We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent managent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Makadi Palace Hotel
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
kent
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“excellent managent”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Okay the first thing I can report is that the rooms as reported before are quite tired and furniture is a bit dated. However the staff I have to say are excellent nothing is to much trouble, infact they are paranoid that you will make a complaint to reception!! We had some issues with the restaurant and our room but without going into it we had a meeting with ADEL ABDEL HAMEED the front office manager who was absolutely fantastic he solved all our issues. Please contact him before you travel he is an absolute diamond and really sincere about solving any problems.email at fo.palce@redseahotels.com

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KentCovgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel A A, Rooms Division Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Makadi Palace and taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us.

Thank you for your kind words for one member of Makadi Palace management team. It is a great motivation to the team at Makadi Palace to have your feed back.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again on your future holidays for relaxation and celebrations.

Best Regards,
Adel Abd Elhameed
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,235
    614
    209
    86
    45
See reviews for
562
1,171
40
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I have two different recommendations for anyone thinking of visiting the Makadi Palace, depending on whether you like using the pools/sea or not.
If you are water based then I could not recommend the Palace. The pools, though beautiful are icy cold, much colder than the sea. There is no beach here that leads into the sea. Some sort of sea defence has been built so the beach ends at a foot high wall with large stones at the base. There are several sets of steps to allow you into the water. Once in the sea you have to walk over bumpy, rocky, ground until you reach something more comfortable.
We tried the sea once and then every other day walked the 3 minutes down the promenade to the beach outside the Fort Arabesque. The beach here is lovely and the walk into the sea, pleasant.
If you are not going to use the water then I would highly recommend the hotel. The architecture is stunning, the food, at mealtimes is plentiful and tasty. The AI drinks are fine in the bars and restaurants (the wine is the best I have tried on any AI). The AI drinks on the beach are a joke. Tiny cups of pepsi or beer, that are offered very occasionally. There is not much of a snack service and what there is, is sullied by birds flocking all over the bread products.
The rooms are large and comfortable. Maybe they could do with a bit of refurbishment but they were fine for me and better than many I have stayed in.
There is some entertainment at night, starting at 9pm. If you want to view the shows I would recommend getting to the Joker bar early to get a seat
What I missed most was somewhere light and airy, but protected from the elements, where we could play cards or scrabble. The only place that is suitable was the lobby bar and you have to pay for all drinks there. Whilst we were there at the end of Feb there were several very windy days that meant we were cold but there was no where for us to sit and enjoy a drink.
When we arrived there was the standard, sit and have a drink, check-in and then the bags get taken to your rooms. As we arrived with about 20 other people this took an age and our bags got to our room 1.5 hours after we did. Annoying, especially as the porter who brought our bags had a face like a smacked bum when we gave him our one dollar tip.
The staff were variable. Some friendly some not so.
Weather in Feb: Everyday the weather was hot from 8am to 3pm. After that it got chilly

Room Tip: We asked for a high room. You get good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROBERTCRAMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel A A, Rooms Division Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Makadi Palace and taking the time to share your valuable comment with us.

We are happy you enjoyed the stay at the Makadi Palace.

Kindly be assured that we consider all comments and requests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again on your future holidays for relaxation and celebrations

Best Regards,
Makadi Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We returned from the Makadi Palace hotel on 21 Feb after a fantastic week there. The hotel staff went out of their way to ensure we had an enjoyable holiday, they were all extremely polite, helpful and good fun. The hotel, grounds and facilities were excellent as was the weather and the snorkelling was outstanding. Some of the restaurants were better than others and we did experience problems trying to book some but that said there was plenty of choice. Our suite was very spacious and clean, the bathroom could do with a bit of a refurb, it was a bit tired but all very functional, clean and well equipped. Morad, who looked after our room went out of his way to leave a different type of towel sculpture to amaze us each day. From crocodiles to monkeys, flowers with real petals - boats on waves - absolutely amazing. Even the beach staff were fantastic. We would definitely return, excellent value for money and a really relaxing and enjoyable time was had by the 5 of us (included 2 teenagers - 18 and 16)in our party Thank you to all the staff at the Makadi - a really memorable holiday.

The Red Sea holiday staff were all very experienced, informative and good fun. It's unusual to go on an excursion with such knowledgeable guides, able to explain about culture, history, sea-life. What else can we say, except - when can we go back?

Room Tip: If you're visiting with young children and don't want to be affected by music later in the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greggling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel A A, Rooms Division Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Makadi Palace and taking the time to share your valuable comments with us.

We are happy you had a nice time at the Makadi Palace.

Thank you for your kind words for our Room attendant. It is a great motivation to the team at Makadi Palace to have your feed back.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again on your future holidays for relaxation and celebrations.

Best Regards,
Makadi Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Just had the most amazing week at Makadi Palace for the third time.
We have been to Egypt 12 times but go back to the Palace because it is unbeatable.
All the staff from managers, bar staff, housekeeping and restaurant staff were wonderful.
The food is delicious, the grounds are beautiful and the pools glorious.
I cannot fault this complex and we are planning number 4 visit around Oct/Nov.

Room Tip: I prefer the high rooms because then at night you can see just how beautiful the complex is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel A A, Rooms Division Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Makadi Palace and taking the time to share your valuable comments with us.

We are happy you had a nice time at the Makadi Palace.

Thank you for your kind words for our hotel staff. It is a great motivation to the team at Makadi Palace.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again on your future holidays for relaxation and celebrations.

Best Regards,
Makadi Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Just returned from a week at this hotel ,last minute holiday to get away from the UK weather!
We have not taken a holiday like this before ie all inclusive !what a super time we had. Could not fault the hotel,staff,food,our room and the weather though it was windy and therefore couldn't do lots of snorkeling.
We ate at a different restaurant every night and would recommend The Thai,Lebanese,Carribean and amazing pizzas at the Italian ( not much atmosphere though we found in the Mall)
We wanted for nothing!!

Room Tip: If you are arriving late don't wait for your bags to be delivered to your room as the restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelly681388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa_Meeuwenoord1, Public Relations Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear guest
The team at Makadi Palace wishes to thank you for the opportunity to serve you during your holiday. We appreciate your kind comments and the chance to exceed your expectations of an enjoyable beach resort vacation. We look forward to serving you again in the future .
Best Regards from Makadi Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I booked this last minute holiday via Voyager Direct/ Red Sea Holidays. Booking was straight forward. Flight from Gatwick on Monarch to Hurghada fed us a hot meal. No entertainment. Check in was weird. We were all herded off the bus with room numbers already allocated to us. Thanks to previous comments on here, as soon as we got to our hotel room in block 4, we asked to be moved to block 3 and managed to get the last available room on the ground floor which was much more quiet, pleasant, had twin beds and didn't have an over powering drain smell.

All staff were polite and helpful. Yes you will get some who expect tips.

We didn't tip the housekeeper till the end. We did get nice towel animals twice during our week stay here. Room is always kept clean. There's always hot water. Plenty of toiletries in case you need extra shampoo/conditioner etc.

The worse 'tip grabbers' were the bell boys. Don't tip them at the end until they have put your bags ON the coach when you leave.

We tipped in USD $1 dollar notes or €1 euro coins.

Beach towels are changed every night via a guy who comes knocking on your door after 6pm. This was strange and could be improved via a towel exchange point. It just seemed like another way to get tips.

There are plenty of restaurants to choose and eat from. Was impressed with the vast variations of bread to choose from.We didn't get sick. Stomachs are probably a little dicky from eating very rich food everyday and then loading rich cocktails on top! The Discovery buffet was better than the Dome. It seemed more organised whereas Dome was free for all and grab a table where you can. Thai place was nice. Stay away from the Chinese place in the mall. It's all deep fried and not very pleasant.

The 'Red Sea Special' cocktails were lovely but very creamy!

There's always waiters to bring you drinks on the beach or on the pool. We preferred the pool as the sea is warmer to swim in than the pool. Also, the beach beds had nice privacy barriers around.

Don't forget your swim shoes to protect your feet and snorkels to see the fish.

Also, if you don't want to get a nasty hangover everyday from the local 'Paint stripper' liquor, I would buy from UK duty free and top up your personal hip flask! We enjoyed improving our drinks with our own Bacardi Gold Rum! We didn't get offered the €40 upgrade for premium drinks band but we never saw anyone else with it either. We only spent £17.99 on our litre of rum!

Evening entertainment is varied but the Joker Bar is always busy. There's young European reps who try to get people dancing in the evening and the guys do yoga and step classes during the day.

The female rep seems to just shout 'volleyball' during the day and that's about it.

Don't bother using the gym since they charge you for it and it doesn't look brilliant. You're better off going for a jog when the sun starts going down as it's much cooler then.

Hurghada duty free is a rip off. Take your own snacks if possible.

A good resort to go to if all you want to do is chill out on the beach or next to pool and soak up some sun. Great that there's not that many young kids to disturb the peace.

Room Tip: Ask to change your room straight away if you don't like it. I would ask for block 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rosey5nose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel A A, Rooms Division Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Makadi Palace and taking the time to share your valuable comment with us.


We are happy you had an enjoyable stay at Makadi Palace.

Kindly be assured that we consider all comments and requests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon again for another wonderful stay with us.

Best Regards,
Makadi Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Superb hotel in a relaxing environment. Plenty of space to move around and sun bathe - however may be different at peak times but perfect on our visit. Only let down was water temp being v cold in the children's pool - surely solar power could have sorted this. Food was fine - to be expected from all inclusive as well as wine - we enjoyed the barbeque. Breakfast experience was not good - in the Dome - waiting staff were lovely - just a manic experience trying to juggle plates, drinks etc - would like to have a tray to carry items back to the table - a simple thing would have made the difference. The staff in all areas were lovely, respectful and helpful. We were not made aware of the visa fee to enter the country from our booking agent - they want cash £15 per person even children of 2 years of age had to pay !!!! (This was no fault of the hotel by the way). I would recommend this hotel for a holiday either singles, couple or families.

Room Tip: A room in the shade would be idea as possibly cooler at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marriedcouple32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel A A, Rooms Division Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Makadi Palace and taking the time to share your valuable comments with us.

We are happy you had a nice time at the Makadi Palace.

Thank you for your kind words for our hotel staff. It is a great motivation to the team at Makadi Palace.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again on your future holidays for relaxation and celebrations.

Best Regards,
Makadi Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makadi Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Makadi Hotel
The Grand Makadi Hotel
#17 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,327 reviews
0.7 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
0.4 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
875 reviews
1.1 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#5 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,282 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Makadi Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Makadi Palace Hotel

Property: The Makadi Palace Hotel
Address: Safaga Road, Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt (Formerly Makadi Palace)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#10 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#11 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#13 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Makadi Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Makadi Palace Hotel is set in lush gardens famed for their beauty, and offers the perfect space to relax unwind and enjoy a well-earned break. Tranquil surroundings, attentive staff, an extensive choice of à la carte dining – both on-site and at the Makadi Mall – as well a stunning beach and a wide choice of sports facilities at the Makadi Sports Centre ensures guests will be reluctant to stray far from their holiday home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Makadi Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makadi Palace Hotel Makadi Bay
Makadi Palace Bay
Makadi Palace Egypt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing