We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with excellent animator team! =o)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel with excellent animator team! =o)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

The hotel is not above reproach. Everything was fine, the food, the beach, accommodation etc. I have been in many hotels, but this was the best animation team. The best were Chicio, Haitham, Tito, Hesham. Thank you for the great vacation :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FORTARAB, General Manager at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review and for choosing to stay at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed our food, room and beach, which is one of the best on the bay. Thank you for your positive feedback about our animation team, which was shared with them all.

We greatly appreciate comments made by our guests and are pleased you had a great vacation.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcome you and your family back at our beautiful resort in the near future.


Sincerely,

Antoine Goubran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,022 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    914
    792
    205
    77
    34
See reviews for
653
963
59
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Werrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We went here in Feb 2013. It was a very enjoyable holiday. Great accomodation, food and a fabulous beach with corol reefs just of shore. Fabulous wild life just yards from the shore. A lovely beach to walk along and very friendly locals.
All in all a great holiday which i intent to visit again soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BJC1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FORTARAB, General Manager at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review for your stay in July 2013.

We highly appreciate your time to convey your comments and are glad you had a great holiday.

Thank you for sharing your compliments about accommodation, food, beach and reef.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back at our resort in the future.


With our best regards,

Antoine Goubran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed for a week in March at Fort Arabesque, having previously visited last year. It was just as enjoyable as last time save for the weather which managed to produce several bouts of heavy rain, thunder and lightning (which knocked out most of the power in the hotel one evening!). Thanks to the restaurant staff in particular for coping so well with an unscheduled candlelight dinner that evening. This year I stayed in what is known as the 'Saga' wing. The area around the pool tended to be a bit "clique-y" with groups of people staying for 3-4 weeks so for that reason I preferred the other wing. However, the beach and the tropical fish made up for any minor irritations. A very happy week's holiday and I hope to return again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Ex-skiier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FORTARAB, General Manager at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us again at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas. Your loyalty means a lot to us.

We highly appreciate your time and effort to convey your comments and are glad you had a happy week's holiday.

Thank you for sharing your compliments about our spacious beach and house reef which boasts a variety of colorful fish and other sea creatures.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back at our resort in the future.


With our best regards,

Antoine Goubran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We have now been back from Fort Arabesque for a couple of weeks. The hotel is in a great location in Makadi Bay. What impressed us most was the lay out of the hotel, everything was within close walking distance, and the beach bars were well placed. Most mornings I ran along the bay right down to hotel Cleopatra, then up the other way past the last hotel (Makadi group) right to the start of the desert. Most of the hotels appeared very scuffy,(with the exception of the 2 I have mentioned) and the sun beds were jam packed, close together. I was so relieved we had chosen to stay at the fort.

THE BEACH. There are ample number of sunbeds which are placed good distances from each other, and are spread out over the very long beach frontage. You do however get lots of people going to the beach at around 6.30 to put towels on the chairs. A lot of the front row chairs were also reserved under the new beach service that the hotel has introduced. i don't feel that this is needed as the beach bars are so close, and as i said before there are ample chairs, although judging by the number that were reserved there must be alot of people who are willing to pay for this service. The clear sea was one of the highlights for us, you did not even need to snorkel to see the beautiful fish and corals just out from the shore.

HOTEL ROOM. Our room was on the 3rd floor (east wing) overlooking the beach, we were very happy with the location, although the furnishings did appear a little tired. The beds were very comfy and the shower was excellent. We asked to look at a superior room which was on the 4th floor ,and the furnishing here were a lot more modern.

DINING. We found the food to be very good, there was a huge variety of salads, meats and pizza every day. The desserts were delicious, and everything was hot and tasty. I must mention two of our waiters, young Mena and Ali, they were very helpful and efficient and we looked forward to seeing their happy faces at meal times.

THE GARDENS/POOL AREA. We were so pleased with the beautiful landscaped gardens and pools, in the Egyptian climate it must take a lot of hard work to keep the gardens looking so pretty, and praise must go to the great team of gardeners.

TRIPS. We only went on 2 trips as the aim of our holiday was to relax and enjoy the beach and snorkling. We went to Mahama island which was picture postcard perfect. It was fairly quiet when we were there, with white sands and clear blue waters. We also went out with the hotels dive school to see the dolphins, this was an excellent trip, we got to see the dolphins in their natural environment which was very exciting, they are amazing creatures. The boat spent approx an hour near them so we got some great pics.

HOTEL STAFF. Every one was very helpful and friendly, the front desk were very knowledgable, we were impressed that they could speak numerous languages. The room cleaners did a great job, and left us fantastic towel art most days.

NEGATIVES. Apart from not agreeing with the beach service, the only other negative was the hassle we got from the beauty salon staff (mainly) on the beach. Although we did notice that as our tan improved they did leave us alone and move on to newcomers.

We have travelled alot,and stayed in many 5 star hotels, but they have not had that something special that the Fort has. We had a very relaxing enjoyable holiday, with gorgeous hot sun everyday. Most people we met were repeat visitors, which demonstrates how popular the resort is, although there were very few English there when we stayed. We will certainly return to the Fort, it is not a plush hotel, but it is one of the nicest, most welcoming hotels we have been to.

Room Tip: A room on a high floor gives you great views across the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank suziuno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FORTARAB, General Manager at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful review and for choosing to stay at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas.

You said it all and we are sure guests will enjoy the review as much as we did. We sincerely thank you for your time and effort.

Your remark about sales on the beach was brought to the attention of the concerned departments for corrective action. It is through your valuable feedback that we can constantly improve the services provided to our valuable guests.

Last but not least, we are glad you had a relaxing enjoyable holiday and we are very pleased that you will be returning to our friendly resort in the future.

We look forward to welcome you back at "your home away from home".


Sincerely,

Antoine Goubran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Just returned from yet another holiday in Egypt. Weather beautiful and temperature ranging from 34 to 38 and most days with a lovely breeze (very necessary in these temperatures) Sea had warmed a little more up to 23 deg. We've seen quite a few changes since our first visit to Makadi Bay in 2010 especially with regard to the coral and fish. Four years ago we would just step into the water and there was the coral, even better with snorkel on and a few feet further into the sea. Unfortunately, over the last few years more and more of the coral has been "hacked" off (yes, we've actually seen it happen by a tourist from the next hotel coming through into our area where the coral is/was good). They don't seem to grasp the fact that once touched, the coral dies. Also feeding the fish in Egypt is illegal and if the Egyptians wanted to they could arrest you. Please, please, do not use huge flippers in this area, unless you are going diving or taking a boat trip to deeper water, flippers really are not necessary. And please do not stand on the coral as many people do. Just enjoy the hotel, gardens and sea without destroying anything. And please be nice to the staff; they are very helpful and try to make your holiday as enjoyable as possible and do please tip as they are very poorly paid. It will be appreciated and they always seem to be smiling.

Room Tip: All rooms are very good and single travellers also have a decent room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kittikatr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Just back from a brilliant holiday - Stayed at the Fort Arabesque Hotel in Makadi Bay, Hurgahda, last minute booking and never visited Egypt before. All inclusive basis. Arrived at 21.30 hrs, welcomed by Reception staff and advised to go to the restaurant for a meal before it closed at 22.00hrs, while they organised our check in. Taken to our room, very spacious on ground floor, 2 king sized beds, plenty of wardrobe space, little short of hangers, but that seems to be pretty normal. Bathroom nice and big shower. Fresh thick towels every day. Towels are also provided for the pools/beach on a daily basis.
The beach is the best around and there are plenty of sunbeds with lots of space between so you do not feel you are invading another's space. There is a beach bar where you can get snacks and meals and drinks/ices. Very friendly staff. We had 2 very nice meals here in the evenings with excellent service. You can also book a sunbed on the beach and receive a cool box with drinks and cold towels, fruit skewers are also presented. Book this at the start of the week as it is very popular & limited. Make sure you take or buy snorkelling gear, the sea has beautiful coral reefs and shoals of beautiful fish swim with you. The pool areas are spacious and clean. The food is good with a number of choices although some are repeated it is not a problem. There are nice areas to sit in the evenings and listen to the live music, there is also an arena for shows but we did not go to these. You can walk along the coast past a number of other hotels and it is a nice evening walk. There are plenty of trips which you can go on, we went on just one - Royal Cruise to spot & swim with the dolphins, it is a good day out and worth the money.
The hotel is clean, well maintained and spacious. The staff are attentive and helpful. It is worth attending the Reps talk during your first day as he gives lots of good advice.
Talked to other guests who had returned numerous times as they enjoyed their stay so much.
There were a lot of Italian and German guests but few English whilst we were there, however as we went the week before half time it was pretty quiet all round - just what the doctor ordered!!
The down side - went on Thomson flight and I think it was the noisiest flight I have ever been on, unfortunately we had to listen to two boys shouting and jumping around in their seats for 5 hours and playing their DVD's loudly, the parents took no notice and failed to understand that few people were impressed with their children. The cabin crew asked them to be quiet once.
We will return to this hotel as on the whole it was an excellent holiday. The weather was in the 30's and even in the shade a good tan was obtained, but take care, the sun is very hot!! We loved it here and will definitely return.

Room Tip: We would request a room on an upper level next time as we had a limited sea view, and we do like to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bavinjulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FORTARAB, General Manager at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your first stay in Egypt. We are really honored.

We highly appreciate your time and effort to post your delightful review and we are glad you had an excellent holiday.

We have chosen to keep our reply simple to give guests a chance to enjoy your review.

Thank you once again and we are proud you will be returning to our beautiful resort in the near future.


With our best regards,

Antoine Goubran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

I hardly need to write a review as there are so many good ones. I went with Saga as some travellers recommended this place when I was in Gran Canaria with my parents.
I wanted to snorkel and that was brilliant. You can walk straight into the sea and swim along the reef. I was VERY lucky when I got up early (6.30) to swim with a giant turtle. All on my own just me and him. .........and then the last morning I saw a really large Lion Fish and also a large moray eel! EEK.
Anyway other things. Fort Arabesque is very peaceful compared to the places around. In case other Saga customers are wondering travelling with Saga is BRILLIANT. You get whisked through the customs bit, the transport takes you direct to the hotel (no spending ages dropping off at loads of other places). You get a kettle in the room, free laundry, beer in the mini bar as well as juice and water and the rep is BRILLIANT. Most Saga guests come time and time again and I will be joining them. Saga clients are based in the West Wing and the staff in that restaurant are excellent. Indeed the service was all excellent and friendly but not pushy. I travelled on my own and had a brilliant time because of the friendliness from both guests and staff. There is entertainment in the Sunset Bar. A singer who might not be the world's best but he got everyone up and dancing.
The animation team were great too. I did stretch and yoga and joined in a dance class. They also have aqua aerobics. It is not all in Italian as some reviews have said. There is also a table tennis table. In the evenings the animation team put on shows and there are two professional acts which were worth watching. Thank you International team: Tito, Haitham, Hesham and Lauren and of course Ines.
I knew the food was basic but it was actually pretty nice. The wine with meals was okay. I don't drink much and the local brands of brandy,whisky were undrinkable! But people did drink them and in the Saga bar they are a bit better. You do have to pay for cocktails. Food hygiene is excellent. There were no tummy bugs.
My room 364 was fine. Lovely view. I could hear the music but it stops at 11pm. If you want to sleep earlier you can always request a quiet room. There were also ground floor rooms.
I did the trip to El Gouna which was fascinating. Also the semi submarine and a boat trip which the rep organised just for us! 11 of us on a large boat with lunch included for around £30 each. Oh money. I took Egyptian and Stirling. You can use any thing! But I didn't have enough for tips and I wanted to tip.You can take some £1 coins but also fivers. It is hard to get Egyptian money in small denominations.
I went to snorkel and that was just lovely. There were plenty of sunbeds. I guess if the politicial situation improves more tourists will travel to Egypt and it may get busier.
I can't wait to go back and really wish I had booked for a month! With Saga you can get the fourth week free at certain times and lots of people do that. Everyone knew each other but always included everyone. I am not sure what was so special to make people return so often.............just the sort of family feel. It is not a five star hotel but just had a lovely atmosphere.
Oh you get a voucher so you can have a Lebanese meal one night. I enjoyed that although some people didn't. Anyway it was nice to be waited on and sit by the sea. Oh the Saga Welcome Dinner was really good. You can tell I really enjoyed this holiday......can't stop writing about it!
Just one more thing there is a really good massage centre and also a Beauty Parlour. They come round on the beach to try to get you to have a facial with threading! or manicure or pedicure. But actually it was all very good value and very good! I treated myself to quite a bit and I never do that usually.
So I hope you have a lovely holiday too..............

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank vwaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FORTARAB, General Manager at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the brilliant review and for choosing to stay at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas.

You said it all and leave us nothing to add other than a big thank you for such an enjoyable review, which we read over and over again.

We can tell that you really enjoyed our holiday and it would be a pleasure indeed to welcome you back at our resort for a longer stay in the near future.


Sincerely,

Antoine Goubran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
0.4 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
1.4 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 29 in Makadi Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
8.5 mi away
SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort
0.9 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas

Property: Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
Address: Safaga Road | Abu Makhadeg Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#10 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#11 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#13 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 458
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa, & Villas promises tranquilityand opulence with its 444 luxurious rooms, suites, privateapartments and 14 newly built villas.Four dining venues, five swimming pools, including a children's pool(three of which are heated), a state-of-the-art gym, world class Thai managed Spa and sports facilities as well as I-Dive, a five-starIDC PADI dive center, guarantee a fun and unforgettable hotel experience.Inspired by the Sardinian roots of its architects, FortArabesque Resort & Spa combines distinctive Italianand Arabic accents in its architecture, from its imposingmedieval fort structure to its interior touches and décor,where the different shades of Egyptian cave stones fromAswan blend with the antique fine wood furnishings oforiental designs.We would like to introduce our new concept as well, which is unique in Egypt.Nestled within the Fort Arabesque resort, The Villas offer its guests luxurious accommodation, space and privacy in addition to a more personal and dedicated service. Each of the 14 Villas (8 units with 1 bedroom + 1 bathroom, 6 units with 2 bedrooms + 2 bathrooms) is tastefully decorated to reflect the mix of Arabic accents and Mediterranean influences of the Fort Arabesque Resort. All units have private garden and terrace with private access to a secluded swimming pool exclusive to The Villas. To ensure a fast and efficient service, the check-in is done through a private reception. The residents also have access to the Pavilion which is a private lounge where the villa guests can enjoy a semi-served upgraded breakfast in the morning. For lunch and dinner time the Pavilion functions as an A’la Carte Restaurant, giving the opportunity to enjoy a fine dining experience. The extra benefits of the Villa Guests include free Wi-Fi, free Gym usage and various discounts in the different outlets of the hotel.Guests at The Villas are free to use all the facilities and enjoy the same ‘all inclusive’ benefits at the resort with quick access to the main restaurant and the beach as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Arabesque
Fort Arabesque Makadi Bay
Fort Arabesque Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing