We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Rate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2013

I agree with Joan H..we had a wonderful time. Had no problem with smoking in the restaurant, but then we ate in the West Wing mostly. we found this to be superior to the other restaurant.
Have to say Roberto,who entertained in the Red Rocks Bar was brilliant.

It was our first time here, but we will definatley be returning.

Room Tip: We had ground floor facing the West Wing, which had a partial sea view, and had afternoon sun. So ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorraine Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

783 - 789 of 2,187 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2013

Went to Egypt on 21/01/2013 and stayed at Fort Arabesque, Makadi Bay, Hurgarda. The room we were given was huge. Contained two King Size beds, Sofa, Fridge, TV and the bathroom had a walk in shower with loads of room. The room was cleaned daily to a high standard and the room staff left various animals etc, made from towels, on the beds on most days. The fridge was kept stocked up every day.
The restaurant served excellent food and offered lots of choices at every meal time. The food was hot, tasty and plentiful. My only critisism of the holiday was that they allowed smoking in the restaurant which was not pleasant if you were eating. Did our best to avoid smokers but this was not always possoble. They did have another area where smoking was not allowed but this was not as nice as the main restaurant area. The waiters were excellent and nothing was any trouble for them. This was not because they were after a tip as we did not tip until the end of the holiday and the standard of service was excellent throughout.
The bar staff were friendly and helpful. Got to know what you were drinking and brought you drinks as soon as you entered the bar. They were always smiling and enjoyed themselves. So good to see happy staff.
All areas of the hotel were well maintained and clean.The hotel offered shops, hairdresser, beauty treatments and a gym.
The entertainment programme was limited in the evening and is reportedly the same as last year so a lot of people do not go to see the shows. The entertainment team were brilliant and very friendly. Miguel and Nicole worked very hard to make sure everyone enjoyed themselves.
On the whole I had a wonderful holiday and would recommend Fort Arabesque to anyone. I will certainly be going again

Room Tip: I had a brilliant room which was booked with Thomson. It did not have a brilliant view from the balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Joan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FORTARAB, Guest Relations Manager at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas on Trip Advisor Page. We are very happy about your encouraging observations on our Teams enthusiasm and helpfulness during your stay with us. Thank you again for giving us a high score for the meals, cleanness, and the quality of service.
All of us wish you a happy time back at home and we are looking forward to welcome you again in Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas.

Best Regards,

Claudia Pirker
Guest Relation

Makadi Bay, Hurghada Safaga Road, Red Sea
Tel: +2 065 3590200 (8 lines)
Fax: +2 065 3590209

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

The Hotel (resort) is less than 30 minutes from the airport and has the best sea front on any of the hotels located in Makadi Bay. We stayed for two weeks (AI) in late January. Our room was located on the ground floor and was tidy and had a queen bed plus a double, fridge and TV plus small patio come balcony, very clean and ideal for a short walk to beach or restaurant. The complex is made up of two buildings, the main being the reseption, restaurant, bar and shops. the second is refered too as the Saga Block but is the West Wing. The Hotel has a arena that provide entertainment every night from 9, having read some previous reviews we were pleasently surprised how good the shows were. The crew do thier very best to entertain a very broad range of people and in my humble opinion do an excellent job. A very important part of any holiday is the food and the resaurant do a great job. Plenty of choice at all times, salad bar fresh and appealing, good selection of meats, dessert is first class with fresh fruit etc. The staff are the key to the success of this resort, they are freindly and very helpful, nothing was to much trouble and really do a great job. For those who want to relax the the beach is the place or why not try a pool side bed to take advantage of the pool bar. We enjoyed trips to Luxor (fantastic) ,snorkeling, desert trip (quad biking, 4 x 4 and much more). Or stay at the hotel and enjoy sailing, tennis, yoga, and much more. Get the most out of your stay by trying the different bar's, one offers self service! Enjoy your stay and I hope you have as good a time as we did.

Room Tip: Ground floor for easy access to beach, bar etc, top floor for veiws. Dont go to SAGA lounge its for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank grumpyoldfart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

I stayed for 5 nights in October 2012 together with a friend. We had a very nice big room with two Kingsize beds, a small balcony and a big modern bathroom. The wing we stayed in was quite and housekeeping was regular and thourough.
We spent most of the time snorkeling at the house reef, which is really beautiful and actually the best cared for in all of the hotels at Makadi Bay. We also visited the reefs of the neighboring hotels which were mostly destroyed. We saw lots of fish, some squids, firefish, murray eels, stingrays, so actually a quite good selection of marine life.
At the beach there is also the opportunity for several water sport activities such as kayaking winsurfing, Sailing as well as some other sports activities like Yoga or beach volleyball if you want. But the staff was not intrusively and at the beach you had a good opportunity to relax without loud music etc.
The all-inclusive offer was providing a quite good selection of food at various timepoints, although the selection of alcoholic beverages was a relatively limited for the all-inclusive offer.
The food was mostly italian style, which could have used some variance, but for 4 nights it was sufficient. The buffet was refilled regularly and always hot. The staff was friendly and helpful.
So all in all I can recommend this hotel for people interested in a beach and snorkeling trip for some relaxation.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nerm18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Apart from problems with Thomas Cook (having paid for pre-booked seats and not geting them on the outward or return journey, despite raising this with the rep at the resort) the hotel was fine. It is, as noted in other reviews, a reasonably quiet place and good for a peaceful 'do nothing' break. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the food is good, for an all inclusive. The West wing (the new wing) is the best place to stay - the central part of the hotel gets a little crowded (beach, restaurant, bars etc) wereas the west wing (also known as the Saga wing) is quieter and more realxed - and the west wing bar has the best coffee! As long as you stay away from the centre of the beach, with the thumping music of the 'Animation' entertainment team, its quite peaceful.
A couple of points - the sea is freezing, but we went in January so expected nothing less, but the wind that blows along the bay can make it quite chilly on the beach.
It does get cold in the evenings in the winter so you wil need jackets \ warm clothes, particularly if you want to sit outside
People do go out early to 'grab' beds \ shades but there do seem to be enough to go around.
Only one pool was heated - they said they had a problem with oil delivaries so don't know if this is usual.
The balconies on the West wing get the sun in the mornings, the East wing get it in the afternoons - sea facing rooms get it for most of the day.
The AC is controlled centrally - when we went we were hot but couldn't get the AC to blow cold (people had complained that it was cold the week before so they had turned it on to 'heat') - not a problem as you can just sleep with the balcony doors open.
The entertainment is an aquired taste and the evening 'shows' in the arena can get quite noisy but they finish between 11.00 - 12.00 (only a problem is you are sleeping with the balcony doors open!).
Spirit measures are huge - if you ask for a 'really, really small' drink you will get something roughly the size of an english pub measure - usual measures come in around the triple \ quadruple size.

Room Tip: West wing for peace and quiet - better bar and restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mulberrykent1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

My husband and I have just returned from Makadi Bay and just had enough time to complete six divies with the iDive Dive Centre.

Carlo and Erika, with their superb team, are just a delight to deal with. Noor also gives everyone a very warm welcome! They have the perfect balance of relaxed diving with an incredibly professional attitude. Over the week we dived with Florian and Hassan and they were brilliant with clear and informative dive briefs, which ensured a confident dive each time.

The team speak a variety of languages and I know for certain that Italian, English and German are definitely spoken fluently.

All of the equipment that we used was excellent quality and very well maintained. They've got three fresh water cleaning tanks for specific items, which ensures everything is in great working order at all times.

We took some of our own equipment which we left with iDive in their secure storage room, which saved that particular daily chore.

It was great to be able to choose between the any of the three daily dives that they did, to fit in with our holiday, rather than matching a schedule. If we'd had more time we'd have been on far more dives, that is for certain.

We're now planning how soon we can get back to iDive Center and wouldn't hesitate to recommend them.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank BeamEngine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

I went for one week with a friend. We both had a fantastic time! Rooms are big and very comfortable. All staff were very friendly and cheerful. The sailing and kayaking was all included in the price with all inclusive and was great fun. I strongly recommend this hotel as all the facilities you need to keep you busy are there. The diving centre at the end of the beach is fantastic and again all the staff are very helpful and friendly. Excursions on offer are also well worth the money!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
0.3 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
0.7 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#5 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,357 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
931 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#42 of 222 in Hurghada
2,389 reviews
2.5 mi away
Baron Palace Sahl Hasheesh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas

Address: Safaga Road | Abu Makhadeg Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#7 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#10 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#11 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#12 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range: £56 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 458
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa, & Villas promises tranquilityand opulence with its 444 luxurious rooms, suites, privateapartments and 14 newly built villas.Four dining venues, five swimming pools, including a children's pool(three of which are heated), a state-of-the-art gym, world class Thai managed Spa and sports facilities as well as I-Dive, a five-starIDC PADI dive center, guarantee a fun and unforgettable hotel experience.Inspired by the Sardinian roots of its architects, FortArabesque Resort & Spa combines distinctive Italianand Arabic accents in its architecture, from its imposingmedieval fort structure to its interior touches and décor,where the different shades of Egyptian cave stones fromAswan blend with the antique fine wood furnishings oforiental designs.We would like to introduce our new concept as well, which is unique in Egypt.Nestled within the Fort Arabesque resort, The Villas offer its guests luxurious accommodation, space and privacy in addition to a more personal and dedicated service. Each of the 14 Villas (8 units with 1 bedroom + 1 bathroom, 6 units with 2 bedrooms + 2 bathrooms) is tastefully decorated to reflect the mix of Arabic accents and Mediterranean influences of the Fort Arabesque Resort. All units have private garden and terrace with private access to a secluded swimming pool exclusive to The Villas. To ensure a fast and efficient service, the check-in is done through a private reception. The residents also have access to the Pavilion which is a private lounge where the villa guests can enjoy a semi-served upgraded breakfast in the morning. For lunch and dinner time the Pavilion functions as an A’la Carte Restaurant, giving the opportunity to enjoy a fine dining experience. The extra benefits of the Villa Guests include free Wi-Fi, free Gym usage and various discounts in the different outlets of the hotel.Guests at The Villas are free to use all the facilities and enjoy the same ‘all inclusive’ benefits at the resort with quick access to the main restaurant and the beach as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Arabesque
Fort Arabesque Makadi Bay
Fort Arabesque Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing