 and April 2015 as we don't want to holiday anywhere else.

Chris & Dean

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrisDeanCastleford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear our valued guest,


The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Hi have just returned from SRM another exellent holiday.The hotel once again lived upto all expectations making it a very pleasent stay.The weather was fantastic the complex was, as always imaculate with all of staff working extremely hard espescially SALAH MAHADY the night manager who puts in some really long hours but never fails to greet you with a smile.If you do have any problems the hotel remedies them as quickly as possible & my first point of contact would be Syntia of customer relations generally available in the reception area who is very attentive.
I donot bother exchanging money as they have a cash point in lobby that changes currency for Egyptian £ at a good rate.Their are a few spoil sports who abuse everything but if you can ignore these people then you will have a fantastic time.
In the main resteraunt there is a lovelly chappie called Omran who speaks exellent english & is always up for a laugh.All in all another great holiday thankyou.

Room Tip: Use on site cash machine to exchange.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rickb50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear our valued guest,


The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
1.1 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 29 in Makadi Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
8.4 mi away
SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort
0.4 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
0.6 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
8.2 mi away
Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort

Property: SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Address: Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 623, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#9 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 698
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Select Royal Makadi is located in the heart of Makadi bay. The hotel is built on relaxing landscape, with spectacular avers and fine sand beach for enjoyable vacation. Distance form Hurghada international Airport 30 minutes, from Hurghada downtown 35 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Royal Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay
Sunrise Makadi Bay
Sunrise Royal Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing