We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing - highly recommended!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This was my first visit to Egypt and I was delighted to have stayed at Fort Arabesque, the staff are lovely and just can't do enough for you. The rooms are spotless. The beach is out of this world and the sea is a dream. I traveled with my sister and we spent most of the week snorkeling (i have never snorkeled before!) the amount of different fish that we saw was incredible. We went on a boat trip to other reefs and actually got in the water with dolphins - a real bonus.
If I was to search for something to moan about, it would have to be the lack of parental guidance in the restaurant, as children running around became a little tiresome.
A memorable holiday and excellent value for money!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FORTARAB, General Manager at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review and for choosing to stay at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas.

We greatly appreciate comments made by our guests and are glad you had a memorable holiday.

We are also happy to know that you liked your room cleanliness and service provided by our team who always strive to provide the best possible service. As for snorkeling and the boat trip with dolphins to swim with, we are sure you it was quite an experience.

Your remark about parental control over children is one we try to work on during busy periods, but unfortunately is not always easy to carry out.

Once again thank your recommendation and we look forward to welcome you back at our resort in the near future.


Sincerely,

Antoine Goubran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

677 - 683 of 2,318 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

Once again Fort Arabesque came up trumps. Staff are excellent, as always. We stayed for a month during April in the west wing and as other people mention this is certainly quieter than the east wing - except during mealtimes. It was school holidays and children were running about in the dining room - one was centimetres from having hot soup all over him. The parents do nothing to supervise the children who run around screaming and poking fingers in the puddings and cakes. Staff do their best but there is only a certain amount they can do. I and a lot of others feel that the west wing dining room should be children free. I will never go when the school holidays are on again.

But the hotel and staff continue to be the best. Look forward to seeing you all in November.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank indian_queen8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FORTARAB, General Manager at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us again at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas. Your loyalty means the world to us.

We highly appreciate your time and effort to post your review and are glad you had a great holiday.

Thank you for sharing your compliments about our resort and the team who are indeed one of our biggest assets. They always try not only to meet guest expectations, but to exceed them.

We noted your remark about children's' behavior in the restaurant and even though we can not have a child free restaurant, yet we can do our best to be on the lookout for any such behavior and control it. We sometimes face this challenge when we have a full house and it happens to coincide with a holiday, which was the case last Easter when you were here.

Last but not least, we look forward to welcome you back at our resort in November.


With our best regards,

Antoine Goubran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Yes! It was recommended to us by friends and I am delighted to say that their recommendation was so well deserved. We had not been to Egypt before nor had all inclusive before. We also usually stay in 5 star hotels which sounds very pretentious but is not intended to be as we do not travel to the far flung places that some of the reviewers do. That said this is a very good hotel and very good value for money. We had emailed the hotel twice before we arrived to book the a la carte restaurant and to request the west wing. We did not get a response and were in the East Wing but on reflection I was very happy about this and thought the lobby bar and the actual restaurant were nicer (there is a candlelit area in the East Wing) which is lovely although can be packed until around 8.30.

Beach beds are not too close together and less towel reserving than in other hotels which was heaven although I suspect that may change if the hotel was fully occupied.

Food was fine - some nights better than others. A little disappointed in The Pavilion and only 6 people in there (including the two of us) on the night we went so not much ambience but service very good.

Hotel did deliver a birthday cake for me to the room which was a nice touch.

We were lazy and did not do excursions but had a very relaxing week and would definitely come again. It was the excellent antidote to stress with 36 degrees during the day and warm evenings. Hope this helps.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LondonHolidaymakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FORTARAB, General Manager at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas.

We highly appreciate your time and effort to convey your comments and are glad you had a relaxing week.

Your compliments about sunbed distribution, beach, food and service specially in the Pavilion are highly appreciated.

We noted your remark about emails sent which was forwarded to the concerned departments to take the necessary corrective action. It is through your valuable feedback that we can better serve you.

Last but not least, we are pleased to know that you would not hesitate to recommend our resort to others.

I look forward to welcome you back for another birthday celebration at our resort in the near future.


With our best regards,

Antoine Goubran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

if you visit makadi bay you must stay at fort arabesqu the staff are all so helpful the food is first class this is our second visit we are a grown up family of 6 and have already booked for next year ps do reserve your sunbed a nice touch for 30 euros you get bought a cool box with soft drinks and beer and a fresh fruit every day lovely touch see you next year

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FORTARAB, General Manager at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us again at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas. Your loyalty means the world to us.

We highly appreciate your time and effort to convey your comments and are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for sharing your compliments about food and beach service plus.

I have shared your positive comment about our team with them. They always strive to provide the best possible service to our valued guests.

We are glad you will be returning next year and look forward to welcome you and the family back at our resort.


With our best regards,

Antoine Goubran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We booked a cheap all inclusive deal to this hotel. First time to Egypt and first time all inclusive. Hotel was very clean and very well maintained. Room cleaned everyday. Food was to a good standard, bit repetitive after a few days. Drinks were good, you had all local spirits which were good and heinecan cans. Some hotel staff a bit miserable, I e in the restaurant and beach bar. The cleaners were very friendly though. We got given a ground floor room with no sea view, I tried to change, but had no joy. Was told they were fully booked, which was a lie. The beach is fantastic, very warm and clear, easy to swim out and snorkal. We did a boat trip out with I dive to paradise island with a couple of snorkelling stops, this was great!! The staff were very nice and helpful, would recommend doing trips with I dive. We also did a desert quad biking trip with Thomson, also very good. Beauty salon and shops in hotel very good, try and haggle with them you get a good deal. All in all good hotel, and worth the money.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank KELLY G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Placed in the West Block of the resort for our 3rd visit to Hurghada and our first to Makadi Bay....Glad we switched to Fort Arabasque from our previous excursions. No major stomache issues, cleaner and more upmarket rooms and better quality food. In the slightly more expensive superior room, you can expect a stocked fridge with milk, water, pop and cordial drinks. The TV is crystal clear 32 inch LCD with a variety of American programmes and films. Walk in shower with bede and nice sea front balcony.
For about £4 a day you can expect beach plus enabling you reserved sun beds with towels and cool box with beer, cold drinks and fresh fruit on skewers.....
Service is good with the usual towel art from the cleaners and friendly staff. Difference at this hotel is that staff do not ask or expect tipping! Leaving the tourist to chose if desired etc.
The sea front is spectacular with beautiful corals and tropical fish to admire. The water is clean and the usual aquamarine you would expect from a red sea resort.
Drinks are all branded apart from local spirits etc. The gardens are very beautiful and the resort is perfectly lit at night for romantic walks around the resort and various pools. Shops are very well staffed with genuine and honest people...no shady dealing! Spa is ok but had better, the beauty centre is fantastic with superb hair cutting and grooming.....
Weather as usual for April was about 80 to 90F, with cool breezes as is normal for coastline Hurghada. A couple of cloudy days but still dry and pleasant. VFM is good I think with daily tariff about £80 per day all inclusive.
Downside, well there are always some! Food a little repetative and limited but best to date for Egypt. Italians are the main customer base so expect a bit of louder than normal conversations .....no offence intended! Entertainment a little dated with some rather dubious duets.
Main gripe was about leaving, it's pretty crap ...that means not good for our foreign readers. Basically pay your bill, bell boy takes your bags and dumps you and your bags by the door and Foxtrott Oscar parden the French.....unbelievably left there for 1.5 hours to wait outside for the pickup.....Fort Arabesque , this needs reviewing! This cost you your well earned five stars...
Overall a great holiday and resort giving a much needed beak for the good lady and myself. Children are permitted (grrrrr) at the resort but are usually placed in the East block so West is best if your needing solitude....
Egypt seems calmer than last year with good security at the resort and a more relaxed Hurghada airport from Stalag 17 usually experienced.......Real shame the resort is so quiet with about 40% occupancy at a push......
It's a pretty and wonderful location and we will return later this year.....
Salam

Room Tip: West Block Superior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MRN66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FORTARAB, General Manager at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review following your recent stay at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas.

We are happy to know that you liked our superior room, towel art, gardens, beach and beach plus service. Our team always strive to provide the best possible service and spare no effort to do so.

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding our shops, spa and beauty center.

Your remark about repetitive food and dated entertainment was brought to the attention of the concerned departments for action. It is through your valuable feedback that we can better serve you.

We are very sorry to learn that you waited at the door for a long time for your TA pickup. We do however have a luggage room where guests keep their luggage till pickup time and they always use the lobby for waiting. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused.

Last but not least, we are glad you had a great holiday and look forward to welcome you back at our resort later this year.


Sincerely,

Antoine Goubran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We have just returned from two blissful weeks at Fort Arabesque, this being our third visit to the hotel. It really is a very special place.

The food is fantastic, with a wide selection available for all meals which includes fresh bread, salads and cakes. The restaurant is clean and the service is excellent. We tended to eat in the East Wing restaurant but both East / West wing offer the same high quality.

As a group of five, we stayed in a ground floor family room. The rooms are functional and cleaned to a high standard. The grounds are all beautifully landscaped.

We walked the whole length of Makadi Bay during our stay. Please be assured that Fort Arabesque has the best beach of all hotels in this area. The house reef is fantastic with plenty to see while diving or snorkelling. It is a perfect place to introduce little people to the water.

We had completed our diving courses at the IDive Centre during an earlier stay. This place just gets better and better every visit. This time we were introduced to a completely new magical world under the ocean – Nudibranchs. If you have ever been tempted to learn to dive this is the place to do it. All the staff work so hard and they are so patient, even with nervous students. Not only have we learnt a new skill but discovered an absolute passion. We will always be grateful to the IDive team for sharing this.

It is not just the place that creates holiday memories; the people play a big part too. On this occasion I would particularly like to highlight the service of the staff at the Red Rock Bar, the whole team are fantastic. Sameh ‘Mom’ and Mom’en ‘Look Back’ we will always remember you very fondly. Try a ‘Hedra special’ cocktail if you visit. Mena is amazing with a cocktail shaker! You are all a credit to Fort Arabesque.

Everyone we spoke to was a repeat visitor to the hotel. Take comfort from this and do not hesitate to book. We hope to return very soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SpindlyPenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FORTARAB, General Manager at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us again at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas. Your loyalty means the world to us.

It is a great pleasure to know that our resort is a very special place to you and we thank you very much for taking the time to share the wonderful review.

We are pleased you enjoyed our beautiful landscape, wonderful beach and fantastic reef. They are indeed one of the best and we take great pride in them.

Your compliments about food, service and our staff is greatly appreciated. We have shared them with our team who always go out of their way to make our guests' stay a memorable one. The IDive team are also a big credit to us.

On behalf of the team I would like to thank you once again and we all look forward to welcome you back for more holiday memories.


With our best regards,

Antoine Goubran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
0.3 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
0.7 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,498 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi
Steigenberger Makadi
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,011 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort
Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort
#2 of 30 in Makadi Bay
2,352 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
#1 of 222 in Hurghada
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas

Address: Safaga Road | Abu Makhadeg Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#7 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#9 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#11 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#12 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range: £49 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 458
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa, & Villas promises tranquilityand opulence with its 444 luxurious rooms, suites, privateapartments and 14 newly built villas.Four dining venues, five swimming pools, including a children's pool(three of which are heated), a state-of-the-art gym, world class Thai managed Spa and sports facilities as well as I-Dive, a five-starIDC PADI dive center, guarantee a fun and unforgettable hotel experience.Inspired by the Sardinian roots of its architects, FortArabesque Resort & Spa combines distinctive Italianand Arabic accents in its architecture, from its imposingmedieval fort structure to its interior touches and décor,where the different shades of Egyptian cave stones fromAswan blend with the antique fine wood furnishings oforiental designs.We would like to introduce our new concept as well, which is unique in Egypt.Nestled within the Fort Arabesque resort, The Villas offer its guests luxurious accommodation, space and privacy in addition to a more personal and dedicated service. Each of the 14 Villas (8 units with 1 bedroom + 1 bathroom, 6 units with 2 bedrooms + 2 bathrooms) is tastefully decorated to reflect the mix of Arabic accents and Mediterranean influences of the Fort Arabesque Resort. All units have private garden and terrace with private access to a secluded swimming pool exclusive to The Villas. To ensure a fast and efficient service, the check-in is done through a private reception. The residents also have access to the Pavilion which is a private lounge where the villa guests can enjoy a semi-served upgraded breakfast in the morning. For lunch and dinner time the Pavilion functions as an A’la Carte Restaurant, giving the opportunity to enjoy a fine dining experience. The extra benefits of the Villa Guests include free Wi-Fi, free Gym usage and various discounts in the different outlets of the hotel.Guests at The Villas are free to use all the facilities and enjoy the same ‘all inclusive’ benefits at the resort with quick access to the main restaurant and the beach as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Arabesque
Fort Arabesque Makadi Bay
Fort Arabesque Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing