We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Hotel not luxurious but very nice, rooms spacious - bit tired but clean, the beds are very comfortable and the air conditioning is excellent. Staff very friendly and helpful without being pushy or annoying - entertainment pretty poor, in fact some of it was so bad it was good! To be fair the Animation Team did work very hard and if you're a family with young children they couldn't have tried harder - there were singers in the bars - the female singer in the East wing bar was outstanding and could sing anything but there were two male singers in the West wing, one of them was only on one night and was very good - the other one was not a very good singer but was very entertaining, especially for all the older single ladies!
The food was varied and of good quality, we found the restaurant in the west wing was better for us as it was less crowded and in the east wing there were far too many noisy out of control children - but the food choice was equally good in both of them. The pools were lovely, the swim up bar very handy, and there were always plenty of sunbeds and sunshades available. The real star of this resort though is the beach and the fabulous house reef. The sea is very shallow for a long way out with lots of coral easily accessible without swimming or snorkelling, which means you are able to see the wonderful colours of the coral and the huge variety of fish without getting your hair wet! If, like us, you enjoy snorkelling you will love it here - out in the deeper waters we saw a blue spotted stingray, a huge moray eel, lion fish, parrot fish, angel fish and big shoals of an enormous array of big and small fish - absolutely wonderful! Lovely place for a relaxing and enjoyable holiday without breaking the bank - we will definitely be coming back!

Room Tip: Rooms in the west wing are quieter and mainly have older people in (Saga) we stayed in the East wing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank RJB1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FORTARAB, General Manager at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review and for choosing to stay at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed our food variety and quality, clean and spacious room and service provided by our team.

As you clearly pointed out, the beach and fabulous house reef are indeed a star ingredient for a wonderful holiday.

Your remarks about poor entertainment and the male singer were brought to the attention of the concerned department for action. It is through your valuable feedback that we can better serve you.

We greatly appreciate comments made by our guests and are glad you had a relaxing and enjoyable holiday.

It is a pleasure to know you will be coming back to our resort and we look forward to welcome you again in the near future.


Sincerely,

Antoine Goubran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,094 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    947
    817
    215
    81
    34
See reviews for
665
1,009
64
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Arrived at the hotel to find the private vills we had booked was not available so they had upgraded us to a double suite the size of 3 rooms, which was plainly too big for one couple

Staff were extremely helpful and moved us to a villa the day after , an upgrade one again !!!

All I can say about this hotel is positive with respect to comfort beach food etc, location is a bit in the boonies but in 20 mins you can be in Hurghada Marina ......

Spa is great , prices are reasonable and its very clean

Thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of a holiday in Red Sea area and its safe

Room Tip: Definitely book the villa if you can afford the extra , its another world
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FORTARAB, General Manager at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas and for the wonderful review.

We highly appreciate your time and effort to convey your comments and are glad you had a great holiday.

Your positive compliments about food, beach and spa are highly appreciated and we have shared them with our team who always strive to provide our guests with a memorable experience.

Last but not least, thank you for your valuable recommendation and it would be a great pleasure to welcome you back at our resort in the future.


With our best regards,

Antoine Goubran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This was my first visit to Egypt and I was delighted to have stayed at Fort Arabesque, the staff are lovely and just can't do enough for you. The rooms are spotless. The beach is out of this world and the sea is a dream. I traveled with my sister and we spent most of the week snorkeling (i have never snorkeled before!) the amount of different fish that we saw was incredible. We went on a boat trip to other reefs and actually got in the water with dolphins - a real bonus.
If I was to search for something to moan about, it would have to be the lack of parental guidance in the restaurant, as children running around became a little tiresome.
A memorable holiday and excellent value for money!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FORTARAB, General Manager at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review and for choosing to stay at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas.

We greatly appreciate comments made by our guests and are glad you had a memorable holiday.

We are also happy to know that you liked your room cleanliness and service provided by our team who always strive to provide the best possible service. As for snorkeling and the boat trip with dolphins to swim with, we are sure you it was quite an experience.

Your remark about parental control over children is one we try to work on during busy periods, but unfortunately is not always easy to carry out.

Once again thank your recommendation and we look forward to welcome you back at our resort in the near future.


Sincerely,

Antoine Goubran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Once again Fort Arabesque came up trumps. Staff are excellent, as always. We stayed for a month during April in the west wing and as other people mention this is certainly quieter than the east wing - except during mealtimes. It was school holidays and children were running about in the dining room - one was centimetres from having hot soup all over him. The parents do nothing to supervise the children who run around screaming and poking fingers in the puddings and cakes. Staff do their best but there is only a certain amount they can do. I and a lot of others feel that the west wing dining room should be children free. I will never go when the school holidays are on again.

But the hotel and staff continue to be the best. Look forward to seeing you all in November.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank indian_queen8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FORTARAB, General Manager at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us again at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas. Your loyalty means the world to us.

We highly appreciate your time and effort to post your review and are glad you had a great holiday.

Thank you for sharing your compliments about our resort and the team who are indeed one of our biggest assets. They always try not only to meet guest expectations, but to exceed them.

We noted your remark about children's' behavior in the restaurant and even though we can not have a child free restaurant, yet we can do our best to be on the lookout for any such behavior and control it. We sometimes face this challenge when we have a full house and it happens to coincide with a holiday, which was the case last Easter when you were here.

Last but not least, we look forward to welcome you back at our resort in November.


With our best regards,

Antoine Goubran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Yes! It was recommended to us by friends and I am delighted to say that their recommendation was so well deserved. We had not been to Egypt before nor had all inclusive before. We also usually stay in 5 star hotels which sounds very pretentious but is not intended to be as we do not travel to the far flung places that some of the reviewers do. That said this is a very good hotel and very good value for money. We had emailed the hotel twice before we arrived to book the a la carte restaurant and to request the west wing. We did not get a response and were in the East Wing but on reflection I was very happy about this and thought the lobby bar and the actual restaurant were nicer (there is a candlelit area in the East Wing) which is lovely although can be packed until around 8.30.

Beach beds are not too close together and less towel reserving than in other hotels which was heaven although I suspect that may change if the hotel was fully occupied.

Food was fine - some nights better than others. A little disappointed in The Pavilion and only 6 people in there (including the two of us) on the night we went so not much ambience but service very good.

Hotel did deliver a birthday cake for me to the room which was a nice touch.

We were lazy and did not do excursions but had a very relaxing week and would definitely come again. It was the excellent antidote to stress with 36 degrees during the day and warm evenings. Hope this helps.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LondonHolidaymakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FORTARAB, General Manager at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas.

We highly appreciate your time and effort to convey your comments and are glad you had a relaxing week.

Your compliments about sunbed distribution, beach, food and service specially in the Pavilion are highly appreciated.

We noted your remark about emails sent which was forwarded to the concerned departments to take the necessary corrective action. It is through your valuable feedback that we can better serve you.

Last but not least, we are pleased to know that you would not hesitate to recommend our resort to others.

I look forward to welcome you back for another birthday celebration at our resort in the near future.


With our best regards,

Antoine Goubran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

if you visit makadi bay you must stay at fort arabesqu the staff are all so helpful the food is first class this is our second visit we are a grown up family of 6 and have already booked for next year ps do reserve your sunbed a nice touch for 30 euros you get bought a cool box with soft drinks and beer and a fresh fruit every day lovely touch see you next year

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FORTARAB, General Manager at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us again at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas. Your loyalty means the world to us.

We highly appreciate your time and effort to convey your comments and are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for sharing your compliments about food and beach service plus.

I have shared your positive comment about our team with them. They always strive to provide the best possible service to our valued guests.

We are glad you will be returning next year and look forward to welcome you and the family back at our resort.


With our best regards,

Antoine Goubran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We booked a cheap all inclusive deal to this hotel. First time to Egypt and first time all inclusive. Hotel was very clean and very well maintained. Room cleaned everyday. Food was to a good standard, bit repetitive after a few days. Drinks were good, you had all local spirits which were good and heinecan cans. Some hotel staff a bit miserable, I e in the restaurant and beach bar. The cleaners were very friendly though. We got given a ground floor room with no sea view, I tried to change, but had no joy. Was told they were fully booked, which was a lie. The beach is fantastic, very warm and clear, easy to swim out and snorkal. We did a boat trip out with I dive to paradise island with a couple of snorkelling stops, this was great!! The staff were very nice and helpful, would recommend doing trips with I dive. We also did a desert quad biking trip with Thomson, also very good. Beauty salon and shops in hotel very good, try and haggle with them you get a good deal. All in all good hotel, and worth the money.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KELLY G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
0.4 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
0.9 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
1.4 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#3 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,237 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jaz Makadi Oasis Resort and Club
2.5 mi away
Baron Palace Sahl Hasheesh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas

Property: Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
Address: Safaga Road | Abu Makhadeg Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#10 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#11 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#14 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 458
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa, & Villas promises tranquilityand opulence with its 444 luxurious rooms, suites, privateapartments and 14 newly built villas.Four dining venues, five swimming pools, including a children's pool(three of which are heated), a state-of-the-art gym, world class Thai managed Spa and sports facilities as well as I-Dive, a five-starIDC PADI dive center, guarantee a fun and unforgettable hotel experience.Inspired by the Sardinian roots of its architects, FortArabesque Resort & Spa combines distinctive Italianand Arabic accents in its architecture, from its imposingmedieval fort structure to its interior touches and décor,where the different shades of Egyptian cave stones fromAswan blend with the antique fine wood furnishings oforiental designs.We would like to introduce our new concept as well, which is unique in Egypt.Nestled within the Fort Arabesque resort, The Villas offer its guests luxurious accommodation, space and privacy in addition to a more personal and dedicated service. Each of the 14 Villas (8 units with 1 bedroom + 1 bathroom, 6 units with 2 bedrooms + 2 bathrooms) is tastefully decorated to reflect the mix of Arabic accents and Mediterranean influences of the Fort Arabesque Resort. All units have private garden and terrace with private access to a secluded swimming pool exclusive to The Villas. To ensure a fast and efficient service, the check-in is done through a private reception. The residents also have access to the Pavilion which is a private lounge where the villa guests can enjoy a semi-served upgraded breakfast in the morning. For lunch and dinner time the Pavilion functions as an A’la Carte Restaurant, giving the opportunity to enjoy a fine dining experience. The extra benefits of the Villa Guests include free Wi-Fi, free Gym usage and various discounts in the different outlets of the hotel.Guests at The Villas are free to use all the facilities and enjoy the same ‘all inclusive’ benefits at the resort with quick access to the main restaurant and the beach as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Arabesque
Fort Arabesque Makadi Bay
Fort Arabesque Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing