We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jaz Makadi Star & Spa
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very nice holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

This is a nice resort with friedly staff. It is about a 5-6 minute walk from the beach which in the hot sun may seem a bit long at times. The beach itself is nice and sandy. Our 3-year old could walk on the beach and enjoy the sea without any problems. The rooms were comfortable and clean. We had two large connecting rooms, so the kids had their own separate room.
The food is nice and varied but my wife and son did get some symptoms of food poisoning. Fortunately, it didn't ruin our holiday but it could have. The guests are mostly german and russian, but we didn't have any problems communicating with the staff and getting what we needed.

Room Tip: Be careful about what you eat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadMac1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    163
    30
    14
    3
See reviews for
122
403
36
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

We booked five days here with Thomsons, Bull Ring, Birmingham, who neglected alot of things. Most importantly, they did not point out that the hotel is full of Germans and Eastern Europeans, so English is the third language here (alot of staff do not speak it at all); the food was 2-3 star at a stretch (same stuff regurgitated three times a day, day in day out, potatoes, potatoes, potatoes) forcing us to eat out even though we were staying all-inclusive; the shopkeepers at the resort hassle you to buy their tat if you step within ten yards of them; parasols by the pool are torn and broken; the running water is not drinkable - you can't even rinse your mouth with it when brushing your teeth. Room air con sounds like a jumbo jet on take off.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JustBeingHonest777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

everything was great specially the service there , the hotel was clean and room had a good view but i really dont like the beach have alot of rocks and far of the hotel - and i want to give Hateem el Gohary and Ahmed gad a speciall thanks for there efforts to keep my vacation perfect for me and for my husband - and want to thank noura in the spa for her golden hands.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jaz Hotels and Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank MiracleCairo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

Really nice clean hotel with very friendly staff. Very quiet and relaxing. Food not excellent but good.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Afhady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2011

Had a nice "short-stay" at the hotel. Clean, friendly and sunshine. Due to current situation in the country occupancy was low. Therefore it was rather unusually quiet which resulted in extra attention of staff. The whole atmosphere fas that of gentle familiarity.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChefThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2011

As ever mixed reviews on websites, and absolutely lovely when there. Beautiful small hotel, by comparison to others on the resort. Friendly, helpful staff, great food, great cocktails.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lizayling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

We have just got back from the most relaxing 5 days at the Makadi Star hotel. We travelled there ourselves as we live in Cairo, but from the moment we walked through the front portico we entered a place we could relax and enjoy ourselves as a family. My teenage son swam and played sport, my daughter loved the beach and the snorkelling and my husband and I just liked being able to relax. The hotel is part of a larger complex of hotels which are all linked together so you feel like you are in a flowery village rather than a development. Its only a short walk to the beach which is sandy and the water crystal clear. From there you can snorkel and dive amongst other sports. A wonderful place for a holiday.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsElizabethCairo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makadi Bay hotels
0.6 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 29 in Makadi Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
0.5 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
1.4 mi away
Jaz Aquaviva Resort
Jaz Aquaviva Resort
#2 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,761 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort
Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort
#6 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaz Makadi Star & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaz Makadi Star & Spa

Property: Jaz Makadi Star & Spa
Address: Makadi Bay - 34 Km Hurghada - Safaga Road, Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#7 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
#14 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Jaz Makadi Star & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jaz Makadi Star & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jaz Makadi Star And Spa
Jaz Makadi Star Hotel Hurghada
Jaz Makadi Star Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing