We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“faaaaaaantaaaaastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Makadi Bay
cheshire
Level Contributor
246 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“faaaaaaantaaaaastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2010

after going to sharm for five years this place really takes it.WOW.MR WEISER ,THE GENERAL MANAGER is trying to improve the hotel experience.as it is now in the opinion of our party. 12 persons this place has it all NOW.round the world was the best buffet restaraunt on site,due to its atmosphere and staff,main restaraunt was a lot larger and very busy at all sittings.of the three a la cartes,couldnt choose between the asian,or mediteranean,both were excellemt from the food,staff everything was perfect on both occasions,the italian on the night we went was a bit below,the food/menu was superb but we couldnt decide whether it was short staffed or the staff were badly run??did 2 trips,quad bikes,booked this through oasis safari,which is based just through the lobby head towards the pool,they are on the right.they only have 7 quads and they are on the hotel site,so no bussing to get to them,when we went there were 4 of us plus the guide.we also chartered a boat for the day ,called blue sky licensed for 30 people
we had 12,this was amazing,all day trip,fishing,snorkelling stop,paradise island,and luch thrown in.after looking at all the other boats with lots of people on them this was the most fantastic trip.we booked this through KHALED who works for blue-waves.com who operate off the beach,by the divide between,the sunrise and tia heights hotel,their office looks like a boat!!!no problems getting sunbeds either on beach or by main pool complex.MR WEISER if you look at this ,many thanks,think about the I-pod/usb docks in rooms

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank todareistodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,096 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,378
    1,073
    423
    133
    89
See reviews for
2,898
1,849
103
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,132)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2010

Well what can i say first holiday All inclusive and to Egypt and i couldnt fault it.

Short journey from airport which always makes a difference, on arrival at the hotel the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. They great you with a welcome drink and sort the check in for you. They then take you to your room where your luggage follows shortly afterwards. We were lucky enough to have to have a large 2 bedroom room, well you could almost call it apartment. The rooms were immaculately clean and bathroom was fantastic with large walk in shower.

The hotel is set on a large complex and if like us you have a room further a field it can take a few mins to walk to the main reception/dining room etc.
However this meant the place was quiet and not too crammed and there were also plenty of sunbeds around the pool.

The food was very nice, the main restaurant had a large selection for breakfast, lunch and tea. However for your evening meal i would recommend the a la carte restaurants, the food was delicious, well presented and the atmosphere was great. I preferred these as the main restaurant got busy and it felt a bit "canteen" like. We thought the Asian and the Italian were the best out of the three.

I could write a longer review but i would only be repeating what others have said about what to do and how the hotel runs. I dont have any critisms of this hotel whatsoever...i would thoroughly recommend this to anyone of any age and would definately go back.

Try it you will enjoy.....

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gunner29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2010

Just returned from our first holiday with our six year old grandaughter and would recommend this hotel to any grandparent/parent with a child who loves water. The heated children's pool felt totally safe and secure and although much colder she also loved the large pool with slides. The beach area was nice although a little cramped-the sun beds could have been further apart.
We ate at each of the a la cart restaurants and whilst great for us we found the choice for a fussy child a bit limited, however the main self service restaurant was excellent and the special dietry requirements catered for very quickly.
We would especially like to mention Valentino, one of the hotels resident photographers, who took some of the most amazing shots of Jessica. Choosing a selection proved to be the most testing time of the whole holiday!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camelkiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2010

This review is a little late however as I have been reading lots of reviews on this site I thought it was about time I wrote about my last holiday. Last June my friend and I flew from Manchester to Hurghada with Thomascook, the plane was a boeing 757-200.
Arrival at Hurghada airport around 4pm and the temperature was 36C no clouds and a light breeze. A bus took all passengers to the terminal building where everyone had to queue to buy a visa which cost £13; change was given for anyone handing a note over. The next queue was for passport control. I would estimate that the time between arriving in the building and reaching the baggage area was about 40 minutes and by this time we found that there were many cases going around on the carousel and also many cases on the floor in the centre of the room, we found our cases on the floor, this was probably because there was not enough room on the carousel for all the cases as no one was collecting there baggage as they were in the visa / passport control queues.
Once outside the terminal we found a Thomascook representative who told us the coach number and where the bus was. The walk to the bus was about 2 minutes.
With the exception of a check point half way between Hurghada and Makadi Bay which we were waved through The Sunrise Royal Makadi was the first stop and I would say around 20 people got off with us. The complex is on the edge of the desert; one second you’re driving down a sandy road and the next you see some green grass and an archway which has a barrier across. There was a guard that lifted the barrier for busses etc. Immediately inside the gate the tennis courts are on the left and a parking area to the right. Further on to the left you come to the largest block which surrounds the large pool with the slides, this is block 10 where we stayed and most if not all of the other people that arrived with us. On the other side of the road is another block with its own pool, before we went I had not seen any pictures of this block and has only appeared on Google Earth recently so therefore assume this is a newer addition to the hotel and it appeared to house families with children. At the time we went there were very few children on site.
The bus stopped in the centre of the complex outside reception which I understand had just been extended. Our luggage was left outside under the canopy while we went in, our passports were taken and we were given a drink and cool towel to wipe our faces. We then received our room access card, towel cards and a basic plan of the complex. As there were quite a lot of us just arrived we were guided to our rooms in groups on the way we were told what the resort had to offer, bars, restaurants, opening times etc. About 2 minutes after arriving in the room our cases arrived, we gave a tip £2 English pounds I think. There are 3 floors in block 10 we were on the middle floor. The corridors leading to the rooms are open to the outside world on one side which I thought was really nice compared to many other hotels that have rooms on both sides of a dark corridor, I don’t suppose they have to worry about bad weather here.
On entering the room there was a square kind of hallway to the left were the drawers and cupboard space, there was plenty of room for our clothes and bits and pieces. The safe was in the centre cupboard and was a 4 digit code which you set yourself. There was a slot by the door which you insert the room key card into so that the electric appliances operate. Facing the door was the bathroom which had a walk in shower about 1.5 metre in length with curtain and obviously a toilet and sink. To the right of the hall space was the main sleeping area with 2 single beds, 2 chairs with table. There was also a dressing table with more drawers; the television was to the left of this with the fridge underneath. 2 bottles of water were put in the fridge every day, there were also 2 bottles of coke, 2 fizzy orange and 2 lemonade bottles which were replaced less often. In the corner of the room there was another cabinet that we used to keep our cases on.
Although we didn’t use the television much there were various channels available however not many English channels we only used Euronews to see how bad the weather was at home.
The balcony which looked over the pool had a small square table and 2 chairs which were metal with a cushion not the usual plastic you get elsewhere. Drying clothes, towels etc on the balcony was very easy as the air is so dry it takes no time at all. The room was cleaned everyday and towels replaced daily if you put them in the place you’re told to.A chocolate was put on our pillows on our next to last day.

The resort is large, much larger than I expected really however was very quiet if you wanted to move to a different area of the resort during the day a sunbed was never a problem we switched between pool areas and beach regularly. The pool in the centre of block 10 was very quiet all day no music or games going on, the pool nearer the beach was livelier. The umbrellas are fixed to the ground and are wooden and all sunbeds were in good condition.

Between the pool area and beach is a path which if you turn to the right will take you towards the Tia Heights hotel and if you walk to the left you will end up on the best stretch of sand in front of the Fort Arabesque hotel. Although you cannot use the beds here it is great for a short walk and going in the sea swimming around the coral looking at the coloured fish. The beach in front of the hotel is okay where the beds are however is a little hard and rough to walk on nearer the sea as there is a little dead coral however once in the water it is great I didn’t see any fish here though probably as there is no coral for them.

The swimming pools were cleaned every day and looked fantastic and had swim up bars. The water was not as warm as the sea however certainly was not cold and was lovely to cool off after a few hours in 32 – 38C as it was every day of our stay.
The pool attendants were great very helpful and always happy to chat with you and have a joke.
We found that if we sat around the pool nearest the beach or on the beach you had visitors from people selling trips, a polite no thanks sends them on there way though if your not interested. There was also a chap selling newspapers, he walked around and had the “The Express” etc. I don’t know what he was charging though.

Although there were many restaurants available we went to the main buffet most nights, there was always something to eat, not as good as other hotels i have been to in countries however cannot compare it to other Egypt hotels as I haven’t been to any. No one should go hungry at this hotel.

The evening entertainment took place in an outside amphitheatre some nights it was okay and others we just headed for one of the bars instead.
There are 2 bars close to the reception area which have cocktails and many imported drinks and spirits the service at both of these was excellent. As soon as you sat down a waiter came over and when you finish your drink they are ready to take the next order, this was without tipping as well.
At night time the outside pool bar was very busy, we only went there once.
There was an English style pub (Victoria Pub) which had 2 pool tables and larger was served in large heavy glasses however on occasions was quite smokey not like an english pub at home now.
Next to the Victoria pub was a disco that opened around 11pm it is quite small however has a DJ and the bar once again had many drinks on offer.

During our 2 week stay we went on a Wednesday afternoon excursion to a Bedouin camp in the desert via a 4x4 we left around 2pm and returned about 8pm. On the following Saturday and Sunday we went on the 2 day Luxor trip and on the flowing Wednesday went on the Mahmaya boat trip. All of these trips were great and I would recommend all of them. To give you an idea of the cost we paid around £180 each for these 3 trips, please note this included a little discount as we booked them during the Thomascook welcome meeting.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Denbighshireboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2010

Making the 30 minute coach transfer down to Makadi Bay, we are no strangers to the intriguing scenery, comprising mainly of desert, but scattered with incomplete buildings and hotel complexes, which must, for some be a shocking first image of this Red Sea resort. Although some are clearly part way through build, some look so old, it's hard to imagine that they haven't serviced a decade or more and gone derelict, although I'm sure this isn't the case. Having visited the Red Sea four times previously, although our first time to Makadi Bay, this sight was reassuringly familiar, but no less curious.

The same feelings of anxiousness wash over as we pull into the Sunrise Royal Makadi Resort, how will this compare to our previous Red Sea holidays? One thing is for sure, it has a tough act to follow, with us having previously enjoyed the likes of the Hyatt Regency complexes in Sharm el Sheikh and Taba Heights, which certainly do not cease to amaze. First impressions are good, however, this place is certainly huge. As the coach draws to a halt in front of the hotel, several members of hotel staff form a welcoming party, clapping and chanting, with beaming smiles, greeting people personally and with the hotels signature greeting 'Welcome home'. We’re off to a fantastic start.

I do hope the one or two negative comments I have to make only serve to hone this resort into being better and stronger than it already is.

Moving into the main reception area, this place is grand, easily on the same scale as the Hyatt. Marble floors, counters and stunning decor are reminiscent of a palace. We made our way to the Reception desk, where the staff requested our passports, which we handed over and were ushered away to take a seat with very little explanation as to what would happen next. There we sat. Then we were greeted by Mohammad, a young an extremely cheerful soul, draped in very typical Egyptian attire and sporting a tray with glasses of juice, which he was handing out to the waiting guests. Stopping for a brief chat with everyone, Mohammad clearly doesn't lack confidence, little did we know just how good a friend we would find in Mohammad during our stay. Regularly doing a pass of the entire complex with a tray of fruit or cakes, always smiling and jolly, despite the very long hours he (as with all Egyptian staff) works, in these fierce temperatures. Quite the showman too, once he has cleared his tray of the goodies that he is handing out, he showboats by spinning the tray on one finger with great confidence, making a great ice-breaker, distracting from our wondering as to exactly how the check-in procedure would work. After a worryingly lengthy period, we were given a pack containing our room card and other essential things needed for our stay and were taken to our room, without our bags, these would follow shortly after with one of the Sunrises super efficient bellboys. Then came our first fantastic surprise. Despite only booking a twin room, we were checked into a family suite and very nice it was too. As we made the journey from Reception to our room, we were in awe of the sheer size of this place. Each 'sector' of the hotel is only a short walk from its own pool, each of which has its own towel station and bar. Some have more features, like water slides and the like. The cleanliness is evident. The gardeners and grounds staff are meticulous, clearly. Cutting and shaping hedges, washing paths, scrubbing walls, they are always busy. You’d barely know that you are virtually in the middle of the desert!

Our room was on the third floor, which was as high as our block went, infact I think the whole complex tops out at three floors. It overlooked the pool and, with its height, had good views of a good portion of the complex. Entering the room, the first ‘bedroom’ had 2 single beds of generous proportions and various items of furniture, including a TV with around 50 channels available. Of these, only a couple are English spoken and really not to our taste (Political News and Current Affairs), but we found a couple of good music channels to provide ambient music for the short times our room was used, other than for sleeping. A short hallway clad with wardrobes, a shelved area, a coded safe and mini-bar (replenished daily up to your all-inclusive allowance), housed the door to the bathroom, which was nicely spaced and with a roomy shower. The fixtures and fittings are of extremely nice quality, but the typical Egyptian ‘workmanship’ is evident in the way the rooms are ‘assembled’. Being a bit meticulous, I find it hard to imagine how, in some areas of the accommodation, it is possible to do things so badly! This doesn’t detract from your enjoyment, just be aware that this isn’t London, Paris or New York. The hallway leads into the second bedroom, which has a bed that can only really be described as ‘epic’. As a couple that sleep close, we found that the bed is definitely over-big, but was a nice luxury. A second TV sits on further drawered furniture, ensuring that there is masses of storage space. Most of which went unused by us, as it does by most I imagine. A large patio door leads the way to the patio area, which was small and largely only any use for gazing out over the complex, well, that’s my opinion anyway. A table and a couple of chairs were there, but we never used these.

There are two main restaurants in the complex, the ‘Main Restaurant’ and the ‘Around the World’ restaurant. The Main Restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and the choices are abundant. Pretty much everything you could imagine really, certainly something for everyone. Nicely presented and prepared by Sunrises team of extremely competent kitchen staff. We quickly found this restaurant, as with the whole complex, to be mainly populated by foreigners, Germans, Russians, Italians etc and as much as I wish I could avoid stereotyping, our experience here is no different to that which I wrote about in my review of the Calimera Habiba in Marsa Alam. They are almost all rude beyond belief, without the ability to even extend a courteous ‘Hello’ and ‘Thank you’ is unheard of. We soon got VERY bored of this and were grateful of what would turn out to be one of the Sunrises best kept secrets. The ‘Around the World’ restaurant. Situated on the far side of the complex, on the walk towards the beach, this restaurant hosts breakfast and dinner. It is on a smaller scale than the main restaurant, but far nicer. It is open-air and providing you don’t mind dining with resident avian wildlife, then you’ll find it far more tolerable. It is populated by mainly English and with a smaller choice of food, but it was certainly our chosen place for breakfast from the moment we discovered it. Run by Hossam, a true gentleman, this restaurant is a credit to the whole complex. If you don’t want the hustle and bustle of the main restaurant, but a more personal feel, this is for you. Hossam holds a good few years experience at this and it shows. He keeps everything in check and has time to talk to you too. Ahmed, the ‘Captain’ is another great character here and along with his fantastic team of waiters, you’ll want for nothing. Fresh tea, coffee and juices are abundant with refills offered the moment you put down your empty cup, sometimes before! We enjoyed Omelettes and Pancakes every day, cooked by Yasser and Sabry, these were typical of what we’ve found in all the Red Sea resorts we’ve stayed in and one of the highlights of our daily culinary enjoyment. Fresh bread, salad, cheeses, meats, fruits and much more besides are on offer too.

The complex boasts 3 Ala-Carte restaurants, any of which can be enjoyed as part of the all-inclusive package. They just require booking in advance. This reservation is made in the Main Reception the day before the required day (so book on Tuesday morning for a table on Wednesday evening for example) and spaces fill up fast, so the trick is to make sure you have breakfast out of the way ready to join the queue at 9.45 when it opens. However, as a further bit of useful advice, there is usually a second shorter queue on the opposite side of reception that many don’t know about. This queue tends to move more slowly, but you’ll soon judge which queue is best to stand in. Either way, you’ll queue for around 20 minutes mostly. We ate in the Mediterranean once and enjoyed the Italian and Asian restaurants twice. The décor in all three is fantastic and plush. The staff are familiar as they have attended other parts of the hotel earlier in the day too, which adds another welcome ice-breaker. The choice of food is good and the standard is also good. I certainly wouldn’t like to compare it to a mid/high end UK restaurant, but it has all the potential to provide a lovely night out. We favoured these restaurants as we like to sit down and eat together, which is difficult in a buffet style format. Our last night at the Sunrise was spent in the Asian restaurant, having had a great meal there the previous time. Whilst I was highly fascinated by the Tepanyaki section in the middle of the restaurant (not part of the all-inclusive), we didn’t have such a good meal second time around. We had practically finished our main course by the time our accompanying rice arrived and it was really not nice. They had clearly forgotten it first time around and substituted our ‘steamed rice’ with ‘fried rice’, but it was hard and inedible. Shame as it spoilt our image of an otherwise great restaurant. We complained, our comments were noted and we moved on.

Daytimes were a bit tricky for a fussy eater, like me. The Around the World restaurant doesn’t serve lunch, so it’s either the Main Restaurant, along with its hustle and bustle of rude foreigners or the Pergola Bar. The choice at the Pergola bar was OK, generally freshly cooked Pizza or Burgers/Hot-dogs/Kebabs, but I had a bad Pizza, so was reluctant to try again. The stone ovens are kept clean in a slightly unusual fashion, using a mop/bucket and some kind of disinfectant preparation, which is a little cringe-worthy at first, but I’m sure they don’t use the same mop to clean floors! However, if you have a Pizza soon after this cleaning has taken place, you’ll taste the cleaner in the Pizza. Either way, I could smell it and it’s off-putting. Bar staff in the Pergola bar include Belal, who appears to be what we’d know as a supervisor, and a fantastic and friendly team, including Islam and Moustafa, who, again, cannot do enough to help you, which really is the general theme of the whole resort, with very few exceptions. I really think these people love their jobs so much and I find their warmth and enthusiasm humbling.

Chef Ayman oversees all of the restaurants and can be seen regularly touring each and every one of them, stopping off for a friendly chat along the way. Ayman is another highly competent and professional individual, this appears to be a common theme at the Sunrise Royal Makadi Resort.

Our evenings generally consisted of dining at our chosen restaurant, followed by drink at any one of our regular bars, the choice became difficult as we made so many friends in the Sunrise staff. Regrettably we didn’t take the time to check out the resorts entertainment programme, our loss as we went on to discover. On the last night we were there it was a Chinese Circus who were fantastic and far beyond any in-resort entertainment I have ever encountered, even at the Hyatt. It was the type of act you’d pay for tickets to go and see. The night before we had caught a glimpse of what appeared to be an African tribal dance troupe of some sort, but by the time we saw it, it had virtually finished. Visitors to the Sunrise Royal Makadi Resort should definitely take the time to check the arena out of an evening. It gets busy and seats are in demand, but from what we saw, you’d be better to check it out early in your holiday or else regret it as we did! For those that just can’t let go of their homeland, the Victoria Pub will give you a little bit of a homely feel, with Darts boards, Table Tennis and Pool Tables. The barman in here (Famzy I think) was very popular with my wife, as he, without any shadow of doubt, made the most impressive cocktails on the resort.

Our room was at the front of the hotel, not too far from the main gate into the complex. This meant a fairly lengthy walk to breakfast and indeed to the beach, but in both cases, the sheer magnitude of the surroundings, along with the friendly staff encountered along the way made this walk a pleasure. However, we learnt to navigate our route so as to avoid the corral of shops and tour reps that is cunningly situated on the likely route from the Reception area to the main part of the complex. The staff of these shops can be a little pushy, although in a generally friendly and typical Egyptian style. We did find it a little tedious in the end, so took the avoidance option. The beach itself, although well-kempt and nicely furnished, was by far the busiest beach I have experienced in the Red Sea and really not to my taste. Again, packed largely with foreigners, we felt a little alienated and cramped. However, there is a grassy area behind the beach which had just been adorned with brand-new high quality loungers, which were mainly unpopulated. Still only a few seconds from the sea itself, these were our haven and for some reason very few other people used them. Maybe they thought they were for ‘special’ guests or something?! Either way, it suited us just fine. Periodically the yellow scaled-down ‘Hummer’ electric car can be seen touring the maze of paths within the grounds with the General Manager behind the wheel, a reassuring sight, just making sure that everyone is doing as they should. They generally are, so he has nothing to worry about.

Snorkelling from the Sunrise Royal Makadi Resort Beach is OK. For us, the gem of the Red Sea as far as house-reefs go, is the Hyatt Regency in Sharm el Sheikh. Of course this is beyond the control of the Sunrise, but still worthy of a snorkelling session. We did walk up the beach into the Fort Arabesque property, on the advice of our rep, but still found the tropical life average. Let’s not make any bones about this, the undersea sights are spectacular, but in the grand scheme of what is available in the Red Sea, it is nothing special. However, we did hire a Pedalo on our penultimate day and had an amazing time, snorkelling further along the coast, just off the jetty behind the Tia Heights property and were disappointed when our allotted time drew to an end. Water sports are plentiful and although we didn’t partake in anything else, there looks to be enough for everyone and of a high quality. One thing we wish we’d have done is the Sinbad Submarine excursion. Although not part of the Sunrise complex, it is apparently 100% submersible, unlike the other semi-submersible vessels on offer for such trips.

Do watch out for Mario and his henna tattoos on the beach though. He is a lovely guy and good at what he does, but on reflection, my wife and step-daughter wish they hadn’t bothered. For a fairly small tribal style tattoo, he wanted $50USD initially (surely this isn't much less than it would cost for a proper tattoo?), so we offered him $25, which he declined, then we walked off. He came and found us on the beach a little later and after a little further negotiation, he agreed to do both the original tribal tattoo on my Step-Daughter and a hand design for my wife for $25USD, with the suggestion that it would last for a month. We have been back in the UK for a couple of days now, having had the tattoo’s redone the day before we left (something they offer as standard) and I’d be surprised if these last until the end of the weekend, let alone a month! However, I don’t think he is employed by Sunrise, so don’t let this reflect badly on them!

Well, if you’ve read this far, you must be serious and in summary, this is one not to be missed. We met an English family who have been to the Sunrise Royal Makadi Resort several times since its opening and say that it matures a little more each visit, so this stunning jewel in the Makadi Bay crown will only get better. I just hope if the senior management read this review, they give their staff an almighty pat on the back as each and every one of them whole heartedly deserve it. We shed a few tears when we left.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank christianbeccy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2010

First time at this Red Sea Hotel but won't be the last. The staff were fantastic and looked after us from beginning to end of the holiday. Good selection at the buffet, catering for a very varied clientele - Russian, German, British in the main.

The main restaurant could get very busy and, following a tip from a Trip Advisor review, we soon decided to visit the Around the World Restaurant which is open for breakfast and evening meal. Far more leisurely and although not as mich choice there was always something to eat and it was always good. We were extremely well taken care of by Asmaa and Ahmed (he makes the best Irish Coffee I have ever tasted!)

There were always plenty of sunbeds by the pool and the sea and a Red Flag from the Towel booth really did stop any disturbance.

On a different note, I developed some sort of infection on the plane going over (probably recirculated air or something) This would have ruined my holiday but for the excellent treatment and follow up care by the Hotel Doctor, Dr Romany Emeel.
Don't be worried about cost of Doctor - I had better care than if I had been at home battling to get an appointment and appropriate treatment and it didn't cost the earth!.

Will definitely be going back to the Sunrise Makadi

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pauline009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2010

7 Days isn't enough time get the best from this hotel. We read other reviews prior to our trip and on return to UK would agree with most, it isn't 5 star compared with Hilton or Ritz standards but it is definately 5 star compared to the other hotels in the region. The staff were great, couldn't do enough to help although some of the older ones had to work hard on cracking a smile.
The food in the A La Carte resteraunts was very good but sometimes the service was slow. The main resteraunt meals were of a good standard and having seen what food was offered by other hotels it was actually very good.
The beach area is big enough for all guests to have a bed and recently added garden furniture scattered throughout the grounds is very tasteful. The swimming area is fine with plenty of coral and fish to see with the more colourful species being near the perimeter ropes in the deeper water. Anyone who ventures outside of the marked area is likely to get hit by a speed boat.
Our stay at the Sunrise Royal Makadi was fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Persian2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
1.1 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 29 in Makadi Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
8.4 mi away
SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
0.6 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
8.2 mi away
Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort

Property: SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Address: Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 623, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#5 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#10 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 698
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Select Royal Makadi is located in the heart of Makadi bay. The hotel is built on relaxing landscape, with spectacular avers and fine sand beach for enjoyable vacation. Distance form Hurghada international Airport 30 minutes, from Hurghada downtown 35 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Royal Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay
Sunrise Makadi Bay
Sunrise Royal Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing