We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel with exceptional service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jaz Makadi Star & Spa
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cairo
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel with exceptional service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2011

Just came back from a great 3 night stay at Jaz Makaddi Star with my wife and baby boy. The hotel is really nice with an exceptional customer service. Above all the people working at the hotel are very customer obsessed.

The Hotel is located in Madinet Makaadi which is around 30 KM from Hurghada, the compound is formed of around 9 hotels Jaz is a small hotel however a very nice one to stay at.

The hotel is more of a 4 star in European standards. we stayed at a double room for the first 2 nights which was of a very good size and a nice bathroom. We then upgraded to a royal suite with a private pool as it was my wife's birthday, I must say this was exceptional the bathroom was the same size as the entire double room we had the previous nights.

The beach is a 5-8 min walk from the hotel and there is a large pool at the center of the hotel which is large enough for everyone to enjoy. The majority of hotel guests are German, in addition to few Russians and British and nearly no locals except for us :)

The food was good but not great, I have had better food but don't worry its still nice. During our last dinner they prepared a surprise cake and some oriental show for my wife's birthday which really was great.

Overall I would highly recommend this hotel for a nice and quite stay at a great location in Egypt with great customer service.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mhashem6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    161
    29
    14
    3
See reviews for
121
398
36
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2011

We stayed for a week in late January and found the hotel quiet and relaxing. The grounds are beautifully maintained and there was always plenty of sunbeds at the pool and the beach throughout the day.

We stayed half-board and decided not to upgrade to all-inclusive as we felt it was only worth it if we wanted to drink lots of alcoholic drinks. We ate lunch at the pool bar on most days, which was limited choice but the food was good. We also went to the nearby supermarket for bottled water. The food at the hotel main restaurant was good; lots of choice and always topped-up.

The staff are friendly and work really hard to keep the place looking nice and the customers happy. The restaurant staff remembered our preferred drinks from the first day and always offered these thereafter. We mentioned to the staff we were going on a day trip to Luxor and they knew straightaway that we'd miss dinner as we'd be late back, and so told us that we could eat at the all-night cafe for no charge. We thought this was very thoughtful and kind of the hotel. Although the food wasn't the best at the cafe, it was better than nothing.

The beach is a five minute walk away on a path that goes through some of the other hotels. The walk is very pleasant as the other hotel grounds are also well-maintained.

We really enjoyed snorkelling off the beach as there are some fantastic fish around the reefs. Unfortunately, some of the reefs have died, this was no surprise as we saw several people standing on the coral! (please note that coral only grows 1cm a year). As you swim from the beach, the water gets deeper for a short while before becoming more shallow, at which point you will see the reef/fish. Once at the reefs, the further out you go, the better.

We took a snorkelling day trip to Giftun Island with the Tiger Marines, an aqua centre on the beach. It didn't take long for them to reduce their prices for us, so it's worth haggling a bit. The trip was great as they took us out on a boat from the jetty on the beach and we went to some wonderful reefs. The only bad bit for us was being dropped off at Giftun Island for an hour at the hottest part of the day. There's no shade on this beach and we were lucky we brought our hats! If you like snorkelling and lots of sun bathing then this trip is great. If you're just looking for snorkelling, try the beach first, then perhaps book a snorkelling-only trip with these guys. A similar trip is available that will take you to Mahmaya beach; from what we could see, this beach does have shade but is likely to cost more.

We played table tennis almost every day and didn't have to queue to use the table. We had a look around the gym which was surprisingly large and well-equipped with machines and weights, including fresh towels and a water dispenser.

The room was nice, and was equipped with a kettle/tea/coffee/mini-bar/safe/hairdryer. The TV had a good selection of english-speaking channels too.

If we went back to Hurghada for a winter sun holiday, we'd come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pink_snorkel_888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2011

We traveled to Hurghada for one week in January and we chose this hotel because of its reviews on TripAdvisor. We were searching for a relaxing place in winter for a couple of 28 y.o.

The hotel is located on the "Madirat Madaki" with other 6 or 7 hotels. Compared to most of them, Jaz is very quiet and calm, as most of its guests are couples (+ 50 y.o.) without children. There was plenty of space in the Swimming pool and the private beach for all the guests. We also played billiard and table tennis several times, and we never had to wait for someone else to finish. We really appreciated this.

The only negative thing I have to point out was some of the restaurant staff. Some of the men there think it is OK to flirt with the female guests, despite being with their boyfriend/husband. I would have never expected something like that from a 5star hotel and I found myself in very awkward positions during diner times, when waiters were coming to flirt with me while I was grabbing some food from the buffet. Again, this behavior is extended to most of the Egyptian men I saw, but I was surprised to see it too at the hotel restaurant.

The rest of the staff was nice and friendly, and they try their best to please the guests, specially at the reception.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2011

This is a great hotel. When you first arrive in the lobby it certainly has the wow factor. All the staff could speak English - mostly fluently and we found that there were several English guests although, yes it is mainly German. I dont find this a problem atall though. The layout was really lovely especially at night when all the lights are turned on. We felt very relaxed straight away and there had a lovely feel and atmosphere to it.

Food/Drink 10/10
We arrived on Christmas Eve. In the evening the hotel had a lovely display of cocktails with waiters serving aperitifs. The manager 'Wolfgang' welcomed all his guests in German, French and English and we then went into the restaurant. Wow is all I can say. The food was amazing with wonderful 'food' displays. Chefs cooked food fresh from two work stations, to your liking and there was so much choice. I would rate the food as 4/5 star.We were warned not to have ice or salad and certain fruits in Egypt. We chanced having the salad and fruit and had no problems with any stomach upset as everything was so clean and well prepared, but we didnt have any ice.

The Pool bar served burgers and salads and they did have the menu in English.

Room - all air conditioned. 7/10
The room was spacious, generally clean and light. I say generally because the floor had a layer of dust on it. I mentioned it to the guy who cleans the room and he cleaned it straight away. We requested a pool view room. Initially we wern't given what we wanted and faced the golf course, but we spoke to our rep from Hayes and Jarvis and he got us moved to the room we wanted.
The only down fall was the shower room. All it needed though was a re-grout and a new glass shower panel. The hairdryer only worked for 5 mins at a time, and you had to let it cool down for another 5 mins before you could use it again. We tried using the one we brought and the fuse blew. - not good if you have long hair.
The flat screen television was great - having several English channels including Fox Movies.
Minibar - Would recommend buying a large bottled water from the local minimart which is only a stones throw from the hotel, as you will need it to fill the kettle and to wash your teeth, as they charge too much at the hotel and also some semi skimmed milk as they only provide creamer (for coffee)


Mosquitoes - Bring a plug in (tablet form) and tropical spray repellant and apply on all exposed areas in the morning and evening, if you normally get bitten and kill any visible mosquitoes that are probably lurking in your bathroom. For the first time ever I came back with no bites whatsoever (I normally get 40 -50 bites when I go abroad)

The Spa 7/10
The spa was lovely. We booked 3 massages. Make sure you barter to at least half the price they quote. We paid £30 for 1hr and £40 for 90mins. They want your business, so stand firm!! I would recommend the hot stones and the cleopatra which were lovely.
Unfortunately we had to complain after the 3rd massage. I would have rated the spa 9/10 if it wasnt for this. The girls asked us if we had any more massages and we said it was the last one. They made hardly any effort with the massage. Chatting between themselves (my daughter and I were in the same room that had 2 beds) They did the scrub and left us there for over 20 mins. Later that day we were both red raw with an itchy rash. I feel this was because we should have rinsed off straight away.
The girls basically thought - 'oh this is their last massage so we wont bother' The management were horrified and said that they would be 'punished' and offered us free use of the spa. Dont let these comments put you off cause all you would have to do it
when the girls ask you if it is your last massage just say you have 2 more so that they do a good job !!!

Money for the spa - It is best to bring Euros and not Egyption pounds to pay for the spa as it is priced in Euros. They work out the cost with a higher exchange rate than what you would have got at home - so you end up paying more.

Money for the excursions - Are priced in pound sterling - so bring some English money with you aswell - for the same reason as above.

Hayes and Jarvis Rep. 1/10
He was called Rushdy. He was horrible, he should be called Rudey! Ourselves and another 2 English couples also agreed. They thought he was a con merchant. We tried to book an excursion on a sand buggy. The booking form said it was £76 for two people but he said it had gone up to £110. I asked him to honour the price quoted and he wouldnt do it. So we didnt go.

Excursions 8/10
Would recommend the Aqua park excursion. Not many slides but we still had fun and was excellent value for money - £28 for the whole day including all you can eat lunch and drinks. The restaurant inside was far better both for the food and drink than at the bar. The Galactic stars and dinner was also good (£32)- although the food wasnt great. We went by a convoy of 4 jeeps which was great fun. It was very interesting meeting the local people and we had a short camel ride. The evening finished looking through some telescopes - but dont expect to see anything any clearer than with the naked eye!

The staff 9/10
The reception staff were OK but the staff in the restaurant were so lovely, very welcoming and friendly. I think it helped that were are both blond, women and made an effort to speak their language. They even prepared some pasta for us at lunchtime (which was from the evening Italian restaurant) A German couple were serenaded as it was the mans 60th birthday and they gave him a beautiful cake- which was brilliant.

Evening entertainment. 5/10
Very low key. A saxaphonist on one night and a singer on another, in the bar. We just relaxed in our room most evenings.

Local shops 6/10
If you want souvenirs - dont buy locally unless you want to be hassled and if you are a woman and blond I would recommend dying your hair (a First Choice member of staff did it and found that she was left alone more) The locals just leer at you with 'sex' in their eyes (I kid you not) which made my 15yr old feel really uncomfortable. Barter and walk away if you dont get it for the price you want. I would recommend going to the sinbad shop in front of the Sinbad Aqua Park instead. It is massive and has every conceivable souvenir - its an alladins cave. They wont hassle you and everything is at a fraction of the price.

Swimming pool. 5/10
The pool was freezing. Only a handful of people dared go in. Mentioned it to reception but they said that noone else had complained. The pool area was lovely though and at 7.30am every morning several staff were out mopping and sweeping the whole area and being overseen by a supervisor. - Very impressive. It was treated every evening

Beach 6/10
Every inch was covered by chairs and umbrellas so there was no shortage, but ruined the look of the beach. Crystal clear, although, cold waters, and although we didnt snorkel we could see some beautiful corals and fish even from the jetty. Some children brought out the most amazing large shells that you wouldnt expect to find so close to the shore.

Travco transfers 10/10
Couldn't fault the Travco staff. Very courteos and efficient. All our transfers went smoothly. We stayed in 3 hotels in the two weeks we were in Egypt - in Cairo and Aswan and well as in the Jaz in Hurghada and they were always on time. The minibuses were clean and the vehicles were in good order. They even took us to the front desk and booked our luggage in ensuring we had the seats we wanted.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bestadviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2011

We've been to this hotel for the 4-th time in general and for the 2-nd time for the New Year holiday. Unfortunately, this visit was much more diissaponting. Now step by step.
1. ACCOMODATION. As we travelled with our grown up daughter we booked two rooms in advance and hoped that we'll have the convenient accomodation and the quiet rooms as the "special guests" (so they call the visitors who come to this hotel more than once). We were very much dissapointed when we got two rooms on the ground floor with the view to the construction area and the road. All the rooms are for the same price and we can't understand why people pay the same money and live in very different condiitions. The construction works began every day at 7 a.m. and the local workers made a lot of noise. We can't say that the traffic was heavy but the buses and the cars running for the whole day made quite a lot of noise too. On the other side people who paid the same lived in much more comfortable conditions with the view to the swimming pool (this is the best) and to the golf field (this is worse but not as bad as we had). At least we should be informed beforehand about the construction works near the hotel and there was nothing about it on the website of TUI Mostravel (we booked through them).
2. SERVICE. During our previous visits it was very good, now it is different. The "old" staff (those whom we've seen a year ago and earlier} are very friendly and well trained. The newcomers are not so good and sometimes behave rather unceremonious. But the most dissapointing was the guest relations manager Aida.To our opinion she doesn't correspond to the 5 star hotel level. Never friendly, always with a "stone' face", sometimes passing near you without even greeting you. Besides, during the New Year party she was very drunk and noisy.This is especially dissapointing because before on this position worked a very professional and friendly Swiss girl really trying to do the best for the hotel guests to feel comfortable and to solve all their problems.
3. NEW YEAR PARTY. Worse than the year before. Overcrowded.The same local show but much shorter. No New Year or Cristmas songs so popular in Europe this time.Because of this no New Year mood and feelings. Out-of-date music of 70-ies.
4.MEALS. Became much better and tasty. Plenty of fish and seafood.
5. ROOMS. Very good and clean. New LCD. Now they have slippers and not only bathrobes.
6. BEACH. Very good. The sea is wonderful , 24 degrees, but not many people are swimming. It is written everywhere on the beach that the hotels are not responsible for any accidents in the sea. No lifeguards.
We can recommend this hotel to our friends in case of the rooms with the view to the swimming pool or to the golf field.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StrangerMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2010

Had a good relaxing week at this exceptionally clean and friendly hotel. As has been stated elsewhere this is not 5 star when compared with its contemporaries in Dubai but then for £600pp per week All Inclusive, we wasn't expecting it. What we did get was a high quality hotel with great service and the absence of the antisocial behavior sometimes experienced at A.I resorts.

Food was varied and plentiful albeit a little unimaginative and the evening entertainment was of a good standard. Room service was excellent as was the general speed of service in the bars and restaurants.

The hotel is one of a number in the 'walled resort' of Makadi Bay which is about 40 minutes from the airport and downtown Hurghada so If you are looking for the hustle and bustle of lively resort such as Sharm then you won't find it here. There is however, a hotel coutesy bus that runs to and from Hurghada three times a day at a cost of 6 euros return.

Our tips for stayng here are: 1) choose a room with either a pool or golf course view, as the only other view is overlooking a road and a building under construction, 2) consider all inclusive as it represents better VfM particularly given the small number of independant bars and restaurants in the resort . At this hotel, A.I is an upgrade which means that standards are maintained by the prescence of guests who are paying for food on a meal-by-meal basis 3) Take advantage of the adjoining spa which is excellent. And haggle for a deal. We bought a total of six very high quality massages for approximately two thirds of the brochure price 4) Take advantage of the beach which you reach by a 10 minute walk through the manicured gardens of the adjoining hotel 5) Don't be put off by the fact that as a british guest you are likely to be in the minority as the vast majority of staff are able to speak english to varying degrees and 6) Think carefully before booking a two week stay unless you really like the solitude and limited choice of local towns and excursions.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveller1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2010

The thing I like most about this hotel, is the kindness you find in people! The food is so good, and very different. Even if they dont have what you need, it dont take a long time for the waiters to run to the kitchen and get what you need. Even the managment are so kind, its all about a "good morning or how are you" that makes a different.

The rooms are so good, they get whatever you want at any time of the day.. Even when we had a baby with us, they do evrything in there heart to please us. They are always greeting and some people are interrested in hearing about us, what we do, where we come from, tells ur stories about Egypt. Its so good with people who is really taking care of us. The entertaiment is good,all from singers to magican :) Its easy going and quiet. But all the thanks to the staff, they made this hotel what it is for us. From Pool boy to the manager. This hotel is the best!!
But as any hotel in the world, they have some faults. The people behind the bar, the guys that are more up in the system then the guys who work at the floor, should smile and greet the guests more. Although not everybody is like that,but we notised more the people who dont smile then the people who actually do smile. This was our 5 time on this hotel and this time we notised new people and they should get a smile around theire mouth. But thats all the negative I can say about this hotel.
I recomend this hotel on the strongest! You are sure to have a great time and relaxing.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Querida23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makadi Bay hotels
0.6 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 29 in Makadi Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
0.5 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
1.4 mi away
Jaz Aquaviva Resort
Jaz Aquaviva Resort
#2 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,737 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort
Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort
#6 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaz Makadi Star & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaz Makadi Star & Spa

Property: Jaz Makadi Star & Spa
Address: Makadi Bay - 34 Km Hurghada - Safaga Road, Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#7 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
#14 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Jaz Makadi Star & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jaz Makadi Star & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jaz Makadi Star And Spa
Jaz Makadi Star Hotel Hurghada
Jaz Makadi Star Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing