We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great reef and good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Makadi Palace Hotel
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great reef and good value”
Reviewed 27 August 2011

I spent 2 weeks at the Makadi Palace hotel in Hurghada in August 2011, with my wife and two 11 year old children. We travelled with Red Sea Holidays and paid around £1200 per adult and £400 per child for an all inclusive deal including flights, all meals and local drinks.
The hotel is beautifully designed with North African architecture set among gardens. It looks stunning at night time.
The hotel says it is 5 star. Well, perhaps it is but not in a very smart or luxurious way. But it perfectly adequate. We had a room for 4 people which looked as though it was a pretty standard room. The room was divided into two halves, each around 4m by 4m and separated by an archway. In the first part of the room was a large (2m) double bed and in the second part of the room the sofa had been converted into a single bed. We had to ask for a second single bed and one was quickly delivered. There was a small balcony with two chairs. The TV was exclusively German channels (most of the guests here are German). The bathroom was clean and perfectly adequate.
There are four pools in the hotel, three of which are enormous. No water slides. There are around 650 sunbeds around the pools with another 200 or so on the beach. This isn’t enough for a hotel catering for around 1000 people (guests at atleast one other hotel in the complex share the facilities). As a result the sunbeds get reserved pretty early on – waking early on the first day I noticed that around 15% of the sunbeds were reserved at 5.30 in the morning. There wasn’t a single one to be had after 7 am!
The hotel has its own reef just offshore. It can be uncomfortable to walk out to (and you definitely need reef shoes) but it is worth it: some of the best snorkling I have seen anywhere in the world with lovely corals and a myriad of different fish. This is the strongest point in favour of this hotel.
The hotel is part of a complex of several hotels. Guests can eat at some other restaurants in the complex which adds to the choice available. For many of the restaurants you need to book in advance. Several say that you can book for dinner 1 day in advance. This is misleading. You can in fact book 2 weeks in advance if you want to. And as some of the restaurants are popular you need to expect to book perhaps 5 days in advance.
Food is variable. Dreadful fruit juice at breakfast and a poor selection of fruit and vegetables at all meals. The main restaurant, the Dome, is a pretty gloomy affair. You can’t book and it gets busy at 7 pm. Usual fare – fried meats, some pasta, salad, fruit – none of it particularly wonderful, but adequate. The Melange is the other restaurant you don’t have to book at – similar food, with a popular stir fry bar and (oddly) a doner kebab grill! Again get there at 7 pm or wait until it thins out later. Very nice ambiance. There is a decent Thai restaurant, you can get a nice steak and chips at the (popular) Botanical, and there is an OK Lebanese in one of the other hotels. Other restaurants (not tried) include Oriental, Indian, Chinese and Italian.
Wine is OK, beer is pleasant (very light) and local spirits seem fine. You are not supposed to take drinks back to your room but (if you have kids who go to bed early and you don’t want to leave them on their own) you can easily smuggle out something from one of the bars! Or if that worries you the shopkeepers will get you a bottle of spirits - at a price (so take duty free).
For nightlife, there are nightly concerts of a sort at the Joker bar and a regular singer at the Rendezvous bar. Probably not what you want in your 20s though! There is a shuttle bus to the bright lights of Hurghada 30 minutes away if you need to get out. I imagine it is ghastly.
Small tips are appreciated by generally very friendly serving staff so it is useful to have some small (10, 20 EL) notes handy. Lots of people seem to tip with UK coins so you do get asked if you can change these into UK notes (came back with around £30 in coins!) There is an ATM in the complex. The lobby has (slow) wi-fi which worked most of the time and there is an internet café somewhere. Mobile phone reception was fine. There are a few shops – mainly tat and beach kit, but also a pharmacy.
All in all, a pretty nice place - for the price. The high spot is the reef and the pools are great too. The low spots are the lack of sunbeds (and the need to get up early to get one), and the slightly variable food.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeremySG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,201
    602
    203
    84
    47
See reviews for
555
1,134
40
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Fantastic and pleasant staff, always very helpful. The restaurants were absaloutly fantastic, the food and service was top drawer. Clean and well maintained hotel, best in Hurgada by far.

Things you will need to know:

You need to book in the restaurants a few days in advance, I recommend the bitanical garden, chineese and the Indian.
If your planning on a trip out to a waterpark go the makadi bay one not sinbad resort.
Unfortunately due to the Germans you will have to get up at around 5 ish to get your sunbeds or at least decent ones.
You will need to take water shoes for the beach/coral, well worth there weight in gold.
Recommend taking about 50 US Dollars in dollar notes for tipping, a pound goes a long way with the waiters and pool staff.

Overall my family had a fantastic holiday, second experience of Egypt and this hotel and area was by gar the best of the two. I Recommend this hotel to all families that want to go to Egypt.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robster2644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2011

05.08.11 - 19.08.11 - Hotel is very impressive. The staff cannot do enough for you, if you go to the joker bar they will bend over backwards to make sure you have a seat, you never have to wait more than five minutes to be waited on. The animation team work really hard to get all the visitors to join in the fun, you must try the water gym - really funny and enjoyable. The food in the globe is okay but we found it difficult to be seated all of the time for a party of eight but it is well worth booking into any of the restaurants as the food is fantastic and they accomodate for bigger familes, we never had a bad meal in the two weeks we stayed there. The bedrooms are kept wonderfully clean, they do need a little bit of updating and the air conditioning in our room was a little noisy but other than that we cannot fault the hotel. You should definately take your mozzie spray as I did get bitten a few times. The Canadian manager is a very tentative person and if you have a problem he would solve it within seconds. We would definately reccomend this hotel for a perfect holiday and would definately book to stay here again, would go back tomorrow if we could. We stayed in room 3155 which was perfect and our cleaner was excellent. Would rate this hotel definately as a five, worth every penny you spend to visit. The Joiner and Heath families. Thank you to Makadi Palace staff - we will be back

Room Tip: need updating but very clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joiner813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We came here for a week in December, liked it that much, we came back for two weeks in May. When we arrived we were not impressed with our rooms. They backed on to a building site, and were not clean.This we reported to the staff, who moved us by the end of the following day.The next rooms were clean. The holiday from then onwards was excellent. I dont think we will find many places with services as good as this hotel. Although the country is having problems, the staff spoilt my daughter, the grand daughter, and myself. Nothing was too much for them.
The food is really good, although more choice would be nice. The rooms were cleaned and tidied every day to a high standard. We came back at the end of a day to find the cleaner had made a picture on the daughters bed of a peacock, using a towel, flowers and petals. Really nice!
Beach shoes are essential as the beach is made of coral. I did go into the sea but be aware that i saw a lot of sea snakes, jelly fish, and a lot of sea life i still haven't been able to identify. I questioned the staff about some of the sea life. They just said dont go too near! We stayed near the pools by the hotel.
For a quite relaxed holiday, i dont believe this can be topped!! We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank btyler03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daillens
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2011

A very nice vacation experience .... beautiful weather and a lot of pleasure during our stay. Great thanks to all the people who made our stay very agreable : reception, housekeepers, animation team (Buba, Leo, Inna and company), restaurants, etc.

Can't come back this year although I really appreciated the 2 weeks stay in the hotel.

Wishing all of you a nice summer season amd a lot of pleasure,

Best greetings from Switzerland,

Karen

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Dear Staff and the Owner of Makadi Palace!
Dear Mr Tom.
Me and my wife, would like to thank you for the best time you provide us in Makadi Palace for two weeks from 3 to 17 of July 2011..
Being treated as a VIP client from my Travel Agency in Vienna, I really wouldn't aspect much in an Egyptian Hotel where Opera is not a popular form of art.

But meeting Mr. Tom, the Director of Makadi Palace we got the respect and the treatment that move, any guest of any stature.

We where aware of Egyptian revolution and being regular guest to Egypt's summer for many years, we thought something had change this time.

And yet has changed but FOR GOOD!

We found the organisation of the Hotel to the Highest level, the care true and genuine, the food almost to 5 stars european standards.

Yes, we advice everyone, go, don't hesitate to make your holiday dream to Makadi Palace in Hurghada.

Once again Thank You for all!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Travelled 15-22 July 2011. Lovely place and not too far from Hurghada airport (around 35 mins). Rooms were nice and staff very polite. We had a little trouble with the electricity in the room on arrival this was fixed that evening. We then noticed we had a problem in the bathroom, when the toilet could not flush. They changed our room. We did have to remind them of the problem a few times before they offered us a new room (day 2). The room was an upgrade although our original room was just as nice and spacious.
The main restaurants offer European food, and is somewhat repeatative but you can reserve tables at other restaurants on site or at the neighbouring hotels Family Star & Grand Makadi. We tried the Thai and Fine Dining restaurant at Makadi Palace which was nice. Also the Caribbean restaurant at Grand Makadi. Didn't have time to explore the others.
It was nice to go to the beach and have the fish swim around you. You will need suitable footwear which you can buy from the onsite shop at 5 Euros.
The hotel offers a shuttle bus to Hurghada town which is worth visiting.
Tip: avoid buying too many souvenirs at the hotel, the airport is soo much cheaper.
We experienced a power cut the night before we left which took a while to be resolved. Power came on then off again 2/3 times. Don't know if this is a one off but be prepared. Also get up early if you want a sunbed!!! Overall my daughter (14yrs) and I had a good time.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bargainsp0tter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makadi Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Makadi Spa Hotel
The Makadi Spa Hotel
#8 of 30 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Makadi Hotel
The Grand Makadi Hotel
#17 of 30 in Makadi Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
0.8 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
1.3 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Makadi Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Makadi Palace Hotel

Property: The Makadi Palace Hotel
Address: Safaga Road, Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt (Formerly Makadi Palace)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#10 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#11 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#13 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Makadi Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Makadi Palace Hotel is set in lush gardens famed for their beauty, and offers the perfect space to relax unwind and enjoy a well-earned break. Tranquil surroundings, attentive staff, an extensive choice of à la carte dining – both on-site and at the Makadi Mall – as well a stunning beach and a wide choice of sports facilities at the Makadi Sports Centre ensures guests will be reluctant to stray far from their holiday home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Makadi Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makadi Palace Hotel Makadi Bay
Makadi Palace Bay
Makadi Palace Egypt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing