We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great beach” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great beach”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Beach was great, pools were never cleaned in the two weeks I was there. Rooms need repainting as paint peeling off the walls, asked for an upgrade but none available. Some staff were great others could not be bothered, no wonder you help yourself from the fridges, but that's a positive point. Very disappointed , won't be back.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,987 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    889
    784
    203
    77
    34
See reviews for
643
943
56
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed here for two weeks and can honestly say that we enjoyed the whole experience. We stayed in the east wing and both our rooms were lovely, they were cleaned every day to a superb standard, the food was excellent and the beach and pools were lovely. All the bars - the windbreaker and the beach bar were staffed by very pleasant and helpful staff. I would thoroughly recommend a stay here. I would suggest that the best time to go to the restaurant is 8pm at night, that's just before it gets too busy, the waiters here are very helpful too. I would return here again and we used the Idive facility to dive with (see my review for them), they were fantastic. The charge for wifi is nominal, but in this day and age it really should be free

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

This was our second visit to Fort Arabesque, we came three years ago and loved it so much we wanted to return.
So disappointed that it is not the hotel it was in 2011. Not sure if management have changed but the whole 'feel' of the place has changed. Lots more things cost extra and the reception staff who were so kind and helpful last time are now quite grumpy and bordering on rude.
We waited for half an hour before they tracked down our booking and were then shown to a small and tired looking family room. Only plus side was that we were in a lovely location close to the beach. When I queried the room I was told (quite abruptly) that I had actually been given a more superior room than I booked? Not sure how this could be true, I chose a family room with sea and garden view which is what we got only it was smaller than the one we were given last time.
The other major factor and the reason we won't be returning is the new way of getting a sun bed on the beach. To secure a bed you must pay, not overly expensive but when you have paid over £3000 on a family holiday you would assume a sun bed would be included. This basically meant that all front rows were booked and held by same families for 2 weeks and mainly sat empty for parts of the day while we all sat at the back. You are also assured that if anyone tries to reserve a bed (without paying) and then doesn't return after an hour their belongings are removed by the beach boys and their beds become free. This does not happen. I was on the beach by 7:30 every morning (had no choice as we wouldn't get a bed otherwise) and I observed families dumping all their bits and then disappearing for hours on end to the pool.
The beach bar is still a pleasure to be in and the restaurant was great. The food is still good and plentiful and as long as you don't object to queuing it is fine.
On our last evening I asked for a late checkout which I was told would cost 20€, I agreed but then they told me this wasn't possible after all? On the day of check out our housekeeper told me it would be fine to leave at 1pm as he didn't require the room back until then. At 12:30 reception called and told us to vacate room ASAP (within 10mins) or we would have to pay extra! So this meant a 10 min run through the hot corridors to reach reception in time. Making our last few hours at fort arabesque memorable! Out of interest we 'popped back' past our room half an hour later and it remained untouched.
So overall we come home disappointed and tired. Fort Arabesque is a beautiful hotel in an amazing location, such a shame it has lost the 'extra special' feeling it had in 2011. I would also suggest reception staff are given some training in being kind and helpful, maybe by the staff in the restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank browngirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

No complaints. Excellent beach not crowded with ample sunbeds. Staff in restaurant and bar helpful and friendly. Food was fresh and delicious. Don't want to say too much as don't want it overcrowded !!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dorothy111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We booked this holiday using loveholiday.com. Much cheaper than First Choice. On arrival late evening we were asked by reception to wait two minutes. A juice was provided and twenty minutes later after complaining a member of staff came over and asked us to fill in forms and provide our passports. Eventually forty five minutes later we were shown to our room.

Giving the room the initial once over the bathroom smelt a little damp. Next to the bed stuck to the wall were half dead ants. Pulled out the bedside cabinet and a pile of dead ants and fluff and dirt were revealed. Called housekeeping they came up and we asked that they ensure it was cleaned in the morning as we were tired and just wanted to go to bed. Beds were clean. The television in the room was old fashioned and not tuned in very well but we did not raise this issue as we were on holiday to get away and relax.

Room 4420, drains did not drain properly during the whole week and the ants returned second to last night. Cleaner gave us some fly spray to kill them, and took the filter out of the shower to drain, all became clear once we were due to leave.

General cleaning of our room was okay but not thorough. Furniture needed to be pulled out and cleaned under. Admittedly I did take our Dettol wipes and wiped down doors and tv remote. 5th visit to Egypt and on each occasion we have been ill and in the case of husband he was very ill. However, this holiday we all remained well so either avoiding the pool or the additional cleaning by us may have helped or we are just immune now.

We ate in the East Wing restaurant. Breakfast had a good choice but it was poorly laid out. We tried to avoid busy times as it was like being back at school in the canteen, queuing and shoving. I saw the omlette man one morning, he made eye contact, I smiled and he walked off! You have to find your table and like other reviews we found the waiting staff not great. The odd one made eye contact and smiled but most of the time they chucked cutlery down whilst rudely shouting to their colleagues. (cheaper on the tips for us).

For evening meals we went after 8.30/9pm which meant that some evenings there were not many choices a lot of tureens were empty/had scraps in. Fish plentiful but not for 10 days. We found the food a little bland after 5 days. Hate to admit it ended up in Hurghada stuffing down a hearty burger and milkshake (and I don't like MacDonalds). So food not really great.

Lunch on the beach. Deep fat fried something in a bun with chips and bits of salad each day. Not dressing to go to restaurant so not sure if lunch would have been better there.

Beach, sunbeds, sun shades fantastic. We went to the quieter part close to the diving centre and a drink beach bar where you could get coffee/tea, tinned drinks, ice lollies all day. Perfect. Always beds available Brilliant so no up early with the towels. Towel shack open long hours and very well organised.

Felt the shop, greedily charged way too much for crisps, chocs, etc. Go to the SensoMall or Hurghada in the taxi and stock up, the food is loads cheaper in the supermarkets if you fancy chocolate or crisps. The ice cream in the shop has also defrosted and refrozen so it was not nice. However they did mend my lilo I bought from them the day before which had a hole in it for nothing.

My husband and 14 year old daughter went on the Quad bike safari based at the hotel, they spent 2.5 hours zooming around the desert at sunset, apparently they would highly recommend this as it was safety orientated and a lot of fun.

Refused to pay for the gym, it should be free as a facility of the hotel to guests. No gym for two weeks.

Staff in the bar area were very more customer friendly and it was nice to wi-fi and drink coffee and relax there.

Reception staff very good. Even though I e-mailed the hotel from England and asked if we were going to be able to keep our room up to 6pm as we had an evening flight and being advised that it would not be a problem for an additional payment we were advised on the last day we would have to move two doors down. After insisting strongly we eventually were allowed to stay in our room and not have to move everything over for 4 hours.

Room Tip: Room 4420 could do with refurbishment. Drainage in the bathroom very poor, noisy aircon, ants in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cliveandissi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here over easter for a week with my husband and son (aged 11) as we celebrated my husbands 50th. Checking in was painless and our bags were immediately taken to our room which was a decent size and clean. Towels were changed daily and mini bar was stocked regularly.

Hotel and grounds are kept clean as was the beach which was lovely, we always ended our day at the beach bar to watch the sun go down. Pools were very nice and one was heated on a few days while we were there which was nice.

What I really liked about this hotel was the drinks were in cans so no watered down local brews served in a small plastic cup, local spirits were also good especially the rum. Food was of good quality, there was always something to eat regardless of how fussy you are. I especially like the freshly made to order omelette at breakfast - very nice. Most of the staff were polite and friendly although there is the odd grumpy one but you get staff like this everywhere.

Overall had a lovely holiday and would definitely go back.


Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Cathyjayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

On arrival we were a little concerned when seeing we had to pay for both wifi and use of the gym, it wasn't a huge price, but wondered what else we'd end up paying for! Our bags were taken up by staff as we were guided to our rooms where they had thoughtfully given us some food as the restaurants had already closed, it wasn't great quality, but ate it as we were hungry. The room however was very spacious, so we rested our heads on some rather comfortable beds, there was great (though a little noisy) air conditioning, and even blackout curtains...wonderful sleep all week!!
After the initial worry, the rest of the week was marvellous, the food was lovely, the staff were very helpful and we had a great time. We really enjoyed our time on the beach, and I think we were lucky enough to pick the hotel with the best beach and quite possibly the best sea. We went snorkelling almost everyday in the sea, the coral and wildlife was just beautiful. My partner unfortunately got a stomach bug on the last day, however, we'd been on a boat trip where they had served food so it was unclear on where it had come from. If you like a bit of adventure then I recommend the dessert experience excursion.
Great trip, highly recommendable.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Vanessita89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
0.4 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
1.4 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 29 in Makadi Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
8.5 mi away
SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort
0.9 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas

Property: Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
Address: Safaga Road | Abu Makhadeg Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#10 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#11 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#12 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 458
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa, & Villas promises tranquilityand opulence with its 444 luxurious rooms, suites, privateapartments and 14 newly built villas.Four dining venues, five swimming pools, including a children's pool(three of which are heated), a state-of-the-art gym, world class Thai managed Spa and sports facilities as well as I-Dive, a five-starIDC PADI dive center, guarantee a fun and unforgettable hotel experience.Inspired by the Sardinian roots of its architects, FortArabesque Resort & Spa combines distinctive Italianand Arabic accents in its architecture, from its imposingmedieval fort structure to its interior touches and décor,where the different shades of Egyptian cave stones fromAswan blend with the antique fine wood furnishings oforiental designs.We would like to introduce our new concept as well, which is unique in Egypt.Nestled within the Fort Arabesque resort, The Villas offer its guests luxurious accommodation, space and privacy in addition to a more personal and dedicated service. Each of the 14 Villas (8 units with 1 bedroom + 1 bathroom, 6 units with 2 bedrooms + 2 bathrooms) is tastefully decorated to reflect the mix of Arabic accents and Mediterranean influences of the Fort Arabesque Resort. All units have private garden and terrace with private access to a secluded swimming pool exclusive to The Villas. To ensure a fast and efficient service, the check-in is done through a private reception. The residents also have access to the Pavilion which is a private lounge where the villa guests can enjoy a semi-served upgraded breakfast in the morning. For lunch and dinner time the Pavilion functions as an A’la Carte Restaurant, giving the opportunity to enjoy a fine dining experience. The extra benefits of the Villa Guests include free Wi-Fi, free Gym usage and various discounts in the different outlets of the hotel.Guests at The Villas are free to use all the facilities and enjoy the same ‘all inclusive’ benefits at the resort with quick access to the main restaurant and the beach as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo, LoveHolidays and Hotels.com so you can book your Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Arabesque
Fort Arabesque Makadi Bay
Fort Arabesque Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing