We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“royal makadi resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Have just returned from my fourth time at the Royal Makadi Resort and it just gets better every time we go there.
Anyone wanting a relaxed holiday in Hurghada does not need to look any further and i cannot praise the staff enough for there interest and dedication in ensuring you have a good holiday.

We liked the Italian and round the world / Dalila as the food was first class and the service was excellent all round, that being said all the others were good but the staff at these two places made it a better experience for us and we got a big welcome home from staff who we had met on previous holidays.

We were in block 15 which was a couple of minutes away from the pool and restaurants, the rooms are clean and tidy and are cleaned daily.

The Pergola bar was excellent and open until the early hours with great staff in particular Samir who was very attentive day and night.

The shows at night were excellent and had a different theme every night put on by the amazing animation team who i must say were a class act, Kareem, Natalie and Johnny showed amazing attention to detail and went above the norm to ensure everything was to your liking.

The only problem i had was the WIFI was down a lot but that is the telephone operator not the hotel.
Looking forward to going back in september to top up the tan.

Great job Animation team.

Room Tip: Block 15 is the nearest to the bars / pool/ main lobby
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fmsudafix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear our valued guest,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for your compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations!

As we are working constantly on improving our internet services to meet and exceed our guests' expectations, we appreciate your comments and have forwarded them to the concerned Department Heads.

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,102)
There are newer reviews for SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,623 - 2,629 of 7,102 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

We have just returned on Friday from a 2 week holiday at the Sunrise Royal Makadi, This was our 3rd visit but this time with my elderly mother (81). We all had a wonderful holiday and many thanks to the management team for providing us with a family room, giving me peace of mind knowing my mother was OK. Huge thanks and praise go the animation team who worked extremely hard and made us feel so welcome. Special mention to Natalie who always took time to speak to us and check we were ok, and to Momo for looking after us at the family pool (and for the aqua aerobics!). The weather was fantastic, although extremely hot (thankfully most days there wasa breeze) as was the food - the al a carte restaurants are still providing excellent food. Special thanks also to Tamer and the staff at the Mexican restaurant for making my mum feel so special. The staff at the Spa were also very good and I recommend Saffa who gave me fantastic back massages. We are all looking forward to coming back next year. Can't wait to see the aqua park when it is finished.

Room Tip: The family rooms in block 31 are excellent as they are near the top family pool and close to recepti...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheesh08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear our valued guest,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!


We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I have found many reviews are wooly so thought I would add real value through our experience and in no particular order
Buy a 3 gang charger as plug sockets are scarce in the room. 99p shops have them and so light
There are 7 al a carte restaurants in addition to the buffet, reservations are made through a touch screen system which is fab, no queuing to reserve with a rep
Laundry service, 9 euros for all your washing before you come home. Ironed and folded with cardboard etc - VIP service at low cost and no need to bother with washing when you get home
Bottled water is free and available at all bars - no need to queue at reception night before to book.
Pharmacy on site however very expensive, take the shuttle bus to the shopping centre and you pay pennies, £40 in on site pharmacy, £1.80 in centre.
If you want to learn to scuber dive, there is a free session in the pool then you can take you PADI for such a reduced cost. I did it and was exhilarated of the experience
The submarine trip for all those that chose not to dive is brill. Go to the pontoon on the beach and buy your ticket. We didn't regret it.
You get fab quality pool towels so no need to take your own
Don't underestimate the strength of the sun. We went factor 30 and came back totally bronzed. We saw the die hards with their factor 8 and saw the nasty peeling.
If you like to see the fish around the coral, you can walk easily to the areas, however the sand is very 'sharp' so take some jellies or water shoes.
For currency, please don't tip £1 coins as they can't exchange them. What is ideal is 1US dollar notes or euro notes. There is a money exchange machine in the lobby and you can exchange your currency at very low rates. All you need are notes. 2 US dollars is absolutely fine.

We had a wonderful 2 weeks, albeit 52 degrees. The animation team are great, the food fantastic and the grounds amazing. Will definately return as we saw from all the returners when we were there.

I confess to being very critical but factual in my reviews. However this was WOW

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Nikiann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear our valued guest,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!


We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed at the Royal Makhadi recently, and whilst the hotel was good, it was the friendliness and attentiveness of the staff that made our holiday.

As previous reviewers have suggested, if you are used to 5* Dominican Republic holidays then you may be disappointed as some of our party were. However, if, like my partner and I, you are just there to take in the sunshine, eat, drink and be merry then the Royal Makadi does a damn good job.

The rooms are clean, if not a little tired, and with limited television channels - but who spends their holiday in their room? The room attendants were thorough and pleasant and all consumables were replenished daily throughout our stay.

The food is varied and plentiful and whilst most of our party suffered slightly with dodgy bellies, it was far from horrendous and did little to curb our enthusiasm for the place. There is never a shortage of bottled water and I think it has to be expected that different diets create different reactions within the human body.

The resort itself is quite restricted, although there are many trips on offer. We chose to go on a dolphins and diving excursion and it was breathtaking to swim in the open sea with dolphins surrounding us; we got to see a large pod swim beneath and then alongside us. The snorkelling is spectacular and, even just off the hotel beach, there is a plethora of fish to ogle.

The pool is large, clean and the staff cannot do more to help. Beds are comfortable and there is shady areas for when the heat becomes stifling. The pool bar is a short swim and the water surrounding it is slightly shallower and generally a little warmer. The bar man is pleasant and has a smile on his face at all times.

The animation team are outstanding with Karem and Mohammed, to name our favourites, offering fun, laughs and interesting conversation throughout the day; all of them are such a motivated group of staff that can't help but put a smile on your face. The variety of activities available offer something for everyone, we enjoyed Arabic lessons, Zumba, and shuffleboard to name a few; even the unmotivated members of our party couldn't help but be persuaded to get involved!

This hotel is very good but it's not great, the staff, however, are exceptional and in my eyes this is a reason to return. Their motto 'Welcome home' seems fitting as you really are made to feel like one of the family and given the size of the hotel, this is no mean feat! We had a fabulous holiday and it is definitely somewhere we would consider going in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear our valued guest,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for your compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations!

As we are working constantly on improving our services to meet and exceed our guests' expectations, we appreciate your comments and have forwarded them to the concerned Department Heads.

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Excellent hotel, well laid out. The hotel is right on a beautiful beach, so it was literally a stone's throw from the beach to the main pool and bar. Loads of activities, good snorkelling, several large pools and great food. Unbelievable weather, did not see one cloud in the whole week! Wished we could have stayed for longer and would definitely go back.

The whole bay was made up of private beaches from the strip of hotels in the Makadi Bay area and this meant the beaches were clean, well kept and you were only disturbed by hotel staff offering you services.
There was a large area of the water on the beach surrounded by netting, my guess was to keep kids in and sharks out. This area was large enough that, you were not fighting for space in the sea to swim and paddle. It was also good for snorkelling, as after the first 10-20 metres out from the beach the sea bed dropped off so you had areas within the netting that had dropped down to around 6-8 metres. There was also beautiful portions of coral within this area and an abundance of aquatic life, including a few lion fish with their regular hide outs.

The hotel is about 20-30 minutes from Hurgada town and 30-45 minutes from the airport. So if you wanted to get out and see the town it is within affordable taxi distance.

The hotel activities staff, the "Animation Team", were excellent and went out of their way to ask you how you were getting on and seeing if you were having any problems. They were always very upbeat and energetic and made us feel very welcome.
All of the waiters in the Al a Carte restaurants we dined in were very friendly and attentive.

Some of the waiters in the main restaurant and some of the staff in the bars were less friendly and were obviously not very happy, which could be a bit of a downer when you're served with a stoney face. However, considering the political unrest in the country and region, the long hours they are working in the heat and how rude some of the guests can be (not naming any particular nationalities, but for once not the British!) I couldn't blame the staff.

Excellent room cleaning service. Always came back to an immaculate and organised room.

We went all inclusive, which gave us access to the main buffet restaurant but also the 7 Al a carte restaurants. You could also get poolside "snacks" (a whole pizza, or burger or hot dogs and chips) from midday until the restaurants opened in the evening.
There was a fantastic range of different foods for breakfast, lunch and dinner in the main restaurant. We also tried the Bedouin, Meditarranean and steak Al a carte restaurants, which were all superb.
There is obviously a focus on cleanliness in all the restaurants and snack areas as they all have hand gel available for cleaning hands before eating.

We tended to tip in the Al a carte restaurants, because of how friendly and attentive the staff were in these. I have to admit that even though I am generally an obsessive tipper, I didn't in the main restaurant because (probably due to the high turnover and amount of guests) the service in the main restaurant was most geared towards just clearing away your dirty plates.

Pools were large and never seemed cramped with people. There were 2 large pools (one a sports pool where you can do lengths in if you wanted to work off the beers from the night before) by the main restaurant and bar area. There was also another large pool at the other side of the complex with its own bar as well so wherever you were staying you would be within a couple minutes from a pool!
There was plenty of shade available by the pools and on the beach, which was very useful for the incredibly strong midday sunshine. We did NOT see one cloud in the whole week we were there!
For people wanting more than just lazing in the sunshine (which is what we did most days) there were plenty of activities going on, including dance lessons, volleyball, water polo, archery, and water aerobics! We had a day scuba diving and the centre within the hotel grounds were very professional and well organised.
Each night there was a different show on, which again was well organised and a lot of effort had gone into the organisation and execution of the entertainment. There was also a "night club" style bar and dancefloor which opened up at 23:00 so you could boogey late into the night, (the best we managed was about 00:30 the night they had Latin music on).

Spacious, clean and comfortable room with a lovely balcony area. (the last 2 foreign hotels I have stayed in have been in ski resorts so this room seemed gigantic in comparison!) The bathroom was clean, again spacious, and even had a seat in the shower if you need a sit down half way through your scrub down! Working TV and fridge, plenty of plug points and lots of hanging space.
Only criticism of the room was that the double bed was 2 singles pushed together. This may have been because it was meant to be a twin room initially.

Excellent value for money. We wished we could have stayed for a second week.
If booking through someone like Lowcost, then we'd advise not to get the shuttle service. We paid extra for a shuttle service that was supposed to have 4 stops or less. It took about 30 mins of everyone being sheparded out of the airport and to the right bus. We then ended up having around 8 stops before ours, which turned a 30 minute drive from the airport into over an hour. Not too bad, but we had been travelling a long time that day.
Apparently you could potentially arrange a taxi through the hotel, which could end up costing you the same or less than having a prepaid shuttle!

One little thing, and I apologise if people don't like this suggestion, but all the staff seemed to really appreciate just saying a few words in Arabic. So if you can learn just the basic please, thank you, how are you and hello and goodbye (can use the same phrase for both the latter 2), then the bar and waitering staff really warm to you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear our valued guest,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!


We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We have just returned from SRMB after 8 days of stay, family of 4. The standard of the hotel is pretty high for Egypt and the overall rating on TripAdvisor clearly reflects this. If you do not mind to be confined within a resort or you are a fan of snorkeling and diving, then the satisfaction is guaranteed. If you can compare to other locations than Egypt, do not expect extra traveller's value.
Pros:
- clean rooms (yet moderately worn out)
- tons of food and local drinks with good variety (I would say even too much variety so it is a hard job to get a taste of everything)
- high hygiene standards (the hotel uses bottled water even for food preparation)
- compact resort so you do not have to walk anywhere (including the beach) longer than 5-10 minutes from any place within the resort
- hotel rooms closer to the sea are situated in a well maintained "garden"
- probably the best animation teams I have ever experienced. The evening entertainment is involving even without kids
- vast pool area so everyone can find a spot
- bottled water available virtually at every corner
Cons:
- the beach is just a short strip of sand and rocks with mellow and lazy water and limited possibilities to swim
- slow to none response from the staff (except of the receptionists who were always very helpful)
- family rooms and family pools located on the western part of the resort which actually puts them "outside" the resort and the farthest from the sea
- the resort uses waste water to keep lawns green: I appreciate the sustainability yet the side effect is that there is an unpleasant waste water smell at the evenings which prevents you to open a window and spoils sunset walks (this unfortunately affects mainly family rooms part as it is semi-closed area with lower air circulation)

Though we quite enjoy our vacations we are not definitely coming back, but this is mainly due to the confinement to one place that I mentioned.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear our valued guest,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for your compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations!

As we are working constantly on improving our services to meet and exceed our guests' expectations, we appreciate your comments and have forwarded them to the concerned Department Heads.

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Spent 2 weeks at Sunrise hotel. Had a beautiful time. Excellent service, friendly staff. Overall experience very highly rated.
I would recommend this place any of my friends and family who want to have a relaxing holidays.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gabby1985W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear our valued guest,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!


We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
1.1 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
898 reviews
0.6 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#3 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,323 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Jaz Aquamarine
Jaz Aquamarine
#31 of 222 in Hurghada
6,284 reviews
8.5 mi away
SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
2.4 mi away
Baron Palace Sahl Hasheesh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort

Address: Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 623, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range: £74 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 698
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Select Royal Makadi is located in the heart of Makadi bay. The hotel is built on relaxing landscape, with spectacular avers and fine sand beach for enjoyable vacation. Distance form Hurghada international Airport 30 minutes, from Hurghada downtown 35 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Royal Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay
Sunrise Makadi Bay
Sunrise Royal Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing