We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Makadi Bay
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We arrived at this hotel and from the start it was amazing. The staff was so friendly and really couldn't do enough for you. They really went out of their way to make sure your stay was relaxing and you were well looked after. The food was brilliant and so much choice. The a la carte Asian restaurant was the best. A 3 course meal every night and served by lovely waiters. The animation team were great. What we liked was if you wanted to participate you could but if you didn't they weren't too pushy which was great if you had just come away to chill out. A special mention for Natalie who although she had injured her foot she still soldiered on and really went out of her way to make sure that we had everything that we needed. This hotel is one of the best all inclusive that we have been to and would definitely recommend to anyone to go as we will be going back no doubt!

Matt and Tonya from Kent

Room Tip: If you want to be near the quiet pool area opt for block 31-38, really nice. take only English mone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawe1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear our valued guest,

Thank you very much that you have taken some of your precious time to post this charming reviews on trip advisor
It is really a pleasure to read it and we are very proud to receive your respected compliments.

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team is looking forward to welcoming you again and hopes to meet your expectation.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for any requests. We are happy to assist you!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,400
    1,075
    424
    133
    89
See reviews for
2,910
1,856
103
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,134)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Meant to go on and review the hotel when we got back but forgot to. The reason for submitting this now is we had such a great time that I felt I had go and submit something. On arrival check in was smooth and efficient. We were then taken to our room which was quite big, clean and tidy. Facilities were excellent. The main buffet restaurant was OK and the 'themed restaurants' were excellent especially the Asian and the Itallian.
The resort is quite large and there is someithg for everyone. The beach staff were great in finding you your sun loungers etc and nothing was too much trouble.
Now for the Animation Team, what a bunch of great people. I have said that nothing was too much trouble for the other staff but the Animation Team even go beyond this. They are always on the go, working tirelessly and they are all great ambassadors for the hotel. I have to give special mention Ahmed 'Everyday I'm shuffling!' and Ghazal the archer.
We went for two weeks R&R and that is what we got. A brilliant holiday made by a great hotel and great staff.
This was our first trip to Egypt and we will definitely be going back.
Just one tip if your going there to escape the UK's autumn /winter weather take something warm for the evenings as although daytime tempetatures were great it did get quite cold in the evenings.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear our valued guest,

The SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Team would like to thank you for your valued and appreciated comments.

We hope to welcome you once again in the nearest future at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi and wish you all the best!


Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

What can i write won't completely fulfill the full picture of That place..

It has been along time since i really go to someplace on my holiday & decide from my first day there that i should visit it again next year

Service is much more than perfect

Stuff members are so kind & gentle

Animation team is perfectly awesome specially "sepastian & "Yang" ..having more than 30 activities around the clock

Restaurants are so great with perfect quality & quantity of food ..even in drinks..u don't have to worry about any thing u can get water bottles from any fridge at any bar of the so many scattered bars

There are also Safari club & i booked a. Trip & it was really great

realy thnx 4 every thing SunRise Royal makadi..see u in next year for sure :)

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Polis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear our valued guest,

The SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Team would like to thank you for your valued and appreciated comments.

We hope to welcome you once again in the nearest future at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi and wish you all the best!


Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We had a Fantastic Holiday overall, the room we had was large with a double bed. A large bathroom and a great shower, the air con was good and a must to leave on in the day. The pool scene was great, with us spending quite a bit of time at the swim up bar. The Animation team are so good and work so hard to make your stay fun. A special mention to Momo and Natalie who were around most of the time checking if everything was ok for you. The food was of a good standard in the main restaurant but was crowded most of the time. The a la carte restaurant's are very good our favorite was the Asian. The entertainment was good with shows which did make you laugh. If you like the snorkeling there is a great reef at the next hotel Fort Arabesque, we will go back again at some point.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear our valued guest,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.
We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!
We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valjevo, Serbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We came back from the Sunrise Select Royal Makadi hotel a month ago.
On the 17th of September we are coming again and it's not the first time that in the same season we come twice.

Why are we going to SRM again?Because of the relaxing atmosphere, clean and blue sea, clean beach and the pools that Mohamed Maradona and the rest of the guys are taking care of every moment. Because of Asad and the barmen on the VIP pool, because of a big choice of food and drinks in many restaurants and bars, of the polite receptionist and because of the management who always come visit the guests and always smells like the 007 perfume. Everybody is working hard there and is always ready to help with a smile on their face.
Who goes to SRM once falls in love with it and when he comes he feels like he's coming home.
In that giant complex nobody is bothering anyone. Sometimes on the forums I don't really understand people and their comments. Everywhere can a guy get drunk and make noise. And it doesn't depend on his nationality. I actually feel sorry for him because he's going to have a headache tomorrow.
Who gets annoyed by noise in the main restaurant doesn't have to go there.
Who wants more and more luxury, let him go to Antalya region. We want a clean room, a balcony, a clean toilet, and we want it near the beach.

So to conclude this letter, we have been in many hotels around the world and every time we've been once.
From 2008. in Egypt 2-3 times a year we only go to Sunrise hotels. Garden/Mamlouk and SRM. And never did we have stomach troubles, but we also didn't eat outside the hotel. And we never were disappointed.
Eagerly waiting September and our next vacation in Sunrise Select Royal Makadi.

Katarina & Luka Pantelic, Valjevo, Serbia

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyPantelic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear our valued guest,

Thank you very much that you have taken some of your precious time to post this charming reviews on trip advisor
It is really a pleasure to read it and we are very proud to receive your respected compliments.

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team is looking forward to welcoming you again and hopes to meet your expectations.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for any requests. We are happy to assist you!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Just returned from 2 weeks family holiday -absolutely LOVED it - the hotel pays special attention to the cleanliness of the hotel and up keep of the gardens - The complex is HUGE with everything you need on site!
Special mention to the Amazing Natalie, John, Momo, Bocca and Brown from the Animation Team they completely made our stay perfect making sure we were enjoying our holiday and that we had everything we needed - my 3 children adored them especially my 3 year old daughter Evie who took a shine to Momo and Natalie!! They really do look like they love their jobs and it must be such hard work in that heat having to walk around tending to everyone's needs!! My22 year old stepson now wants a job on the animation team lol!

The restaurants were clean and there was plenty choice of food - loved the idea of the kids corner in the main restaurant that served chicken nuggets chips pasta etc -would liked to have seen that section open the same length of time as the main part though it seem to only be open for a few hours !
We had our breakfast in the Mexican every morning as it was much more chilled and not as busy the staff there were very attentive especially Tamer Ahmed, Mahmood Hussain who looked after us every time we went in and Mohammed Asien who made the omelettes made my son laugh every morning he was such a delight - You can book the a la cartes every night if you wanted - we particularly liked the Mexican and Steakhouse.
You do get mithered by people wanting you to go on trips but if you get a red flag from the towel hut they are not allowed to bother you .
The boys went on quad bikes twice with Hussain who was such a lovely bloke he even helped us out with some remedies for Egyptian belly - Eric and Dave in the bag shop are really nice and will look after you even if you don't buy anything off them -we had an issue with some Sun cream we bought from one of the shops and Eric went with my hubby to sort it out for us!!
Overall a great holiday - we will definitely be booking again - thank you for an amazing time - The Hellam Family xxx

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Hellams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear our valued guest,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.
We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!
We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Just returned from 2 weeks stay and was fantastic. Hotel, pool & rooms outstanding. Animation team great especially Momo & Natalie couldnt do enough for you. All staff in general was very friendly and always asking if everything was ok and did we need anything. Would highly recommend.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear our valued guest,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.
We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!
We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
1.1 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 29 in Makadi Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
8.4 mi away
SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
0.6 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
8.2 mi away
Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort

Property: SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Address: Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 623, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#5 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#10 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 698
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Select Royal Makadi is located in the heart of Makadi bay. The hotel is built on relaxing landscape, with spectacular avers and fine sand beach for enjoyable vacation. Distance form Hurghada international Airport 30 minutes, from Hurghada downtown 35 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Royal Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay
Sunrise Makadi Bay
Sunrise Royal Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing