We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd stay as good as 1st stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2010

We came back to the Fort Arabesque after our 1st holiday there last July and it didn't disappoint. We reckon we'll stay again for a week each year as we know what to expect and it really is great for a week of relaxing and sun, with a fantastic beach. We upgraded on arrival to a superior room for €70- and it was worth it. The bathroom was bigger and much nicer and the room generally more modern and roomy. Temp was about 30-33'C but the following week it went up to 42'C which is like July 2009.
We would highly recommend the hotel to anyone who likes a relaxing holiday with great beach and fully stocked sea for snorkelling. Food was also excellent and no upset tummies this time.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank senoritatraviesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,122 - 1,128 of 2,187 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2010

After reading previous reviews, I just knew that this would be a brilliant stay. We arrived at about 10.30pm and they had kept the dining room open specially for new arrivals. When we were taken to our room it was massive, we had two double beds and room for a couple more. We were in the new building, and as promised a wonderful sea view, and it was idyllic sitting on the balcony watching the sunsets.

The service was excellent, and all the staff made you feel very special. We had no problems with the food at all. The Thomson rep Hannah was lovely, but it was her first week on the job. We went on the desert and stars trip and felt that it had been stage managed, was not at all what had been expected. The second trip we went on was to Hurghada, was very disappointing, a very long trip and a lot of the things we visited was unnecessary, we did not get back to the hotel until 11.30pm but could not justify this length of time out. The meal at the Hard Rock Cafe again was disappointing. I'm sure once the rep has researched herself they will be reviewed and changed as necessary.

All in all a fabulous holiday, but watch out when arriving in Egypt hob nail boots and shin guards required to fight to keep your place in the queue.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Poppet210462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

Shall I soften you up with the good points of Fort Arabesque, before unleashing my fury with the bad points? Why not....it makes a read more interesting!

We arrived about 9pm at night after a two hour delay on the flight, and were whisked off to our room in the 'Saga Wing' - this seemed to be catering more for Seniors (as its name would suggest!) and couples who were *cough* more mature - ie in their 40's and above who were there with no kids, the main wing seems to occupy the more family/younger oriented groups. Mainly a mix of Italians, Germans and us pasty skinned Brits.

The room.....well what can I say about the room? It was bigger than my flat! Two huge super-kingsize beds, leather sofas and chairs, walk in wardrobe, huge bath, 42'' LCD TV, Mini-bar, glass walk in shower and a basket of fruit on arrival.....if you got up in the middle of the night for a pee, the sun was coming up as you wandered back to bed....and the room was kept spotless throughout, with an array of towel creations left every other day, including swans, crocodiles, rabbits etc and a lovely balcony overlooking the pool and sea.

The restaurant was clean, cool and although it got a little hectic at times, was very efficiently run, the food (buffet style) had plenty (and I mean plenty) of choice, from 3 soups at every mealtime, a carvery, pasta station, salad bar, dessert table and of course your mains....and the food was always piping hot, and being constantly replenished. After a day or two, the waiting staff knew what you wanted to drink and would just check to be sure before bring it (tip - drink the Sakara beer, not the Stella, and if you want a Pepsi, get it from the fridge in the bar, as the restaurant serves it only in bottles which are gone in two mouthfuls!)

The Sunset Bar is expertly run, always a smiling face, and even one night an impromtu dance by Abdul which drew huge cheers from everyone! The singer in the bar must have gone to the same vocal coach as Margarita Pracatan, but gave us plenty of laughs and entertainment in our few weeks, especially when he sang 'Living Next Door To Alice' which had all the seniors dancing away and screaming obscenities at the appropriate times - priceless memories! A few tips here and there really go a long way in getting you drinks replenished at your table before you've even finished your previous one! BTW there are fridges filled with beers, water, soft drinks and fruit juices for you just to help your self to!

Entertainment there is always something going on, be it in the beach or sunset bars, or in the main ampitheatre with Fakirs and Belly Dancing.....wre they any good? I have no idea as we were quite happy to sip G&Ts and listen to the croonings of Mohammad Pracatan.

The beach was immaculate, with cleaners going around at least twice a day, emptying bins etc, and making sure everything was spit-spot, along with the towel guys who would wander around, having a laugh with you and chasing visitors from other hotels telling them they can't leave their gear on the beach whilst snorkelling - the Fort has the longest and beast beach in Makadi Bay at 1km long with amazing reefs and snorkelling a matter of a few yards off the shoreline, we saw Stingrays, Lionfish and even an octopus having a fight with another one, chasing each other through the water and zooming a matter of inches away from me ( http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2WLjDzmiqpE ) I would say, on the whole the snorkelling was better than the Maldives.

Now the bad points....at breakfast they give you a pot of milk and a pot of hot water for your drinks, with a basket of teabags and sachets of Nescafe instant. Not what I want for my kickstart to the day! It would be so much nicer to as if you wanted tea of coffee and give you a pot of tea, of a cafettiere of coffee instead of sachets!

On the whole, we went with low expectations, despite having read what people have written on here, thinking 'nowhere can be that good!' and had plans for a trip to Luxor etc if we hated the place and wanted to escape, but mainly wanted a bit of R&R, if it was that good, we argued, we'd come back and do a few trips next time round. In the whole fortnight, we didn't set foot out of the hotel grounds it was that good! Next year we'll do Luxor.....or maybe the year after!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank dmoak66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2010

Hello to all, we got back from the Fort yesterday 29th May.Ww have friends who stayed here a few weeks before us ,so we knew roughly what to expect but we were very surprised that it was even better than they said.We travelled with my parents who also loved the place.Firstly we thought the service was excellent,nothing was too much trouble and that it was not necessary to tip to get this although i am of the opinion if you get good service its worth a tip.The reception were efficient and polite . The waiting staff were very good and once you knew their name or they remembered yours you were always greeted with a smile and shown to the table of your choice.Our room was kept very clean by Abdul who asked every day if our room was ok he also kept our mini bar well stocked and even came in most nights to turn the bed down.The room was very spacious with a double and single bed,the bathroom had a corner shower which always had hot water what ever time of day.the only thing we didnt like was it wasnt light enough in there as the only light was by the mirror.The beach was the best along Makadi Bay and the snorkelling was very good ,i was lucky enough to see my first sting ray and so many other varieties. The sea was warm and very clear.Foodwise we were very happy it was always hot and there was lots of variety. We ate in the main buffet every night so we didnt try the saga restaurant so cant comment on it.Although not a fancy marbled interior we found it comfortable , modern and airy hotel and we will be returning next year and we would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lynnandkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2010

Our first trip to Makady Bay, almost everyone we met seemed to be regular visitors & it's easy to see why.

A nice clean hotel, friendly staff, a good mixture of clients - catering for all ages (Saga to toddlers) and a good mixture of nationalities but appearing to be mainly Italian, German & British.

A fair selection of buffet style meals, not earth shattering menus & a little bit repetative after 2 weeks, but still something for everyone. No obvious food hygiene worries, heard the odd complaint of the old Pharohs revenge which was probably down to individual constitution rather than dodgy catering, no mass outbreaks.

The hotel itself is a large sprawling complex composed of 2 wings, both with their own restaurants & pools with easy access to a long stretch of shared beachfront. The New wing is the quieter of the 2, housing the Saga guests, older couples and younger families. The Old wing houses the "fun" beach & pool area, home to the impossibly hyperactive Italian animation team, (great if that's your thing). Thankfully, the sound of "fun" is not overwhelming away from the Old wing pool area & their forrays into the New wing area "to get the party started" were minimal & relatively brief.

The main draw for this destination is probably the House Reef, situated a few metres off the main beach, making snorkelling & diving (after sunbathing) the most popular daytime activities. Special mention goes to Carlo & Erika who run the relatively small Italian iDive outfit. I found this to be one of the most friendly, inclusive & professional dive operations I have encountered on the Red Sea. Catering for all abilities, there's some very picturesque dive sites within a 10-20 minute boat journey & as mentioned the House reef is on the doorstep. I would recommend this as a place to learn to dive or gain experience in a sheltered environment, the currents are minimal & 18-20 metres covers the usual depth profile. Hardcore divers may find the standard dives a little tame, but Nitrox & trips further afield to more challenging sites are possible. iDive also run larger all day island & snorkelling boat excursions as well as the glass bottom boat for those unable/unwilling to dip a toe in the sea.

All in all. a top 2 weeks, would recommend this to anyone & it will be my first choice when booking our next trip to the Egyptian Red Sea.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ScubaBantam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2010

A great hotel, very very good food, fantastic private beach and brilliant coral reefs just yards from the shore. We had a very relaxing week - no need to leave the hotel. The staff are very friendly, hotel is very clean. Only downside was poor wif-fi connection.
I would love to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Horsham_Matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

This is our 4th holiday at the Fort Arabesque Hotel and we are still thoroughly satisfied with all aspects of the hotel & staff.
The location is second to none & we would certainly have no hesitation in booking again.
Contrary to the comments of the "Yorkshire" person, we have always found Mohammed, the restaurant manager, to be fair, courteous & helpful and we have never seen or heard him raise his voice to his staff.
The staff are friendly to all nationalities equally and none are treated any differently to others.
Over the 4 years that we have visited the restaurant staff have changed very little so Mohammed can't be that bad a boss!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SWalesWelshlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
0.3 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
0.7 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#5 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,354 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
932 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#42 of 222 in Hurghada
2,379 reviews
2.5 mi away
Baron Palace Sahl Hasheesh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas

Address: Safaga Road | Abu Makhadeg Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#7 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#10 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#11 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#12 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range: £54 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 458
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa, & Villas promises tranquilityand opulence with its 444 luxurious rooms, suites, privateapartments and 14 newly built villas.Four dining venues, five swimming pools, including a children's pool(three of which are heated), a state-of-the-art gym, world class Thai managed Spa and sports facilities as well as I-Dive, a five-starIDC PADI dive center, guarantee a fun and unforgettable hotel experience.Inspired by the Sardinian roots of its architects, FortArabesque Resort & Spa combines distinctive Italianand Arabic accents in its architecture, from its imposingmedieval fort structure to its interior touches and décor,where the different shades of Egyptian cave stones fromAswan blend with the antique fine wood furnishings oforiental designs.We would like to introduce our new concept as well, which is unique in Egypt.Nestled within the Fort Arabesque resort, The Villas offer its guests luxurious accommodation, space and privacy in addition to a more personal and dedicated service. Each of the 14 Villas (8 units with 1 bedroom + 1 bathroom, 6 units with 2 bedrooms + 2 bathrooms) is tastefully decorated to reflect the mix of Arabic accents and Mediterranean influences of the Fort Arabesque Resort. All units have private garden and terrace with private access to a secluded swimming pool exclusive to The Villas. To ensure a fast and efficient service, the check-in is done through a private reception. The residents also have access to the Pavilion which is a private lounge where the villa guests can enjoy a semi-served upgraded breakfast in the morning. For lunch and dinner time the Pavilion functions as an A’la Carte Restaurant, giving the opportunity to enjoy a fine dining experience. The extra benefits of the Villa Guests include free Wi-Fi, free Gym usage and various discounts in the different outlets of the hotel.Guests at The Villas are free to use all the facilities and enjoy the same ‘all inclusive’ benefits at the resort with quick access to the main restaurant and the beach as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Arabesque
Fort Arabesque Makadi Bay
Fort Arabesque Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing