We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Animation team are the best ever and a credit to the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Animation team are the best ever and a credit to the hotel”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Have just returned from a fortnight at the Sunrise and have nothing but praise for all of the staff.
The animation team are the best I have ever come across and all other hotels should pay Sunrise a visit of how it is done.
They are an extended arm of the customer service, and should you have any issues they will do what they can to sort.
This was our first visit to Egypt so didn't know really what to expect even though people had told us you never know until you experience it yourself.
Hurghada airport was an experience in itself my advice, have your 25$ in your passport and go to the bank desk only. Unfortunately you will have to queue and expect the Russians to queue jump. Once you have your visa head for the queue at immigration control. We were told you can get your visa stamps before you go, but not 100% sure on that although will be checking it out for our return.
On arrival at Sunrise we were met with welcome drinks and fresh towels which was very welcoming, whilst our rooms were allocated. We were shown to our room, we had requested at booking a first or second floor apartment through Thomas Cook. Once we were shown to our room we had been allocated a ground floor room. We went to reception on our way to get food and asked if it was possible to change. Hashim and Sayed in reception sorted this for us with no arguements and were only too pleased to help, but due to it being late that was done the following day.
We had a standard room with a queen size bed and single for our son, the room itself was ample for us, with plenty of cupboard space, air conditioning and free safe deposit box. They could do with a bit of a spruce up but I know at some point this will be looked at. The complex itself is huge so to do that will take time.
There are 3 pools to choose from, we experienced family pool 1 where the slides are and the new aqua park will be. The aqua park is in progress and where the work is it is all covered, in the whole 2 weeks and in block 10 we could see the shielding but heard no work being done and was no way a disruption, I understand the aqua park is due to complete in either September or October and I believe the area will be closed when they are completing. There is a pool bar and snack area during the day and this is where the T Bones a la carte is for the evenings. The slides that are still in operation were more than adequate for our 8 year old and we completely lost him for the whole time they were open.
We also experienced the main pool which was my favourite due to the relaxed nature of the area, there was always something going on be it aqua aerobics or water polo. Getting sun beds could be testing but it was the first 2 weeks of the school holidays, it was also a national egyptian holiday so there were a lot of locals about as well, but we did manage to get them.
The beach is on hand and great although try and get yourself some sand shoes as the sand is blistering hot which is to be expected when its 40 degrees. If you turn left out of the hotel and go to the beach of the hotel next door there is live coral which makes for excellent snorkelling, our son saw nemo there and was over the moon. There are always sun beds available at the beach.
In the evenings we spent our time at The Victoria Pub where we met Mohammed and may I say you couldn't wish to meet a nicer person, he will serve you cocktails and drinks and even went and got us peppermint tea for when our Bellys weren't quite right, which I put down to heat and a change to what we are used to only. He is a credit to the hotel and we miss him and his smile and thank him immensely and pleased to call him our friend. The Victoria Bar has 2 pool tables which you pay for by the hour and the tv's and I believe they show the football in there when the time comes. The air conditioning wasn't working on a couple of occasions but when we addressed this with the animation team, they soon sorted it, although it could do with a bit more chill to it.
We watched a few of the evening shows which offers great variety and caters for everyone. There is also the mini disco for the little ones and the night club for the older ones after 11.
Onto the animation team what can I say, you can get involved with as little or as much as you want, there are fitness classes, shuffleboard, pool, darts, water polo, volleyball the lists are endless. The team will always try and involve you. They will become your friends. Kareem, Moresio, Sepastian and Mono THANK YOU you made our holiday memorable. You helped us when we needed it and we cannot wait to come back next year, will hopefully be sorting it next week.
I know the hotel are constantly looking to make improvements and they rely on the guests to assist them with that. We look forward to seeing them.
The food is ok and reasonable choice, we favoured the Asian a la carte.
All in all a fantastic holiday for us although others may think it a little dated in places but the staff and atmosphere make it. You have to experience it to appreciate it.
Keep it up guys and we hope to see you next year

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sonia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear our valued guest,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for your compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations!

As we are working constantly on improving our services to meet and exceed our guests' expectations, we appreciate your comments and have forwarded them to the concerned Department Heads.

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,959 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,175
    1,120
    439
    134
    91
See reviews for
3,480
2,002
110
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,161)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Szigetvar, Hungary
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

At the end of June we had possibility to have a wonderful week in this hotel. I was so exciting before it, becouse I read lots things on internet, and it was a new country for me. We arrived to the hotel just midnight, we got a room and went to sleep. So next morning we discovered the area of the hotel. It was so nice at night too, with the romantic lights around the pool. It was really nice. Our room was a little bit far from the beach -but from the balcony I could see the sea-, so we went a big round with the hotel map.:) By the way the room was clean always, and the cleaner staff work hard too always.The hotel area is so nice, lots gardener work on it, but its really a lovely place. The hotel has lots green area, and the hotel area is soo big, so we never felt that there is too much people, but the hotel was on full. (We experienced it only at dinner on the restaurant-sometimes it was hard to find a free table.) The food in the hotel is really excellent, with large assortment. There are so nice cakes, cookies, fruits. And every day there is pancake, donuts at brekfast; at afternoons ice-cream, pizza. There are local meals, fish, and lots things wich is same than in Europe. The seaside is beautiful, and who dont want to go to the seaside, they have possibility to enjoy the lots different swimming pools too. The hotel has free internet points too (for wifi), but unfortunately it works rarely, or it was so slow. The staff is helpful, if we had some problems they tried to help. Unfortunately we havent got animator who speak our mother language with us, and our tourist guide didnt inform me about anything about the hotel or the country. So big thanks who helped for us, when we had some questions.From morning till night there are lots animation programs in the hotel, there are lots different programms in the same time. /For example stretching, belly dance, latin dance, water polo, wolleyball, aqua aerobic, arabic lesson, zumba, hip hop, yoga and etc../ At evenings there is evening show -before it mini disco for the kids-. The all animaition team work hard, especially Boca who is an energy bom, and always so funny (he likes wear to the entertainers program funny costums) , and of course Mido, Mostafa, Karem, John, the animator girls from Europe Tata, Silvi, Olga, Elena, Ina and etc. So it was a fantastic week, but it was a little bit short. So we must to go back here one day again, maybe next summer inchallah. :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear our valued guest,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for your compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations!

As we are working constantly on improving our services to meet and exceed our guests' expectations, we appreciate your comments and have forwarded them to the concerned Department Heads.

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We've been there for the 4 times and we were satisfied again. Everything is great. Hotel and rooms are clean and staff is good also. If you have any problem, they help you. I have to mention the main restaurant. I like a great choose of food and everyone finds something it Iikes. And if you want to eat something special you can choose one of the 6 special restaurant (for example asian, arabic or steak restaurant). The best thing in Sunrise is an animation team. It's the best team, they are friendly, kind and always full of energy! They have everything good prepaired and there is always something to do. Thank to Kareem, Silvie, Brown, Momo and other members of animation team. We always feel here like at home and the next year we'll come back for sure.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristynkaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear our valued guest,

The SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Team would like to thank you for your valued and appreciated comments.

We hope to welcome you once again in the nearest future at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi and wish you all the best!


Sunny regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Everything went right this holiday, especially the animation team. Mido Brown, Jamaica, Sebastian and Moresio, they work so hard and such long hours i dont know how they manage it! The rooms were very clean and the meals are extremely nice, especially the Asian and the Mexican. My family and I will be returning next year and i am already excited! See you soon guys!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worsel4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear our valued guest,

The SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Team would like to thank you for your valued and appreciated comments.

We hope to welcome you once again in the nearest future at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi and wish you all the best!


Sunny regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2014

It was a great vacation, the hotel is clean, well people are trying to make is comfortable, service was great also the staff. The room I returned with joy, because she was always so nice tidy and decorated, animations were equally interesting entertainers. I want to expose the animator Kareem, he was always friendly, reliable, and always took care of us was nice. It was interesting to play water polo also because we always laughed, and despite winning / losing, have a good time .. All entertainers have been very friendly, as well as all employees!

Room Tip: Rooms on thewest side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alaria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear our valued guest,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.
We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!
We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hadleigh, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Just returned from a 12 day stay at the Sunrise Royal. This is a beautiful hotel with a great layout, we went peak season and found out the Hotel had 1800 guests. Good thing was you did not know it.
Restaurant choice is quite extensive with the a la carte restaurants. Our room in block 37 was perfect although we were given this as an alternative on the first night as our first room in block 31 was not adequate.
One of the highlights about this holiday was how the staff react to any complaint or something that isnt quite right. They make sure the situation is mended, which was fantastic. The staff work incredibly hard and care about their work. One small negative was the shops, their limited choice and expense. We ventured to neighboring hotels where the prices were more reasonable.
The highlight of the holiday by far was the Boat trip with Blue Waves, worth every penny !!!!

Room Tip: If you are not happy with room, say so.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear our valued guest,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for your compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations!

As we are working constantly on improving our services to meet and exceed our guests' expectations, we appreciate your comments and have forwarded them to the concerned Department Heads.

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slovakia
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I was very satisfied. Personnel were kind and helpful. Sea was warm and clean. Animation team were very good. I really liked evening shows. The best animators were Tata and Moresio :) Food was very fine. I am happy that i was there :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear our valued guest,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.
We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!
We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
1.1 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
874 reviews
0.6 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#5 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,282 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
2.4 mi away
Baron Palace Sahl Hasheesh
11.5 mi away
SUNRISE Garden Beach Resort -Select-
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort

Property: SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Address: Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 623, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 698
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Select Royal Makadi is located in the heart of Makadi bay. The hotel is built on relaxing landscape, with spectacular avers and fine sand beach for enjoyable vacation. Distance form Hurghada international Airport 30 minutes, from Hurghada downtown 35 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Royal Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay
Sunrise Makadi Bay
Sunrise Royal Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing