We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The staff are the highlight!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The staff are the highlight!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed at the Royal Makhadi recently, and whilst the hotel was good, it was the friendliness and attentiveness of the staff that made our holiday.

As previous reviewers have suggested, if you are used to 5* Dominican Republic holidays then you may be disappointed as some of our party were. However, if, like my partner and I, you are just there to take in the sunshine, eat, drink and be merry then the Royal Makadi does a damn good job.

The rooms are clean, if not a little tired, and with limited television channels - but who spends their holiday in their room? The room attendants were thorough and pleasant and all consumables were replenished daily throughout our stay.

The food is varied and plentiful and whilst most of our party suffered slightly with dodgy bellies, it was far from horrendous and did little to curb our enthusiasm for the place. There is never a shortage of bottled water and I think it has to be expected that different diets create different reactions within the human body.

The resort itself is quite restricted, although there are many trips on offer. We chose to go on a dolphins and diving excursion and it was breathtaking to swim in the open sea with dolphins surrounding us; we got to see a large pod swim beneath and then alongside us. The snorkelling is spectacular and, even just off the hotel beach, there is a plethora of fish to ogle.

The pool is large, clean and the staff cannot do more to help. Beds are comfortable and there is shady areas for when the heat becomes stifling. The pool bar is a short swim and the water surrounding it is slightly shallower and generally a little warmer. The bar man is pleasant and has a smile on his face at all times.

The animation team are outstanding with Karem and Mohammed, to name our favourites, offering fun, laughs and interesting conversation throughout the day; all of them are such a motivated group of staff that can't help but put a smile on your face. The variety of activities available offer something for everyone, we enjoyed Arabic lessons, Zumba, and shuffleboard to name a few; even the unmotivated members of our party couldn't help but be persuaded to get involved!

This hotel is very good but it's not great, the staff, however, are exceptional and in my eyes this is a reason to return. Their motto 'Welcome home' seems fitting as you really are made to feel like one of the family and given the size of the hotel, this is no mean feat! We had a fabulous holiday and it is definitely somewhere we would consider going in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear our valued guest,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for your compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations!

As we are working constantly on improving our services to meet and exceed our guests' expectations, we appreciate your comments and have forwarded them to the concerned Department Heads.

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,920 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,226
    1,053
    419
    133
    89
See reviews for
2,775
1,814
102
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,122)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Excellent hotel, well laid out. The hotel is right on a beautiful beach, so it was literally a stone's throw from the beach to the main pool and bar. Loads of activities, good snorkelling, several large pools and great food. Unbelievable weather, did not see one cloud in the whole week! Wished we could have stayed for longer and would definitely go back.

The whole bay was made up of private beaches from the strip of hotels in the Makadi Bay area and this meant the beaches were clean, well kept and you were only disturbed by hotel staff offering you services.
There was a large area of the water on the beach surrounded by netting, my guess was to keep kids in and sharks out. This area was large enough that, you were not fighting for space in the sea to swim and paddle. It was also good for snorkelling, as after the first 10-20 metres out from the beach the sea bed dropped off so you had areas within the netting that had dropped down to around 6-8 metres. There was also beautiful portions of coral within this area and an abundance of aquatic life, including a few lion fish with their regular hide outs.

The hotel is about 20-30 minutes from Hurgada town and 30-45 minutes from the airport. So if you wanted to get out and see the town it is within affordable taxi distance.

The hotel activities staff, the "Animation Team", were excellent and went out of their way to ask you how you were getting on and seeing if you were having any problems. They were always very upbeat and energetic and made us feel very welcome.
All of the waiters in the Al a Carte restaurants we dined in were very friendly and attentive.

Some of the waiters in the main restaurant and some of the staff in the bars were less friendly and were obviously not very happy, which could be a bit of a downer when you're served with a stoney face. However, considering the political unrest in the country and region, the long hours they are working in the heat and how rude some of the guests can be (not naming any particular nationalities, but for once not the British!) I couldn't blame the staff.

Excellent room cleaning service. Always came back to an immaculate and organised room.

We went all inclusive, which gave us access to the main buffet restaurant but also the 7 Al a carte restaurants. You could also get poolside "snacks" (a whole pizza, or burger or hot dogs and chips) from midday until the restaurants opened in the evening.
There was a fantastic range of different foods for breakfast, lunch and dinner in the main restaurant. We also tried the Bedouin, Meditarranean and steak Al a carte restaurants, which were all superb.
There is obviously a focus on cleanliness in all the restaurants and snack areas as they all have hand gel available for cleaning hands before eating.

We tended to tip in the Al a carte restaurants, because of how friendly and attentive the staff were in these. I have to admit that even though I am generally an obsessive tipper, I didn't in the main restaurant because (probably due to the high turnover and amount of guests) the service in the main restaurant was most geared towards just clearing away your dirty plates.

Pools were large and never seemed cramped with people. There were 2 large pools (one a sports pool where you can do lengths in if you wanted to work off the beers from the night before) by the main restaurant and bar area. There was also another large pool at the other side of the complex with its own bar as well so wherever you were staying you would be within a couple minutes from a pool!
There was plenty of shade available by the pools and on the beach, which was very useful for the incredibly strong midday sunshine. We did NOT see one cloud in the whole week we were there!
For people wanting more than just lazing in the sunshine (which is what we did most days) there were plenty of activities going on, including dance lessons, volleyball, water polo, archery, and water aerobics! We had a day scuba diving and the centre within the hotel grounds were very professional and well organised.
Each night there was a different show on, which again was well organised and a lot of effort had gone into the organisation and execution of the entertainment. There was also a "night club" style bar and dancefloor which opened up at 23:00 so you could boogey late into the night, (the best we managed was about 00:30 the night they had Latin music on).

Spacious, clean and comfortable room with a lovely balcony area. (the last 2 foreign hotels I have stayed in have been in ski resorts so this room seemed gigantic in comparison!) The bathroom was clean, again spacious, and even had a seat in the shower if you need a sit down half way through your scrub down! Working TV and fridge, plenty of plug points and lots of hanging space.
Only criticism of the room was that the double bed was 2 singles pushed together. This may have been because it was meant to be a twin room initially.

Excellent value for money. We wished we could have stayed for a second week.
If booking through someone like Lowcost, then we'd advise not to get the shuttle service. We paid extra for a shuttle service that was supposed to have 4 stops or less. It took about 30 mins of everyone being sheparded out of the airport and to the right bus. We then ended up having around 8 stops before ours, which turned a 30 minute drive from the airport into over an hour. Not too bad, but we had been travelling a long time that day.
Apparently you could potentially arrange a taxi through the hotel, which could end up costing you the same or less than having a prepaid shuttle!

One little thing, and I apologise if people don't like this suggestion, but all the staff seemed to really appreciate just saying a few words in Arabic. So if you can learn just the basic please, thank you, how are you and hello and goodbye (can use the same phrase for both the latter 2), then the bar and waitering staff really warm to you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear our valued guest,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!


We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We have just returned from SRMB after 8 days of stay, family of 4. The standard of the hotel is pretty high for Egypt and the overall rating on TripAdvisor clearly reflects this. If you do not mind to be confined within a resort or you are a fan of snorkeling and diving, then the satisfaction is guaranteed. If you can compare to other locations than Egypt, do not expect extra traveller's value.
Pros:
- clean rooms (yet moderately worn out)
- tons of food and local drinks with good variety (I would say even too much variety so it is a hard job to get a taste of everything)
- high hygiene standards (the hotel uses bottled water even for food preparation)
- compact resort so you do not have to walk anywhere (including the beach) longer than 5-10 minutes from any place within the resort
- hotel rooms closer to the sea are situated in a well maintained "garden"
- probably the best animation teams I have ever experienced. The evening entertainment is involving even without kids
- vast pool area so everyone can find a spot
- bottled water available virtually at every corner
Cons:
- the beach is just a short strip of sand and rocks with mellow and lazy water and limited possibilities to swim
- slow to none response from the staff (except of the receptionists who were always very helpful)
- family rooms and family pools located on the western part of the resort which actually puts them "outside" the resort and the farthest from the sea
- the resort uses waste water to keep lawns green: I appreciate the sustainability yet the side effect is that there is an unpleasant waste water smell at the evenings which prevents you to open a window and spoils sunset walks (this unfortunately affects mainly family rooms part as it is semi-closed area with lower air circulation)

Though we quite enjoy our vacations we are not definitely coming back, but this is mainly due to the confinement to one place that I mentioned.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear our valued guest,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for your compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations!

As we are working constantly on improving our services to meet and exceed our guests' expectations, we appreciate your comments and have forwarded them to the concerned Department Heads.

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Spent 2 weeks at Sunrise hotel. Had a beautiful time. Excellent service, friendly staff. Overall experience very highly rated.
I would recommend this place any of my friends and family who want to have a relaxing holidays.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabby1985W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear our valued guest,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!


We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Second visit to Royal Sunrise Makadi Bay and will definitely be returning. This holiday was better than the last one which was due to the entertainment on offer. Something for everybody which is difficult to manage with such a variety of nationalities and age ranges.

We stayed in block 24 which is a short walk from the main hotel buildings in a quiet area. The room was cleaned to a high standard and the hotel and grounds were particularly clean and tidy with the garden being maintained continuously.

The food in the main restaurant was of a high standard although we booked into the Asian and Italian restaurants on several occasions which we would definitely recommend. Although we started eating breakfast in the main restaurant we heard breakfast was also served in the Mexican restaurant and started to eat there each morning as it was quieter and had a more personal feel about it.

The entertainment team was excellent and although they came around to let you know what activities were taking place they were not too pushy if you didn't want to get involved. The evening entertainment was very good in the amphitheatre as was the both the beach party and pool party. Thanks to the entertainment team for being so friendly and welcoming.

Looking forward to returning sometime next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear our valued guest,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!


We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We have just arrived home after spending 10 days at the Sunrise Royal Makadi. We had an amazing time and the hotel staff, cleanliness and friendliness is fantastic!

The food was varied and tasty and we would recommend the Asian and Bedowin nights. Fantastic restaurants, variety and service.

We upgraded and stayed in the villa section of the hotel and found this to be a nice quiet oasis. Our only recommendation here maybe would be to provide different colour beach towels which would maybe help towards guests who cannot use this area notice that they cannot as the pool attendants spend a lot of time telling guests they cannot sit here which can become awkward occasionally.

The pool attendant was very efficient and the bartender fantastic!

We also went diving with PDL, great service. Recommend diving with Karim and Osman. Lots to see and explore!

Sherif our rep also organised a tour to Cario by plane on a day return. This was a great experience, Sunrise provided breakfast boxes and away we went! We visited the Citadel, Museum and Pyramids!! Well worth a visit.

We will definitely return in the future.

Room Tip: If you want quieter rooms make sure you let the hotel know as some rooms near the entertainment/pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear our valued guest,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for your compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations!

As we are working constantly on improving our services to meet and exceed our guests' expectations, we appreciate your comments and have forwarded them to the concerned Department Heads.

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Where do I start, this was my second visit to SRMB & will not be the last !
We stayed here for 11 nights, from start to finish had an amazing time. On arrival we were welcomed by the lovely Natalie, with a drink & a cold towel to refresh ourselves, prompt service from the reception team & even though we arrived late was able to have a meal in the main buffet restaurant.
The only thing I was disappointed with this year was the main restaurant, but the A la Cartes are a must, with quite a few to choose from, Asian, Mexican, Italian, T bones Steak House, Bedouin, they are unlimited throughout your stay, so take advantage of this. At breakfast would recommend eating in the Mexican as much quieter than the main restaurant with the same foods offered. At lunch times you have the choice of the main restaurant, Around the World restaurant and food such as freshly made pizzas, burgers, hotdogs, chips etc...at the Pergola Bar.
The hotel & the grounds are kept immaculate, the gardens, beach & pools are beautiful. On both our stays we have had very good rooms, very clean, a good size & have all your essentials that you may require.
The animation team are all one in a million & a real credit to this hotel, they really do look after you, any problems they deal with them promptly & work very hard to ensure guests are participating in their daily activities & off course everyone is enjoying themselves.
Special mention to Natalie, John, Turbo, Momo ,Ghazal, Boca & Kareem who made our holiday all that more special, a BIG thank you & I miss you all !
Showtime in the amphitheatre is a must, variety of entertainment such as dance shows, comedy shows etc....Other evening entertainment included, bingo, karaoke, beach & pool parties, & if you don't want the evening to end there's a discotheque on site near Victoria's pub. Cocktails in the lobby bar were far the best made by Mohamed who looked after us every night, a true gent.
Everyone in this hotel made you feel welcome & will do absolutely anything to make your stay unforgettable. I guarantee if you have your holidays in this hotel you will not be disappointed !!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear our valued guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing SUNRISE Royal Makadi Resort for your holidays in Egypt and we hope that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

Thank you for taking your precious time and giving us your comments. In fact as our valuable guest your opinion is very important for us as it helps us to improve our standards and quality.
We would like to apologize, if in your case you were disappointed and we will rectify the short false.

Thank you again for your time, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in SUNRISE Royal Makadi Resort.

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
1.1 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 29 in Makadi Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
8.4 mi away
SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort
0.4 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
0.6 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
8.2 mi away
Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort

Property: SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Address: Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 623, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#9 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 698
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Select Royal Makadi is located in the heart of Makadi bay. The hotel is built on relaxing landscape, with spectacular avers and fine sand beach for enjoyable vacation. Distance form Hurghada international Airport 30 minutes, from Hurghada downtown 35 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Southall Travel and Odigeo so you can book your SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Royal Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay
Sunrise Makadi Bay
Sunrise Royal Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing