We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Just so you know ....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harmony Makadi Bay Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Harmony Makadi Bay Hotel & Resort
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Makadi Bay
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Just so you know ....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

I m going to this hotel in December this year and have never been before... i just want to point out (i hope i'm right) that all of the bad reviews were in 2012 and have been better under 'new management (in 2013) DON'T LET THE OLD REVIEWS PUT YOU OFF
ps. looking forward to my holiday and to be honest not having room service(as alot of people have been saying) isnt going to ruin my holiday- being picky on holiday isnt a way to enjoy it!! ;)

Room Tip: Dont be picky on holiday: on a big resort- staff are bound to make slight slip ups anyway ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 294Anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    164
    129
    88
    95
See reviews for
204
202
28
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

I have only been here for one night actually for a few hours only and it was very unpleasant so far.
Starting from the visa machine that is not working and forcing you to pay in cash! Then the rooms that were very far with no elevators if you are staying in the 3rd floor! Italian restaurant for "late dinner" had a very poor food, out of a lot of items, waited forever for plastic cups of water! The room has a very old furniture and cheap plastic chairs! Even the tv is vert bad!!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank AbdelSalam Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Makadi Bay hotels

Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Having booked with Thomas cook and been recommended this hotel by them I must admit I was a bit concerned reading the negative comments on here. We were so pleasantly surprised at the wonderful location and facilities. The hotel grounds are set on the beach and our balcony had a pool and sea view which was magnificent. The room was immaculate with a shower larger then I have ever seen.
The pool areas are constantly being cleaned and the swim up bar pool was our favourite with the most excellent coffee made every morning for us by Mahmood. Then he was taken over by Hosney in the afternoons ans was equally lovely. In the evenings we mostly chose to have a quiet drink in the Shisha bar being very ably served by Ehab. We were very impressed by the food choices, you could eat for 24 hours a day if you so chose!! The main restaurant was airy and clean with very nice air conditioning and the Manager could not be any more attentive, he was fabulous. A glass of red wine would be ready for us when we arrived for dinner. There was always freshly cooked fish, pasta, chicken, salads, vegetables. I could go on but I really don't understand the negative food comments. We were completely satisfied. The Animation team also work very hard but again it is a choice whether you take part or not. We enjoyed some of the daytime activities like water aerobics and darts. In the evenings we preferred to sit and chat but our girls enjoyed the evening shows.
I only have one suggestion though and that would be to promote the AMAZING boat retaurant differently. You have to pay a very small amount extra to eat on the boat, all the drinks are all inclusive, but it is worth every penny ( we paid for 3 courses £30 for both of us!). It is advertised as a fish restaurant which puts a lot of people off. I believe you should just say the boat restaurant.
Over all we can't complain. The General Manager was ,as were all the Managers, very attentive and helpful. Nothing is too much trouble. We would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I think this depends on your mobility. We were right on the beach a fair walk from the main building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MrsTrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maribor, Slovenia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Our one week stay in Harmony hotel is over. When I booked the hotel I was not expecting much due to the reviews already on trip advisor and I was right.

This hotel does not deserve 5 stars. If this resort was in Europe it would had max 3*. Staff (with some exceptions) are extremely unfriendly. One day the cleaner didn't clean our room because we didn't leave him tip. When you order drinks at the bar you get them in realllyyyy small plastic cups and the waiter looks at you like you did something to him when you ordered.
Oh and all liqour tastes the same. My idea is that it is just alcohol and they add some colour and artificial flavour of whiskey or whatever you drink.

Food is DISGUSTING... All week the same stuff. You have noodles with tomato sauce, pure rice, some uncooked potatoes and maybe some meat if you get lucky and are willing to wait in a line after a looot of people because there is ALWAYS a huge line. There is one of everything for 500+ people .. There were 4 of us and after 4 days we all had stomach problems so I stoped eating hotel foor the last 2 days.

One day we wanted to leave the resort to go to hurgada on our own. We called a taxi and when it came we weren't allowed to take it because they have their own taxi company and you have to take that one. It costs 40 dollars to go to hurgada and back. But if you call your own taxi you get it for around 7 :) So the next day we called it again but we had to go and wait it outside the resort wich is around 15 minutes walk to get there.

But after all this you lay down next to the pool or on the beach to relax right. Wrong every 5 minutes someone comes to disturbe you and sell you something ( either a trip, a massage, haircut.....) and they don't give up very easy.

Oh and the beach :) I think it sais on their page they have around 500m of beach... 497m of it is there just so that you can see the sea that is around 100m away from where the beach starts since there is the coral reef and you can't swim anyway.

Oh and there are mostly Russian people there, wich must the the most unpolite nation I have ever had a chance to see.

The only thing is that the inside of the resort looks nice but don't let the looks fool you. The devil is in the details :)

Enjoy your holiday ;)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Schrimph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suez
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

the staff is not professional. the room is very small to have 2 beds.
the towels are in bad condition and the house keeping man spend more than 30 min cleaning "5 mins working and rest talking".
The food has not any vararity.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Haytham E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

My family and me were a part of a big group which has spent a vacation in Harmony Makadi.
First of all the quality of food was unpleasant and not variable enough..!
So eating in the main restaurant was not a pleasure for us , but a matter of "surviving" !!
The italian restaurant, were the dinner had to be reserved already at the morning, was horrible , not only for us, but for nummerous members of our group..!!
The orinental restaurant however , which also had to be reserved at the morning, was ok , and one could eat better than the mail restaurant!

The staff of the restaurant , the young ones at least , were not enough well-trained and not pecificlly friendly !

On the other hand the housekeeping staff was very friendly , although we had a daily issue of not having fresh towels at the right time (it is more a loundry-issue) .

We were shocked however by the arrogance of the General Manager of the hotel..!
He was talking to the clients 'from above' , if you get what I mean...
For him the clients were "charter-tourists" reffering to the low prices they paid for this vacation..! He was also often 'showing off' his experience in many other hotels..

Ladies & gentlemen... I had so many vaccations at so many hotels outside but also inside Egypt and I know very much the meaning of hospitality , which we have not felt in Harmony...
And I'm sorry to tell you that my/our experience in Harmony Makadi was more negative than positive..

May you enjoy all you future vaccations , whishing you more joyful stay than ours...

Room Tip: Rooms with pool / sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahmed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

just returned from two week honeymoon we were really made to feel very welcome even with the absence of british holiday makers well done to all the staff from the house keepers to managerial staff thank you from michael and linda holmes

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makadi Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
LABRANDA Royal Makadi
LABRANDA Royal Makadi
#20 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay
0.9 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
1.0 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#5 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harmony Makadi Bay Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmony Makadi Bay Hotel & Resort

Property: Harmony Makadi Bay Hotel & Resort
Address: Safaga Road, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 642, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Harmony Makadi Bay Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 552
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harmony Makadi Bay Hotel & Resort is located in the prominent Makadi Bay area, only 25KM southern of the very popular Egyptian holiday destination "Hurghada", on Egypt's beautiful Red Sea Riviera. Makadi is a peaceful bay with many opportunities for snorkeling and scuba diving. The semi-tropical climate makes this both a summer and winter resort. The Harmony Makadi Bay Hotel & Resort is situated directly on over 600 meters private and white sandy beach, and has a spectacular house reef very close by, which guests may use for snorkeling. Among the 552 outsized (52sq m), comfortable & luxurious rooms, year-round sunshine, panoramic views of sea (subject to hotel availability against charge 10$ per room per night) and blue skies, Spa, tennis fields, all makes the Harmony Makadi Bay Hotel & Resort the place for unique moments to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays and Hotels.com so you can book your Harmony Makadi Bay Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harmony Makadi Bay Hotel Makadi Bay
Harmony Makadi Bay Hotel And Resort
Domina Makadi Bay Resort
Domina Makadi Bay Hotel & Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing