We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“fantastic place”
Reviewed 18 October 2008

just returned from sunrise royal makadi had a brillient time couldnt fault any thing, weather fantastic ,resort very clean, room good, food good in al a carte reaturants, try to book these, no trouble to get in at all. entertainment was ok but i must admit that we never went to see this only heard from pergola bar. if you go say hello to sayid in pergola bar, he was very good mind you was probably only after the tips , lol. luxor trip two day very good value for money. book boat trip at aqua centre on beach better price then with thomas cook.

Helpful?
5 Thank 626shell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,932
    1,105
    434
    133
    90
See reviews for
3,258
1,983
108
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,149)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northants
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2008

hi, myself and my partner stayed at the sunrise royal makadi from the 7th-14th October.
The transfer to the resort was fine, even though hurghada airport itself is a complete nightmare!
We arrived at the hotel and were greeted with a cold towel and a drink, whilst we sat down and waited to be booked in. This all went very smoothly and we were taken to our room by a very nice young man, who explained a bit about the hotel. Our room was in block 10, it is away from the main part of the hotel, and was very nice and spacious, an absolutely massive double bed, and plenty of space. The hotel seems to be split into two halves, with the reception in the middle, most of the activities and restaurants seem to be on the other side of the hotel where the beach is, but we didnt mind our room being on the quieter side, and the walk was only five mins to get to the beach in the morning. We went down to dinner once we had settled in at about half seven! This was obviously the wrong time to go, as it was sooo busy!! we walked around for ages in the restaurant just trying to find a table, total chaos! we decided after that to not go to dinner till about nine, and this worked out much better, most people have eaten by then so it is a fair bit quieter, and you can find a table. The dinners were a little disappointing, it did seem to be a little repetitive every night, and in the end, dinner seemed to be a bit of a chore. On the plus side, breakfast and lunch was great. on a couple of occasions we ate in the ala carte restaurants and they were fabulous, especially the Asian restaurant. We spent most of our week down on the beach, our beach is a little hard compared to some of the others and was not as deep. The sunbeds were therefore a little squashed in, and it was very busy. we tried to get down to the beach by nine every morning otherwise we wouldnt get a sunbed. I think the ones at the front nearest the sea, must have been taken by about seven. Of course when we got there, all that we saw was a sea of blue towels reserving sunbeds but no one on them!! i guess this is typical of other european guests. but other than that it was fine, and the sea was nice. We only spent one day round the pool, but it was a lot less busy, the pool was very cold though.
Overall, we had a very nice holiday, and the staff were very nice and friendly. our reps, vanessa and Mohammed were good, especially mohammed who helped us out when we had a slight problem, with late check out of our room.
it is a nice hotel, but i was a little disappointed with some aspects of the holiday.

  • Liked — the a'la carte restaurants
  • Disliked — the main buffet restaurant
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke, England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2008

SUNRISE ROYAL MAKADI HOTEL, MAKADI BAY, EGYPT.
My wife & i have just returned (10/10/08) from this hotel after a two week stay. We had originally booked with Panorama to stay at the Makadi Palace Hotel but after Panorama were taken over by Thomas Cook, who assured us in Nov 07 that our holiday was "In safe hands", their words not mine, they changed our hotel in April 08!!! some nine months after we had booked leaving us little time to make any alternative arrangements. Indeed if we had wanted to change anything Thomas Cook after-sales is a nightmare to get hold of. After being assured that this hotel was five star and equivalent in quality to the Makadi Palace we decided to make the most of it and give it a go. We had previously stayed at the Makadi Grand/Palace in Nov 2005 so knew what standards the Sunrise had to meet or exceed. Unfortunately it came nowhere near the standards of the Makadi Palace. Lets start with first impressions. The reception process is quite pleasant and swift. We were then taken to our room which was on the ground floor of block 27. Almost as far away from everything as you could be. This does though have its advantages as you are away from any noise or idiots so we were not too disappointed about this. Then the room. By far the smallest, most claustrophobic little space i have ever been confined in and i have stayed in many, many hotels. No bath, twin beds very dark and dingy! For all the world i could not help but think of Gandalf in the Hobbits house in Lord of the rings.
The Restaurant.... Well we soon established that the main activity here was not simply eating but trying to find somewhere to eat! It was a daily ritual that had to be complied with. You simply could not go into the restaurant be seated and then help yourself to the "delights" on offer. Oh Noooooo, you first had to play hunt the table and chase the staff to either clean you a table or find you one. If you were very, very unlucky and non smokers, as we are, you sometimes found the only vacant tables were in the smoking section of the restaurant! For us this was not a major problem as we spent as little time as possible in the place but to force this upon families with small children & babies is surely wrong! Staff "working" in the restaurant were too preoccupied with "working their tips" on certain guests & were guilty of ignoring others. The restaurant managers were, in my opinion, lacking in their ability to motivate the staff to their full potential and this showed in the shoddy service and dishevelled state of the place. In short the restaurant was dirty. Try sitting on table 65 and have a look at the state of the wall. Plastered with food that hasn't been cleaned off!! The Food.... Leave your taste buds at home. They're certainly not going to have a holiday here. Bland, tasteless and very, very repetitive. They are the good points. Day after day we saw the same foods on offer. Now call me cynical but my suspicious mind keeps niggling me with thoughts such as, They're reheating this or they're chilling this for the umpteenth time. My wife had bad diarrhoea halfway through the holiday. I was unfortunate enough to have two mild attacks mid way through the holiday culminating in an horrific attack of Tut's trots, Ramases revenge or whatever funny name they try to call it, two days before we were due to fly home necessitating a visit to the doctor! Even with a funny name i don't recall it being much fun at the time! Also very little, what i would call, acceptable fruit was on offer in the restaurant. I am very reluctant to disparage fellow travellers from other nations but.... I must say that the Russians, Georgians and other eastern european guests were among the most ignorant, greedy arrogant and selfish people it has been my displeasure to share a hotel with! It seemed as though every mealtime was to be their last as they piled their plates high and obviously were not familiar with the concept of patiently queueing preferring instead to barge their way to the prime position when anything attractive to them was on offer. I'm sure there must be some decent ones amongst them. Unfortunately i don't think they were on holiday that fortnight.
The Drinks.... Oh God!!! That was my first reaction when that vile concoction, allegedly a gin & tonic hit the back of my throat. We immediately sent them back in the vain hope that the barman had mixed up drain cleaner for gin & tried again but no our fears were realised. The spirits were [--]. Avoid them at all costs unless you like the taste of ???? I don't know what to liken it to. Sorry. The beer (Sakara) is passable although it tastes noticeably better in the lobby bar, served in real glasses, than it does in the outdoor bars in scratched dingy plastic.
The Beach.... Is nice. Nice swimming area, sandy so you don't need beach shoes like in many other parts of the red sea. The information sheet given to you upon arrival says you are not allowed to reserve sunbeds. Phooeeey. The front line of sunbeds nearest the sea was fully reserved by 7 o clock at the latest. It seemed to me to be a recreation of the Eastern Front (& it was facing East!!) with the Germans & Russians continually contesting for domination of this strategic access to the sea. There were plenty of sunbeds though & we never failed to get some no matter what time of day we went down. The towel boys can be a bit of a pain trying to insist on carrying a couple of towels a few yards & expecting a tip. Just say a firm NO & hold out for the towels & they get the message.
What advice would i offer you if you are considering going to this hotel? Don't go. But if you do i would say eat at the a la carte restaurants every night if you can. They are really nice, clean and the food is great.
My overall summary of the place is that although it allegedly only opened in 2005 it looks and feels much older. The place is tatty and rundown and needs a thorough re-think and re-vamp. Most of the staff at ground level are pleasant enough although some do overstep the mark with over familiar comments and sexual innuendo then blaming it on poor English but my advice would be to report any problems to your travel company reps in resort or ask to speak to a hotel senior manager.
The Motto at this resort is WELCOME HOME. They won't be welcoming me back again as there are far better hotels on the red sea. How Thomas Cook could rate this hotel 5***** is beyond me. I could not honestly rate the place higher than 3***+.

  • Liked — The a la carte restaurants
  • Disliked — Most things but probably the food/drink
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank roryisgod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wet Yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2008

Me and our lass stayed at the sunrise Royal Makadi from the 5th October to the 12th October. Flew with Thomas cook Airlines from Manchester, was lucky with the flight as it was ontime unlike the Gatwick Flight on the same day whiich i believe had a 7 hour delay. When we got to Hurgarda airport it was abit hectic, there were about three ques to get the visas, the sign over the visa counter said visas were $15 each but when we got to the counter we were charged 18$ and some people we spoke to were charged mare than that. We were told this was due to the exchange rate. we were told at the counter that it works out cheaper to pay in £'s. So i think next time we will be doing that.

When we got to the hotel we were greeted by two friendly staff, and were given a cold glass of juice and a cold face towel which was nice. We were then given our room numbers and were shown to our room where our bags turned up about 5 mins later. The rooms were very big and had a mini fridge in with softh drinks.The Bathroom had an hairdryer also huge shower in which was nice after a long hot day round the pool.

We spent most of our time around the huge family pool, which never seemed busy, there was always spare sunbeds even late on in the morning, there was a pool bar around the family pool which served alcoholic-non alcoholic drinks which always came in handy and food was served from around 12.30 til 2, we ate here most days, there were burgers,pizzas and chips. I most say the chips at the hotel arnt cracking.There are also a three other pools at the hotel which we didnt seem to bother with much, one of the pools did daily activites.The grounds in the hotel are very nice, there are always people watering the grass.

We went on three excursions, one to the sinbad water park in Hurgarda which was a great day out, the onlylet down was that we just seemed to be the only English people in the park that day!!!!!. We also went on the shop and Rock Excursion where we were taken to Hurgarda to go shopping, this was a bad experience. As soon as we got off the coach we have people running up to us and saying ''Are you English, come in my shop'', we ended up going in one of the shops were the owner locked the door behind him and wouldnt take no for an answer that we wanted to leave and not buy anything. In the end we ended up buying something.After the shopping trip to the Old part of Hurgarda we were then taken by coach to the new part, which i most say is alot better, its alot cleaner and smarter and you dont seem to be forced into buying anything. Here you will find your maccy d's and Burger King along with a few nighclubs. We finsihed this trip in the Hard Rock Cafe where we got a a meal. which was in with the price of the excursion., the food was ok but wernt all that. The last excusrion we did was a 4 hour trip on the sand buggies in the desert which was Bril. We were driving round the desert and finsihed the night at a be bedwin village, where we were given Bedwin Tea and bread and a Sisha pipe.

The Food in the hotel was nice.We ate in the main restaurant most nights, there was always something different on the menu, one night we ate from the BBQ they put on in the main seating area o.side this was also nice, here you can choose from fish and chicken and also Kebabs. We never got chance to book any ala carts but we were told these were great. There is a Russian, Indian and Italian alacarte restaurant to choose from.The nightlife was ok there was always a singer on around the main pool area in the evening , but they always seemed to sing the same songs, there was also a disco which opened from 11 till 3 everynight , which we went in a few times/ But most nights we sat in the hotel bar near to the reception, where we never seemed to be waiting more than 2 mins for a drink there was always someone to wait on you hand and foot.Big thanks to El Ahmed who always went out of his way for us.

Overall we had an excellent holiday and have already booked to go back next year, but next time for two weeks, as there is so much to do and found a week here two short. The only let down with this hotel was the Germans and Russians who seemed to look down on the English. You just get use to it after a while.

  • Liked — ..
  • Disliked — ..
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank MARK9403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Sunrise Makadi at the beginning of june, i will start with the positive things - the resort itself is very well maintained and the room we had was probably one of the better ones I have stayed in whilst abroad. The pool area was excellent and there were always sunbeds.The lunchtime snack bar was also very good. The negative points however pretty much centre around the staff, I know lots of people see how friendly the staff are but in my and my boyfriends opinion the vast majority of the staff were despicable, even when i was walking with my boyfriend, they would be pointing at me and making some comment or another. Also the staff around the pool were exactly the same, almost falling over themselves to have a good look at any woman who happened to be in the area. I am fully aware that they do this to all women regardless of age but it made me extremely uncomfortable, i am only 24 and not a prude at all but it really starts to get to you after a few days. I also struggled with the food at the restaurant, being a vegetarian i was really limited to Pasta or pizza at dinner time. My boyfriend who really isn't fussy with what he eats sometimes couldn't find anything he wanted to eat. We stayed at this hotel for a week because we got a really cheap deal and this was our second holiday, if this was our main holiday of the year i would have been disappointed. As i said earlier the resort itself is excellent, just the staff and the food that let it down.

  • Liked — the room
  • Disliked — the staff
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bec026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2008

Well what a wonderful holiday we had at the Sunrise Royal Makadi, we stayed there from 5 September to 19 September 2008. When we arrived we were welcomed home and given cool towels and drinks while we were checked in, we were provided fantastic rooms which intercontected (stayed there with my Mum, Dad and sister) and these were overlooking the family pool.

The pool areas were lovely, we got the same sunbeds every day round the pool which was good, there was no problems getting sunbeds as there was always loads available all day.

We didn't really stay on the beach while we were there as not keen on sand, but we did go snorkelling off our beach, there is a bit of a reef and a good few fish but the better and bigger reef is next door at the Fort Arabesque and they don't mind you snorkelling there as long as you don't leave your things on their beach (towels and stuff) but its only about a 2 minute walk anyway and the fish there are amazing so I would definitely recommend it!!

The restaurants were great, loads of variety of food and drinks and the staff there are lovely, on our first night there we had a waiter serve us called Mahmoud and he had a different trick for us every night. You really can't fault the staff at the hotel as they did everything they could to make sure you had a good holiday and make you feel welcome, I would recommend tipping because they don't get paid very much and are very grateful for any tips they receive. The reps are great aswell (Vanessa and Mohammed) very helpful and Mohammed had a great sense of humour! Hello to both if you read this!

We went on 2 trips, one through Thomas Cook which was to see the pyramids and Cairo, the pyramids were amazing you really do have to be there to appreciate them! This trip cost USD265 which included your flights to and from Cairo, a coach to take you round the sights with a very informative tour guide (she was really good because she told you about the way of life in Egypt and really knew her stuff about the history aswell), also included lunch in the Hard Rock Cafe and entrance to the Cairo Museum, the Pyramids and the Sphinx, we also went to the papyrus factory and the Bazaar (which was scary!!). We also booked a snorkelling boat trip through one of the local companies for USD50 which was good, they stopped off at 3 places were you could snorkel and at Giftun (or Paradise) Island, and this included lunch on the boat and snorkelling equipment.

None of our party suffered the dreaded pharoahs revenge while we were there, you just have to be really sensible like the reps at the meeting say, drink loads of bottled water as much as you can manage (its all included anyway), wash your hands after touching the money as it can be quite dirty and wash your hands before each meal or when you eat something. If you do suffer whilst there we were recommended not to take any of the English tablets because these don't treat the infection but there is a doctor on site and apparently there is a pharmacy at the hotel next door.

I really can't recommend this hotel enough, we enjoyed it there so much we have booked to go back there next year a couple of days after we got back. My parents have been to Egypt 3 times in all and they have said that this is the best hotel they have stayed at (and they have loved every one!) so can't wait to go back now!!

If anyone has any questions please feel free to contact me and I will answer them as best I can!

  • Liked — Everything!!
  • Disliked — Nothing!!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank flutterbyes1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2008

We stayed at Sunrise royal makadi from 5/9/08 to 19/9/08.It was our first time in Egypt. We loved everything about the holiday, the weather is fantastic and all staff at the hotel are very friendly and helpful!!

The hotel grounds are huge and very well kept, very clean! The pools were clean and pool bars were good!!

The food is good, with lots of choice in the buffet for all meals, we mostly ate in the a la carte restaurants for our evening meal, just have to book which was quite easy!! Asian a la carte was our favourite.

Our room was clean and spacious with a walk in shower and hairdryer and clean sheets and towels everyday! Had our own balcony which wasn't overlooked! Had a mini bar filled with water and soft drinks which is good!!

We did get egyptian tummy, but i'd say most people we spoke to did, go straight to the chemist and buy the yellow tablets, imodium doesn't even touch it!!!

We liked the reps Vanessa and Mohammed, they were very approachable, we had to cancel one of our trips due to being unwell and they refunded no problems! The trips offered are brilliant, we went to cairo by flight, its a LONG day, get picked up at 4:20 and get back at 10:00, but well worth it to see the pyramids!! Costs £150 pounds each so not cheap!!

My boyfriend went diving with the company who come to the welcome talk emperor diving school, they were fab, very professional and were an english company. Costs about $135 for the day and i went on the boat for $15! Diving is brilliant as water is so clear and warm, lots of clown fish!!

Also went on star gazing trip, not much star gazing but go and watch sun set in the desert and ride camels and have a bbq, was really nice!

Please take Mohammed a football shirt as everyone forgot in our group.oops!!


DO NOT TAKE EGYPTIAN POUNDS, take US dollars or just english pounds, they take both and the egyptian money is very dirty, possibly the cause of egyptian tummy.

We would definately go again, there are lots of nationalities on holiday here, with english possibly being the minority. The weather was perfect everyday not even a cloud! Lovely hotel, lovely country with lovely people!!

  • Liked — The pool, beach and rooms
  • Disliked — Leaving hotel and coming home!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Andy_and_Sarah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
1.1 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
860 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
0.6 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#3 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
8.5 mi away
SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
11.5 mi away
Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort

Property: SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Address: Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 623, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#7 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 698
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Select Royal Makadi is located in the heart of Makadi bay. The hotel is built on relaxing landscape, with spectacular avers and fine sand beach for enjoyable vacation. Distance form Hurghada international Airport 30 minutes, from Hurghada downtown 35 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Royal Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay
Sunrise Makadi Bay
Sunrise Royal Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing