We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxurious holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Makadi Palace Hotel
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Luxurious holiday!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Just returned from a week at this hotel ,last minute holiday to get away from the UK weather!
We have not taken a holiday like this before ie all inclusive !what a super time we had. Could not fault the hotel,staff,food,our room and the weather though it was windy and therefore couldn't do lots of snorkeling.
We ate at a different restaurant every night and would recommend The Thai,Lebanese,Carribean and amazing pizzas at the Italian ( not much atmosphere though we found in the Mall)
We wanted for nothing!!

Room Tip: If you are arriving late don't wait for your bags to be delivered to your room as the restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelly681388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa_Meeuwenoord1, Public Relations Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear guest
The team at Makadi Palace wishes to thank you for the opportunity to serve you during your holiday. We appreciate your kind comments and the chance to exceed your expectations of an enjoyable beach resort vacation. We look forward to serving you again in the future .
Best Regards from Makadi Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,099 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,176
    592
    203
    84
    44
See reviews for
546
1,117
37
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

I booked this last minute holiday via Voyager Direct/ Red Sea Holidays. Booking was straight forward. Flight from Gatwick on Monarch to Hurghada fed us a hot meal. No entertainment. Check in was weird. We were all herded off the bus with room numbers already allocated to us. Thanks to previous comments on here, as soon as we got to our hotel room in block 4, we asked to be moved to block 3 and managed to get the last available room on the ground floor which was much more quiet, pleasant, had twin beds and didn't have an over powering drain smell.

All staff were polite and helpful. Yes you will get some who expect tips.

We didn't tip the housekeeper till the end. We did get nice towel animals twice during our week stay here. Room is always kept clean. There's always hot water. Plenty of toiletries in case you need extra shampoo/conditioner etc.

The worse 'tip grabbers' were the bell boys. Don't tip them at the end until they have put your bags ON the coach when you leave.

We tipped in USD $1 dollar notes or €1 euro coins.

Beach towels are changed every night via a guy who comes knocking on your door after 6pm. This was strange and could be improved via a towel exchange point. It just seemed like another way to get tips.

There are plenty of restaurants to choose and eat from. Was impressed with the vast variations of bread to choose from.We didn't get sick. Stomachs are probably a little dicky from eating very rich food everyday and then loading rich cocktails on top! The Discovery buffet was better than the Dome. It seemed more organised whereas Dome was free for all and grab a table where you can. Thai place was nice. Stay away from the Chinese place in the mall. It's all deep fried and not very pleasant.

The 'Red Sea Special' cocktails were lovely but very creamy!

There's always waiters to bring you drinks on the beach or on the pool. We preferred the pool as the sea is warmer to swim in than the pool. Also, the beach beds had nice privacy barriers around.

Don't forget your swim shoes to protect your feet and snorkels to see the fish.

Also, if you don't want to get a nasty hangover everyday from the local 'Paint stripper' liquor, I would buy from UK duty free and top up your personal hip flask! We enjoyed improving our drinks with our own Bacardi Gold Rum! We didn't get offered the €40 upgrade for premium drinks band but we never saw anyone else with it either. We only spent £17.99 on our litre of rum!

Evening entertainment is varied but the Joker Bar is always busy. There's young European reps who try to get people dancing in the evening and the guys do yoga and step classes during the day.

The female rep seems to just shout 'volleyball' during the day and that's about it.

Don't bother using the gym since they charge you for it and it doesn't look brilliant. You're better off going for a jog when the sun starts going down as it's much cooler then.

Hurghada duty free is a rip off. Take your own snacks if possible.

A good resort to go to if all you want to do is chill out on the beach or next to pool and soak up some sun. Great that there's not that many young kids to disturb the peace.

Room Tip: Ask to change your room straight away if you don't like it. I would ask for block 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rosey5nose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel A A, Rooms Division Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Makadi Palace and taking the time to share your valuable comment with us.


We are happy you had an enjoyable stay at Makadi Palace.

Kindly be assured that we consider all comments and requests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon again for another wonderful stay with us.

Best Regards,
Makadi Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Superb hotel in a relaxing environment. Plenty of space to move around and sun bathe - however may be different at peak times but perfect on our visit. Only let down was water temp being v cold in the children's pool - surely solar power could have sorted this. Food was fine - to be expected from all inclusive as well as wine - we enjoyed the barbeque. Breakfast experience was not good - in the Dome - waiting staff were lovely - just a manic experience trying to juggle plates, drinks etc - would like to have a tray to carry items back to the table - a simple thing would have made the difference. The staff in all areas were lovely, respectful and helpful. We were not made aware of the visa fee to enter the country from our booking agent - they want cash £15 per person even children of 2 years of age had to pay !!!! (This was no fault of the hotel by the way). I would recommend this hotel for a holiday either singles, couple or families.

Room Tip: A room in the shade would be idea as possibly cooler at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marriedcouple32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel A A, Rooms Division Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Makadi Palace and taking the time to share your valuable comments with us.

We are happy you had a nice time at the Makadi Palace.

Thank you for your kind words for our hotel staff. It is a great motivation to the team at Makadi Palace.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again on your future holidays for relaxation and celebrations.

Best Regards,
Makadi Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

The hotel grounds are fantastic. Very clean and safe with security at the entrance to the complex and at individual hotel doors. It takes a while to find your way around even in the individual hotels. The pools are not heated but were bearable to swim in. We stayed in a junior suite with plenty of space; it was clean and well-kept but not five star.

The wine, beer and cocktails served did vary slightly between different bars and restaurants but overall were good. The buffet in the Dome and Discovery had a nice selection of food with omelettes at breakfast a favourite.

Makadi Mall restaurants - this was the biggest let down for us. We dined in the Indian, Egyptian and Italian. Every menu has a lot of dishes with extra charges, for example, chicken korma in the Indian restaurant required additional payment. The food was lukewarm, watery and bland and almost certainly had been cooked earlier in the day. We felt as if we were being rushed from the start with 3 or 4 courses being served in less than an hour. Eating slowly did not remedy this, in fact on more than one occasion, the next course was served before the previous one was finished. We also ate in the Thai restaurant and the Lebanese at Grand Makadi with better food and service than the Mall restaurants.

The staff were generally very pleasant and helpful, but consistently and on multiple times each day we felt pressured to give tips. Two examples of this: on our last day we were approached by the man who changed our towels with “You English? You leave tomorrow – English Pounds please.” For our last meal we tried the international buffet in Makadi Spa and the food and service was brilliant. We had been informed by the rep that the additional €20 would be added to our room bill. At the end of the meal, the waiter informed us we must pay by cash immediately. When I told him I would have to return to the room to get it, he changed his mind and allowed the bill to be signed.

Recommendations from our experience:
• Have money for Egyptian Visa ready in the airport. This is not optional as stated.
• Have a couple of small notes / pounds for Bell Boys upon arrival.
• Avoid the shops in mall – not worth the hassle.
• Avoid the Travel Rep Introduction – Is an unwanted history lesson.
• International Buffet in Makadi Spa is an excellent extra.
• Only tip for good service not all services and only once.
• Guest Relations team are very good.
• Be careful what you are signing and paying for to avoid being charged twice.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jpo799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa_Meeuwenoord1, Public Relations Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear guest ,
The team at Makadi Palace wishes to thank you for your kind comments and appreciate the opportunity to serve you on your holiday. We look forward to your next visit. All of us at Makadi Palace strive to exceed your expectations of an enjoyable beach destination holiday .
Best Regards
Makadi Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Myself and my partner have been to Makadi Palace three times and each time we have had a wonderful experience. The staff from housekeeping,restaurants,bars to management cannot do enough to make your stay amazing. The gardens and pools are glorious and the beach is right at your feet. We already plan to go back in October or November, although we have been to Egypt ten times in the past Makadi Palace is our favourite.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa_Meeuwenoord1, Public Relations Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear guest ,
The team at Makadi Palace wishes to thank you for your kind comments and appreciate the opportunity to serve you on your holiday. We look forward to your next visit. All of us at Makadi Palace strive to exceed your expectations of an enjoyable beach destination holiday .
Best Regards
Makadi Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

As the saying goes, "If it sounds too good to be true, it usually is!" Well the Makadi Palace is most definitely the exception to the rule.
We just spent a fabulous week there, and cannot speak too highly of this resort set in immaculate gardens, surrounding vast swimming pools. My wife and daughter went to Sharm El Sheikh a couple of years ago and found the staff at that resort pushy and rude. What a contrast here!
Nothing was too much trouble, and the fact that you are in daily, social contact with all staff, ranging from the managing director of Red Sea Hotels down, is testament to the friendly, caring ethos of this resort.
We couldn't think of a better value winter destination with a choice of several excellent A La Carte restaurants as well as a couple of snack bars, you really are spoilt for choice, the Thai Garden and The Botanical being particularly good.
During our stay, temperatures ranged from 26 to 31 degrees, with a breeze most days, but remember to pack a sweater as the late February evenings could be a little on the cool side.
You get free beach towels and beach bag on arrival, which are changed every day, with free sunbeds and parasols.

Room Tip: Hairdryer adequate, but if you like high power take your own and no kettle or cups in rooms. Best id...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank busby1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa_Meeuwenoord1, Public Relations Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear guest ,
The team at Makadi Palace wishes to thank you for your kind comments and appreciate the opportunity to serve you on your holiday. We look forward to your next visit. All of us at Makadi Palace strive to exceed your expectations of an enjoyable beach destination holiday .
Best Regards
Makadi Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Just spent a week at the palace .rooms lovely .room boy so helpful ..food good .good location .beach was very relaxing ..will return ..met some nice people ..staff very helpful..locker bar entertaining ..the only down side is not much going on in the day ..

Room Tip: Third floor for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linbram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa_Meeuwenoord1, Public Relations Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear guest ,
The team at Makadi Palace wishes to thank you for your kind comments and appreciate the opportunity to serve you on your holiday. We look forward to your next visit. All of us at Makadi Palace strive to exceed your expectations of an enjoyable beach destination holiday .
Best Regards
Makadi Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makadi Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Makadi Spa Hotel
The Makadi Spa Hotel
#8 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Makadi Hotel
The Grand Makadi Hotel
#16 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
0.8 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 29 in Makadi Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
1.3 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Makadi Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Makadi Palace Hotel

Property: The Makadi Palace Hotel
Address: Safaga Road, Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt (Formerly Makadi Palace)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#10 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#11 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
#11 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Makadi Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Makadi Palace Hotel is set in lush gardens famed for their beauty, and offers the perfect space to relax unwind and enjoy a well-earned break. Tranquil surroundings, attentive staff, an extensive choice of à la carte dining – both on-site and at the Makadi Mall – as well a stunning beach and a wide choice of sports facilities at the Makadi Sports Centre ensures guests will be reluctant to stray far from their holiday home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your The Makadi Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makadi Palace Hotel Makadi Bay
Makadi Palace Bay
Makadi Palace Egypt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing