We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Reviewed 19 June 2014

in this hotel, I was the third time and again I was surprised how nice here take care of their guests ..... already taken this so that you feel at home ..... all the staff is extremely friendly to me ..... all rooms nice, clean ...... food is excellent and a great choice ..... fun enough for young and for those a little less young ..... the beach is big ... the only thing that would be well as the beach is music lokalcek, where guests can sit down and chat a bit ..... like the poolside bar rergola ..... as far but the animation is extraordinary animators were all going off and trying from morning until late night hours of fun guests ..... so I'll definitely be back because there feels like home ...... thank you all .... good for a wonderful holiday ... especially while Natalie SUFFIELD and John Oss .......

Room Tip: ol room is good..for my....21205.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SlovenijaIvona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear our valued guest,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!


We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,572)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,937 - 2,943 of 7,572 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

This hotel is quite simply amazing. It is the first time I can honestly say I've not been able to find a single fault.
From the moment we arrived and were greeted with a nice drink and cold flannel, to the moment we were seen off by, I'm convinced it was the majority of the staff, it was an excellent experience.
The resort grounds are so clean and tidy, with a special mention to the gardeners that keep the gardens in perfect condition. The pool and bar areas were very spacious, with there being no chance of any over crowding anywhere. The restaurants offered up a huge variety in food at breakfast, lunch and dinner, and the themed restaurants were outstanding. I would recommend the Mediterranean restaurant on helpfulness alone, as they catered for my sister's vegetarian requests in every way they could.
Lastly, the animation team were a joy to be around. They would create a great atmosphere all day long, offering plenty of activities to those not too keen on spending the day lounging in the sun for hours.
I would also like to thank one member, John, for taking the time to constantly ask about my recovery from a stomach problem I had (and even offering up his own remedies), and this was before I'd even met him.
If anyone is even just considering going here, then do it. You'll find it very hard to come back disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank danc098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear our valued guest,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!


We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Got home last week after an absolutely perfect 2 weeks here in paradise.
Staff are ever so welcoming, friendly, approachable and helpful.
Rooms are nice and spacious and so clean.
Pools and beach are lovely. Lots to do if you want to get involved or just perfect for relaxing.
The food is lovely, something for everyone and the restaurants that you can book are just lovely! I can highly recommend the Asian and Mexican.
Finally, the animation team, what an amazing bunch of lads and ladies! Genuinely feel I have made some lovely friends in them. They work soooo hard to ensure each and every guest are happy. They run a huge range of activities, something for everyone and well worth getting involved, especially aqua gym with Kareem. Try and keep a straight face when he acts serious, it's harder than the exercise itself!
I highly recommend this hotel for families, couples and groups.
You will not be disappointed.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Samantha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear our valued guest,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!


We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The hotel feels very luxurious with marble floors and beautiful buildings with lovely decor. Everywhere we went was incredibly clean, we were invited for a tour of the kitchens and they were immaculate and they had separate rooms to prepare different types of foods to stop cross contamination. Our room was very spacious with a large bed, sofa, makeup area, bathroom and balcony. The room had air conditioning, T.V, safe, fridge, hair dryer and telephone. The room was fresh with lovely decor and was always very clean.The resort itself is very spacious with several large pools, bars and restaurants so never feels overcrowded. The grounds are gorgeous and are obviously well looked after by attentive gardeners. The beach is beautiful and only a few steps away from the main pool where there are plenty of sun loungers so no matter what time you get up you will find some.

The service was incredible and really made the holiday. We were greeted upon arrival with a drink and a cold towel and from there the fantastic service never stopped until we left. All the staff were very helpful and friendly and all spoke very good English. In particular Islam in the main restaurant was very friendly and one day even had our drinks ready on the table before we were able to sit down. Mohamed Ali gave us exceptional service in the Asian as did Moustafa Ali in the Italian. For breakfast there is a choice of two restaurants which both serve a huge selection of food, one busier than the other. For lunch again a choice of two restaurants, with a huge selection of food, most definitely something for everybody. They also have a snack area where they make pizzas to order, there’s also soup, burgers, chips and ice cream. Most days they also had a barbeque. In the evening there is the main buffet or 7 a la carte restaurants to choose from which I highly recommend, the food both looks and tastes amazing and with fantastic service you will always have a great evening. I particularly enjoyed the Asian, Italian, Steak and the Bedwin. In all the restaurant’s the portion size was plentiful and your drinks were always topped up.

The entertainment was fantastic, throughout the day the animation team would provide many activities I took part in the aqua aerobics a few times which I enjoyed, but there are plenty of activities for everybody. The animation team are fantastic always have a smile on their face from morning to night and always go above and beyond to make your holiday special. In the evenings there is always a great show on, I really enjoyed the dance show where there was some astounding break dancing at the end. The animation team were fantastic in particular Kareem who was really funny and attentive to our needs.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Katieliciouscakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear our Valued Customer,

I could not find the suitable words to express our appreciation for your kind post on trip advisor.

It has been our honor to have you as our guest and I am very happy to know that we were able to make your holiday the most enjoyable trip.

I shared personally your comments with the entire team members in particular with the animation team, the other staff members which you have mentioned , of course your remarks will stimulate them to maintain their high level service and spare no efforts to make the guests’ journey at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi is always enjoyable and memorable.

Looking forward for your next visit.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My family and I have just had a holiday at the SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort and had a lovely time. The staff are lovely and so helpful and friendly. The kids loved the kids club and the animation team. There are so many places to eat from the buffet restaurants to al a carte restaurants (which you pre-book). The pools are lovely and clean. Would certainly recommend for a family holiday.

Room Tip: Our family room was in block 36 and overlooked the small family pool and just a short walk to the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear our Valued Customer,

I could not find the suitable words to express our appreciation for your kind post on trip advisor.

It has been our honor to have you as our guest and I am very happy to know that we were able to make your holiday the most enjoyable trip.

I shared personally your comments with the entire team members in particular with the animation team, , of course your remarks will stimulate them to maintain their high level service and spare no efforts to make the guests’ journey at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi is always enjoyable and memorable.

Looking forward for your next visit.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My family and I have just been to sunrise makadi bay for 11 nights.
Cannot fault it at all.
Beautiful surroundings, immaculate rooms, top class food.
The animation team made the holiday for us.
Karin, mono, john, Natalie and the rest.
All of above genuinley cared and took interest in making sure the guests were happy.
Friendly, approachable, funny, couldn't do enough!
Also really personable as all animation team always remembered your names.
My sons max & George loved all the animation team and cried when we left!
Will really miss you guys.
Kids club, brilliant, thanks to Ryan, Rhiannon and Becky!
Would definitely stay here again and Mr Sunrise needs to be aware what a fantastic team he has, not just animation team, but bar staff, recreation , cleaners and waiters.
WOW WOW WOW

Claire, Darren, Max & George

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Clairewig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear our Valued Customer,

I could not find the suitable words to express our appreciation for your kind post on trip advisor.

It has been our honor to have you as our guest and I am very happy to know that we were able to make your holiday the most enjoyable trip.

I shared personally your comments with the entire team members in particular with the animation team, the other staff members which you have mentioned , of course your remarks will stimulate them to maintain their high level service and spare no efforts to make the guests’ journey at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi is always enjoyable and memorable.

Looking forward for your next visit.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This hotel is absolutely fantastic! Cannot fault it one bit. The animation team especially are great and make sure that you are having a great time.. Never a dull moment when they are around. The food is excellent with a huge selection on offer so there is something for everyone. The hotel is very clean and our room was lovely and spacious. The gardens were very well maintained and the beach (which was only a short walk from our room) was lovely too with plenty to do. All staff were very very friendly and couldn't do enough for you. All in all I would recommend this hotel as it is absolutely fantastic and very welcoming! I will definately be returning next year!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mchalec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear our valued guest,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!


We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
0.6 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,491 reviews
1.1 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi
Steigenberger Makadi
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,005 reviews
11 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#31 of 222 in Hurghada
2,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 mi away
SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
0.6 mi away
Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort
Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort
#2 of 30 in Makadi Bay
2,345 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
#1 of 222 in Hurghada
1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort

Address: Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 623, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#5 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#10 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range: £58 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 698
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Select Royal Makadi is located in the heart of Makadi bay. The hotel is built on relaxing landscape, with spectacular avers and fine sand beach for enjoyable vacation. Distance form Hurghada international Airport 30 minutes, from Hurghada downtown 35 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Royal Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay
Sunrise Makadi Bay
Sunrise Royal Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing