We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royalty at the royal makadi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
derbyshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Royalty at the royal makadi”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My wife&i have not long returned from 11days at this resort,it was our first visit there but our seventh visit to Egypt.
We found the check in to be a little muddled but we got there in the end.
The hotel&grounds are very spacious&we never had any problems obtaining loungers around the pool area(we didn't go to the beach as we prefer the pool areas).
The food is a buffet style&does get a little crowded but after a day or so we discovered that you can take breakfast in the mexican restaurant and lunch in the around the world restaurant,we found these to be of equal high quality but were a lot less crowded.
The a la carte restaurants are of a fantastically high standard&the food served in each of these is divine(the steakhouse was our favourite).
There are plenty of activities happening during the day&the animation team(kareem,turbo,marley,coco,silvie,momo,john,natalie,mohammed&the rest!)are without doubt the best we've come across during our various Egypt visits,they double up as guest relations&nothing is an issue for the team,they make the impossible,possible!!
They work very very hard&also are very very talented(the nightly shows they put on more than prove this).they are a valuable asset to the royal makadi&i hope the hotel realises how lucky it is to have these people within their hotel.
Our room was compact but well appointed&was kept spotless by our block 12 cleaner,mohammed.we had a sandstorm blow in on our second day but by the afternoon(when it had cleared)the block was sparkling clean once more.
All in all we had an enjoyable,restful visit&i would recommend this hotel if you were wanting to visit makadi bay.
Keep up the great work ;)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank stevehayles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear our valued guest,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!


We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,915 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,134
    1,118
    439
    134
    90
See reviews for
3,440
2,002
110
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,159)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2014

this was our forth time at this hotel it just gets better all the staff are very friendly and cant do enough for you all the animation team are great nat john kareem coco and momo to name a few the ala carte restarants are great and hesham looked after us every lunch time in the mediteranian restarant the rooms are always clean and comfortable thank you all again for a lovely holiday see you next year

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear our valued guest,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!


We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This hotel just gets better and better, its the second time for me and was a little worried that i had built a picture in my mind that wasnt real, that was not the case, if anything it was better than the first time, the rooms are lovely with everything you could need, the food at the main buffet was good, but for me the a-la-cartes are excellent, especially the bedouin and the mediteranean, the staff are so helpful and friendly, they make your stay memorable, the animation team just never stop from early morning until late at night and make everyone, young and old, feel part of the fun, if you want a holiday that has it all you must stay at Sunrise Royal Makadi Resort and join the ever growing family because it feels like you are at home surrounded by friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynnlovesegypt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear our valued guest,


The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

This isn't a review because I've been asked a really want to leave something that celebrates such a great hotel with amazing staff and facilities
Airport
A mad experience from start to finish but enjoy the cultural change rather than fear it
Remember at least £1 for the guy loading cases it makes a difference
Arrivals
This hotel has it well sewn up
Cold refreshing towel on arrival cold drink and taken into a private room for briefing while they sort out keys ( have a pen for filling in reg form )

Then taken to room bags follow very quickly in our case again £1 doesn't go a miss for the guy who carried up 60kg three floors
Then to restaurant for a plate of grub as it stays open late for arrivals and food was ok for a late meal
Room
Family room was massive and beds comfortable we had room 36307 which was a walk to central part of hotel complex but we found it perfect as right by family pool 2 which is quiet and has swim up bar
Guys cleaning rooms do an amazing job out guy was a real star and earned his weekly tip
Pools were lovely and a real pleasure in the heat of the day the guys looking after then and doing towels were equally great especially there supervisor Mohamed who is a real hard working guy who made sure out pool was clean again after a sand storm and cleaned the pool through the night

Food was again really lovely always something got and tasty but chicken seems to be the fave of most although lots of options and as for the resteraunts great food and service my fave was Delilah's

Management seem to have a real handle on this hotel and take pride along with their team in looking after you

Lastly the animation team who work tirelessly to not only keep all entertained but make sure everything is ok with the holiday
Those that we had mor contact with were Karim , mo mo ,bocha and Marley who were a real benefit along with there colleagues to this hotel

When you go take a bag of £1 coins to tip where you feel appropriate but with or without tipping you will be treated well

If you do get a touch of cleopatras revenge get tablets from pharmacy as work a treat around 100 Egyptian pounds

Extras
Spa was good value wife had massage and pedicure just under 2 hours being spoilt £65

Diving with the dive centre onsite my 9 year old and myself £80 full day out 2 dives plus snorkelling again brilliant team

Also hired a boat for day with with 8 others (12 in total ) £330
Amazing snorkelling ,fishing and a lounge on a tropical beach for am hours with lunch great value and haggle to get best price

All in all a great holiday thanks to all those hard working staff and brilliant facilities

Only down side of this trip was flight home which was delayed and TV system was broken and took over an hour to get a drink

But home now and only remember the best holiday go a while

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulButton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear our valued guest,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!


We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My eldest daughter recommended this hotel for my other daughter and two grandsons (10 and 12) and myself after she stayed there last year. The staff cannot do enough for you, the animation team are fantastic (their own show was brilliant) the rooms are comfortable and have everything you need. There are activities all day if you and/or the children want to do them, the restaurants and bars give you plenty of choice for food and drink and there is more than enough room round the various pools for you to sunbathe if you don't want to go on the beach. We are already considering returning next year!.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear our valued guest,


The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

I have fantastic time with my family. In this place you can always find something for you to do animation team have lots sport activate also the always ask you how's your holiday make sure you ok. Special thank you to Coco . For sure I will recemend this hotel to all my friends and family :)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelika160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear our valued guest,


The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Recently returned from the Sunrise, we had a wonderful holiday. No complaints from us, everything was just great, all the staff were very polite and helpful, from the cleaner to the management, the a la carte restuarants were superb. Met some lovely people, including the animation team, especially CoCo, Turbo Marley & Jamaica, so much so we have already booked to return next year.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkDiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear our valued guest,


The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
1.1 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
871 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
0.6 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#3 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
2.4 mi away
Baron Palace Sahl Hasheesh
11.5 mi away
SUNRISE Garden Beach Resort -Select-
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort

Property: SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Address: Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 623, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#5 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 698
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Select Royal Makadi is located in the heart of Makadi bay. The hotel is built on relaxing landscape, with spectacular avers and fine sand beach for enjoyable vacation. Distance form Hurghada international Airport 30 minutes, from Hurghada downtown 35 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Royal Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay
Sunrise Makadi Bay
Sunrise Royal Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing