We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fort Arabesque ....would I recommend this hotel?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fort Arabesque ....would I recommend this hotel?”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Yes! It was recommended to us by friends and I am delighted to say that their recommendation was so well deserved. We had not been to Egypt before nor had all inclusive before. We also usually stay in 5 star hotels which sounds very pretentious but is not intended to be as we do not travel to the far flung places that some of the reviewers do. That said this is a very good hotel and very good value for money. We had emailed the hotel twice before we arrived to book the a la carte restaurant and to request the west wing. We did not get a response and were in the East Wing but on reflection I was very happy about this and thought the lobby bar and the actual restaurant were nicer (there is a candlelit area in the East Wing) which is lovely although can be packed until around 8.30.

Beach beds are not too close together and less towel reserving than in other hotels which was heaven although I suspect that may change if the hotel was fully occupied.

Food was fine - some nights better than others. A little disappointed in The Pavilion and only 6 people in there (including the two of us) on the night we went so not much ambience but service very good.

Hotel did deliver a birthday cake for me to the room which was a nice touch.

We were lazy and did not do excursions but had a very relaxing week and would definitely come again. It was the excellent antidote to stress with 36 degrees during the day and warm evenings. Hope this helps.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LondonHolidaymakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FORTARAB, General Manager at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas.

We highly appreciate your time and effort to convey your comments and are glad you had a relaxing week.

Your compliments about sunbed distribution, beach, food and service specially in the Pavilion are highly appreciated.

We noted your remark about emails sent which was forwarded to the concerned departments to take the necessary corrective action. It is through your valuable feedback that we can better serve you.

Last but not least, we are pleased to know that you would not hesitate to recommend our resort to others.

I look forward to welcome you back for another birthday celebration at our resort in the near future.


With our best regards,

Antoine Goubran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,097 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    948
    819
    215
    81
    34
See reviews for
666
1,010
64
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

if you visit makadi bay you must stay at fort arabesqu the staff are all so helpful the food is first class this is our second visit we are a grown up family of 6 and have already booked for next year ps do reserve your sunbed a nice touch for 30 euros you get bought a cool box with soft drinks and beer and a fresh fruit every day lovely touch see you next year

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FORTARAB, General Manager at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us again at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas. Your loyalty means the world to us.

We highly appreciate your time and effort to convey your comments and are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for sharing your compliments about food and beach service plus.

I have shared your positive comment about our team with them. They always strive to provide the best possible service to our valued guests.

We are glad you will be returning next year and look forward to welcome you and the family back at our resort.


With our best regards,

Antoine Goubran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We booked a cheap all inclusive deal to this hotel. First time to Egypt and first time all inclusive. Hotel was very clean and very well maintained. Room cleaned everyday. Food was to a good standard, bit repetitive after a few days. Drinks were good, you had all local spirits which were good and heinecan cans. Some hotel staff a bit miserable, I e in the restaurant and beach bar. The cleaners were very friendly though. We got given a ground floor room with no sea view, I tried to change, but had no joy. Was told they were fully booked, which was a lie. The beach is fantastic, very warm and clear, easy to swim out and snorkal. We did a boat trip out with I dive to paradise island with a couple of snorkelling stops, this was great!! The staff were very nice and helpful, would recommend doing trips with I dive. We also did a desert quad biking trip with Thomson, also very good. Beauty salon and shops in hotel very good, try and haggle with them you get a good deal. All in all good hotel, and worth the money.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KELLY G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Placed in the West Block of the resort for our 3rd visit to Hurghada and our first to Makadi Bay....Glad we switched to Fort Arabasque from our previous excursions. No major stomache issues, cleaner and more upmarket rooms and better quality food. In the slightly more expensive superior room, you can expect a stocked fridge with milk, water, pop and cordial drinks. The TV is crystal clear 32 inch LCD with a variety of American programmes and films. Walk in shower with bede and nice sea front balcony.
For about £4 a day you can expect beach plus enabling you reserved sun beds with towels and cool box with beer, cold drinks and fresh fruit on skewers.....
Service is good with the usual towel art from the cleaners and friendly staff. Difference at this hotel is that staff do not ask or expect tipping! Leaving the tourist to chose if desired etc.
The sea front is spectacular with beautiful corals and tropical fish to admire. The water is clean and the usual aquamarine you would expect from a red sea resort.
Drinks are all branded apart from local spirits etc. The gardens are very beautiful and the resort is perfectly lit at night for romantic walks around the resort and various pools. Shops are very well staffed with genuine and honest people...no shady dealing! Spa is ok but had better, the beauty centre is fantastic with superb hair cutting and grooming.....
Weather as usual for April was about 80 to 90F, with cool breezes as is normal for coastline Hurghada. A couple of cloudy days but still dry and pleasant. VFM is good I think with daily tariff about £80 per day all inclusive.
Downside, well there are always some! Food a little repetative and limited but best to date for Egypt. Italians are the main customer base so expect a bit of louder than normal conversations .....no offence intended! Entertainment a little dated with some rather dubious duets.
Main gripe was about leaving, it's pretty crap ...that means not good for our foreign readers. Basically pay your bill, bell boy takes your bags and dumps you and your bags by the door and Foxtrott Oscar parden the French.....unbelievably left there for 1.5 hours to wait outside for the pickup.....Fort Arabesque , this needs reviewing! This cost you your well earned five stars...
Overall a great holiday and resort giving a much needed beak for the good lady and myself. Children are permitted (grrrrr) at the resort but are usually placed in the East block so West is best if your needing solitude....
Egypt seems calmer than last year with good security at the resort and a more relaxed Hurghada airport from Stalag 17 usually experienced.......Real shame the resort is so quiet with about 40% occupancy at a push......
It's a pretty and wonderful location and we will return later this year.....
Salam

Room Tip: West Block Superior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MRN66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FORTARAB, General Manager at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review following your recent stay at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas.

We are happy to know that you liked our superior room, towel art, gardens, beach and beach plus service. Our team always strive to provide the best possible service and spare no effort to do so.

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding our shops, spa and beauty center.

Your remark about repetitive food and dated entertainment was brought to the attention of the concerned departments for action. It is through your valuable feedback that we can better serve you.

We are very sorry to learn that you waited at the door for a long time for your TA pickup. We do however have a luggage room where guests keep their luggage till pickup time and they always use the lobby for waiting. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused.

Last but not least, we are glad you had a great holiday and look forward to welcome you back at our resort later this year.


Sincerely,

Antoine Goubran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We have just returned from two blissful weeks at Fort Arabesque, this being our third visit to the hotel. It really is a very special place.

The food is fantastic, with a wide selection available for all meals which includes fresh bread, salads and cakes. The restaurant is clean and the service is excellent. We tended to eat in the East Wing restaurant but both East / West wing offer the same high quality.

As a group of five, we stayed in a ground floor family room. The rooms are functional and cleaned to a high standard. The grounds are all beautifully landscaped.

We walked the whole length of Makadi Bay during our stay. Please be assured that Fort Arabesque has the best beach of all hotels in this area. The house reef is fantastic with plenty to see while diving or snorkelling. It is a perfect place to introduce little people to the water.

We had completed our diving courses at the IDive Centre during an earlier stay. This place just gets better and better every visit. This time we were introduced to a completely new magical world under the ocean – Nudibranchs. If you have ever been tempted to learn to dive this is the place to do it. All the staff work so hard and they are so patient, even with nervous students. Not only have we learnt a new skill but discovered an absolute passion. We will always be grateful to the IDive team for sharing this.

It is not just the place that creates holiday memories; the people play a big part too. On this occasion I would particularly like to highlight the service of the staff at the Red Rock Bar, the whole team are fantastic. Sameh ‘Mom’ and Mom’en ‘Look Back’ we will always remember you very fondly. Try a ‘Hedra special’ cocktail if you visit. Mena is amazing with a cocktail shaker! You are all a credit to Fort Arabesque.

Everyone we spoke to was a repeat visitor to the hotel. Take comfort from this and do not hesitate to book. We hope to return very soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SpindlyPenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FORTARAB, General Manager at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us again at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas. Your loyalty means the world to us.

It is a great pleasure to know that our resort is a very special place to you and we thank you very much for taking the time to share the wonderful review.

We are pleased you enjoyed our beautiful landscape, wonderful beach and fantastic reef. They are indeed one of the best and we take great pride in them.

Your compliments about food, service and our staff is greatly appreciated. We have shared them with our team who always go out of their way to make our guests' stay a memorable one. The IDive team are also a big credit to us.

On behalf of the team I would like to thank you once again and we all look forward to welcome you back for more holiday memories.


With our best regards,

Antoine Goubran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHAMPTON
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Just returned from 2 weeks at the fort, not the start we hoped for as we had requested superior west wing room but given east wing with promise to move us in a few days time. The room was smaller than west wing, views restricted but what most upset us was the stain on the bed cover which we had changed. As it was late evening we went straight to bed but in the morning found sand in the bed and long dark hairs, the sheets had not been changed. Having previously praised this resort for its clean rooms etc we were horrified by these events. Thats where the bad news ended, our Thomas Cook rep Mustaffa could not do enough for us and took our complaints to the hotel management. We got moved to west wing, had bowl of fruit, bottle of wine and additional free night at the beech grill. All the staff seemed to know about our problem as soon as they knew our previous room number which I believe shows how rare these problems are. During our last visit we were not happy with the standard of the local spirits as they all had a chemical taste, the good news
is they have new suppliers and they were brilliant, so much we sometimes had too much.
The staff were outstanding, at first we thought we had special treatment due to our problems but
no this is the norm. Food was great last year and could not envisage any improvement but yes they succeeded in topping last year, only thing we missed was the hot dessert. Would also be nice to have an ice cream option as you can have too many cakes etc.
Dont hesitate about going to this resort, its ultra clean, superb caring staff, food and drink of the highest standard.
We will be returning next year just hope we get the room area we request, I accept management comment (subject to availability) but more effort must be made to meet clients request.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for top rooms for view alone
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FORTARAB, General Manager at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us again at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas. Your loyalty means the world to us.

We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused during your first night. Even though we do our best to cater for special requests made by our guests, yet unfortunately we are not always able to do so.

Thank you for sharing your compliments about food and drink at our resort. We always strive to provide our best possible service and our team are indeed outstanding.

We noted your remark about ice cream and we are sorry you did not get the chance to enjoy the delicious ice cream selection available daily from 9am till 5pm at both our Beach Bar & Restaurant and our Sotto Vento Bar.

Last but not least, we thank you for sharing your photos and see that our Housekeeping team were again showing off some of our towel art masterpieces. They always put smiles on our guests' faces.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcome you back at our resort next year.


With our best regards,

Antoine Goubran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clacton on Sea
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We have just returned from Fort Arabisque

This is out 15th visit to Makadi Bay but the first to this Hotel and an excellent Hotel

We arrived late due to a 4 hour delay in Gatwick but the restaurant stayed open specially for my wife and Myself with about 7 waiters

The Food at the Hotel was excellent and we would say that this is now our favourite Hotel and we would like to go back again depending on costs

The staff were excellent and could not do enough for you, a very pleasant holiday was had

Would defenatley recommend it and if you have the chance to go on a Dolphin trip with the idive team from the Hotel I would recommend it

Excellent to actually swim with the Dolphins was brilliant

A fantastic holiday was had

Cant wait to go back

Room Tip: We requested a quite room and had a room in the west wing and were very happy with it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greyfriars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FORTARAB, General Manager at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful review and for choosing to stay at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas.

We greatly appreciate the fact that you have taken the time to share your experience and to recommend us.

It is a pleasure to know that you had a wonderful stay and that you enjoyed our food. As for our team, they spare no effort to provide excellent service and are indeed a great asset.

Your comment about IDive did not go unnoticed. We highly value them and praise their continued commitment to providing our guests with unforgettable memories.

On behalf of our team, thank you once again and we look forward to welcome you back at our resort in the near future.


Sincerely,

Antoine Goubran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
0.4 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
0.9 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
1.4 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#3 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,247 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jaz Makadi Oasis Resort and Club
2.5 mi away
Baron Palace Sahl Hasheesh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas

Property: Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
Address: Safaga Road | Abu Makhadeg Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#10 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#11 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#14 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 458
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa, & Villas promises tranquilityand opulence with its 444 luxurious rooms, suites, privateapartments and 14 newly built villas.Four dining venues, five swimming pools, including a children's pool(three of which are heated), a state-of-the-art gym, world class Thai managed Spa and sports facilities as well as I-Dive, a five-starIDC PADI dive center, guarantee a fun and unforgettable hotel experience.Inspired by the Sardinian roots of its architects, FortArabesque Resort & Spa combines distinctive Italianand Arabic accents in its architecture, from its imposingmedieval fort structure to its interior touches and décor,where the different shades of Egyptian cave stones fromAswan blend with the antique fine wood furnishings oforiental designs.We would like to introduce our new concept as well, which is unique in Egypt.Nestled within the Fort Arabesque resort, The Villas offer its guests luxurious accommodation, space and privacy in addition to a more personal and dedicated service. Each of the 14 Villas (8 units with 1 bedroom + 1 bathroom, 6 units with 2 bedrooms + 2 bathrooms) is tastefully decorated to reflect the mix of Arabic accents and Mediterranean influences of the Fort Arabesque Resort. All units have private garden and terrace with private access to a secluded swimming pool exclusive to The Villas. To ensure a fast and efficient service, the check-in is done through a private reception. The residents also have access to the Pavilion which is a private lounge where the villa guests can enjoy a semi-served upgraded breakfast in the morning. For lunch and dinner time the Pavilion functions as an A’la Carte Restaurant, giving the opportunity to enjoy a fine dining experience. The extra benefits of the Villa Guests include free Wi-Fi, free Gym usage and various discounts in the different outlets of the hotel.Guests at The Villas are free to use all the facilities and enjoy the same ‘all inclusive’ benefits at the resort with quick access to the main restaurant and the beach as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Arabesque
Fort Arabesque Makadi Bay
Fort Arabesque Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing