We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Makadi Palace Hotel
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

This was a great last minute break spotted on Travel Zoo. It was excellent value.
The service and choice of food and venues in the resort was very good with something for everyone. We were even able to get fillet steak!
The room was very big with a large balcony with views of the pool.
The weather was perfect, and the sea very welcoming with an abundance of marine life to see if you like snorkelling.
The walk over coral could be a little difficult to get to a depth where swimming was possible but there was a good pier to walk along with good access to a platform to allow easy access to deeper water to snorkel the reef.
The hotel was very clean in all areas.
The only 2 small faults we can think of is the bathroom could do with an upgrade, and the coffee was never hot enough yet strangely, the hot water for the tea was.
I would not hesitate to recommend this resort hotel.
The whole experience from start to finish was excellent through Red Sea holidays. The only small irritation was the leg room on the very cramped Thomas Cook flight.

Room Tip: Choose a top floor and you wont here any female air head clip clopping on the floor in the room abov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa_Meeuwenoord1, Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for sparing the time to write a review. We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations for a fully relaxing holiday at the Makadi Palace. The entire team is looking forward to your next stay and will provide you again with excellent service.
Best regards
Makadi Palace team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,098 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,176
    592
    203
    84
    43
See reviews for
545
1,117
37
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheslyn Hay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Have just spent a fabulous week in the sun... a newby to all inclusive loved it. The small restaurants around the complex helped to make you feel part of a small town and stopped any boredom with the food. All the staff are very friendly and helpful, hotel is kept clean and fresh. A little gem for a great escape.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa_Meeuwenoord1, Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at our resort and taking the time to share your impressions. We are glad you spent a fantastic and relaxing time at Makadi Palace and enjoyed our numerous restaurants. The entire team works hard to give excellent service to our guests - we are pleased to note your full satisfaction.
We are looking forward to your future stay
Best regards
Makadi Palace team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padstow, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

We booked thinking there's no way this hotel could be as nice as the photos, how wrong can you be. it's stunning, and not all that busy so plenty of loungers, and the pools rarely had more than 6 people in it.

The weather was hot 30-32 degrees, so plenty of sunbathing, but it didn't make you sweaty as there was usually a breeze to take the edge off the heat.

The Junior Suite rooms are beautiful with a bathroom, plenty of wardrobe space and a safe, into the super kingsize bedroom area with huge TV, then a sitting room area, and out onto a more than adequate balcony.

There were lots of resturants, and you could also eat at the sister hotels next door. One of the sister hotels had a water park, which you could pay to use and your food was included in the price, not very expensive and well worth doing. The water park was amasing.

Hurgarda was not what I was expecting the shopkeepers are having a tough time, and it looked tired. It was a 20-30 min coach drive from the hotel, but this was provided free of charge. I would have been quite happy to have stayed at the complex having been to Sharm several years beforea and done the camel ride at night, the pyramids etc.

We did do a snorkel trip to Paradise Island which was very good value for money, great snorkelling, lunch on the island and a beach volley ball game or two.

The staff at the hotel were very friendly and attentive, and nothing was too much, the food on the whole was Ok for an all inclusive with a choice of Eygptian, Italian, Indian, chinese, Mexican, steakhouse etc.

All in all a fab holiday, relaxing no stress and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoannaOlivey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa_Meeuwenoord1, Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for sparing the time to share your impressions with us. We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations for a fully relaxing holiday at the Makadi Palace and that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our resort in the near future.
Best regards
Makadi Palace team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We have just returned from our 7th visit to the Makadi Palace. It is a beautiful hotel and kept spotlessly clean by everyone from the gardeners up. Service was impeccable as always with a special thank you to Ramy in the Melange whose smile and service enhanced our holiday.
If you can't find food you like in this hotel then something is really wrong!! The botanical gardens provided a fantastic meal at the Manager's dinner. My steak was cooked to perfection!! The thai restaurant and those in the Mall were excellent as always, and offered over and above the all inclusive menu for a small price. And our lunches at the Melange were lovely, the outside cooking area providing some delicious dishes.
Always plenty of sunbeds to be had and service with a smile from the pool lads.
The rooms are spacious, but i do agree they are in need of a little TLC, although they are kept spotlessly clean.
Thanks for another memorable trip. We will be back!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hazel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa_Meeuwenoord1, Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review and your 7th visit to the Makadi Palace. We appreciate your motivating feedback and kind words and are very pleased that you enjoyed another fantastic stay at our resort. Thank you for coming to the Manager's dinner - it was our pleasure to host you.
We wish you a good time back home and we look forward to your next visit.
Best regards
Makadi Palace team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Great holiday in the sun. The Makadi Palace is a very nice hotel in a perfect location right on the (man made) beach.
It is part of a chain of three or four nearby hotels and you can use some of the facilities in these.
Only downside is the amount of smokers there, take a gas mask!
1) Transfer very smooth from the not very smooth airport.
2) Room (3359) was great, just a few niggles, bathroom is in need of some TLC.
3) Food very good, I would definitely recommend pre booking the Al a Carte restaurants, Thai Garden and Botanical both very good, a bit disappointed in the Mall, lacking atmosphere and not the best food in the Mafia Italian restaurant.
4) Entertainment, absolute garbage. Why does a good quality hotel go for zero quality noise?
The "professional" singer was hilarious, he spoke the words off a Karaoke machine, and was still out of key!
Unfortunately, we didn't have the option to avoid the "entertainment" as they cranked the volume UP big time.
I should point out the the Piano Bar, was superb, Max the pianist played most nights and was a treat.
5) Location was fantastic, poolside gardens were immaculate and offered plenty of escape from the sun.
The man made beach was also great, plenty of sun beds, straight out the the real star of the holiday, the Coral Reef.
Words can't describe the beautiful array of fish, I wish I had an underwater camera, next time!
As usual the Egyptian staff were wonderful always smiling, and a special mention to "K" the tour operator rep. who was very helpful.
We went to Hurghada one night, we wouldn't do it again, quite aggressive sales guys all selling the same crap.
Flights with Thomson usual overpriced rip off, small can of Magners £3.80, two for £6.60, and very dodgy hot snacks.
Last point on the flight back we experienced a 1 hour delay, after 45 minutes we asked a stewardess what was the problem, don't know! was the answer, a minute later the pilot explained the delay to us.
I think airlines must be the last industry to even consider customer service.
Overall a great break in the sun.

Room Tip: Pre book the Al a carte restaurants. Beach shoes essential to get to the reef.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank russelltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa_Meeuwenoord1, Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of our resort. The entire team is delighted that you had a memorable stay with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed in particular the snorkeling along our house reef. We are happy that our product and services met your expectations and we hope to see you again soon in order to demonstrate once again our services on an exceptional high level.
With best regards
Makadi Palace team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

This is the second visit in 8 months and the first time we have returned to the same hotel or resort. The hotel was much quieter than in March and some of the restaurants were not fully open, but the Mall restaurants were. We had good food in all - but the indian and managers meal at Botanical Garden was superb. Thank you Svetlana, Sandra and Mohamed for a lovely evening. The gardens, pool, rooms etc spotless and well maintained. The bathrooms are still green and a bit tired but I have been informed they are being refurbished and will be cream! Big thanks to Saeed who found us a perfect spot on the beach and Ali for cleaning our room and organising towels. The snorkelling was wonderful and can be accessed from beach or jetty but you do need beach shoes ( buy them off eBay before you go) as it is coral. Planning a further trip early next year!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa_Meeuwenoord1, Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for staying a second time at the Makadi Palace and sharing your valuable experiences. It was our pleasure to host you once again and we are glad that our resort and services again met your expectations. Thank you for a very nice evening in Botanical Garden.
We are looking forward to your next visit.
Kind regards
Makadi Palace team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancing, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Have just spent a wonderful week at the Makadi Palace, the rooms were excellent and spotlessly clean; the grounds were kept in a clean and beautiful condition with regular attendance. The food in the general restaurants - including breakfast - was excellent. In the other restaurants where booking in advance was required, the food was of a very high standard with very good service.
It takes a while to get the lie of the land even with a map! But once that's done, it is the most delightful resort, the beach is beautiful with the nearby Sunset Bar which does a mean fish & chips!! Plenty of space around the pool areas for sunbeds without the usual boxed in atmosphere. The entertainment was fine, a good atmosphere was created by the entertainers with something for everyone. A special thank you to food & beverage manager Mohamed, who made our stay that little bit extra special, also a big thank you to Sandra - guest relations. The only complaint was because of our later arrival, only one restaraunt in the Grand Makadi was available and it was apparant that the staff were keeeping it open for us but wanted to get off!
That aside can't wait for our next visit, hopefully in the new year.

Room Tip: We had rooms the North side of reception, would be happy with these again. A/C unit was not unduly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EileenS153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa_Meeuwenoord1, Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear guest, Thank you for sparing the time for a review. The entire team is pleased to note your full satisfaction. We are pleased that you spend a wonderful time at Makadi Palace and enjoyed our variety of restaurants, our entertainment program and our services. Please do not hesitate to contact our Guest Relations department for any wish or request.
We are looking forward to your next stay.
Kind regards
Makadi Palace team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makadi Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Makadi Spa Hotel
The Makadi Spa Hotel
#8 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Makadi Hotel
The Grand Makadi Hotel
#16 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
0.8 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 29 in Makadi Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
1.3 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Makadi Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Makadi Palace Hotel

Property: The Makadi Palace Hotel
Address: Safaga Road, Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt (Formerly Makadi Palace)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#10 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#11 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
#11 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Makadi Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Makadi Palace Hotel is set in lush gardens famed for their beauty, and offers the perfect space to relax unwind and enjoy a well-earned break. Tranquil surroundings, attentive staff, an extensive choice of à la carte dining – both on-site and at the Makadi Mall – as well a stunning beach and a wide choice of sports facilities at the Makadi Sports Centre ensures guests will be reluctant to stray far from their holiday home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your The Makadi Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makadi Palace Hotel Makadi Bay
Makadi Palace Bay
Makadi Palace Egypt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing