We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent definitely back again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Makadi Bay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent definitely back again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Best holiday I've had great for relaxing and lots of things to do, all the staff are the nicest people I've ever met specially kareem and Mando E Mero from the entertainment team them two made our holiday even better definitely go back again soon!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Danny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear our valued guest,


The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,914 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,221
    1,053
    418
    133
    89
See reviews for
2,772
1,813
102
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,122)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Just got back from an amazing 12 day holiday, had a brilliant time. The hotel is excellent ideal for families, friends, couples i think there is something here for everybody.
The hotel is very clean and the gardens are lovely, a credit to all the gardeners.
Well what can i say about the animation team excellent, excellent, excellent, John, Natalie, Brown(NB) Kareem, Ghazal, Boca, Marley, Mariceo and the beautiful Ta Ta and all the rest of the animation team, they all make you feel very welcome and all the team are so helpful and polite and nothing is to much trouble, they all work so hard the shows are excellent and the pool and beach party amazing well done animation !!!!!
The bar staff especially the lads in the pergola a big thank you to you all, you all work so hard and the lads in the lobby bar nothing was to much trouble and your cocktails are yummy!!.
A big must try the Asia House restaurant, excellent , but make sure you book in advance as the Asia house can get booked up quickly.
The hotel rooms are very spacious and are cleaned every day to a high standard, thankyou to the cleaning staff.
Overall I think this hotel is excellent, excellent value for money, food excellent I would recommened this hotel to family and friends. Looking forward to a return later in the year so animation team see you soon Lorraine & Sean Manchester

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LorraineSean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear our Valued Customer,

I could not find the suitable words to express our appreciation for your kind post on trip advisor

It has been our honor to have you as our guest and I am very happy to know that we were able to make your holiday the most enjoyable trip.

I shared personally your comments with the entire team members in particular with the animation team, John, Natalie, Brown(NB) Kareem, Ghazal, Boca, Marley, Mariceo of course your remarks will stimulate them to maintain their high level service and spare no efforts to make the guests’ journey at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi is always enjoyable and memorable.

Looking forward for your next visit.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

This was our 5th time and fantastic as always. Food, staff, hotel rooms etc couldn't fault. The entertainment staff were brilliant, fun, friendly and made us laugh and a big part of our holiday. Natalie who looked after guest relations couldn't do enough for you. Overall excellent would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elaine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear our valued guest,


The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is the 2nd time we have visited this hotel and once again it was lovely. It was a little busier than when we visited in October 2012, but the service provided by all the staff was just as good. We had a nice room in block 33, which was close to a family pool and the Mexican restaurant which is where we had breakfast. We tried all,the restaurants and all were of a really good standard. The animation team are really energetic and enthusiastic, so thanks to John, kareem, momo, Natalie and all,the others who made our stay that much nicer by always being around and chatting about almost anything to their guests. We would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TraviFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear our valued guest,


The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

My family and I have just returned from an 11 night holiday at this beautiful hotel and I have never felt so sad to leave a resort and all the people there as I do right now and my parents are already looking at booking the next visit for around April next year. My grandparents have previously been to Royal Makadi five times and I am extremely grateful to have experienced this lovely hotel with them. It was my first time in Egypt and I could not have felt more welcomed by the staff. Firstly, we were greeted by Natalie whom is a good friend of my grandparents and also Salah the night manager who made us feel at home straight away by giving us our refreshing face towels and also a glass of fruit tea. On arrival of our room in Block 17 we were pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness of the room and also the cold air conditioning which was needed in the 40+ degree heat! Our cleaner was extremely friendly and left us with beautiful towel art and sometimes flowers in our room and was tipped every day and on the last day of the holiday for his hard work and effort. On our first full day after arriving the night before, we were welcomed straight away by the amazingly energetic entertainment team whom were soooo happy to talk to us and get involved even during Ramadan in the sweltering heat in which I respect them for completely. The team will always involve you in activities throughout the day which are perfect for all age groups and even if you are feeling lazy or just want to sunbathe all day, the entertainment team will still involve you in friendly conversation, especially Natalie, John, Kareem, Sylvie and Brown who also all speak perfect English and Russian. There was a huge variation of different foods in the main restaurant and if you just want to take some food down to the pool or the beach with you, there is freshly made pizzas at the pergola bar and also ice cream cones or you could also go the fresh fruit and ice cream shop although you have to pay, the guys - Osama and Sharz are extremely friendly and the food they serve is delicious. I recommend visiting the Sand Art shop where Waled and his brother whom are extremely talented will make you a gift for around £10/100 LE and also both speak amazing english, russian, german and also a little bit of french, impressive! Also a day boat trip with Blue Waves is a must! We went on the trip to Orange Island in which we booked with the lovely Abdalla who we spoke to almost every day because he was so nice! Orange island is quiet and practically paradise. The costs are cheap and definitely worth it to get out and see some more of the beautiful Hurghada. We even saw a wild dolphin, manta ray, moray eel and a barracuda on this snorkelling trip! Also if you're feeling brave enough to go into the scorching desert on quad bikes, it really is an amazing experience going to the Bedouin village and also riding the camels (which you can also do on the hotels beach, ride Alfred the camel who is friendly and completely harmless if you have any worries!). I could not fault this hotel at all, the people are friendly, the cleanliness of the hotel is a 10/10 and the food is beautiful. I'm extremely grateful to have spent time at this beautiful hotel and cannot wait to come back! :)

Room Tip: We stayed in Block 17 which was extremely close to the pool and the beach so not too far to walk dep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PaigeM1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear our Valued Customer,

I could not find the suitable words to express our appreciation for your kind post on trip advisor

It has been our honor to have you as our guest and I am very happy to know that we were able to make your holiday the most enjoyable trip.

I shared personally your comments with the entire team members in particular with the animation team, of course your remarks will stimulate them to maintain their high level service and spare no efforts to make the guests’ journey at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi is always enjoyable and memorable.

Looking forward for your next visit.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

This was a return trip to the hotel following a lovely week last year. Unfortunately it did not live up to last year's experience. Admittedly we all went down with the Egyptian tummy so were unable to keep our reservations at the a la carte restaurants so the occasional meals we had were in the cattle market like main buffet restaurant. This is a noisy, chaotic, badly organised restaurant. Choice and variety of food is pretty good, but on the rare occasions that we ate there was little to tempt us as most of the cooked food was dripping in oil.

We found the music around the main pool far too loud and too intrusive and the animation team constantly "there". We changed to another pool to stop being hounded by them.

The evening entertainment had dropped in quality and we couldn't help think that the singer was put on to clear the bar area to stop people from drinking! The karaoke was so bad I thought my ears might bleed!

On the positive side, the beds are very comfy, the rooms clean and the staff friendly and helpful, but we will not be returning.

This is not the view of an old fuddy duddy family as our 19 and 21 year old daughters felt the same.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bongy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear our valued guest,

Thank you for valuing your stay at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort.

We are always appreciating constructive criticism as we see a chance in it to improve our services in order to meet and exceed the expectations of our precious guests.

We would like to apologize, if in your case you were disappointed and we will rectify the short false.

The SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Team is wishing you and your family all the best back at home and hopes to welcome you again at our resort!


Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

This hotel is the best we have ever stayed at. Dont know how else to describe it other than amazing! The whole team of staff are fabulous, nothing is ever too much trouble. In particular I have to mention the animation team. What a wonderful bunch of people! The best animation I have ever come across. Must say Natalie, John, Brown, Sebastian, Boca, Mezo and made our holiday. They are always full of energy and were great with our 2 children. Must also mention all the staff in all the restaurants and bars were wonderful. If I mention all their names this review would never end!! Mr Salah the night manager is a lovely man and also Hashem Lotfy is the kindest man we have ever met! Cant recommend this hotel enough. Was our second visit and certainly wont be our last.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear our valued guest,


The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
1.1 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 29 in Makadi Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
8.4 mi away
SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort
0.4 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
0.6 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
8.2 mi away
Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort

Property: SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Address: Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 623, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#9 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 698
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Select Royal Makadi is located in the heart of Makadi bay. The hotel is built on relaxing landscape, with spectacular avers and fine sand beach for enjoyable vacation. Distance form Hurghada international Airport 30 minutes, from Hurghada downtown 35 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Royal Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay
Sunrise Makadi Bay
Sunrise Royal Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing