We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Holiday, Scorchingly Hot, Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Just returned from a 12 day stay at the Sunrise Royal. This is a beautiful hotel with a great layout, we went peak season and found out the Hotel had 1800 guests. Good thing was you did not know it.
Restaurant choice is quite extensive with the a la carte restaurants. Our room in block 37 was perfect although we were given this as an alternative on the first night as our first room in block 31 was not adequate.
One of the highlights about this holiday was how the staff react to any complaint or something that isnt quite right. They make sure the situation is mended, which was fantastic. The staff work incredibly hard and care about their work. One small negative was the shops, their limited choice and expense. We ventured to neighboring hotels where the prices were more reasonable.
The highlight of the holiday by far was the Boat trip with Blue Waves, worth every penny !!!!

Room Tip: If you are not happy with room, say so.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear our valued guest,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for your compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations!

As we are working constantly on improving our services to meet and exceed our guests' expectations, we appreciate your comments and have forwarded them to the concerned Department Heads.

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,686)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,886 - 2,892 of 7,686 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

I was very satisfied. Personnel were kind and helpful. Sea was warm and clean. Animation team were very good. I really liked evening shows. The best animators were Tata and Moresio :) Food was very fine. I am happy that i was there :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Petra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear our valued guest,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.
We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!
We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Wow, 1st time to Sunrise and we will be returning, We have returned from a 14 day stay Nothing was to much trouble for anybody. The staff where all very friendly and helpful, Restaurants where clean and food was delicious with plenty of choice from 7 al a carte to main buffet restaurant. Every where was cleaned to a high standard. Rooms where immaculate, spacious and very comfortable. The Animation team where A star, hard working, funny, caring, happy, and always keen to please there is too many to mention them all but we had many good times with Kareem at Aqua Gym, With Sabastian at water polo, both my children did Hip Hop with Brown, Momo who was great fun and a lovely gentleman, All the team are very talented and an asset to this Hotel. The Grounds where well maintained, pools where lovely and beach was only a 2 min walk with great facilities. we loved it here and looking forward to returning to our second home next year. Thanks

Room Tip: we where in Block 36 with a pool view this pool was a quieter pool. It was not far to walk to get to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hazel h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear our valued guest,

The SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Team would like to thank you for your valued and appreciated comments.

We hope to welcome you once again in the nearest future at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi and wish you all the best!


Sunny regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Just returned from a 10 day stay at the sunrise royal. What a fabulous resort, due to the amazing customer service. Nothing is too much trouble, everyone that works there are so happy, friendly, and they made our stay there so enjoyable.
The holiday was fantastic and this was mainly due to the animation team, who work so hard and are always happy, funny, they will go out of their way to make sure you are enjoying your stay. Special mention to the lovely John ( i will miss zumba with you, and thank you everything you did during our stay, what a lovely gentleman you are), Brown ( I will miss hip hop with you, I would have paid for that final class), Sebastian who my daughter loved so much, Boca what a fabulous entertainer and so talented, the gorgeous Gazal, and the rest of the team, they all work so hard. But I must mention the very very helpful Natalie who went out of her way to sort out a couple of problems i had there, she is an absolute star. Thank you Natalie.There is something going on from 10am everyday, archery, yoga, zumba, shuffleboard, water aerobics, darts. right through until 5pm.
I did have a little problem when i first arrived with the kids club, there are 3 kids clubs. One is only for Thomas cook guests ( i didn't book with Thomas Cook, i didn't want to pay their prices) To be fair you can join in with the Thomas Cook kids club if you want to pay £5 per session. Then there is one just for czech guests? and then one for everyone else. But when i arrived they said no english, but Natalie sorted this out, and in the end my daughter had a great time when she visited it thanks to the kids rep Tao. But they don't have a lot of equipment in the kids club so they do the best entertaining the kids with what resources they have. and again the work so hard all day with the children. Compared to the TC club which has x-boxes and lots of equipment, but only have one morning and afternoon session.

The food was great and lots of variation, i think there is 6 or 7 a la carte restaurants , but you have to book them early to get a table especially if you are a large family like we were, but if you speak to guest services they will do their best to help you.
Breakfast was my kids favourite meal of the day, there was so much to choose from, freshly cooked omelettes, pancakes, pastries, cereals, salads, porridge, plus more. My tip(there are two venues for breakfast the main restaurant, which is a little busy or the much quitter mexican, which has exactly the same food, but is soooo much quieter)
The only gripe about the main restaurant is dealing with the Russian guests, they are so greedy and will just push in front of people queueing. But you just have to laugh at them.
Drinks are great, they are not watered down, lovely cocktails for adults and kids, and there are lots of bars so no long queues.

The accommodation is fairly basic and could do with updating, but it was very clean, Mohammed was our cleaner and he was amazing, i wish i could have taken him home, the fridge was refilled everyday, and the laundry service was A1. I git everything washed and ironed the day before i left.
Lots of excursions on offer. Our best day of the whole holiday was the day trip to orange island with Blue Wave, we booked with Abdullah. I can recommend this, it was amazing. snorkelling, beautiful beaches,wonderful lunch cooked on board, fishing. this was definately made even better by the best rep Barracka aka Aquaboy.

Sadly out of the 10 of us 5 of us were ill, but i do not believe this was anything to do with the hotel, but due to just being in Egypt. and i have since found out that most people go straight to the pharmacy and get some sort of tablet on their first day to compensate for this. Wish i had known.
I would highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Block 10 is nearest to the family pool and slides
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank katrina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear our valued guest,

Thank you for your feedback.
Our whole team is extremely committed to deliver the perfect vacation experience for our precious guests.
We are very sorry, that we didn’t meet your expectations.
The SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort is wishing you and your family all the best back home and hope to welcome you again at our resort.

With best regards
Hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

it has been really a great Holiday at SunRise Royal Makady..My first time Visiting but sure will not be the Last

Great Service with very kind staff

we stayed at block 15..very nice pool view

Animation team is very very good

Food and drinks are mostly every where..with high quality & quantity

for sure this Holiday will be repeated again

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank George_Mikhael_Zaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear our valued guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions about SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort.
We are happy that you enjoyed your vacation.
We are looking forward to see you again.
With sunny regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

we were at SRM for two wonderful weeks in july, this was our second visit and things just keep getting better..
FOOD..the resturants are brilliant loved the ala carts my favourites were Italian and Asian.
ROOMS... the bedroom are spacious and spotlessly clean, we were a large family group and had rooms in blocks 11 & 12
POOLS.. we spent most of our time round the main pool, there was reconstruction work around family pool, although this caused no disruption even in our rooms witch backed onto the work.
TRIPS... had a fab time on the dessert quad bikes and an excellent boat trip booked through blue waves.

LASTLY AND MOST IMPORTANTLY......THE AMAZING, FABULOUS ANIMATION TEAM!!!!!!!
they really are the hardest working guys, too many to mention but a quick mention for John & Natalie for their daily chats, Kareem for nagging me to do water gym daily!!!, Sylvie for her amazing dancing at the pool party and not forgetting the talented Ghazal for the wonderful music played in the lobby bar (a new touch this year) this has made the lobby bar a great place to sit and have a cocktail whilst listening to a great musician.

CAN'T WAIT TO RETURN ....already looking to come back soon

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank danielle b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear our valued guest,

The SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Team would like to thank you for your valued and appreciated comments.

We hope to welcome you once again in the nearest future at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi and wish you all the best!


Sunny regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Currently at the hotel but wanted to send in some feedback as a returning guest. All staff are quick to address any issues that you may have and work around the clock to keep their customers happy, even when the hotel is running at 100%!!

The food is fantastic in the al a carte restaurants and the new menus that have been introduced are great.

Thank you to Mr. Said and all of his staff, including Waleed the bell captain, Ahmed Abd El Ftah at the Pergola bar, Sylvie in animation, and Syntia and Mohamed Ali in guest services. We truly feel this is our second home and are looking forward to enjoying the rest of our holiday here and many more in the future. Thanks again!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear our valued guest,

The SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Team would like to thank you for your valued and appreciated comments.

We hope to welcome you once again in the nearest future at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi and wish you all the best!


Sunny regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
0.3 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
0.6 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#5 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,532 reviews
8.3 mi away
SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#31 of 221 in Hurghada
2,718 reviews
11 mi away
SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
2.4 mi away
Baron Palace Sahl Hasheesh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort

Address: Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 623, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range: £53 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 698
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Select Royal Makadi is located in the heart of Makadi bay. The hotel is built on relaxing landscape, with spectacular avers and fine sand beach for enjoyable vacation. Distance form Hurghada international Airport 30 minutes, from Hurghada downtown 35 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Royal Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay
Sunrise Makadi Bay
Sunrise Royal Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing