We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Makadi Palace - Wonderful Holiday Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Makadi Palace Hotel
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Reviewed 2 January 2013

My family and I (a party of 5 adults) have just returned from a really memorable holiday over Christmas staying at the excellent Makadi Palace and I cannot praise it highly enough. We had a wonderful time.

Superb weather for our entire stay. Warm (hot!) sunshine and temperatures in the mid to late 70's ever day!

My wife and I travel to Egypt very regularly however this was our first time visiting Makadi Bay and we were unsure which hotel to chose from. In the end we booked a late holiday to stay at the Makadi Palace and we did not regret our choice.

Firstly, if you can, I would recommend the "Sunwing" rooms or suites which were really enourmous with seperate lounges and big bathrooms and the biggest balcony/terrace we've ever had which looked directly over the beautifully landscaped gardens and pools. I say "pools" because the beautifully manicured gardens seem to surround water wherever you look. The water also surrounds 2 of the main restraurants, (the Dome and the Melange) as well as almost completely surrounding the "Rendevouz" bar and restaurant where we ate lunch on a number of occasions.

The Makadi Palace is an all-inclusive property and we found the food to be excellent with a really wide choice. The restaurant staff were really friendly and very attentive and it was great to be looked after by happy people. In fact all of the staff we had dealings with could not have been more friendly or helpful.

You can upgrade when you arrive to obtain a different wrist band that will allow you to eat at the 6 or 7 "a la carte" restaurants dotted throughout the complex. That included Thai, Meditteranean, Chinese, Indian, Italian, etc, etc. In those restaurants you can still have an "all inclusive" choice that will cost you no more or you can choose various "a la carte" choices that you pay a little extra for.

Plus...you get waiter service in these restaurants. So you could have waiter service every night of the week if you choose. A nice option and something we did.

As I mentioned, the grounds are extensive and beautifully laid out and maintained. In fact we had superb weather over Christmas and as you looked around and took in the palm trees, blue sky and warm sunshine I dont' think you would have enjoyed it more anywhere else in the world. Plus it was just a 5+ hour flight. No long-haul flight to get over.

Each evening there is live entertainment in a number of locations but we really liked the elegant Piano Bar which is relaxed and sophisticated. The evenings were a little too cool to sit outside comfortably (it was December!), but I can imagine that from February onwards it must be beautiful to sit outside the Piano Bar and enjoying a long drink in the warm evening air. Most of the restaurants have an open-air section and we enjoyed breakfast each morning sitting outside the Dome or Melange restaurants.

We were told by reception that the hotel was completely full over Christmas but we had no trouble whatsoever finding sunbeds and parasols almost anywhere throughout the complex or on the beach. The sunbeds, by the way, are substantial, wooden affairs and very comfortable. No cheap white plastic sunbeds. Because the gardens are so extensive and there are lots of nooks and crannies there are so many places to choose to sunbathe if you dont' want to go to the beach.

We chose to go to the beach on a number of days as our son-in-law is a mad kite-surfer and Makadi Bay is a haven for kite-surfing as well as scuba diving and snorkelling.

The private beach is beautifully maintained with sunbeds and wind-breaks right along it's length. As soon as you choose your spot the beach staff will bring over the sunbed matresses and there are waiters popping over throughout the day to see if you want to order drinks.

The walk down to the beach is a pleasant experience as you walk through the grounds of the Makadi Palace and then along the beach front which contains bars and cafes that you can eat at for lunch rather than walk back to the hotel.

I could go on but I think you get the picture. We loved it and intend to go back later this year. It was that good for us.

If you are holding back travelling to Egypt then I would urge you to think again. We've travelled extensively this year in Egypt including a wonderful visit to Cairo in November and we have only been met with friendliness and "warm welcomes" from everyone.

Egypt is such a superb holiday destination with almost everything you could want available including almost 365 days of sunshine.

The Makadi Palace is a wonderful hotel and I would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: 1) Buy you Egypt Tourist Visa from the "bank desks" immediately to your left as you enter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,151 - 1,157 of 2,352 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2012

The pro's first: large well kept grounds, loads of sunbeds- never any reserving issues and different dining options which meant that no restaurant was ever overcrowded.The cons: Rooms a little tired and in need of some TLC but ours was kept clean by an attentive roomboy and at l east the safe is part of the all inclusive package.Chargeable items; staying in a city hotel you would expect to pay for drinks from the mini-bar but at a all-incl red sea hotel was a first for us.All the a la carte restaurants have a high percentage of chargeable dishes.Reading some previous reviews gives you the impression that only one or two top end dishes are not all-incl but all the menu,s have at least 50% chargeable main and even starter dishes_the Botanical for example charges for 50% of its starters.If you enjoy indian food be prepared to pay approx £6 and £10 respectivly for a madras and vindaloo at the indian restraurant.Drinks_ typical egyptian fare-beer ok but gassy,cocktails sweet with little alcoholic taste and the wine just about drinkable.Food invariably lukewarm especially at the buffet,s and a little bland.Tipping culture: we freely tip in egypt after good/exceptional service and not just for someone doing their job: a case in point being the drinks service around the pools, our experience was that you became invisable if no tips were given by the second coke.No towel stations: if you want fresh towels you can,t change them during the day, you get a knock on the door around 6/7pm generally when your,e in the shower or wanting some together time VERY annoying. Sickness A definite issue with dicky tummies and other illnesses conveyed to me.Possibly nothing out of the ordinary_it is egypt after all but my partner suffered similar problems on and off for five days never having before had sickness in other red sea hotels_also overheard a german woman berating a manager for not coming clean on this.A very high percentage of german,austrian scandanavian guests at this hotel and very few brits but not really a con as they seemed generally friendly and polite especially after a drink or two at the bar!-many of them speaking good english. I am only comparing the palace with the other seven red sea hotels i have stayed at and my review may differ from some 1st time visitors to egypt and/or 1st time all incl visiters but it is honest and hopefully may be of use for some people.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank martinbarbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Holiday for two weeks returning 28th Dec. Second visit. Once again food excellent.
Charged for Christmas Eve Dinner and drinks which we were not expecting. Guest relations manager excellent service from this lady. Mentioned that that there was no heated pool and water was exceptionally cold for children. Within 4 hours had arranged for our party to gain entrance, free of charge, into Makaki Waterworld, our grand-children thought it was paradise!
Lower ground corridors looking tired compared to May when we were last there. Would definitely return, excellent value for money, well done!

Room Tip: If unhappy with room, inform the management. They do all they can to assist hotel guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victor1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Booked with red sea Holidays we went to met the rep on the first morning where he advised us not to let a drop of the water pass our lips and not to over indulge on the food and booze, good advice and we were not ill there or after we came home ( do not even clean your teeth with water thee is endless bottled on supply ) Hotel is clean and the Gardens are immaculate, there are loads of restaurants on site which you should book in reception on your first day as they get booked up we booked a different one for every night so one night Indian one night chinese one night italian etc.the menu is 50/50 AI and payment but a good choice and is waiter service.Beach is a little walk away but There is a fabulous house reef which you can get to from the new pier endless fish when snorkelling, take the time on your first day or night to walk around the 4 hotel grounds to get a feel of the area as you can use some of their restaurants on your AI band.I would strongly recommend the snorkelling trip about £40 with K the rep he was fab we stopped twice to snorkel then went to paradise for lunch then on the way back we saw a school of dolphins playing so the captain stopped so we could watch all day trip.
Beach towels come clean and fresh every evening to your room and you have a beach bag to use that comes with them brilliant idea. Dont bother with the manicure or pedicure its not good just say no. The concireges who are mostly English do afternoon tea and scones for the British contingency its awfully british scones tea cream and jam where you can tell them what you think of your holiday and meet fellow brits and swop stories for an hour on i think it was tuesdays and thursdays . If you want to know what is on at night then read the boards outside Joker bar where most of the activity at night is held they also have other stuff like Nordic walking and aerobics etc. do not get drinks in the reception bar you will be charged sit on the terrace and wait for AI service reception is classed as a public area.Rendezvous bar is brilliant for afternoon snacks cocktails pancakes a sandwich ice cream tea and biscuits.Free wi fi in reception. Brilliant holiday. Red sea holiday rep makes sure you keep room until you leave so no earlly check out.

Room Tip: Rooms on the melange side of the hotel are sunny rooms on the Thai restaurant side are shaded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monic15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

My wife and I stayed in the Palace for a week all inclusive from 12 Dec 2012 to 17 dec 2012 .
The airport meeting was well organised and the transfer was in a luxury bus attended by the most helpful staff.
On arrival to the hotel a cheerful and helpful front desk staff organised our check in smoothly in few minutes. We asked for a sea view room and were given immediately what we asked for.
The room is large with semi separate lounge. The room standard and finishing is really a 4 stars not a five stars as told. The hess of the service pumps is loud during the night.
The hotel facilities are second to none and definitely five stars. Gorgeous restaurants and beautiful large free shaped pool. It is more of a lake than a pool. The landscaping and the lush plantation are heavenly. The beach is sandy but the sea is rocky. You need a beach shoes for comfort. The lighting system of the gardens is excellent and very impressive . The food and the quality and the variety of the open buffet running around the clock is just a pleasure. The climax of our stay was the very friendly Egyptian staff. They are friendly smily and wiling happily to serve you. I can mention tens of names here but will be unfair for all the others. We haven't met one staff member not smily or helpful. I would like to finish my comment by saying the amount of food and drinks available were incredibly generous . The wi fi is poor and you get reception after 11 at night and only in the reception area. I would like to name Haytham Metwally at the front desk who did everything possible to keep us happy. We recommend this hotel and thinking of going back in the spring.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less service pumps noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alarinova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

This hotel exceeded our expectations and we were extremely pleased to have arranged this trip. We were a group of 15, young and old, and everyone thoroughly enjoyed the visit. Much has been said about the hotel and Makadi bay by others, so i won't repeat. However, worthy of mention are the staff at the hotel, all of whom seemed very pleasant to deal with. This includes the reception staff, in particular Wayl and the Guest Relations Staff at the hotel, in particular, Amanda, Luise and Svetslana (hope i have spelt the names correctly).

The few 'not so good' points were, the food and the evening entertainment. The food was not to the same standard as any of our previous visits to other places and the entertainment lacked quality. Most other places that we have visited had a small team of in house entertainers who would arrange different shows for the guests each evening and were also available for much of the day by mingling with the guests and keeping company. They did quizzes, competitions, plays and mini pantomimes. On some days there were specific artists from outside, although this latter bit was present in the Makadi Palace. There's nothing like a contest against the Germans.

The hotel could do a little more for the younger guests and have free pool/snooker, table tennis, bar football, air hockey, board games, playing cards, darts, etc.. After all, it is a 5 star, all inclusive and good money is paid by the guests.

Overall, the holiday was well worth it and every member of our large group would like to return again at the earliest opportunity.

Room Tip: We were told that all rooms are 'junior suites' and therefore the same. Also, make sure you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manzoor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

7 days in Makadi Palace ...young couple ... in junior suite
Food - good enough for Egypt (there are about 10 restaurants with different cuisine, so you can find your prefer food)
Acomodation - we had very spaciously room but furnishing was minimum 5 years old and not very clean, bathroom smelly
Swimingpool - huge and relative clean, sun beds enough for everybody
Hotel grounds - are lovely, mostly in the evening
Beach/sea - beautiful clear bluewater, near the beach is perfect coral reef
Staff- unhelpful staff on reception, bad english, bad german, wait/pool staff are very nice
Internet conection - wifi is only in lobby bar ...is very slowly and useless

Final- resort is huge with huge pool, can be fine for old romantic couple or family holiday but if you are looking for a luxury hotel find another place

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank franky222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makadi Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Makadi Hotel
The Grand Makadi Hotel
#12 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,621 reviews
1.8 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi
Steigenberger Makadi
#2 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,031 reviews
1.1 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
0.7 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
1.3 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Makadi Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Makadi Palace Hotel

Address: Safaga Road, Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt (Formerly Makadi Palace)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#10 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#10 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#14 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Hotel Class:4 star — The Makadi Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Makadi Palace Hotel is set in lush gardens famed for their beauty, and offers the perfect space to relax unwind and enjoy a well-earned break. Tranquil surroundings, attentive staff, an extensive choice of à la carte dining – both on-site and at the Makadi Mall – as well a stunning beach and a wide choice of sports facilities at the Makadi Sports Centre ensures guests will be reluctant to stray far from their holiday home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Makadi Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makadi Palace Hotel Makadi Bay
Makadi Palace Bay
Makadi Palace Egypt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing