We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic second holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
norwich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“fantastic second holiday”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

this was our 2nd trip to fort arabesque, the staff remembered us straight away and it was fab!! the beach is excellent sandy to walk out and look at the fish or snorkel with them! The bedrooms we had were fantastic (a little updating maybe) but very clean and always looked after well by the housemen. The food is buffet style and always something to find, drinks are available everywhere, beach,pool,restaurant always near and handy, ice cream and ice oozes too always available. very hot in july 40+ most days so need high factor sun cream, we stayed in the west wing and the bar staff there Mina F, Mina G and all the boys are fabulous, always have a laugh and very friendly all the time, lots of pools to choose from and shops in the main building are ok if you haggle a bit!!! I have listened to other people going to different hotels and this definitely is the best in the bay, hope to back again sometime, fabulous!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bumbelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,048 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    926
    800
    209
    79
    34
See reviews for
657
979
61
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlova, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I think that hotel is really great. It contains wonderfull beach with many corals so I recommand to take diving equipment. There are two main restaurant from which you can choose so you can easily avoid crowds during dinner. Also variety of food is great. Aircondition is for free on every room. Drinks are served in originals cans which is also very good. Hotel staff is also very helpfull.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RadekNovak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This was my third visit to the Fort, the hotel is situated a 30 minute drive from the airport and is in a wonderful bay shared with a number of other large hotels. The rooms are modern and very spacious, all come with great views, previously I've had a top floor panoramic view but this time I was in the West wing, had a ground floor room, this had it's advantages, still had nice views, came with it's own little garden going access to your room by either patio door or main door. The room has great air con and tv with a number of English channels albeit rarely used. Plenty of space and each day a great feature on the bed made from the towels by the cleaner. The only draw back was the room was opposite the cleaners cupboard so I got woken up at 0630 every morning! On my first night I realised I had brought the wrong adaptor for Egypt and asked the reception if they could help, I was amazed that they were able to go and get me a brand new UK adaptor for nothing, life savers! There awe two wings to the hotel East (main) and West which is the smaller one, again the advantages of this wing is that it's not so busy come meal times! The food was ok, nothing fabulous but there was something for everyone each day, the dangerous part was the desserts, so nice it was devilish! The hotel is very clean along with the fabulous beach which was litter picked three times a day, there's plenty of room for all, the sea is crystal clear with reefs within waist high from the beach with amazing fish to see. There's plenty to do on the beach too with kids club and sports for all ages. There is also a brilliant diving club for both kids and adults. There are many pools spread about the site and all are well maintained, some become a bit of a heat trap which is overwhelming as you get a 'cool' breeze on the beach. I cannot fault this hotel, it's got everything you could want from an all inclusive resort, highly recommended and will be glad to go a 4th time and more. You can leave the hotel grounds and walk the promenade at leisure in front of the other hotels, it's very safe and you will feel at ease. This hotel is mainly for Italian guests with the main language Italian but there was mostly British and German guests, very few Russians which was perfect!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor if it's not fully booked to get the best views or a room in the West Wing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This is a nice hotel, there are many positive reviews and as such I agree with the vast majority of people.

Beach, snorkelling, staff and overall service are great.

I will instead concentrate on the things that stopped me rating this as a 5 * and instead rating as a 4.

Check-In - Was very slow, annoying after a long flight

Room - The mini-bar is part of the 'all inclusive' package, but was empty on arrival, not a major issue but we were all very dehydrated and not having any water in the room was not pleasant, we reported this to reception three times before it was refilled.

There are four people booked in the room, but only three towels supplied, again it took a number of requests to get the right number of towels.

The room was 'tired', but clean and tidy.

Food - Overall fine, no 'Egyptian tummy' for anyone, this is a first, we normally have one of us suffering during the holiday but not this time. The menu was not as varied as in some hotels and I found it to be repetitive over the two week break.

The hotel operates a 'everything comes' in cans policy, which is great. I am convinced the standard 'mixer' tap type dispensers cause a lot of stomach issues, but as each can is opened 'fresh' its great. Not a huge variety of drinks available.

Main Negative - The pools. We were advised confidentially by a member of staff not to swim too much in the pool with the swim up bar due to its lack of cleaning. Actually all pools were 'cloudy' , had litter floating and were generally not as good as they should be. The pool with the swim up bar was so cloudy by 3pm each day that you could not even see the bottom of the pool.

Having had ear infections on previous trips we therefore spent as much time on the beach and as little time at the pool as possible.

Trips & Excursions - We also did a number of trips, special thanks to Hassan at IDive for arranging. I would strongly advise to book directly via him rather than via any tour operator. We hired a whole boat for two separate trips for not much more than you would have paid going on a crowded boat of 20+ people, we had all inclusive, fishing, snorkelling, the highlight of the trip being a night snorkel.

Do not be worried booking directly with IDive, you get much better value for money and they deliver exactly what is promised.

Top Tips - Use Hassan and IDive for your trips, the Pavillion Resturant is ok but overpriced for what you get, the beach bar 'special' nights are better if you are looking to spend some money on a change of food.

Overall - Would we come back, Yes, would we come back if nothing had changed - Yes, all the negative issues above were minor when compared to the overall experience.

Many thanks to all the team and to Peter @ The Perfume Shop ( Well worth a visit ).

Room Tip: Rooms 100-110 are centrally located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FORTARAB, Manager at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and for taken the time to describe your impressions about the hotel.

We are sorry to learn that the hotel did not live up to your expectations.

We will take into consideration all your observations in order to improve our services.
We appreciate describing your positive experience and we hope that you will consider returning to us, therefore we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future to experience our hospitality.

With our best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I spend a week with my familly in Fort arabesque, and it was really great, nice place, not crowded, verry friendly staff, tha buffet food is excellent, a lot of animation, and a wonderfull beach with many free kayak a catamaran, and underwater fantadtic corals fish, ray, turtles sometimes. the beach is even used by clients from other hotels and resort as it is the most beautiful on the bay.They also have a verry nice diving center, and we made fantastic dives. really recommeneded. Dany Oppliger

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dany_oppliger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I'm new to trip adviser. Nice hotel. Great location next to the Red Sea. Food ok. Just spent our time snorkelling. Fantastic!

Aircon In rooms not the best, once the Egyptian sun had been beating down all day it wasn't up to the task.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

we stayed for 5 night, food and drinks quality was good, room service is below normal as our room air condition was not working properly, staff is not at the targeted level especially in the restaurant. Location generally is good, Animation team was interesting and nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank George_eryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
0.4 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
1.4 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#3 of 30 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
8.5 mi away
SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort
0.9 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas

Property: Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
Address: Safaga Road | Abu Makhadeg Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#10 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#11 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#15 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 458
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa, & Villas promises tranquilityand opulence with its 444 luxurious rooms, suites, privateapartments and 14 newly built villas.Four dining venues, five swimming pools, including a children's pool(three of which are heated), a state-of-the-art gym, world class Thai managed Spa and sports facilities as well as I-Dive, a five-starIDC PADI dive center, guarantee a fun and unforgettable hotel experience.Inspired by the Sardinian roots of its architects, FortArabesque Resort & Spa combines distinctive Italianand Arabic accents in its architecture, from its imposingmedieval fort structure to its interior touches and décor,where the different shades of Egyptian cave stones fromAswan blend with the antique fine wood furnishings oforiental designs.We would like to introduce our new concept as well, which is unique in Egypt.Nestled within the Fort Arabesque resort, The Villas offer its guests luxurious accommodation, space and privacy in addition to a more personal and dedicated service. Each of the 14 Villas (8 units with 1 bedroom + 1 bathroom, 6 units with 2 bedrooms + 2 bathrooms) is tastefully decorated to reflect the mix of Arabic accents and Mediterranean influences of the Fort Arabesque Resort. All units have private garden and terrace with private access to a secluded swimming pool exclusive to The Villas. To ensure a fast and efficient service, the check-in is done through a private reception. The residents also have access to the Pavilion which is a private lounge where the villa guests can enjoy a semi-served upgraded breakfast in the morning. For lunch and dinner time the Pavilion functions as an A’la Carte Restaurant, giving the opportunity to enjoy a fine dining experience. The extra benefits of the Villa Guests include free Wi-Fi, free Gym usage and various discounts in the different outlets of the hotel.Guests at The Villas are free to use all the facilities and enjoy the same ‘all inclusive’ benefits at the resort with quick access to the main restaurant and the beach as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Arabesque
Fort Arabesque Makadi Bay
Fort Arabesque Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing